Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Weber Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Weber Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

The Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition uses a gas assist to light coals fast, so you dont have to worry about lighter fluid and electric charcoal starters. The Weber Performer charcoal grill also features a super-durable thermostat work table for convenient food prep and a factory-assembled one-touch cleaning system with a removable aluminum ash catcher. The Weber charcoal grill has a large porcelain-enameled bowl pit and lid with a heavy-duty plated hinged cooking grate that allows you to a cook a variety of food items with ease. With an easy-set up and sturdy frame, this Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition is a wonderful choice for your everyday grill.
Average Customer Rating:
4.891 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation98%45 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Sweet !!!!!!!!

02/07/2009
By ,
Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just went to work for Kingsford Birquets in Springfield OR. It is a given that i had to put the gas grill aside and go with birquets. The company alows us all the birquets we need.
I purchased the Weber Performer the day before the Super Bowl and haven't looked back since. I have done hambergers, chuck eye steaks and a 6 lb prime rib on it so far. I can't believe how much better the flavor is when cooking with birquets. The Performers gas ignite is an awesome feature, as well is the easy clean ash system and built in thermometer. I also love how they built the holder for the top of the kettle right on the base so you don't have to sit the lid down while checking your food.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Worth Every Penny

04/05/2009
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill does cost more than other grills, but worth every penny. I had it shipped Site to Store which doesn't take long to get. I thought the box would be real big, but was not. I was able to fit it into my car with no problems. It took me about a half hour to assemble the whole grill. It takes about 10 minutes to get the grill nice and hot. Grills perfectly even. The work/prep surface is a nice addition for lots of room. I have cooked chicken, burgers, and steak and they all turn out great. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a good grill that will last a long time.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Dude, I like this grill.

11/26/2007
By ,
Boston MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is your basic 22 in kettle with a lot of bells and whistles. If cost is a factor you can get the same culinary results on a cheaper model. If not this is a pretty good option to spend your money on to reap the flavor of charcoal with as little hassle possible. Assembly is pretty easy, took me an hour including unpacking. The propane fired charcoal ignition system is very nice. 7-10 min burn to light the charcoal and another 10-15 min for the coals to develop and you are ready to grill. Yes it is not as easy as propane but the payoff is in the added flavor charcoal brings to the party. You could use a chimney to achieve the same results, but it’s pretty nice to open the gas hit the ignition button and walk away in the rain and snow. The ash collector is well sealed and has good capacity so you can grill on your deck for hours even in windy conditions without the worry of burning little holes in the finish. Another great feature is the attached work surface. It’s a solid and stable piece of heat resistant plastic, something you would expect to be Weber quality. It is very smooth so it’s easy to clean if contaminated. The cooking grate is hinged on both sides so you can add charcoal during cooking with out removing the food from the grill; this is great for smoking large pieces of meat. The charcoal hopper is nice to help try to contain your grilling operation to one place, but when full it really inhibits this grills mobility with the added weight on substandard wheels. The thermometer in the dome a nice feature and is fairly accurate. There is a top and bottom air vent for temperature control. They are well insulated for easy adjustment. The bottom one can be tricky as there are no markings to indicate a true open and close of the vent. I took a sharpie to mark out the exact location of a full close and open position. This kettle holds high heat like a champion, so you can grill and sear to your heart’s content. Holding the temperature stable at lower temperatures is more of a challenge, so smoking is a bit tricky. I did a 12 lb turkey for thanksgiving at 220 F no problem, but it was warmer out with no wind. If you want tight low and slow temperature control for smoking, go for something ceramic like a green egg or a true smoker. One last advantage is that this grill is sealed pretty well. When you are done cooking you can close both vents and put the remaining charcoal out for use in the future. I would buy this grill again, but I will not have to because it’s a Weber and will last forever. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

A wonderful replacemen

04/09/2008
By ,
Mooreville Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No let down here this is wonderful replacement for a fifteen plus year old weber kettle grill that is still in good shape.This grill was a recommendation from a co-worker and his rave review of this grill was no let down.The quality of this product is great.The ease of lighting the charcoal is superb.I have no regrets,Looking forward to many years of grilling.There is a different taste to the food grilled on this grill,I assume maybe it could be not having to use lighter fluid.I highly recommend this product to those who have to have charcoal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

The taste of charcoal with the ease of propane

07/11/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love my grill, the built in gas ignition takes the hassle out of lighting the charcoal. I have been using a gas grill for the past 10 years and I really missed that charcoal taste. I had switched to gas years ago after tiring of the hassle of lighting the charcoal and scooping out the messy ash afterward. This grill is easy to light just turn on the gas press the ignitor and after about five minutes your coals are evenly lit and you shut off the gas. It's about another 15 to 20 min before the coals work up to temp but that's just enough time to go and get your meat ready. Unlike gas it cooks very evenly, the vents work (and seal) very well which allows very good temperature control and the ability to snuff the coals out quickly after you're done cooking which allows you to reuse the charcoal again the next time you cook. Clean up afterward is a lot easier with the quick release ash pot that comes off easily, you just dump it and your done. I have to say I'm very happy with what Weber did with this grill and there are so many accessories available such as a smoker and a rotisserie, I'll never go back to gas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

New Grill On The Block!

07/07/2009
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to get the Performer and really impressed on how easy it was to assemble. It solidly made! Love the work counter and charcoal storage! Charcoal was very fast to heat up (10 - 15 minutes), it's like owning a gas grill but cooking with charcoal. Fine product. I highly recommend this grill for those who love to cook on charcoal and don't have the patience to wait for charcoal to heat up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Great purchase

01/06/2009
By ,
MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very glad I purchased this grill! It makes charcoal grilling so much faster. It's a bit pricey, but saves so much time. Plus, my husband is actually offering to cook dinner...need I say more ladies?!
It's a Weber, so I expect it to last quite a while. All you need to get it fired up is a small propane bottle and some charcoal. That's it! We grill year round, so this is the best bet for us in the winter months.
And the results are fantastic. Quick, efficient and delicious meals - no nasty after taste from lighter fluid - just chargrilled goodness!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Great grill!

04/27/2009
By ,
Georgetown,KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took me about 45 minutes to put the grill together.Very easy to do. Son and I could not believe how well it lit and how evenly it cooked. This is not like any other charcoal grill that you have ever used. Highly recommend this grill and 2 of the adult children asked me to remember this grill on their birthday.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

read instructions

03/11/2009
By ,
North Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I assembled wrong with the bottom shelf, I thought the curves and all in shelf was clearance for axle but it was for bbq briquets, it plainly shows which end to put it too, so just read and follow.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Excellent product!

07/28/2008
By ,
West Bend, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently built a new deck so to go with it I wanted to get my husband a bigger charcoal grill. In doing research I found that we already had the biggest Weber grill available (always Weber). Then I found the Weber Performer Grill and I was excited. The one touch clean up, propane start, cart with food prep table, the reviews...EVERYTHING was exactly what I was looking for and I knew my husband would be stoked. I surprised him with it and he was elated. We've used it 4 times since we got it 2 weeks ago and he absolutely loves it and raves about it. The convenience of the propane start is wonderful Highly recommend to anyone who loves charcoal grilling.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Great Buy

08/19/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this grill for my husband for his birthday. He loved it! Small amount of time spent on assembly. Very soild and sturdy after assembled. Easy to use! He has grilled on it almost every night since recieving it. The small gas tanks are cheap and we still are on the first tank after using the grill for 3 weeks. Do hesitate to buy this grill!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

great grill

07/04/2009
By ,
Brownsville Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Couldn't fing the Weber grill anywhere I looked. I had to buy it on line. Walmart had it at a great price, lower than anywhere else I looked. The site to store feature worked great. I ordered my grill and it was delivered for free to the store in a few days. This Weber Performer is an awesome grill. I really love the temperature guage on the lid, what a convenience. So easy to assemble, I had it going in no time. This is a great product at a great price. I really like the Site to store feature which includes free shipping! I recommend this service and product to anyone that wants a premium grill at a great price !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

A Great Grill!

07/01/2008
By ,
Clearwater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this grill for nearly two years now and it is wonderful. Weber really makes some quality products and this one is the best charcoal grill I've come across yet. It's a little expensive but is loaded with features. The covered charcoal storage is a great feature as is the ash catcher. The cart has room for storage below and a nice, durable working space up top. The coals light quickly and cleanly with the propane assist. My only advice to someone buying this grill is to get the propane adapter so the large tanks can be used, it'll pay for itself in no time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

a real grill

09/19/2008
By ,
Berlin, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was scared at first buying this grill because I had always had gas grills and wasnt sure what it would be like making the switch but I am so glad I took a chance buying this grill. It was easy to assemble, I had the perfect results I was looking for the very first time I used it and cant wait to cook on it every chance I get. The grill has the convenience of gas but the best taste of charcoal plus the kettle gives you so many more ways to grill than a gas grill does. I cant wait to cook on it this weekend!!! Thanks Weber! You rule!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Wow...just....WOW!

06/02/2008
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you like to use charcoal this is the grill for you! You might think it's a bit pricey for a charcoal grill but it's a Weber. And this grill has the same quality in it design and durability as all Weber grills. Lights in a snap, coal boxes for indirect grilling, and grate flaps for adding smoke or replenishing your coals. If you want a charcoal grill that you don't want to replace every season, get this!! And if the propane tanks become a problem you can retrofit the nozzle to handle a standard tank (works with the Q series grills)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Great Investment!

04/18/2009
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my weber performer now for 2 yrs. It replaced a 16 yr oldie but goody weber that was still in great condition. If you love to grille with charcoal this is the way to go. Coals are ignited with the push of a button, they are ready in 10-15 minutes, it's extremely easy to clean, no more lifting grille to pour in trash. This last week end was Easter and I slow cooked a leg of lamb, so easy and extremely tasty. The only drawback to it. is that I wish I had two! Buy it you wont be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Easy Grilling!

07/05/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This charcoal grill has it all - propane tank supplies gas to get charcoal started with an easy push of a button (no matches), large prep table, storage of charcoal underneath the grill, Weber design with easy ash disposal and good size surface area. High quality (strong cart). A bit heavy to move. Can hang 3 BBQ grill tools from hooks on side of table, keeping them in easy reach. Assembly directions were clear and easy. Price is lowest I could find, and free shipping to store saves more.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Weber is the best

12/28/2007
By ,
Ft Myers Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our family have owned Weber grills and products for as long as I can remember. This one is actually an upgrade to our traditional kettle grill. I orderd this as a christmas gift for my dad and Walmart came through as promised. Product was on time and in good shape all parts were present. As far as Weber, U just cant go wrong. Its the best charcoal grill on the market and this one has an ignition system that lites the charcoal for you. No More Liter Fluid... Weber hit it on the nose again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Love this Grill!

03/30/2009
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a wonderful grill! It addresses all the issues one usually has with a charcoal grill. The gas ignitor is a huge benefit- you don't have that lighter fluid taste and it heats the coals evenly and most importantly- QUICKLY! There is a work surface that is very handy and a convenient bin to keep your charcoal bag in. Love the meat thermometer too. I would highly recommend this product. It's perfect for those who prefer the charcoal taste, but likes the convenience of a gas grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weber Performer 22.5" Charcoal Grill with Gas Ignition, Black

Love This Grill!

01/27/2009
By ,
Washington
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best grill we have had! My husband had the original weber kettle, but it was falling off of the base, and was just a mess in gerneral but he would never part with it, "Weber is the best" he says. This grill was enough to change his mind, the ignitor is awesome, built in temperature guage is a fabulous idea, the storage area for your briquettes and teh hard surface to cook on is all-in -all a great package! Definately lives up to the weber name!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next