Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Lion Brand Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Lion Brand Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Perfect for school and sports team projects, Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn comes in a wide range of colors and textural tweeds. This easy-care yarn is machine washable and dryable, and works up quickly for fast knit and crochet projects.
Average Customer Rating:
4.684 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(301 Reviews) 255
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
236
4 stars
48
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation97%293 out of 301reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
236
4 stars
48
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Lots of yarn for the dollar

03/23/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This three pack of yarn was a great value. The yarn itself I've been using over the past 2 years and the projects always turn out well. This pack was enough to make an infinity scarf.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+19points
Review 2 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Excellent yarn

01/21/2014
By ,
Bella Vista, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love working with the Lion Brand Hometown USA yarn! Great colors! Great for making beautiful blankets, throws and scarfs! So very soft, chunky and warm!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kill Devil Hills
Posted 01/22/2014
Is this yarn 100% cotton? I do not see this listed in the description or specifications.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Would not recommended !

08/27/2014
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 7 skeins of the garden jersey colored yarn while my mom bought 7 skeins of Tahoe blue . Were both making lap blankets and when I knitted mine up it came out kind of stiff and not soft . My mom started making hers and its so soft!!
My yarn made my blanket thick but not soft and flexible like a blanket should be ! Maybe , it's just the colored yarn - I don't know but I would Not order that yarn again!! I was disappointed! Maybe , each yarn - even though it's the same brand name knits up differently . The lap blanket looks nice but not the softness I expected . My mothers blanket is so soft compared to mine ! If you want to use this yarn just don't use that color! To me - the softest yarn to make blankets is caron jumbo yarn or red heart with love or red heart soft ! It may not be as thick but it definitely will be soft!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+3points
Review 4 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Great value for projects

12/10/2013
By ,
Columbus, ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this yarn to make hats for kids with cancer. The hats make up quickly and are cute and warm. I order about a dozen balls a week. The only complaint I have is that sometimes the thickness of the yarn is not consistent from ball to ball. The price is cheaper when I order site to store rather than buying off the shelf, and order by the bundle. The price is very reasonable
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 5 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Very soft yarn and easy to knit

03/23/2014
By ,
Yucca, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This yarn is soft and cuddly. I use it to knit hats and scarves for cancer patients. That's why softness is important. The yarn is also a great value, very important because the hats and scarves are all donated.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 6 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Very nice yarn.

09/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a soft, bulky yarn that works up very quickly. I used the color Aspen Tweed for a throw and a small pillow cover but it would be very nice for use in a scarf. I will use it again.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 7 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Unbeatable Price

09/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of my favorite yarns at an unbeatable price. What more could I want? Most places had it listed for over $5 per skein, so under $10 for 3 is great! Makes buying in bulk for afghans less painful, lol.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 8 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Love this chunky yarn

01/02/2014
By ,
Mansfield, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This yarn is hands down my favorite to work with. I started using it when I was learning to crochet, as it was much easier for me to learn with big chunky yarn and big crochet hooks. I fell in love with it, though, for winter hats and other warm weather wear. I've now made several hats and scarves for my children and friends. Everyone loves it, and it's super soft, fits snugly, and wears well over time. I would highly recommend this product to anyone that does crochet. I absolutely love it, and have invested a small fortune in it. I have an entire tote full of skeins waiting to be used.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 9 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Skein Weights vary by color!

02/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy using this yarn for making loom hats. It blends very well with some of the special yarns, such as fun fur, for a nice warm hat. The only negative I found in this most recent shipment is that when I was knitting one of the yarns, Cambridge Tweed, I noticed that the skein was going down pretty fast. When I checked the wrapper I see that Cambridge Tweed was a 4 oz skein while the other plain colors I have are 5 oz skeins. That is a difference between 64 and 81 yards of yarn. I unraveled the hat I had started on the largest loom and made it on the next smaller loom. If I want to make this color in a larger hat I will need to purchase two skeins!! I enjoy buying this yarn online because I can bundle four different colors and save 25% off the regular individual skein price. There are more color choices online too. I have noticed that variegated yarns tend to come in smaller skeins than plain for some reason.
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Review 10 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Love this yarn!

12/25/2012
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have no complaints about the yarn. It knits up well and I love the way it feels. The price for the yarn was great! ($1.89). However, I had so much trouble putting my order in online. I even checked in our local store to see if it was the same price in the store. It was not the the same price and the selection or colors was terrible. So, I went back home to try ordering them online again. I finally got the order to go through, but was sad to find out that online the website only lets you order one per color. To get around this I did a second order, so that I'd have enough yarn of the colors I ordered the first time for each project. So, I was happy with the yarn, but not with the service provided on the website.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Review 11 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Soft But Cheaply Made

07/01/2014
By ,
South Dakota
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this yarn to make an afghan. I instantly fell in love with it because it's so soft and thick. I also liked the nice selection of colors.
I picked 3 colors and bought 12 skeins. The first 4 skeins were perfect. About halfway through the 5th, I noticed part of it was unraveled. There was no way to fix it so I had to cut the unraveled part out and tie the yarn back together. The same thing happened on the 7th skein. And then on the 12th skein, I was shocked to find that the yarn had been cut and tied together partway through.
I've continued to buy and use this yarn only because my afghan is too far along to start over. I've since purchased about 30 more skeins and have continued to have the same unraveled/knotted problems with some of them.
I definitely wouldn't recommend this yarn to anyone. And once my afghan is done, I won't be using it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Very nice yarn!

11/09/2013
By ,
North Myrtle Beach, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in the process of making a baby blanket out of the Red & Gray (Ohio State Colors) and so far the project is coming together beautifully. The yarn is soft and silky making it very easy to work with. this yarn is quite "bulky" so the blanket is taking shape very quickly! Buying the yarn in the bundle makes is so affordable to make a beautiful blanket and the color choices are great. I am making a generous size baby blanket so I purchased one bundle of the red and one bundle of the gray. I then bought 2 skeins of the white in the store for trim. This amount of yarn is going to make a crib size blanket. I will absolutely be starting another project after the first of the year with this yarn.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 13 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Nice yarn for a fair price

08/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this particular color / pattern of Lion Brand yarn (Cambridge Tweed) — it's a lush black with spots of all different colors in it and it looks lovely when crocheted. It is the "bulky" yarn, so it's good for things you want to make quickly or for thick sweaters and blankets. Although it is a synthetic, it seems to hold up okay and has a nice feel. Walmart In Store pick-up seems to be one of the less expensive ways and places to purchase it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 14 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Soft and bulky

09/27/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I purchased this yarn originally I did not know it would not be enough since the yardage or ounces were not in the description. Thankfully I could order more. The descriptions should be more precise.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Wrong color, right dye lot

03/12/2013
By ,
Omaha, NE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered 4 Cheyenne Wild Iris to contrast with another color for a blanket that I was crocheting. When I received the items I got 2 Wild Iris and 2 Phoenix Azalea, all with the identical Wild Iris lot and dye label on them. I had to look on line to see what it was I received, because it certainly isn't what I ordered. I believe this was an error on the manufacturer's part. Anyone looking at them could tell they are not the same color. Since I order on line, due to being home bound, I am not real sure what I should order to complete the blanket so I may order both colors and see what I get... The blanket will be quite colorful when it is done. Other than this problem, I would recommend the product. It is soft, crochets quickly, easy to handle, doesn't unravel. If you can, get it in the store to see what you are buying. That would probably be the best way to go, otherwise, you may end up with a "coat of many colors".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 16 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

This is the BEST yarn for winterwear!!

10/19/2014
By ,
North Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Football season!! I'm a 49ers fan!! I wanted something no one else has, so I decided to make a scarf in team colors!! Oh! You say I could buy one from the store!!! But not like this one!! Of course, it's two-tone, but the connecting stitch makes it look like two bonded sides!! The end result with this soft yarn was the most comfortable thing that has ever been around my neck!! These six strands are so soft, I feel it can be used for baby gear and it is thick enough to keep the cold temperatures out!! A buyer won't be disappointed with their purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 17 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

I love this yarn for quick comfy gifts!

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The yarn is 100% acrylic which makes it ideal for making charitable items...unknown recipients means unknown sensitivities. It makes for quick and comfy gifts that maintain their 'squooshiness' after repeated washings. The only drawback to this yarn is that it likes to share its' fibers with other items in the wash...a more delicate wash/dry cycle is best.
The value of the 4 pack can't be beat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Great Yarn

10/21/2014
By ,
Lakeland, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this yarn to crochet a blanket for my Grandson along with red his favorite colors and I love it very soft and very easy to work with.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Review 19 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Great value!

10/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price for the amount you get. Super soft and vivid colors
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Lion Brand Hometown USA Yarn, Available in Multiple Colors

Soft and Bulky

12/19/2013
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is great yarn for any bulky projects. I've used it for afghans and scarves and hats. It is so soft!
I bought this in the 4-pack, you can mix and match colors. Great bargin!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
1-20 of 256 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next