Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summer Escapes Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Summer Escapes Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

The Summer Escapes 15' on-ground pool includes a filter pump, SureStep ladder, repair patch and more. This outdoor swimming pool is 42 inches deep and sets up in only 30 minutes. The swimming pool can accommodate up to eight people at a time.
Average Customer Rating:
4.264 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(333 Reviews) 303
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
203
4 stars
74
3 stars
21
2 stars
11
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation88%293 out of 332reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
203
4 stars
74
3 stars
21
2 stars
11
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Great Bang for the Buck!!

05/03/2012
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We just set this pool up this past weekend, and have been in it every day since! Its bigger than I had expected, we have plenty of room for my family of 4! The set up was super easy, I would recommend watching the video, we just went off that instead of trying to figure out the confusing directions, the hardest part of the whole set up, was building the ladder! It took about 8hrs to fill, havent got my water bill yet, so not sure about how much its going be affected. The pump and skimmer works GREAT!!! We dont run it 24hr, but at least half the day its on, and really does a good job of keeping the pool clean! I would recommend buying a starter kit of chemicals this pool does not come with any chemicals that you need. it does have some maintance gear, and the ground tarp to put the pool on, make sure the ground is level, and HARD, our only issue is where the ground was soft from leveling, on of the legs has sunk in a lil, making it unlevel, we plan to drain it, and stabalize the ground under that leg, other than that, this has been an excellent purchase, and we are having a BLAST in our pool!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+7points
Review 2 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Information!

06/03/2011
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
- I, a 17 year old female, dug ground, leveled ground, and put up this pool alone in 6 hours time. With a shovel! It would be a lot easier if you have multiple people helping but it doesnt take too long.
-Took 18 hours for my junky hose to fill 3 feet.
-Can comfortably hold 3 adults on inflatable beds, probably 5 or 6 younger children. Keep your kids from hanging on the pool frame, they will screw it up! The photo of the product on walmart.com makes it seem bigger than it is... Oh the floor bottom is very very slick, my bottom hurts.
-If your water has high iron prepare to spend 150$ on a sand filter unless youre okay with brown swamp water.
Love spending time with my mom in this thing! Water aerobics are fantastic =a)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 3 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Never thought we'd use a pool so much!

06/24/2011
By ,
OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went up easy and we've been in it every day for the past 2 weeks! Cover has been needing several patches (using tarp tape) but overall the value for the price has been excellent. Most pools don't even come with a cover, but we keep it covered when we are not in it because of the blowing "stuff" and bugs. Nice size for 2 adults to cool off and go some water arobic type exercises. We tried to get the site flat, but it's settled and leaning a little now. If anything goes wrong, that will be why. Make sure you have your ground level. I put it up alone and didn't have any trouble with the pool at all.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 4 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

VEry dissapointed.

07/03/2012
By ,
Kennewick,WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We were so excited about this pool, Not expensive, not to big, not to small, perfect for our back yard. But unfortunately a little bit of wind and pool snapped in half... Didnt even had a chance to use it((( so upsetting.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 5 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Nice Pool

07/06/2011
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We are glad we purchased this pool. Its perfect for our 7 year old and a few of his friends. Occassionally we get in as well. I am about 5'8" and the water comes about 6" about my waist. The only issue I have with the pool is the pump. It doesn't seem strong enough to really do anything.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 6 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Pretty good so far!

05/23/2011
By ,
Garrett, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this pool yesterday! So far this pool is holding up to my exceptions. It's filling up right now & it's way bigger then I thought it would be.
The instructions stink tho & it takes more then 30mins to put it up, maybe if I had more help it would have taken less. It took my brother & I a little over an hour to set it up.
Overall I'm pleased with it, I'll let you know more when it's filled up!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+25points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LongIsland, NY
agreed
Posted 06/17/2011
The directions are terrible. If you read them you get lost your better off working with the picture. The pool is really sturdy and does look way bigger then I imagined as well. Do not put this pool together by yourself. It takes hours and I got cut up and pinched several times. But so far the pool looks nice and we shall see what happens it is filling now. I will keep you posted and be putting up pictures when it is done.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Did not include everything!!

06/10/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the pool. My daughter and I set it up. However, it was missing the ground cloth, pool cover, patch kit, vacuum attachment, etc. All I got was the pool liner and the framework and pump with filter!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Nice Pool

07/21/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've just had this pool for a week, so far so good, set up was easy, love the skimmer feature, our Intex just didn"t work all that well filtering the water. We went and bought a "Real Vaccum" and it does great, I think the pump is real good after the Intex one we had for 2years. It is also easy to build a deck around, which we love. We bought the extended warranty, which covers alot of things. Hope it's a good pool & if we have any trouble we will be sure to post it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
Still really like our pool
Posted 08/01/2012
This pool has really impressed us so far, the pump system works great, the vaccum we bought that hooks up to the skimmer is the only way to go, only takes minutes to clean the pool, just make sure to follow the directions when using the vaccum and you shouldn't have any problems, would still recommend this pool over the Intex just because of the pump/skimmer system.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Awesome pool for the price.

07/17/2011
By ,
Cape Cod, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second pool of this style and manufacturer and it's amazing what you get for the price. Keep in mind, I paid only $199 and got a perfect size pool, ladder, filter and vacuum. What more do you need? We had the smaller version of this pool for 4 years and my daughter has outgrown it. It got 3 wholes from my lawnmower shooting up rocks and the patches worked perfectly. I will keep buying this brand as long as they make bigger sizes. Don't miss out. Really quite a steel.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Great Backyard Starter Pool

05/20/2012
By ,
Camden, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had our pool for a few weeks now. Very easy to assemble and set up. So far we are loving it. It is the perfect addition to our little back yard! Just a word of advice to those who are wanting the salt water system..make sure you buy the Intex pool as the salt water system is Intex brand and is made specifically for that pool. The Summer Escapes pool does not have a saltwater system yet. Other than that minor issue we have been having a blast!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 05/29/2012
Summer escapes does have a saltwater system on their polygroup website. Also, the Intex saltwater system will work with this pool - with the Summer Escapes adapter, just google "Summer Escapes conversion kit".
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Excellent pool for the money

06/30/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Late in coming but worth the wait. my grandkids and I love this pool. Thank you my sunshine and walmart for providing an affordable option for summer
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit
07/02/2011
By ,
higbee mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy to set up no sand required
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Great pool!

06/02/2012
By ,
Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I actually bought the blow- up- ring- kind second hand and it had five holes in it so we opted for this one brand new.
Now, I will be honest, it took me a good few hours to set it up and that was with someone helping me!!!! The directions are pretty good, but I do like my pictures to go along with them. I think the toughest part was lining up the holes in the t-bars well enough to get the pins to go through nicely!
Filling it didn't take very long at all. I actually wouldn't leave it over night because it only took me five hours to fill it.
Make sure to fill it an inch and have someone inside smoothing the wrinkles out and having someone on the outside gently pulling the sides to get a smooth surface.
Same with the legs of the pool. Make sure they are straight. Even have someone else take a walk around it to check on it... (I thought mine were straight, but they aren't so much when I took a second look)
The one thing I had/have issues with was with the blow up pool we brought in 2 yards of sand to level my backyard. We used a 2x4 with a level and anchored it in the centre and around we went. I figured with the tarp the sand would be fine for this one too...not so much. It has sunk substantially and it is on quite a tilt. Next year we are going to actually dig out the ground to level it. I'll let you know how it works out by the end of summer, but it is making me pretty nervous!
The other thing with the sand is where the pump is, make sure a corner is under the pump to give it enough of a slop away from the pool so the sand doesn't wash out (another issue I have come across)
We were also told to add about a litre of chlorine a week and we have a sock of stabilizer in it for the summer.
The vacuum works really well...just make sure that you crimp the hose well when you empty out the bag and if not make sure it's facing down outside of the pool...it has a pretty powerful spray and you'll find yourself soaked quickly...hahaha There is some debris that comes out of the bag when you turn it upside down to take it out of the pool to empty...but it really does a nice job cleaning!!
Other than that it is a dream and I can't wait to enjoy a long summer of floating!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Fantastic!!!!

07/13/2012
By ,
US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical about buying this pool after seeing some of the negative reviews but decided to take a chance. I'm glad I did! My husband followed the directions and everything works perfectly! Be sure to place the pool on a level surface and check the pool legs every hour or so while filling to be sure they stay straight. Our family of 6 fit nicely (even with my huge tube) The pump works great and the vacume attachment for the garden hose is fantastic!!! It sucks everything off the bottom! Heck ya I would recommend this low cost pool to people!!!!
:Walmart.com
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Awesome Pool...Super Value!

06/05/2011
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 42yr old mother & have never assembled a pool like this before and it was super easy! The hardest part was leveling the site (Tip: tape a level to a 2X4, mark the center of your site to use as a reference point, pivot the level/board moving it a foot at a time keeping one end on the center point.. leveling the ground as you go, this is easiest if you have a layer of sand or sandy dirt down first & this way the board works as a screed to level the sand). I put down an extra heavy/thick tarp then put down the tarp that came with the kit. My 17yr old son helped assemble the frame and in no time the pool was errected & ready for water! I think it took longer to un-box/un-wrap the parts & put the ladder together than it did the pool. Also the pool looks huge...It also came with a Vacume & a built in Chlorine dispenser which is a huge huge plus. Aside from leveling the site...it only took about an hour to assemble the pool!I highly reccomend this to anyone wanting a quality above the ground pool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+88points
Review 16 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!

08/14/2012
By ,
Elmhurst,il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pool is wonderful & huge! It was so easy to put together. There are reviews about the pump not being powerful enough ***BUT*** if you use the Vacuum attachment provided to get the bottom you will be fine. I also bought some Chlorine tabs & shock for maintenance. The most important thing is to make sure the ground you set it on is leveled if not you will have a slanted pool. Have FUN!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Great Pool/Made the saltwater system work

06/15/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this pool 3 weeks ago and so far it has been great. Much bigger than I thought it would be. I had already ordered the intex saltwater system, then at the store grabbed this pool because of the price difference between it and the intex. OOPS. The intex salt system did not attach. HOWEVER, there is a way around that!! I went to intexstore.com and ordered the Hose Adapter A 05CG-11 Part # 10849 ($4.81) and I bought the extra hose kit at walmart for $12.00. By doing this, we were able to attach the hose (extra one bought) from the pump to the saltwater system, then the hose that attaches to the pool, we attached to the saltwater system!!! Our pool was then up and running with the intex saltwater system. The only reason it will not work w/ the pool is because the adapters are not the same on each end of the saltwater pump to attach the hoses. So you will need to buy the extra parts but it is worth it to avoid messing w/ the chemicals. I hope this is helpful to anyone that wants this pool and the saltwater system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Review 18 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Great Value!

06/06/2011
By ,
Point Pleasant, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This pool is a great value for the money! It's even bigger than we thought it would be- the perfect size for our 5 and 6 year old boys and still room for us. It's big enough to feel like we can even invite people over for a pool party. The filter works great- when we filled the pool the water came out rusty for some reason, and the filter had the water crystal clear in about 2 days. Plus, the filter hangs off the side of the pool and doesn't lay on the ground like other pools. The ladder and cover come with it, which is a huge bonus. We had an Intex pool similar to this and we were very happy with it for 3 years. (A squirrel chewed through the liner over the winter). We were nervous about switching brands because we had a lot of confidence in Intex, but we switched to this brand and we are very happy with the quality. Time will tell if it's as durable as Intex over the years. Going with the metal frame pool is very important, I've heard from many people, as non-metal frame pools collapse more easily. Looking forward to a fun summer with this pool!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 19 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit
02/06/2012
By ,
Topeka, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our family loved this pool, until it got slashed 3 times in a month. We had to throw it away then for the year. Now we have the poles but no pool. The patch kit that came with it, don't seem to hold very well so we had to get a new/different patch kit. The cover that came with the pool don't seem to stay on. The draw string top doesn't cinch down tight enough. However, our family of 7 fit well in the pool and loved it! They could "dive" to the bottom after toys and it be a little of a challenge. Kids are ages 13, 12, 10, and 8 that played in it. They liked that they could have their cousins in it too and all be in it together, since it is a large pool. The pump works great! The first year that we didn't have to buy a bundle of chemicals! Just the usual yearly supply of stuff. :) For a cheap pool, you get what you pay for, and I think pretty good compared to what we got last time. We are going to get another one this year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+35points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lincoln, NE
do NOT throw the poles away
Posted 02/27/2012
Intex will send you a new bladder. It is way CHEEPEr then replacing the whole
unit. Ours was slashed as well. We ended up purchasing a new unit because I
was un aware we could just purchase parts from intex.
Good Luck,
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Summer Escapes 15' x 42" Metal-Frame Swimming Pool with Deluxe Kit

Item is good but bad customer service

05/03/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The item works well the first time when one put it up for the summer. The leg caps broke the first time it was put away after the end of summer, which is understandable. However, the company has extremely bad customer services when one needs parts. First time I had to call was for the filter that was having problems. The lady was very rude and sounded like she had a bad day. The second I had to deal with their customer service was when I needed the leg caps. First call, the leg caps were out of stock. After weeks of calls finally they had the leg caps, but the system was down. So they ask customers to leave their number with the promise that the company would call customers back and that there were sufficient leg caps in stock for the amount of customer demand. I never got the call so I call many times and the system was still down. The next day I call they were out of the leg caps until the end of the month. I suggest buying the other brand because the parts can be found them even at eBay. That is what we are going to do. This brand from Polygroup the parts are nowhere to be found and bad customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per year
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+22points
1-20 of 304 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next