Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Cold Steel Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Cold Steel Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Ever popular, the Gladius is still in demand almost 2000 years later and is one of our most frequently requested swords to make, so we have decided to offer a modern version of this ancient classic in a very affordable machete/sword format. Derived from the sword used by Celtic tribes of ancient Iberia (Spain) and adopted by the Roman Legions, the Gladius, with its long, narrow point and wasp waisted blade, was the scourge of the battlefield and often the last thing seen or felt by Rome's enemies. Made from 1055 Carbon steel and hand sharpened to a murderous point and wicked edge, it offers 19 inches of unprecedented piercing and slashing power at a bargain price. Sporting an extra wide, full tang for strength and a classically inspired handle, it offers the standard guard and ball shaped pommel of years gone by. Made of high impact Polypropylene, it's impervious to the elements, rugged beyond belief and most importantly, comes compete with a sturdy Cordura sheath and belt loop.
Average Customer Rating:
4.393 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation89%25 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

What a sword!

01/18/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an impressive blade indeed! It was very sharp & comes to a fine point @ the tip. The handle is a very tough & functional. This is not a machete; rather, it is a light & tough functional gladius designed upon the classic Roman sword. Excellent, tough high carbon blade designed for a strong forward thrust that might just go clear through the target! Blade is painted w/a light corrosion resistant paint. Sheath is a nice functional cordura type material w/heavy plastic reinforcement @ the tip. Very good value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

An excellent long knife

08/15/2014
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an excellent bargain for my knife collection. I have no plans to use it other than placing it my collection cabinet, however if a Zombie was to stumble through I,m sure it would handle the job well. All puns set aside I have many Cold Steel knives and all have been excellent. Many I have used and many just collected. I don,t think you would be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Very great machete!

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this machete! It came very sharp, looks amazing and is just plain incredible! I love this! And the price is so cheap. A great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Wicked sharp

12/10/2012
By ,
missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There is a big warning tag on the grip - please read before you pull it out of the sheath!!! Wicked sharp and solid. This thing is so scary, the point is amazing, that I put it in my gun safe for safe keeping. This thing is a serious weapon and looks like it's well made.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Great product. Needed a little work, though.

10/07/2012
By ,
Farmington, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gladius because 1- I collect swords, and 2- I've never gotten a bad product from cold steel.
Out of the box, the tip is needle sharp. The actual edge of the blade, however, had a wicked burr on it. That wouldn't be a problem, as that is best when using a machete, but it was catching on the inside of the sheathe and shredding it. A few passes over my whet stone was sufficient to reduce the burr enough that it didn't catch anymore. Be careful when doing this, as the blade is razor sharp on both sides.
One other thing that bothered me was that the coating on the blade was worn out a bit when I got it. That isn't a big issue, as it will wear off eventually anyway with use.
The handle is made out of high impact polypropylene. It feels like it is cheap plastic, but it is not. I have smashed it off of rocks and trees more times than I care to count, and there isn't even a scratch on it.
The sheathe is exactly what I expected it to be. The buckle holds the machete in place securely. The sheathe is quite durable. It has a plastic plate near the tip that helps the sheathe hold its shape. This is very helpful when trying to insert the blade back into the sheathe. It also helps with the durability.
I've used this product numerous times in the woods to clear out paths. I've also used it to cut down small trees. It had held up wonderfully, and I've yet to have the need to sharpen it again.
All in all, this is a excellent quality product. I would definitely recommend this product to both people who collect this kind of stuff, and those who would use it in the field.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Great Machate

08/06/2014
By ,
Glens Falls ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice and sharp out the box best of all a bargain at the Walmart price ++++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Not for a serious user

01/27/2014
By ,
Mountain View, AR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a big fan of Cold Steel Products, but this item is seriously disappointing. Looks cool and feels good until you begin to use it. First off you really need to rework the edge to get it to cut which I know frustrates some users, but my beef centers around the thickness of the blade - it is way too thin for the length. When you make a strike the blade vibrates and that absorbs some of the energy of the swing and that will not work. The energy must go into the material chopped, not the blade. Also, the point is very sharp, too sharp. When the point meets solid resistance it curls up. Another big turn off. It can be worked down to a softer, stronger tip, but the thin blade vibrating convinced me this was something to give away to a friend that prefers looks over use.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

super awesome blade!

03/07/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing rocks! Best value for the money! Extremely well made! You can feel it in the weight! Blade is sharp just needs a little de-burring! I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Much Better Than Expected

02/18/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let's face it: machetes are for clearing brush and light foliage. We should not expect more than that. The Cold Steel Gladius Machete performs admirably within this scope. The tip could be a problem if you do not keep in mind where the "sweet spot" is. Top 1/3 is for piercing - middle 1/3 is for chopping. I've used the tip to spear fish on lazy afternoons. Nice. I've chopped through 3" vines in one go. Nice. I was surprised when I realized that this is now amongst my favorite camp/hunt tools. More than worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Well worth the money

06/02/2013
By ,
Boston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has a nice, thick blade that does not flex under it's own weight and feels more like a sword or an actual Gladius than a machete. It comes very sharp and mine has no defects on the edge. The sheath is extremely functional. Over all I am quite pleased especially considering it was so inexpensive (around $34.00 at the time of my purchase). Only use soapy warm water to remove the extremely annoying sticker that clearly states that it is a "Machete", alcohol or goof-off or something like that will strip the black coating off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

really good item

12/31/2012
By ,
oxford AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sharp with murderous point on the end. Best machete I have ever seen or owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

One heckuva machete!

04/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This sucker is sharp and I'm not kidding! I am going to file the point so that it is not so needle-like. Should be great on brush and if there's ever a zombie apocalypse I'm fixed up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Came with a dull tip; finish is asymmetrical

03/25/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The tip was really dull and the black finish is very asymmetrical but the edge is very sharp. Very sturdy blade, but it was obviously made in a hurry and wasn't inspected at all for quality. Cuts right through branches and foliage. Also the "Warning: Very Sharp" sticker that was stupidly stuck right to the blade was a pain to remove and the adhesive junk is still there making the blade look awful. Would be amazing were it not for the tip, poor finish, and sticker though. If you want something to hang on the wall then get a real gladius but if you want a tool I definitely recommend this. DEFINITELY not a toy this thing is very dangerous.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

An excellent working sword

04/04/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second one that I have purchased, and will not be the last. The weight and balance are good, and it comes sharp enough to warrant a warning tag. The price and construction are such that I'm not afraid to use this for whatever is needed. It's not a display item, but a working tool, just like the originals were meant to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Excellent Home Defense Tool

10/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Design based on Roman fighting sword. Good quality.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Amazing

06/03/2013
By ,
Bel Air, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This kniife/sword/ machete is strong, sharp, durable, and reliable. Cold Steel is amazing
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Nice sword

03/14/2013
By ,
Ft. Worth, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This review came a bit sooner than it should as I haven't had the time to give it a good test. The looks and heft of the sword is better than expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

nice

03/15/2013
By ,
kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Is a bit heavy but feels very good in hand. Be careful of point though it is sharp enough to bend real easy. Overall awesome sword for money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Excellent, durable sword

01/01/2013
By ,
Sharpsburg, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Incredibly sharp out of the box. Nicely styled. Durable, comfortable grip. Very low maintenance. Powerful blade cuts well, dulls slowly. Extremely pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cold Steel Gladius Machete

Oh YEAH!

02/28/2014
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
That's what a friend said when he handled my new purchase. He added that he wanted one as well. I think i'll get a few more through walmart.com, the best price I could find!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next