Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Arm & Hammer Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

Arm & Hammer Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

Average Customer Rating:
3.946 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(92 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation74%66 out of 89reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 13 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
57
4 stars
9
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

Emits horrible chemical smell

06/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a 37 lb box of Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter. For the past couple of days there has been an overwhelming chemical smell in my house. At first, I couldn't figure out where it was coming from as I hadn't done any kind of cleaning recently. I went from room to room trying to find the source, only to discover it was coming from the new cat litter I purchased. I had to dump the cat litter out and get rid of the entire box of new cat litter in order to get rid of the smell. I only bought it because Walmart quit carrying my preferred cat litter, plus they had the product in the wrong place, so I thought it was much less expensive than it turned out to be. I paid $14.99 for that box and it was like throwing it down the drain. I don't have this kind of money to waste. I am hoping to get my money refunded somehow, but I can find no way to email Arm and Hammer from their website. I will never buy this cat litter again.
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

Love both the litter and Wal-Mart Intetnet

05/08/2012
By ,
Southwest Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When my Breeze Litter System became to expensive for 12 cats, I went searching for an easy to use cheap litter. I was using a rather difficult, but very cheap litter when my sister found a $2 off coupon for Arm and Hammer. It is amazing. I have tried all the different types of Arm and Hammer Litter. My favorite is the MultiCat. It smells wonderful. All types clump quickly, control the smell and makes cleaning the litter box so quick and easy. We don't always have Arm and Hammer litter at our local Wal-Mart so I was delighted to learn I could order it online. And Wal-Mart shipped it free. I am homebound in a wheelchair so I use Wal-Mart internet a lot. Everything I order arrives quickly and is usually free shipping. If the shipping is not free, itis rarely more than $3. Imagine 144 pounds of litter delivered free. Where else could I find that. I love Wal-Mart internet. It gives me my shopping fix without leaving home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

some good, some not so good

10/24/2013
By ,
Erie, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I tried this cat litter in hopes that it lived up to the advertised claims of "99% dust free", "low tracking", "rock-solid clumps" and eliminates both types of odor. The first two are accurate, there really is almost NO DUST :#! I also noticed much less tracking than the brand I was using #Fresh Step#, I keep the litter box in the basement but I still get litter granules upstairs, just not as much as the other litter. What I'm disappointed in is not only does the litter NOT stay clumped #for liquid waste: when you scoop it the clump breaks apart#, the odor control is awful for solid waste. I have 3 kitties who use one large litter box and I'm diligent in cleaning the litter at least twice a day. When one of them poops you can smell it thru the whole house #Fresh Step was better in this regard & in liquid waste staying clumped#. I won't buy this litter again. I'm going to try Dr. Elsey's cat litter & see if that's a better fit, it does have great reviews :)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

Arm & Hammer Double Duty Advanced Odor cat litter

10/11/2013
By ,
Wakefield, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two words describe it all ... THE BEST !!
I have tried others and nothing can compare to this product. I am very fastidious about keeping my cat's litter box clean throughout the day so there are no odors and there isn't thanks to this product. However, when I went into the hospital for major surgery for 4 days, my boyfriend was suppose to clean it twice a day when he came to feed her. Turns out when he came, he did not clean her litter box, consequently, I came home from the hospital to a pretty dirty litter box and STILL there was no odor in my apartment or even in the room where the box is. I'll be in that room at my computer when she might decide to go potty and there is still no feces smell. This litter instantly masks the odor, hence, I would never be without Arm & Hammer Double Duty. My kitty deserves the best and she gets it and I am also a winner in this scenario. It's not dusty, it clumps very nicely nor does it stick to her paws so there's no tracking it on the floors. Perfect product all the way! I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

Double Duty...I'll say!

05/15/2014
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is a winner. I don't like to smell odors of any kind. I buy the auto air freshener units and get deodorized trash can liners...I use the most effective and fragrant items on the market. When I first heard about this product, I didn't expect much. But when I finally got it home and used it, my worries were over. I can't smell anything but a sweet fragrance. Not only does the cat stepping on it release a fresh odor, but when I clean up the potty, it does the same thing.
As for clumping, without fail, it clumps immediately and it saves money on buying and buying and just buying so much kitty litter. I've bought other brands and they can't compare. They don't really clump and they don't fight odor at all. As soon as you try to clean up, you can smell the odor...it just doesn't work as well as Arm & Hammer. It has "SUPERIOR" odor control. You've got to get it.
Oh, and by the way, I've gone to grocery stores to buy it and even to popular pet stores and the prices there are ridiculous. Here at Walmart, you get the biggest and best value for your money.
I'd highly recommend this product and I'll be placing another order today!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

The good, the bad, and the smelly...

10/15/2014
By ,
Nevada
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This litter clumps very well, and it isn't nearly as dusty as many clay litters out there, but the smell. OH THE SMELL! It does absolutely nothing to cover up odors. Very dissapointing considering the "Advanced Odor Control" advertised in the title. The hunt is on for a cost-effective odor controlling clay litter that does not reek of parfume.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

great with 2 cats

05/04/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have 2 cats that were using the cheapest litter we could find. Using cheap non-clumping litter was a mistake. We switched to Arm & Hammer brand and are thrilled with it. You *do* need to attend to the litter box daily or twice daily to remove / scoop out the rock hard clumps, otherwise after multiple uses the surface of the entire box can get hard and the cats don't want to use the box. Great stuff. The fragrance of the litter is nice but maybe a bit too fragrant. Caution: don't put a lot of litter in the box to start with ... add more litter periodically as necessary (after scooping out the clumps). One box might be serviceable for 30 days before dumping it all and starting over. Scoop out the box often to keep you kitty happy~
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

"Litter"ally great for multi-cat home.

09/21/2014
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the product, the price, the ease of cleaning up after my little buddies. Can't beat the price for the amount, and having it delivered to the house (WITH $50+ purchase) is truly wonderful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

double duty

07/04/2014
By ,
CHESTER COUNTY ,PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried this clumping litter. The odor control was ok at first. However when you are scooping- the urine clumps crumble apart. After a week of crumbled urine bits in the litter pan the whole pan needs to be dumped and sanitized because of the clumps falling apart. It fouls up the whole pan after a week. At 14 bucks a box and with two pans it is not a good litter value. I use either tidycats 24-7 tidycats multiple cat- or on tight budget weeks special kitty clumping. They are way better value. Clumps like rocks that dont fall apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

Best Litter Evar

10/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Four Cats
Two litter boxes
No smell... actually, a fragrant odor...
Best.Litter.Ever.
OH and scoops beautifully - doesn't stick to sides or bottom!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

great kitty sand

08/18/2014
By ,
Indonesia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wonderful to get this in the mail so I don't have to haul it home. it clumps well and keeps the smell down
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

Needs to solve packaging problem for safe shippin

02/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i WAS PLEASED WITH All THE PRODUCTS i RECEIVED, BUT, THE 37# BOX OF LITTER was packed into only one third of the box, and the other purchases were thrown in loosely around it, including a glass bottle of syrup and one of the three cans of Folgers coffee that I ordered, with a large paper packaging loosely spread on top, supposedly protecting everything. Needlessly to say, nothing was protected from sliding around, plus there was plenty of room to add the other two cans of coffee rather then another box to come. When I opened the delivered box the coffee was broken open and coffee spilled out into my entry from the packaging, and the remaining coffee was all in the box and not in the can. I assume that Walmart does not package the merchandise so hopefully they will correct this problem.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

GREAT

04/07/2014
By ,
New York,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS IS THE ONLY LITTER MY 3 YRS OLD BENGAL CAT LIKE, IT COVERS UP ODOR AND CLUMPS WELL.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

best ever

08/04/2014
By ,
Scranton PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
favorite litter
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

doesn't work

09/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used to have two cats, and they would always stink up my house. The solution that i thought would work was buying the double duty litter since it supposedly has feces and urine control. I was mistaken, this little didn't help any. The litter boxes still stunk up my whole house and the cats really didn't like it either. Everytime they went to go in to do their business they flung it out of the box. While it clumped better then any other litter that i had tried it still did not help with the smell at all, which was the main reason for the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NOYB
Double Duty
Posted 05/01/2013
nama9012, no litter will remove all odors. Some cats have stronger odors than others. Some of it is based on their diet, whether they are spayed/neutered & how much water they drink. I noticed my cat had a stronger fecal odor when she became older (she's now almost 20) & I had to switch her to canned cat food. Some canned cat foods make her feces stronger smelling & so I try to pay attention to what make it worse. Of course, she is a picky eater & is currently eating either turkey or chicken only. The turkey makes her feces stronger smelling. Milk can also affect the smell & consistency of feces, so my cat rarely drinks milk. I make sure that when I am home, I clean her litter box as soon as I notice that she has had a BM (which doesn't take long) so that it doesn't stink up the house. As for urine, I think this is still the best product for that. My cat is spayed & drinks a lot of water, so she doesn't have a really strong urine odor. As for litter outside the box, cats paw at their litter because they are covering up their urine or feces, just like they would do if they were outside cats. This is just normal cat behavior. I have to sweep up litter too that ends up outside the box, but that's just part of having a cat. I buy this product (no I don't work for A&H) because it is the best clumping litter on the market (that I have found) & does work on odors better than most litter. I try to scoop out my cat's litter box several times a day to keep odors down & also because cats don't like dirty litter boxes. I mean who wants to step on their own urine/feces. I wouldn't & cats don't either.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

great price.great value

05/27/2014
By ,
Brooklyn, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for elder cats
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

I love Arm & Hammer products

05/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This litter is better than other brands
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

The ONLY cat litter I'll ever buy again!

09/16/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No litter is perfect... we are talking about animal droppings, after all... but this litter comes close to being perfect... It clumps very fast... and it really does a great job of containing odors. I will NEVER BUY ANOTHER TYPE AGAIN -- The "double duty" really works great. It definitely cuts back on the urine smell that you can easily smell when using other litters.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

Nasty smell!!

07/18/2012
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I decided to try this cat litter since I use baking soda for many cleaning purposes. I was sadly surprised to find that the smell of the litter is offensive BEFORE the cat uses her litter box. Nevermind how badly it permeates the room after she goes. It doesn't clump very well either. I can't even finish the container because I can't handle how awful it smells.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Arm & Hammer Double-Duty Advanced Odor Control Clumping Cat Litter, 37 lb

Less tracking than Tidy cats but bad odor

01/11/2014
By ,
New York
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My cat has been ill and urinates often. My usual brand of litter is Tidy Cats. I find bits of the litter all over my home and vacuum at least twice a day. I decided to try Arm & Hammer on the recommendation of the veterinarian's office. It is better with the tracking than TIdy Cats but I still find some bits and need to vacuum often. My big problem I find with Arm & Hammer and why I can't use it again is the chemical smell it has. It smells like nail polish remover to me. I actually took apart my my kitchen utility box because I thought a tube of glue or epoxy opened up. I was really surprised to realize it was the litter that smelled like this.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next