Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kingsford Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Kingsford Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Get ready for the savory flavors of outdoor cooking with the Kingsford 820-Square Inch Barrel Grill. It's a good option for backyard barbecues, camping and more. With a 24-burger capacity, you'll be able to feed a whole crew of hungry family and friends. Porcelain-coated, cast-iron cooking grates leave satisfying grill marks and they clean up easily. Metal shelves on the front and side and a wire rack provide ample storage for condiments, utensils and other culinary necessities. Other features of this charcoal barrel grill include 6" wheels for easy transportation, an oversized analog thermometer and side vents for temperature regulation.
Average Customer Rating:
4.409 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(137 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation91%125 out of 137reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
38 Questions | 67 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
88
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Excellent BBQ Grill

01/18/2013
By ,
Middleburg, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could not be more pleased with this grill. It is everything I expected.
Pros:
1. adjustable height suspended fire tray
2. extremely large grilling area
3. 4 separate removable grills make up the grilling area - means you can use all 4 at once, or just one
4. easy to move around the patio
5. the 2 exterior trays are steel, instead of wood
6. vents at both ends of the bottom barrel
7. temperature gauge - a must!
Cons:
1. Ease of construction, not - OMG, there was not one part of this grill that came assembled. I spent some serious hours getting this thing put together. It is not for the faint of heart! But, because of the amount of money I spent on this grill, and the fact that I wanted it to last me a long time, I followed the instructions to the T. I really took my time trying to make sure I did everything right. Also, make sure that you allow for a very large work area for assembling the grill, as I highly recommend that you lay all the parts out before attempting to assemble the grill. AND, do READ the instructions first before assembling.
2. Removable chrome warming tray. Doesn't really seem to fit as it should. I mean it works fine, but has a tendency to sometimes come loose. Not a big deal to me, as I seldom if ever use these things in any of my grills. I am not a fan of these things to start with. I have not used the one that came with this grill.
3. Has the look of a heavy gauge steel grill/smoker, but it is not. I thought it would be a much thicker steel gauge, but in reality, it is not different (except in color) from any other portable patio grill.
Accessories I purchased at Walmart at the time I purchased my grill:
1. 1 vinyl grill cover - cost = $10.00
2. 2 non-stick BBQ griddle/grill trays = $10.00/each
I bought this grill on-line from Walmart. This is January, so there were none on hand in the store, none that I could visually inspect before purchase. I bought it sight-unseen, based upon the reviews from other buyers that had posted comments & other on-line research I did on the grill. I knew before I received the grill that I was in for a struggle in assembling the grill, so I was not surprised when I put mine together. Get past the assembly, and you will not be disappointed with this grill. I really like it, and could not be happier with it. I uploaded 2 photos that I took immediately after complete assembly, but before I seasoned it with the first fire.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Terrible workmanship

06/06/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First off, I'd like to say that I'm sure the grill will be great. We had one like it from a different company and loved it. However I want to warn you that most of the pieces were damaged in some way. Bent, dented, and the wrong nuts which I just replaced with some I had at the house.
Assembly didn't take much time; maybe an hour.
The problem with the parts being bent/damaged is that the lid doesn't close properly. We were very careful to follow directions exactly and tighten bolts properly so as to avoid this problem, but when the product is so defective it can't be avoided.
I should mention that I purchased a Kingsford tabletop grill once and had the same problem with the lid not closing properly and was unable to latch it shut for transporting.
Sadly I will not purchase another product from Kingsford. This grill looks like someone threw it down a flight of stairs, which is only a slight exaggeration. A NEW product should look NEW, not beat up.
Brings to mind the old saying "Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me."
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Nice grill

06/29/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took awhile to put together but my son did most of it. Have used it to cook hamburgers, chicken, pork steaks, and ribs. Everything has turned out well. Wish it came with a grease cup and I'm not certain what to use since I don't know much about grills in general, but this is a much needed upgrade from the super cheap grills I've always used.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Great grill

06/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very happy with this grill. One thing I would like to have had included is a grill grate hook to lift and move the grates. Everything else is terrific.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

lasted 6 months

05/17/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lasted 6 months with a cover on the grill the tray that holds the charcoal and the bottom rusted out and has fallen apart! do not buy this grill its junk!
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

very happy

05/14/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i went to store to buy this grill for a certain price when i got to store it was on sale which was a nice surprise, got it home and telling you all this was a very very easy put together, directions could not have been any easier.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Chillin and Grillin

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish they would have told me my wife was gonna use it more than me
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

good grill

06/16/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cooked a lot of meat did not once have a flame. was able to regulate temperature has a good seal.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Very happy with this purchase!

04/10/2012
By ,
El Paso,TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I prefer charcoal grills and this is the first big one that we've purchased. We love it! It is way bigger than we anticipated and assembling it wasn't very difficult, it took us about an hour and a half. We used it for the first time this past Easter weekend and we fit so much food on it at one time. We got tons of compliments on it and one of my friends loved it so much she went out the same night and bought one too. It looks great, my husband didn't believe I only spend 100 dollars on it. We almost bought a grill at a home improvement store for almost twice the price. Definitely worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

gift

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the grill for my son and his family. He used it Memorial Day. It cooks evenly. Cleans with little effort. The family has used it several times since. They really enjoy it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

great value

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We ordered the grill online and had it shipped directly to our home. A friend assembled it for us and I seasoned it as directed. I grilled pork and beef ribs, chicken and sausages for Memorial Day and had no problems and that was the best meat ever/ I have been barbecuing for 50 years .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Mmmm good

06/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
the grill was easy to assemble, bigger than I imagined and cooked our burgers, dogs and steaks to perfection! glad I brought this grill and would refer it to all my friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Great grill

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. Smoke everything great Holds the heat in great lots of room to cook on.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Love this grill

06/09/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This grill was GREAT. Nice size, easy to use and to clean. I only gave it a 4 because assembly was tedious and time consuming and it was bent in some places due to shipping.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Great grill

03/16/2012
By ,
Van Nuys, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a 370 lb off-set smoker and I was in need of a charcoal grill. This Kingsford barrel grill looks just like some other "Home Improvement" grills that sell for a hundred bucks more so I took the chance. I am very glad I did. The assembly is very easy and can be assembled by one person if you can't find a helper. Since I have had this huge off-set made out of 1/4 inch steel, I was a little surprised at the thin metal this grill is constructed with. The adjustable charcoal grate though is what will take all the abuse and if you dump the ashes out the next day and keep the grill covered it should last a long time,so the thinner metal is not an issue. When the aah tray is out for cleaning take some paper towels and wipe up excess grease that will build up in the bottom of the barrel. This way if a stray pc of coal happens to fall into the bottom of the barrel you will not have a grease fire. The lid is not airtight but it fits flush on all sides. The room this grill offers is real nice. This bad-boy can hold a bunch of grub. Another big plus is the lid has a stainless steel handle and the front and side shelves are metal. The grills I looked at that were 100 bucks more had the handles and shelves made out of wood. Thermometer is not terribly accurate but this is a grill. If you plan on cooking indirect you might want to grab a better thermometer and replace the original one because temps will become more crucial when cooking indirect. Holding steady temps when slo cooking will become a challenge because this grill is not air-tight but come on...it's a grill and it's under 100 bucks!!
This is the grill I have been looking for. It is easy to move around the patio. The cast iron cooking grates offer a bunch of cooking space and this grill just looks good!! If you are looking for a nice charcoal grill and you don't want to break the bank you should grab one of these..you will be very pleased and have a grill you will look forward to using.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

A very nice grill

03/19/2012
By ,
Ms.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I just purchased this grill. It did take him a whole morning to put it together by himself. It's larger than what we're use to so will have to experiment with it. Have grill hamburgers and skirt steak and they did real well. Love the cast iron grates. A little more work to empty the ashes but well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Solid Grill

05/28/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cooking area is generous. Grates are cast iron.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

All I can say is, this grill cooks very NICE!!

06/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just brought this grill in June 2014 for Father's Day and my husband can't stay off of it. I really like how durable the cast iron cooking grates are and how well the food cooks on them; the entire grill is strong/durable. It also gives the food a good smoked bar-b-que taste. As for putting it together...well, you really have to follow the directions exact or you could find yourself taking everything apart and putting it back together again. Only a couple of the parts were a little confusing but, we quickly figured it out. It really wasn't as difficult putting it together, as we actually made it ourselves. However, the lid is slightly off track (manufacture error) but, it's a minor distortion and it didn't take away from the quality of how the food taste or how the charcoals burned...it's just a popping sound whenever we open/close the lid. And we were not about to take that entire thing apart again just to return it for that small concern - for all of that work, we can live with it. Other than that, it was reasonably priced, ready for pick up at the correct scheduled time it was supposed to have been, the C/S Reps were very professional and helpful at the time of pick up and overall...everything was good! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

Great Grill

03/26/2012
By ,
Biloxi, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my son and he was thrilled with it. Easy to assemble and perfect. Larger than I thought it would be and that was a pleasant surprise. Great product and would recommend to all!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kingsford 30" Barrel Grill

it's worth it

08/08/2012
By ,
Canton, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a grill with cast iron grates for awhile. I was tired of buying grills with cheap wire grates rusting after two cookouts. After reading the reviews about all the dings, dents and cheap materials of this grill I was hesitant about buying it. But after buying it I can honestly say I was very pleased with it.
It was packaged with care. Each item was protected in it's own plastic bag. Nuts and bolts are on a bubble pack cardboard, clearly marked. There were cardboard spacers to keep everything tight in the box. I had no dents or scrapes on the paint. Everything is painted, even the nuts and bolts. Every hole lined up perfectly and the lid is of quality heavy metal and fits the bottom barrel squarely and tightly. The lid is heavy when fully assembled. The instructions are drawn out clearly. You must assemble and FINGER TIGHTEN the bolts of the base and bottom barrel on a FLAT surface (not on the grass or gravel driveway) and THEN tool tighten them in order for the lid to fit properly. Assembly took me about 2 hrs.
I seasoned the cooking grates by coating them with Crisco shortening (not wesson oil) and baked them in my oven on 350* for an hour. The idea is to create a varnish-like glaze on them so they don't rust and food wont stick. Use a brass brush to clean them, not a steel brush. I also seasoned the inside of the grill as per their instructions. I bought a cover for it at H.D. for less than $17.
Over all : this grill is less than $100. and worth every penny. It's well made, well packaged and Kingsford should be commended for it. And thank you Walmart for selling it at a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
seasoning
Posted 04/07/2013
doesn't this grill have porcelain coated cooking grates? i'm not sure why you would need to season them as they're not bare cast iron.. the only problem with porcelain coated ones is you have to be careful in cleaning them and not using metal utensils because if you chip it, then it will rust from the inside out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 128 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next