Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Marcy Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Marcy Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

The Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike helps you to stay fit and healthy. It features magnetic resistance with eight preset levels of resistance to choose from. The easy-to-read computer screen displays scan, speed, distance, time, odometer and calories burned with a single touch of a button. The seat of this magnetic resistance exercise bike can be adjusted according to your height to achieve the best pedaling position. The seat of this recumbent fitness bike is made from high density foam with durable vinyl covering for comfort and long lasting durability. The pedals include foot straps to improve grip and prevent accidental slips. Workout every day and remain physically fit with the Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation91%32 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Buy this bike!

12/11/2012
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just talked to the factory, this is the new improved model over the old, highly problematic 709. This is the one to get. The factory said they fixed all the problems over the old one, which were apparently extensive. This looks like a good buy, though Walmart's current price here is nowhere near the best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

MARCY RECUMBENT EXERCISE BIKE

09/21/2014
By ,
the villages, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The DELIVERY TO DOOR was a good thing. So far, after less than a week of use, I am very satisfied with the bike. Due to my disabilities, this bike a a solution to my need for exercise without great amounts of exertion . I can connect my OXYGEN for breathing while exercising on the bike and reduces the pressure on my feet, due to nerve damage to my legs and feet as a result of diabeties. Has a very comfortable seat and back support with a good display of time and other parameters. I feel that it is a very good value for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Worth the price but needs two minor improvements.

03/30/2012
By ,
Marrero, La
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was purchased for my husband who is using this bike to help in his recovery from a stroke in Oct. of 2011. His Dr. said she didn't want him on a treadmill because of possibly stumbling and she didn't want him on an exercise bike where he bends over to ride it because of undue strain on the back and neck muscles. We have no idea how easy or hard this is to put together because our local Wal-Mart staff put it together for free. My husband is a very large man, 5'7 and 284lbs. The width of the seat is wide like they describe. It's easy to adjust the tension. He does find it a bit difficult to adjust the seat. It's light weight but sturdy. Easy to move around. He does wish that there was a back light on the panel to make it easier to see while exercising. Over all he is pleased with this purchase : )
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Good Machine for the Money.

10/14/2013
By ,
Lebanon, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a decent recumbent machine as I did not want the lower back stress of a regular stand up bike. This fit the bill and the reviews were good. Note that this is Model # NS1003R. There is a very similar looking unit that is a ME-709, but that is the older model. I bought this one because it is alleged to have fixed whatever flaws there might have been with the earlier model.
Pleased with the purchase. Works smoothly and many different tension settings. Taking all the pieces out of the box the assembly process looked daunting, but went together really well in about an hour with one person. Two people would be a plus for holding some of the attachments, etc.
The tools that come with for assembly are useable, but if you have a decent 1/2 wrench I would use that.
The materials are sturdy and the directions for assembly are okay, but they are a little vague at places. Look at the pictures if in doubt.
Two cons in my opinion. Adjusting the distance between the seat and the pedals is not as easy as it could be. Again, two people here would be a plus. And, as some of the other reviewers noted, the seat is pretty stiff. Not really that comfortable, but a small pillow or pad would probably take care of it.
At this price point, however, a pretty decent machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Good bike for seniors.

12/16/2013
By ,
Agawam, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I are both 66 and wanted to start exercising again. I have problems with my feet and my husband is a diabetic. We use to walk 5+ miles a day.The bike was quite easy to assemble until we got to the tension wire. Called the company and they were very helpful and said give it a good tug. IT WORKED. We were looking originally at more expensive models but why pay for all the bells & whistles. Not sure about the computer but we'll figure that out. I definitely would recommend this bike for anyone getting back into exercising. The seat is very comfortable and we like having the back support. I'm sure that I'll start seeing the pounds I've gained vanish and my husband will have better control of his sugar.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Great value

01/09/2014
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a limited budget for a stationary bike and was concerned that so many were made of plastic. This bike is very sturdy and well constructed. It offers a nice variety of tension levels so others in the family can use it. For the most part it went together easily. We had a little trouble with the tension cable because it seemed too short to connect. If you release the tension on the knob, the cable gets longer but that was not in the instructions. Great bike at any price, but super value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R
02/27/2012
By ,
Los Angeles, CA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like my Marcy Recumbant bike. I'm 84, and I put it together in less than two hours. It is comfortable and quiet. I do wish they had given better instructions for the computer. I am only interested in timing. It just keeps skipping to the 5 different areas. I think it was a good buy, and it was shipped quickly.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Nice bike..just as listed

06/30/2012
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice unit..solid, stable, good size but not bulky
Seat could be softer but is nice & wide
Levels up to 5 are basic free wheeling..good for motion therapy
I bought it to help me boost my aging metabolism and help me attack 40 lbs I don't need...46 yr female..enough said
I'm 5'7 and at the closest adjustment..any shorter than 5'4" might need a pillow to reach pedals comfortably
No problem with foot straps that others have mentioned
Walmart assembled for free in 4 days after pickup.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Great Indoor Therapy

05/09/2012
By ,
Kerrville, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this recumbant bike to continue exercise from knee replacements. This bike has kept them from becoming stiff and I enjoy having the ability to stay home and have this option available to me. I would reccommend anyone in the market of purchasing an exercise bike to consider this model (Marcy Recumbent Bike). I am also overweight and can comfortably ride this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

A Great Value for an entry level exercise bike

01/13/2014
By ,
Jackson, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I assembled the bike in about 20-30 minutes going at a leisurely pace. The only thing I had any trouble with was to get the two cables connected together, but that was my fault for not reading the instructions more closely. I used the bike a couple of times, and it seems to work fine. My only concern is the seat and the back were not quite as durable as I would have liked, however, I really don't know for sure how durable they will be until I use it a couple of years. I recommend the extended warranty based on the experiences and reviews for this style of bike. I felt the reviews for this bike were better than the Gold's Gym model. This is why I purchased the Marcy one. The Gold's Gym model may have a few more unnecessary extras, however from the reviews, it appears they may have sacrificed quality for frills.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Excellent for the money

09/01/2012
By ,
Long Island, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with my purchase. It is exactly what I wanted. I shopped around quite a bit and tried out many bikes that were a great deal more money. It is easy to use and very comfortable as it supports my back. The bike doesn't take up a lot of room and is very easy to transport from room to room. It is quiet so I can watch the TV at a normal sound level while I spin. I definitely recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Great bike

01/27/2014
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very nice bike, especially for the price! It's so quiet when in use that my husband was asleep on the couch and didn't even know I was using it! My only complaint it that if you have the seat put back (since I am tall). then it feels loose/wiggles a bit (even though it actually isn't). And frankly for the price, I can deal with that small irritation! I did pay extra to get it here sooner, but wish I hadn't. I ended up getting it 2 days later than promised....but not sure if this was walmart's fault or fedEx. All in all highly recommend this bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Great product!

08/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well built unit and assembled easily in about 1 hr. I need the unit for rehab on my knee injury. Looks like this will do the job.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R
10/25/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 7 months pregnant and this bike is great! Super easy to put together, about 30-45 minutes, the seat is not as comfortable as I would like but it is still okay
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Wow

03/12/2012
By ,
New Bern, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble and use. Approved by my doctor. Does not take up much room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Good Deal for the Price

06/24/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this bike for a week now, and so far I'm very happy with it! Despite recommendations in the manual, I put it together myself in about an hour. As many people noted, I too had trouble with the tension cable (just unscrew the bottom of the bracket a little bit for enough slack to finally slide the cable in). When in use, the bike is super quiet but if I really get going it does wobble just a little bit. This is probably because I'm 5'10" and have it set on the last hole. The seat adjusts by lengthening the section of the frame on the floor that connects the front to the back, so it is difficult to change once you've set it because you have to pull the whole weight of the bike in two directions while pulling up on a spring loaded knob. The main display is nice and big, however the bottom of the display is tiny (time, speed, etc.) so until you get used to the numbers, if you're letting it scan through the modes it can be hard to tell what you're looking at. I may be doing it wrong, but after each workout I have to delete the results of each mode individually or else when I start the next time they're still there. I do, however, really like the odometer, it's fun to watch my miles rack up. One thing it lacks is the ability to pedal backwards. Well, you can, but without any tension. Despite these few design details, it's all in all a good deal and a good value for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Definitely worth the money!

08/01/2013
By ,
Austin, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had read a lot of the reviews before I purchased this bike, so I had a pretty good idea what to expect. It is very light weight, but sturdy. I can move it myself fairly easily. I don't pay much attention to the validity of the numbers on the monitor except for the time and speed, so have no idea if the calories burned are accurate. Quite a few people said they are not. The bike IS comfortable and easy to operate/adjust. It's small so it fits easily in a room and I shove it out of the way when I'm finished. Highly recommend if you do not want a gym-quality bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Good Bike

02/09/2014
By ,
Oakland, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought for my wife as she needed a low impact exercise need because of arthritic knees and hips (1 of each replaced), easy to assemble, works great. Wife is 5' 2" and it states 5' 3" as minimum height, which is true for lockable settings, but we were able to adjust it in more (past the last hole) to accommodate her short legs. It doesn't "lock" there but it doesn't move when she exercises either so no problem. Bottom line is she loves it and it was a great value. Had it less than two weeks now and she has ridden over 40 miles riding every other day without increased joint pain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R

Great for seniors

06/30/2014
By ,
Jeffersonville, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm 73 & don't like nor did I use our treadmill. Lazy I guess. Thought I'd try this bike and I am very satisfied with it. Rode it using the settings on 3 &. 4 and rode 10 miles the first day. Gives good support for your back and has a fairly comfortable seat.
No complaints after 1 week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: NS-1003R
02/13/2013
By ,
Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was excited to get the exercise bike, but there was a flaw in the seat so I called the company for a replacement. I received the wrong part, so I called the Company again and they sent another wrong part a second time, 2 weeks of waisted time that I can't get back. I am returning the bike to the store. I never even put it together. I will still shop at Walmart though, because it is not their fault that this particular Vendor (Marcy) does not give good customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next