Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Relion ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Relion ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

This Relion Blood Glucose Monitor does not require any coding. Relion Micro Test Strips are made to be used on the fingertip or palm, and the test takes a maximum of seven seconds. The Relion Blood Glucose Monitor requires one 3-volt battery CR2032, which is included.
Average Customer Rating:
3.961 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation81%21 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Monitor is good. Lancing device borders on useless

07/04/2012
By ,
Joliet, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this monitor kit for about three weeks. The monitor is small, seems well made, easy to use and has a handy, compact carrying case. Monitor readings seem to be consistent.
The down side is the lancing device borders on useless. The spring seems to be weak and I usully have to try anywhere from 2 to 4 times to actually get blood to test. Using the alternate site testing tip seems to work better, but still not well.
A decent choice if you don't mind having to buy another lancing device to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Great - I best I can find

10/02/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this for my 6 yr old child who was diagnosed in the summer. This is the best blood glucose monitor I can find. When you account for the price of the strips, the ease of use, the accuracy, you can't beat it. I first used the AccuChek Nano that our doctor gave us. Did not like it. It takes more blood and the lancets hurt my son more. Then we used the FreeStyle Lite. Uses less blood than the Nano, but I didn't like how it sucked up the blood on the side. And the lancets hurt too. Plus, they are expensive strips, even with insurance!!! Then I got this one. LOVE it. We got the ultra thin lancets and also the ultra thin plus and it doesn't hurt him anymore. Sometimes it does hurt a tiny bit, but not usually. And this uses much less blood so I don't have to squeeze my sons little fingers so much. They are fair priced. Accurate, never had a false reading. Never had a test strip break on me(as stated by another customer). The strip doesn't glide in as well as others, but I haven't had one break and I can still slide it in one handed. I totally recommend this to anyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

SMALL / WORKS FINE

03/26/2014
By ,
Thousand Oaks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have never used a Micro before. I was happily surprised that this was a full kit (lancets, lancet device, meter, a few strips, and a booklet for recording results - micro sized!), which I was not aware of. I bought a box of strips for this mirco meter, as well - you never want to run out, especially when you need to test!!!
In the kit, the lancing device seemed cheap plastic, and was broken. I had one already, so no big deal. You may have to get micro lancets for the one in the kit. It seemed smaller. I threw it away.
The actual MICRO METER worked fine! Quick and easy. It even came with a little handle to attach to it. The main thing is, to TEST YOUR BLOOD OFTEN during the day / night hours. This micro makes it a bit easier to do that, as it is super-portable. However, you still need your lancet & device, and to record your results. The battery is a round flat one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Great monitor, great price

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I switched to ReilOn because the test strips were a lot less than what I was paying. Very pleased with the monitor, strips, and lancets. I was using a One Touch Ultra Mini, and One Touch test strips, but they were so expensive. I was excited when I saw this monitor and the strips cost so much less. Very pleased and would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

This is a very good meter

04/06/2014
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a type 1 diabetic for many years and test myself 3-5 times daily.
I use the ReliOn Prime meter and strips throughout the day and the Micro when I need a closer +/- reading. I went to these meters because my insurance no longer covers my One Touch or FreeStyle.
I have found it to be very reliable and easy to use, and am saving a lot of money...even cheaper than the co-pay for the big brand names mentioned.
At 62 years old I can remember when we had no options whatsoever.
I highly recommend both the Prime and the Micro.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Very good meter

03/02/2014
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After using a Freestyle Freedom Lite for a while I decided to try the Relion Micro due to the lower cost of strips. For the first few tests I used both meters for a comparison. I tested on the same finger just seconds apart and the results were always within a point or two of each other. I feel confident that the Relion is just as accurate as the Freestyle and the testing supplies are far cheaper. It was easy to set up too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

very good monitor!!

11/02/2013
By ,
chicopee,ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good monitor>
I used one touch mini for years.
I changed to save money on the test strips.
I did a side by side with the one touch
For 2 test they were the same within 3 points
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Good Value and easy to use

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading all the instructions and setting up the meter, I began my "use" experience. All things work well and the instructions which I followed to a "T" were spot on. This is a convenient easy to use blood sugar monitor and comes with everything except the test strips. You must buy them separately, none come with the Reli On Micro .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Wildly inconsistent results

12/22/2013
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this as it was well rated by Consumer Reports and the strips were cheaper than those for my other meter. However as soon as I used it I found that the results were about 25% higher than my old meter. Even my husband who does not have diabetes tested with a Fasting BG in the pre diabetic range.
I contacted the company who said that a 20% variation was considered acceptable, but offered to send me a control solution to test the meter. It arrived two weeks later and according to the meter it fell within the proper range. However when I tested my BG, within two minutes got results as wide as 134 and 113. I can't rely on it and plan to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Works well and the strips are a reasonable cost.

10/23/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The apparatus and carrying case are not fancy, but the apparatus works reliably and it does the intended job of measuring blood glucose. The cost of the strips is quite reasonable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Fits well in purse

08/22/2012
By ,
Marion IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had type I diabetes for 12 years. Just recently I've gone to using two meters. My home meter (I use the most), goes well with my insulin pump and the reading goes directly to my pump. I keep the Micro in my purse and use it when I'm away from home. I then have to record the reading onto my pump. This meter is small, inexpensive, and easy to use,
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Great Meter

03/09/2013
By ,
Tooele, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to try it as my one touch testing strips were too pricey. Love it. It takes a few seconds longer to read but the money I save on strips makes it worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor
10/18/2012
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This meter works great. Very little blood required. I have matched the results with more expensive meters. The test strips for it are half the price of strips for other meters. Makes testing affordable. I am prediabetic so insurance will not pay for my strips. This is my second one. My first one had been working great for three years. I thought it was time to retire it and begin with a new one. I highly recommend this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Very good meter

07/08/2012
By ,
Harford,MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My cat has diabetes and I am using this to keep track of his blood glucose. I am very happy with the ease of use and you don't need much blood for testing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

I like this little meter for one thing ..

07/20/2012
By ,
West Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this meter as much as My Nano so i have one meter I take with me shopping and one I leave at Home I really like both Meters I have as the both get Used I have had Diabetes for 21 years and I am pourd to say I still have feeling in My legs and My diabetes had attacked My eyes but it has healed up too . so I am happy and I am in good Control My Doctor has Me have a1c test every 3 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Good little meter

08/20/2012
By ,
WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Being recently diagnosed I find the small size useful. The test strips are reasonable in price, not the cheapest but close. Small sample size is a plus, I have got roughly 6 dead strips out of about 200 so far. Great thing about this monitor is the small carrying case it comes with, fits nicely in my pocket so I don't feel like I am breaking out the lab when I have to check my sugar. I have found it useful to get slightly more blood than you think you'll need so that you dont waste a strip. Only thing I wish was that there was a better way to carry my pills in the case, the small size of the case feels puffy when I put even the smallest pill box in the case.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Great value

03/30/2014
By ,
West Suffield
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

Poor results

12/16/2013
By ,
Roanoke,va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It gave my blood glucose as 125 and 2 minutes later I took another sample. It gave me 104. I went to the doctors office, got checked, my blood glucose level was 84. This is the most garbage piece I ever bought. For 3 days, waiting for results I suffered agony, fear that I am diabetic. Please don't buy it. Those 3 days wait was a weekender wait.
Not worth when results vary that much.
You get this junk only at walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor
07/24/2013
By ,
Waxhaw nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a Free Style Lite Meter and the strips go in very easy and is very easy to use with just a drop of blood. I bought the Walmart ReliOn prime brand meter because I saw it advertised on the Hallmark Channel - wanting to pay less for strips for the moitor-sadly to say this meter reads my blood sugar off by 20 points higher and i find the strips very difficult to go in without bending one - just disappointed that i find it not accurate reading the blood sugars - Guess i am stuck with paying a higher price for a better meter. Also you have to call customer service to help you set it up the first time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ReliOn Micro Blood Glucose Monitor

good backup

08/30/2013
By ,
Cedar park, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This meter appears to be consistent in measuring blood glucose. I use it in conjunction with another meter to check myself when readings are too high or low to double test. It is a very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next