Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summer Escapes Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Summer Escapes Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

The Summer Escapes 8'x30" Quick-Set Ring Pool offers the perfect hideaway for summertime relaxation. A fantastic addition to your backyard, kids and adults alike will treasure this durably-constructed oasis season after season. The easy and convenient quick-set ring pool includes a filter pump, repair patch, and more. A 650 gallon water capacity allows up to 3 people at a time to enjoy the comforts of this pool right in the privacy of your own backyard.
Average Customer Rating:
3.978 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation80%37 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
11
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

Great for small children & Easy to use

05/21/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
1. The perfect size for my 2 & 3 year old. They can stand up and swim.
2. I can float in here too, or just sit and relax.
3. It really was easy to set up - if you are leaking water, it was set up incorrectly. You can pretty much ignore the directions.
4. You will need to spend another 30$-40$ on pool supplies (filters, shock, naturalized, chlorine, pool cover, solar cover, skimmer, temperature gauge) Ask at a pool store, the proper amount to use (you don't want to over chlorinate.)
Tips:
1. we got an inflatable solar sun ring, and it works great (you won't need a huge solar cover). Temp is around 80 degrees. The inflatable covers about half of the pool.
2. I skim the pool twice per day (the kids swim 2 or 3 times per day, so it helps keep out a lot of debris.)
3. I only run the filter at nights - over the past few weeks I have found, that if you are skimming and following the directions for the pool chemicals (I asked our local Mom & Pops pool supplier) you really won't have to run it too often.
4. Do NOT lean on the sides - it lets out water and can be incredibly dangerous to small children (I am very vigilant about watching my children, but from what I observed, it is a potential danger)
5. The black "top hat" that plugs the OUT tube for the pool filter, is easily kicked off - so if you see any leakage, check THAT first.
6. Getting a hole isn't a huge deal because you can get a replacement kit from the Intex site for around 2 bucks (or if you purchased the walmart warranty, just get a new pool.)
I love this. I wish we got it sooner considering that since last year we have purchased: 2 inflatable kiddie pools (24$ each), 2 plastic pools (20$ each - they didn't survive the Texas sun) and one small cheapie inflatable pool (9$). As you can see by the images, they LOVE this pool. They can actually swim in it, unlike the kiddie pools, but it isn't too deep that they can't stand up.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 2 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

Wouldn't buy it again

07/10/2012
By ,
Maricopa, AZ
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For the price, what am I going to do? Give a bad review of this little pool? Yes, yes I am. We set this pool up on flat, clear ground. We also placed it on top of a brand new tarp. We got 3 weeks out of it before it started to leak. I could never pinpoint where the leak was, only that it was somewhere where a repair was not an option without draining 650 gallons of water. The material is so thin, in retrospect I'm not surprised it sprung a leak. I had my doubts from second one of pulling it from the package.
The filter system is the best part of the pool. I still believe the pump is built to last for a couple seasons, running it 6-8 hours a day. Some recommend just hosing off the fiters and reusing, but if you can afford replacing them they really do a great job of keeping the water clean, along with appropriate chemical treatments.
A couple days ago we I drained the pool and tossed it. I'm left with a nice pump and accessories that I'll never use. 3 months of Summer '12 was all I was asking from this bargain. No go.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

horrible

04/05/2012
By ,
ellenwood,ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we blew up the ring and put 600 gallons of water in the pool. the next day, the ring was completely depleted of air. how, in this economy, can we afford to waste 600 gallons of water so as to return the defective product? now we have to troubleshoot and hope we can find the leak and hopefully repair. i tried to contact the manufacturer to no avail. i have never been SO dissappointed in a product in ALL of my life. i will never again purchase another product by this particular manufacturer. next year, i will buy the pool from Big Lots; which is what i should have done in the first place.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
OH
RETURN IT!
Posted 05/06/2012
Walmart will take back this product, no questions. You just have to return it. Forget the manufacturer. You can get a refund, replacement or store credit. It's simple.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/14/2012
I purchased mine from biglots for alot cheaper and it works great!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

Completely worth the price

06/14/2012
By ,
Long Beach, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was actually given this pool (2 summers ago) after someone set it up in his yard and never used it. It was very dirty when I got it, but we cleaned it out thoroughly and bought a chlorine floater thing, a net, and a cover. I also kept the filter on a lot. It was great for a quick dip, especially after coming home from the beach, or on the days when I was too lazy to walk up to the beach. If you sit on your butt, it's actually deep enough to come up to your shoulders/neck, so it's very relaxing! But it did get dirty very easily (algae), and even with a $40 bottle of treatment, and regular filter cleanings, it still kept coming back. It might be from the original time it was left to sit so filthly, I'm not sure. We did store it and re-use it for a second summer as well, so this year I'm getting a new one and can't wait to use it again!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 5 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

met our expectations

03/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this pool last year. We have a small yard and didn't have the room for the 10' pool I was so against getting it but my husband convinced me and I'm glad we did. Our daughter was a year old when we got it and with the help of a bubble learned to swim in this pool. It was perfect for just the two of us. She could touch the bottom with her tippy toes but it forced her to try and swim which I loved and she could also lounge around in a floaty ring. On several occasions my husband, daughter, 9 yr old brother, and 10 yr old brother all fit in it and played happily together. I can't wait to use it again this year and it was WELL worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+87points
Review 6 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool
04/01/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this pool for my twins last year for their birthday. At the time they were three and it was the PERFECT size for them! I loved this pool until about half way through the summer when the filter stopped pushing water through and just stopped working all together. I have not had any luck finding a new filter system for this pool... so unfortunately I need to buy them another pool this year (not happy about that at all!). If the filter system doesnt work... the water from the pool will leak out through it... hense why i need to buy another pool. Good pool, great size for my kids, felt it was a great deal until the filter system died half way through the season.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
+38points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Anytown, USA
Change the filter media!
Posted 08/02/2012
The filter stopped working because it needs to be changed every week or so! The pool and the filter system are fine. Change the filter element once a week and put a cloride tablet in the filter top and you will be good to go. Ignore the filter and it will stop working in a week.
0points
Customer Avatar
Oakdale, MN
pool pump
Posted 07/04/2012
Noticed our pump was not pushing water, troubleshooted it by removing the filter. It works, now to go and buy new filters. Company advises replacing the filter a few times during running season. The old filter looked a little dirty, but enough where the water was not running through the pump. Happy kids in Minnesota again!
0points
Customer Avatar
washington
Knob
Posted 06/17/2012
There is a knob on the top of the filter to close it so it does not leak if not in use.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Solution
Posted 04/14/2012
I have this pool and I purchased it for about 25 dollars without the filter system there are plugs that you can put in the holes where the filter connections should go. I also purchased a floating chlorinater for the pool, I just pop in a chlorine tablet and let the machine float in the water about twice week the floater was 10 bucks at walmart.com and the tablets are really cheap!
+1point
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 7 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

refreshing!

04/17/2012
By ,
Camden, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was the best purchase for the solution for the heat last year, and with it already being this hot, its already up and running!! best purchase!! i just need a cover. . . i HIGHLY recommend spending the money getting a cover, extra filters, and a large bucket of chlorine tabs at time of purchase, that way you don't have to worry about it later!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+63points
Review 8 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool
06/21/2012
By ,
Apalachin, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This pool is great for my 2 kids to play in. It fits on the deck. Fairly easy to maintain. However, the filter pump is poor quality. I bought this pool last yr. The first filter pump lasted 6 weeks. They sent me another. It lasted a week. The next person at the customer service line told me the pool and filter pump weren't to be used outside. Yes, that is what they said. I asked where a pool is supposed to be? I have called and called them, written a letter, faxed them information, and they have refused to send me another filter pump. So, we got 7 weeks of usage out of the pool last yr. My kids loved the pool while they could use it and I enjoyed it, too.
We just set it up this yr and the top has a hole so I have to find a patch. We bought a new filter pump through another company and are hoping we have better success.
The salesman at Walmarts told me that you get what you pay for and since this pool is cheap don't expect too much.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 9 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

Small, but sturdy.

06/05/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really do love this pool and for the price, you can't beat it. The only negative I have is that it says 8 ft. diameter, but it's really more like 6 ft. max inside the blow-up ring of space to actually use. But it was very simple to set up and the filter is very quiet which was a nice bonus. The water stays really clean with little effort - we just cover ours with a tarp when not in use. Would definitely recommend if you're looking for a step up from a kiddie pool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 10 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

great for the price

05/23/2012
By ,
Nixa, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought this pool because we needed something small enough to fit on our back patio. this pool fit the spot we had perfectly. We used it pretty much everyday. I'm an old big guy but found this easy to get in and out of and was large enough to just relax in. However due to the nature of our patio's older rough concrete the pool will have to be replaced for this year as the bottom got pretty worn out last year. There was a small slow leak in the blowup ring that i couldn't patch as it was right on the seam close to the pump. but even when it went way down the water stayed up. Overall I was very happy with the purchase and am looking forward to buying another one for this year. Well worth the money even if it did only last us 1 year.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

Great for small Children!!!!

05/06/2012
By ,
Greenville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this pool last year for my daughters 5 and 3 they both love it. I am happy that this pool is so affordable and comes with a pump so you do not have to go through the hassles of other pools. There is plenty of room for me to get in the pool with my children and play with them. I have thoroughly enjoyed this pool it is great for you small children who have out grown the traditional kiddie pool but are still to small to buy a great big pool. This year my husband and I are going to buy the 12' pool to allow for more play room since we are expecting out third child any day now:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 12 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

Kids Love It

04/28/2012
By ,
ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my 4 year old last summer. he loved it perfect size. Down fall, we have had 3 holes so far. 2 were fixable. still cant find one hole in the blow up ring....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Review 13 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

Summer Escapes above ground pool

05/17/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pool is easy to assemble and appears strong enough to last many summers. I have already recommended it to other friends. This size is plenty big enough for my purposes, which are just to relax and get out of the Texas heat after working in the yard. I can fit a 6 ft. float in it, which is nice. It would be big enough for 2 smaller children, but would not expect to get anymore than that in there. This company makes many sizes bigger than this one. The price was extremely reasonable and I expect to use this for several years to come. NOTE: Be sure to install on a level surface. My yard is not level and so the pool leans a little to one side. Next year I may build up an area of my yard to make sure the pool is more level.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 14 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

8x30 Sweet Escape Swimming Pool

05/28/2012
By ,
Lancaster,Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This has been my 2nd purchase for the exact same store, and already this has had the problem with a pin holes on the side pool and it just leaks and leaks, i returned the first one and then got my money back and decided to get another exact same one, and sure enough it was with holes again. This has really got me upset because i called the company and they have this policy in returning pools to them and having the receipt faxed over to them and cut out a piece to them for accuracy in a return, they wont give your money back until they receive this cut out piece from you first. So i just returned it back to the store and got another one with the same problem, i am going to call the company and complain to them once again tomorrow because they are close today due to the fact that it is memorial day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 15 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

Great pool for children like 3-7

06/29/2012
By ,
Dubuque, Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pool is just what i was looking for. It only took about 15-20 mins to set up & about 2 1/2 -3 hrs to fill. Its Great to just cool off on a hot day & also perfect for my 6yr old to get in & play around. I can sit on the bottom & my head is just above water. She can get in & out without a ladder so thats a plus. The pump is not the best, but it does the trick. I replace the filters every week, but to keep it working great i take the filter out & clean it each night. I keep it covered unless we are in it, to keep as much stuff out of it. I bought the tarp made for the 10ft pool & it works great for ours. It heats the pool up nice during the day. I have not had holes in the top ring & i have not had any problems with the filter pump. Overall great pool for the price, if you have younger children this will do the trick to keep them busy for hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 16 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

Great pool for kids

05/27/2012
By ,
Branson MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wanted something my 8 & 9 yr old granddaughters could play in when I could not watch them in the lake. I even got in with them. Great little pool, wish it came with a cover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 17 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool
05/22/2012
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got this pool set up on Sunday with the help of my ex-son-in-law. As I am the main caregiver for his sons over the summer, I was anxious to have a pool which they could both enjoy as I am just not able to handle taking them to a public pool on my own. (Ages 6 1/2 and 2 1/2). Their father has the exact same pool in his yard and it was really quite easy to set up and did not take much time at all. It took longer to fill than anything else and even that was not a particularly long process. So far, so good. He built a wooden frame for it on our concrete patio, laid down a heavy duty tarp and filled it with about 1,000 lbs. of sand and leveled the sand to cushion the bottom of the pool. When we take it down, we plan on covering the sand with an additional tarp so that we have it all in place for next summer. The pool is not leaking, is sitting level and we are good to go. The weather is not quite right just yet for swimming, but we are ready for the first perfect day to get in and have fun. I plan on spending as much time as possible outdoors with the boys and this pool will also allow me to get in with them to cool off and entertain them. I spent hours researching pools and I felt this was the best value out there and perfect for our needs. I am curious to see how it stands up over the summer, but I am happy with the purchase thus far.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 18 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

My son and myself love this little pool

06/27/2012
By ,
Knob Noster, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I first look at this pool in the store I was like "No". But after reading online I seen few people had small problems with this pool and I was still scared but after moving from FL to Missouri and not having a pool like we always did in FL, I decided to go with this little pool. I think it was a great investment overall. Its great if you have a small backyard or even a patio. Its about a size of a small hot tub. My husband, myself, and our 6 year old son fits nicely inside.
I have had it for two week. If you are looking to swim init for get it. But it is great for the little ones to learn how to swim due to its not so deep. I enjoy getting in to cool down and relax.
The only thing I can say bad about it, is that every two week you have to change the filter but it is a small pool and small pump. But the filters are 6.97 for two. So its not really a bad deal. Its a great price to keep a kid happy and wet for the summer in your own backyard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool

Good pool, great price

06/05/2012
By ,
Overland Park, Ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picked this up today at my local store. Easy to setup, rather technical pump instructions, but I muddled through. Check for small leaks as you fill, and easy to repair. Just peel and stick to seal. Took about an hour to set up. Then fill it, make sure pump is working right and your grand kids are ready to cowabunga to their hearts content.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 20 for Summer Escapes 8' x 30" Quick Set Swimming Pool
05/02/2012
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product & Price Is Excellent
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next