Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mach Speed Technologies Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Mach Speed Technologies Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

The Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player is a budget-friendly MP3 player. This compact Eclipse MP3 Player features a small color LCD display, 4GB of internal flash memory, a USB 2.0 port and an eight-hour battery. Enjoy over 1,000 songs with this Portable MP3 Player that runs off a quick-charging and efficient lithium-ion battery. Simple drag-and-drop set up allows you to easily get your songs on or off this device so you can get back to your busy life and enjoying your music rather than fussing with formatting. A bright display ensures that you can easily keep track of what song you're listening to, and the nearly universal MP3 format means you're almost guaranteed to be able to get your favorite songs on this device.
Average Customer Rating:
2.469 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation50%16 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
5
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Eclipse MP3 Player

05/10/2013
By ,
Central Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this at my local Walmart (Orig $24) for $12 because I don't like using up the battery in my smartphone to listen to music at work. It's fairly easy to download songs onto this little device (about the size of 2oz cheese#, and the sound is pretty good, but the charging cable that came with the device is a piece of junk.
I had charged it #so I thought) and used it at work for about 20 mins and got the "low power" error and the music shut off. Several times.
I sent Google feelers out to see what the problem could be - to give this cheap MP3 the benefit of the doubt and found that nearly everyone who has this model has the same piece of junk charging cable, and to use a different one. So I did. It worked perfectly!! Charged up in a couple of hours.
In fact, I put songs on it and used earphones ALL NIGHT with no problems. I was excited to use this at work! Got to work and listened for about an hour this time .. and BOOM! "Low Power" error again, and again. GRR!
Frustrating, to say the least. So, I'm returning it and getting something else. I wouldn't recommend it .. at $12 or ESPECIALLY $24. I wouldn't recommend it if someone GAVE it to you. Not worth the aggravation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Show Low, AZ
Very frustrating to navigate...Not user friendly.
Posted 05/31/2013
I bought two of these. One for me and one for my brother on chemo. I loaded my music on them with ease. However, when trying to find the music between files, I couldn't. It's not user friendly at all. I've owned other MP3's that are able to switch from folder to folder very quickly. This Eclipse MP3 player literally took ten minutes of fiddling with it to "accidentally" change music folders. I tried to duplicate exactly what I did and couldn't change folders again. Very frustrating. I deleted my music and took it back to the store. Luckily they had a great return policy and accepted my reason for returning them.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Good for the price

06/20/2013
By ,
Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For $12, this is a steal. I wanted a small MP3 player for the car that wouldn't drain my smartphone battery. So far this has worked well. No issues with charging or battery life. You will need a magnifying glass to read the menus, and they are not very user friendly, but it serves it's purpose for $12. You can tell it is cheaply made, but like i said, it's $12.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

THE WORST PURCHASE EVER!!!

07/01/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this and used it one time and never again. The battery dies after 2 or 3 songs, and the earphones are terrible. I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT AT ALL
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Don't buy this piece of junk!!!!!

10/30/2013
By ,
Twin Cities, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This player costs less than $15 and you get what you pay for! It is hard to read, cumbersome to adjust the volume and overall unimpressive . . Mine is going back to the store in the next day or two.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Mine didn't work

06/29/2013
By ,
Sandia Park, NM
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I charged it the full one and a half hours as it said it needed and couldn't get it to work but about 15 seconds. I checked reviews and found I'm not the only one that had problems. I learned a good lesson, I thought I would save some money but the time I spent messing with it, about 2 hours, really cost me something more precious than a few dimes. Next time I'll check reviews before I buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Its alright

09/30/2013
By ,
Charlotte,NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pretty good device it comes with a handy clip and it holds a good amount of songs the only problem I had was the cheap headphones. But I bought my own pair and it was good :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Great little player...

06/29/2014
By ,
Hamersville, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a great size and value... I did have difficulty with the volume control but I read the instructions and it was then easy... see below if you are also having trouble.
Volume Control
-To increase the volume, press the volume button and the volume icon will light up. Next press the next track button to increase volume and the previous track button to decrease volume. -When the desired volume level is reached, press the volume button again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL
07/10/2013
By ,
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does everything I needed and expected to be provided at this price. Excellent tech support. Nice little unit that I use primarily for audio books. Very compact and handy for when I'm going to face a wait (doctor's office, etc.). Better battery life would be nice but fine as is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Piece of junk!

09/01/2013
By ,
Illinois
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this for my 9yr old son for a 5k color run. It was inexpensive and was just what he needed... It claimed to be drag and drop, as far as loading songs to it. I dropped several files into the folder and nothing. It didn't recognize any files on it, other than the "sample" music already there. I messed with the stupid thing for over an hour. (I am fairly technologically savvy, and this little bugger completely irritated me). I FINALLY got it to recognize a song, so I plugged it back in and put more songs on. I 'ejected' the drive, and went to test it again and it wouldn't work at all, as in none of the buttons worked, I couldn't access the music files or any other features on the player. I turned it off and back on and it displayed "Eclipse" for about 4 minutes, the only way I could get it off of that screen was to plug the usb cable back in and then 'eject' it again. It still wouldn't work. I reformatted the drive and that didn't help either. I returned the stupid thing. I guess it is not wise to buy the cheapest mp3 player available. But my Wal-mart only had this and 2 other players, which were more than I wanted to spend at the time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

MP3 should be pulled from shelves.

07/31/2013
By ,
Reno, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This MP3 only functions half the time and it has a low battery life. Most of the song that I downloaded only play partway or are skipped over all together. The sound quality is poor with headphones or earbuds. Also the earbuds that come with it are junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Fabulous Once I Figured It Out

06/19/2014
By ,
Camillus
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this mp3 just this evening. Admittedly I'm not tech saavy at all... My old mp3 player quit, and I needed a new one for the gym/hiking. I easily downloaded a bunch of songs from playlists on my Windows Media Player. Once I got the songs downloaded, to my dismay I got no sound out of the player. I could see the song titles scrolling, everything looked as if it were working, but nothing. I tried another pair of headphones from my old mp3 player, and still nothing. I read the brochure and it directed me to the website for more information. I went to the website, but there was no troubleshooting info. Now I'm getting frustrated. I did e-mail their tech support to ask if I was doing something wrong or if I had a faulty player. I'll have to e-mail back and say, "Nevermind..." Anyway, I'm pushing buttons like crazy and next thing you know, I hear music! Then I lost it again and couldn't figure out what I'd done to get it to play a second ago. Long story short, I didn't realize the center button MUTES the sound! I must've hit it before I tried to listen, and that's why it was quiet. So, now I have music, but it sounded awful. I had the volume all the way up to 31 and it was horrible. It never would've worked at a gym, all of the outside noise would easily drown out the music even at the highest volume. Until I had the idea to plug my other headphones in that I'd just tried. Almost blew my eardrums out on full volume! The volume at 15 with the different headphones is stronger than max volume with the headphones that came with this player. So now that I've got it down, it's a fantastic player, easy to download music, and with better headphones, very powerful. It was sketchy at first, but now I'm glad I made the purchase!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

buy something else or learn how to whistle

10/15/2013
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PROS
--low cost
--small size with clip (great for running or
--4GB storage (plenty of space)
CONS
-- VERY POOR battery life
-- Difficult to charge (plugged in but is it charging?)
-- poor button layout/deisgn
-- screen busy with symbols
RECOMMENDATION
--buy something else or learn how to whistle
The size, storage capacity, and shape are great if you're looking for a small mp3 player.
That's where the good ends.
The battery doesn't last but an hour tops... And once you put it down the battery continues to die. I've had it plugged in to the computer overnight and it worked for about 15 seconds.
It did work ok the first time I charged/used it and now all down hill.
Going to ebay for a used ipod.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

I took it back to the store on Day 2.

06/28/2013
By ,
Celina,Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The screen was way too small. No software comes with it. No way to make up play lists. Could not down load play lists from my computer to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Battery Life Is Bad

08/20/2013
By ,
Webster
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product would be great, but u can hardly see the menu and the battery drains out so fast, i would say if you were lucky you could get 20 min of play before you would have to recharge it again, so i would say if you only have about 20 min to listen to music its a great buy, otherwise stay clear of this item...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Just spend the extra $10.oo and get a better one

09/03/2013
By ,
Fife Lake, Mi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was not as user friendly as I wanted. The menu was very small & no instructions. Does not take or hold a charge well. I returned this.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Not worth a dime.

08/05/2013
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter who is 8. She didn't need anything fancy so this looked like the perfect thing. Loading music on it was easy enough, but less than a month later (of causal use), it stopped being able to be charged.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Great Little Product

04/18/2014
By ,
Richland Center, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have have had mine now for just over a year, No Probs w/ battery or sound. Only prob I had was the songs would mix together, meaning one song would come on then after a few seconds it would stop and another would start. But all I did was defrag and optimize it when charging it and its fine again. Like any other computerized devices that holds memory you have to defrag it. If you don't know how just use Smart Defrag. I am frugal so I used the free version. As far as sound I used a better set of ear buds and it sounds great. This little device is great for my aerobic workout and HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training). So all my moving about doesn't mess with it. Follow the instructions to set it up and I don't think you will have any problems. I didn't. Enjoy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

A worst MP3 player I have ever seen..!!

08/14/2013
By ,
Bentonville, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst MP3 player I have ever seen.. It stopped working on the 2nd day I purchased this. The buttons are also not getting pressed to change the title. I'm really having a bad experience with this device and 100% wont recommend to anyone else.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Great for Price and for beach and working out

03/31/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this MP3 to take to the beach while on vacation. The sound is as good as the sound on my phone and I-Pod. With that being said I am using Apple ear buds and you will need to experiment with the settings. Drag and drop was really easy. If you take time to figure it out you will be pleased. How long it will last......who knows.....if it last 6-12 months.....I got my $14.88 out of it For my purpose and what I paid I think it is great!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Eclipse 4GB MP3 Player, CLD4SL

Not Worth Your Dollar

09/05/2013
By ,
Miami, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I intentionally purchased this MP3 player because of the price. I was looking for an MP3 player that I could take with me on my runs/jogs without worrying about dropping it. Therefore, a cheap MP3 player would be perfect for that purpose. I certainly got what I paid for. I took this jogging with me once (the day after I purchased it) and the battery drained very quickly (after approximately an hour to an hour and a half). Originally, I was able to connect it via USB to my computer and place songs on it without hassle. Now, my computer says it cannot recognize the device. I don't know what's going on nor do I have the patience to figure it out. I threw out the package for this music player, so I probably won't be able to return it at this point. I figure I'm going to have to just throw it away and buy another.
I had purchased the Philips Gogear Mix 4GB Digital MP3 Player from Walmart.com for $15 a little over a year ago. Although that MP3 player was inexpensive, it worked like a dream. A USB connector was attached to the player and, therefore, I didn't have to worry about carrying around a USB cord with me. Unfortunately, I left it at a restaurant (thus, the reason I prefer cheap MP3 players) and ended up replacing it with the Eclipse player.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next