Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for GigaTent GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

GigaTent GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

The simple, three-pole GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana is full of features. The front can be closed using two zippers on the sides of the door for use as a changing room. When open, the door also acts as an extended floor area. There are two mesh windows in the walls for air circulation and pockets for small things to keep them from cluttering up the floor. Along the floor seam are sand pockets to prevent the cabana from becoming airborne in the wind. Stakes are also provided for use on grass or dirt.
Average Customer Rating:
3.292 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation67%16 out of 24reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Cheaply made, but worked for what it's intended.

10/08/2012
By ,
TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this beach shade to give our young son a place to sleep on the beach. It worked okay for that. It is very small when packed, and light enough to easily carry. It sets up easily enough, even in the wind it wasn't a big problem.
Unfortunately it is very cheaply made. In several places the stitching started coming apart, and within a couple more uses the floor would have separated from the tent walls. The stakes that come with it are worthless, they didn't work in sand at all. The sand pockets are a good idea, but they were in the wrong location to work, and were too small in any event.
What we did to get the tent to stay in place was to mound up wet sand on the end of the flap, and in each of the opening's corners. With about 20 lbs of sand in each of those three places, the tent stayed in place well.
At $25, it was worth it for our vacation to have it. Comparable products are three times as much, and considering I'll just throw it away (see stitching coming apart above), I'm glad it didn't cost any more. If you want something to keep for a long time, get a better quality tent. If you just need it for one weekend, this is a great option.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Good product, but not the color in the picture.

08/28/2012
By ,
Covington, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this to use on the beach. I will be using it in a week and I have faith that it will do what it's supposed to. The setup and disassembly are easy. It takes less than 10 minutes. The COLOR is NOT WHAT'S IN THE PICTURE Wal-Mart posted. It's lime and blue. Actually, I don't care about the color, but I know if I was expecting blue I would want BLUE, not NEON GREEN. The cabana size is okay. Probably 2 adults, 2-3 kids, 4 toddlers, or 1 adult w/ 2 kids can relax under it. If you're going to actually sleep in it, I would say 1 adult and a small child or two kids. There's not much space to actually stretch out in side. In the pictures I provided I used standard chairs and pillows so you can get a feel of the size at home before you buy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Great product at a good price

09/03/2012
By ,
Rhode Island
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this tent to take out 7 month old to the beach for the first time, we were going on vacation and staying near the beach so we knew we would be spending a few days on the beach. On the beach new out of the box it was easy to set up and worked out great. We put a large towel in the bottom and my son took multiple naps throughout the week.
My Favorite features:
1. It was large enough for me to play inside with my son.
2. you can zip up the front, we zipped up the front about 1 foot while my son was taking a nap, this was great to keep the sand from blowing inside, to keep him from rolling out, and also we could still keep an eye on him while he was napping.
3. The bags to store the tent in are plenty big enough to fit the tent, there is nothing I hate more than rolling it up and not being able to fit it in the bag. This tent fits in the bag fine even if I didn't fold/roll it back up exactly the way it came.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

This will work fine.

08/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have only just set it up; it is easy enough to do. The material doesn't look like it will last forever, but it will suit the purpose, protecting the baby from the sun at the beach and allowing privacy for changing. It's the right size, and it's very portable. The price is certainly fair.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

we got the lemon of the month

05/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Someone always has to get the lemon, and this time it was us! We didn't have time before vacation to get the tent out of the box and check it out, so the first time setting it up was on the beach 10 hours from home with a tired toddler waiting. It was missing two small poles and had one extra long pole, so someone didn't put the correct parts in the bag. Before we figured this out, trying to put the first pole on, the plastic just started splittering and pulling apart. It was the weirdest thing, like it was just very thin, cheap plastic. Even if we had the correct parts, it wouldn't have worked since the plastic poles where just splitting apart all over the place. I've read other reviews and they didn't have this problem, but man, we got a bad deal all around! We'll be returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Cheap but too small

09/12/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The picture appears larger than it actual size, but I have no complain since the price is decent. I would get something bigger next year.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Great Item!!!!!!!!!!!

07/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE it! So big, perfect for shade by our pool and at the beach! Big enough to play in or just take a break!! WORTH EVERY PENNY! You will love it!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Great for the price

03/04/2014
By ,
Tampa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use it at the beach. Easy to put together and only takes a couple of minutes. Great to nap in at the beach out of the direct sun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Perfect for the beach, love the fold up size.

07/03/2013
By ,
Wantagh, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only disappointment I have is that I lost the carry bag the first time I used it. ( my fault ) Other then that, very easy to use. Lightweight to carry, and big enough to move around inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Portable Beach Cabana

08/29/2012
By ,
Buffalo, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used this beach cabana in Cocoa Beach last week. It set up good & did not blow over once we used sand in the pockets. It is small, once we placed a small cooler and a duffle bag in it, there was only room for one person and legs are out in the sun. My husband noticed the heat from the sun going through the fabric. Overall it was ok.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Piece of junk

04/24/2014
By ,
Fredericksburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We took this to the beach, and within 10 minutes of setting it up the tab which holds the pole to the lower edge of the shelter broke off rendering the entire thing useless.
When we get back from vacation it's going back to Walmart!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

fits my need

03/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
haven't used it yet
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Did what I needed it to do

08/19/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I made this purchase for a recent trip to Myrtle Beach, SC. It was easy to put up with two people, but one person could have managed. (I put it up by myself at home before the trip) There was an average breeze the day I used it and when the sand pockets were filled, the tent stayed down without issue. The breeze picked up at the end of the day, but since I was sitting in it there was no reason to think that it would blow away. Take down was easy, but it is a little difficult to fold and pack back up in the carry sleeve due to the wind and the sand. (I expected this, and it was no fault of the product since it packed away easily when I put it up at home) The size was sufficient for two adult people sitting in beach chairs and their gear. The tent is too short to use with camping chairs, but I expected that since it's for the beach. The sun did come through the windows in the tent, but it still blocked out most of it and provided sufficient shade. (I blocked out additional light by putting my beach towel over the side where the sun was shining in)
Other people in my group used beach umbrellas. The benefit of the tent was that I didn't have to keep moving myself to remain in the shade. Also the umbrellas blew away when the wind picked up since we didn't have umbrella anchors, but the tent stayed put since I was in it.
There are two things that I would change in the design. The first is, I wish there were window flaps so the windows could be closed for changing purposes or to block out additional sun when needed. The idea of having a closing door is great, but I'd never change in it since you can see right through the windows. The second is that the floor is black. On the beach or in a sunny spot it can get pretty hot. I remedied the problem by blocking the windows with a towel and placing a towel on the floor, but I think if it were a lighter color (gray for example) that it would be cooler and the extra towels wouldn't be necessary.
I'm glad I made this purchase and think it was a good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Love it but......

08/24/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this item since we have kids and attend a lot of sports events. I thought it would be a good idea since we are stuck at the field all day with a 3 year old. We received our item and we love it, the only downfall is, on the top (the little black pieces) the pole goes in, one of them is sewn on backwards so we had to twist it over for the pole to go in and it is now lopsided. I am returning it so I can get a new one. I love it, but like I said it has a little malfunction. Other than that I would recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

it was what i was looking for

10/24/2013
By ,
dunedin fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good product ///// WILL NEVER USE SITE TO STORE AGAIN ! I would have paid more for it not have to wait 13 days to get it (Birthday present, come & gone, had to get something else)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana
03/25/2013
By ,
cincinnati, ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was purchased for family vacation this summer so we have not used it yet. It is well put together and seems very roomy. Good deal for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Don't be persuaded by the pictures.

05/19/2013
By ,
Montana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this product hoping to use it for watching soccer games in the sun and rain. Admit to being skeptical that the stated size matched the pictures. It didn't. It would have been a nice beach gift for the granddaughters which were about the only size people that would fit in it. One or even 2 adults would have fit sitting on the ground but not in a lawn chair.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

You get what you pay for.

09/26/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was SMALL!! my elementary school aged kids could not stand in it and two of them could barely fit comfortably inside it. We set it up at the park where we would be all day due to a softball tournament. the seams tore apart from the pull of the poles within a few hours. thats what I get for buying a cheap cabana. I've learned my lesson.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

poor material

08/30/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My son and I first set this up in our living room. After 2 minutes of it standing the traps that holds the wire frames burst out. We were traveling the very next day, so my wife sewed the straps back on.
The tent did stay firm at the beach with the strong winds just using the sand bags and a towel bag on the inside.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GigaTent Sand Castle Portable Beach Cabana

Cute little beach tent but not tall enough

06/24/2013
By ,
Toronto, Canada
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cute beach tent but it was not tall enough for a standard camp chair, only sand chairs would do. I am only 5'6".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next