Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Activision Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Activision Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Diablo III continues the epic Diablo storyline, with players taking on the role of one of five heroic characters - barbarian, witch doctor, wizard, monk, or demon hunter - and embarking on an epic quest to save the world of Sanctuary from the corrupting forces of the Burning Hells. As players adventure through rich and varied settings, they'll engage in pulse-pounding combat with hordes of monsters and challenging bosses, grow in experience and ability, acquire artifacts of incredible power, and meet key characters who'll join them in battle or aid them in other ways. The game features the intuitive interface, fast-paced action, and visceral gameplay that Diablo players have come to expect and enjoy.
Average Customer Rating:
3.383 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation59%27 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 89 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Doesn't deserve its title.

07/12/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you're looking for an epic dungeon crawler that gives you those same great feelings that Diablo II was able to accomplish then look elsewhere. This game is a disgrace. The fun you have slaying demons is far outweighed by all the imbalances, cheesy story, linear game play, having to be online to play (even on single player), horrible lag. I could go on, but if you haven't bought it already your money would be better spent on something / anything else.
I beat this game with a wizard and a barbarian. the only reason i did it twice was because i was hoping to find the fun that i expected from a game with the title of Diablo III. I can't express how terribly disappointed i was with this game.
If you're a young child who has never played Diablo or Diablo II and you like epic cheesyness then you might like this game.
For the love of anything save your money!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Game will wreck yo life

12/09/2013
By ,
Nampa,id
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I want $$ back
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per month
-18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Same ole Same ole

06/14/2012
By ,
Cincy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Have been a fan of the series since the 1st one, got this one right away. It's OK, fun enough to play and gorgeous to look at, but:
The DRM/online-play-only thing SUX. Way to be paranoid, and make us paranoid cause your servers go down every 3 minutes.
Also: There really is not ANYTHING new here in terms of gameplay, honestly, it is not nearly as original as #1 was.
And the big one: The game on normal is SHORT. I work full time as a middle aged Dad and am beating this in my spare time with little trouble, and my 16 year old was done before the packaging hit the floor.
It has replay value, the classes are cool and every single level, every single time, INCLUDING when you continue a level CAUSE THE SERVERS WENT DOWN AGAIN, regenerates fresh.
But those are some big knocks, above. I'd wait a few months till this thing hits $25, which is going to be about 90 days after WOM gets out.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Great game, better than the first 2 installments

08/18/2014
By ,
Selbyville, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought both Diablo III and Reaper of Souls at the same time and installed it on a PC laptop. While I haven't tried the crusader yet, I have been online and enjoyed game play with friends. The game's story line flows nicely with the original 2 story lines. The game play however has been improved and is a bit easier to use. This is not a boring game by any means, you'll be fighting demons and other creatures from the start. If your a fan of the first two Diablos, then you will like this one as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Typical game. Nothing special

06/13/2012
By ,
Garden City, Kansas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've played Diablo 1 & 2, big fan of both. This one, ehh not so much. Although I did put in about a total of 125 hours of gameplay(so it was worth the cost of $60).
Downfalls:
*They turned this into an online game only. Not only do I have to have a stable connection (which shouldn't be hard in this era). The same is for the games servers, which, by all means are down or laggy a lot.
Upon attempting to log in the game you have a 70% chance to get hit with a servers are full or busy message and instead of a queue to log you in. You are simply disconnected. Which can lead anywhere from 1 more attempt to 100 more attempts to log-in (no sarcasm).
So, it's an online game, right? There are no incentives to playing with others. In fact, it's quite the opposite. Monsters health pools increase by 125% per extra player in your game and monster damage increased 30% per extra player in the game. Which leads to everyone being 1 shot by anything and everything.
So, it's online ONLY but to actually get anywhere in the game you need to play by yourself.
*Hacks, Bots, Dupes already flood this game. A day before the Real Money!!! Auction House came out some people found an exploit in which they auction house ran off your computers clock time. After someone bid on your items you were selling, you could turn back your computers system clock and cancel your auction and keep the bidder's gold. Thousands lost everything, thousands gained everything.
Everything is inflated in value because Chinese gold farming bots are overrunning the game. In defense of Blizzard, they did a ban wave a couple days ago of thousands of accounts. But, alas, the damage has already been done.
*Pay-to-win game. There is no end game, there is no grinding out levels or even a shred of hope to find better gear for yourself. They have tuned the drop rates so low and made the affixes on items so absurd that you are forced to use the auction house. Guess what? with all the hacks, bots, and exploits any good items are in the auction for $250 usd. Woohoo! So, if you have the cash to blow you can steamroll through the game. But once you beat the game, there is absolutely nothing to do except wonder why you just spent even more money to have nothing to do.
*Blizzard dropped the ball, severely disappointed - Too many bugs, too many glitches, emergency maintenance, laggy, no class balance, no monster balance.
TL;DR
This game was in development for 6 years, beta for 1 year. Upon release everything is still broken and doesn't work. Yeah I played a lot of this game for 2 weeks. It's worth $60, but it IS NOT worthy of a BLIZZARD title.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+62points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Wait till they get their servers fixed

05/15/2012
By ,
tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You would think that after having an extensive Beta test, they would have their servers running for the opening day. the servers were doing good for the first 10 hours but then they came crashing down. you can not play this game without their servers. you have to be authenticated through their servers, even for solo games.. if you don't have an internet connection you should NOT buy this game. First time they were down they said 1 hour that turned into 3 hours.. but less than an hour later they were down again. If i had to do it over again, i'd wait a week or 2 or 3 before buying this game, hopefully they'll have their servers straightened out by then.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
warren,pa
I got diablo 3
Posted 05/23/2012
servers are now running smoothly game play is running good.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

A Better Description of the Game

05/11/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The "item description" of this game is poorly written and makes little sense. Feel free to use the following instead. Diablo III is an action role-playing game set in a dark fantasy universe. It's the long-awaited sequel to Diablo II and Diablo. Players can play as one of five characters: Witch Doctor, Barbarian, Wizard, Monk, and Demon Hunter. There are male and female versions of all characters. Players will go on various quests and fight a variety of enemies in order to earn treasure and better gear. The game is both single-player and multi-player, and players can sell or buy items via an auction house.
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tennessee
Auction House
Posted 06/01/2012
after nightmare mode, you almost HAVE to use auction house to progress. You just don't get the drops on that level, you have to be on inferno mode to get the really good drops but it's really hard to get there without the auction house. They're hoping you'll spend your real money on it.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Worst Game Ever

06/21/2012
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save your money. No loot drops, no skill customization, bad storyline, and worse customer service. Development team is waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay to focused on making you buy items on the "real money auction house" that they are ignoring all game play issues if it doesn't affect it. Check out the forums for yourself before purchasing, literally thousands of players left 2 days ago when they removed all drops from vases, environment items, and made monsters drop less. It's all in the patch updates. Oh, and my favorite quote from the developers is "players will no longer get drops from monsters if they are replaying the same levels"..... where is the re-playability in that????? It's worse than Duke Nukem Forever ... yes it is possible and they did it. Save your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RILLY BAD Game
Posted 06/26/2012
i have to say that you are right. i got it and it was the worst. i got so bord of it i didint get to the seconed act. i love diablo one and two but this is one of the worst game ever.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Disappointed

05/27/2012
By ,
Co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The things that made D2 great and versatile were the runes, skills and attributes. The ability to adjust stats have been automated with aka runes and gear. You can no longer use a mercenary in a public game. The ability to rush a friend is no longer a option. The gathering places to level are gone. You can't just jump to a act boss and magic find. These things made the game enjoyable. The items and text have become small and hard on the eyes.
Why couldn't they keep the old school interface with upgraded graphics? So disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Excellent upgrade from Diablo II

11/01/2013
By ,
Colorado and Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Played Diablo II for 10 years off and on. Waited to get Diablo III because of all the initial negative reviews. Finally got it a few weeks ago and really enjoy the graphics, the way the characters skills with weapons look on screen, the fact that you don't have to specify a weapon type (sword, axe, etc) but can interchange and still be successful. Like being able to switch out runes and not be locked into one playing type. Just finished Act III with Barbarian and am looking forward to playing the other characters as well. Spent $42 which was well worth the money. No trouble that the game is only online. Haven't bothered with the real money auction since it will be taken down in a few months.
Buy it...you won't regret the purchase if you were a DII fanatic.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Awesome game

05/15/2012
By ,
Raleigh, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is such a fantastic franchise. If you like slash em up horde RPG's, VERY in depth item collection/development, and gore, this is a must have! The character development seems a little less involved than D2 but in many ways better as you can change around your skill points I think. The game is VERY in depth. I can see many many hours to complete, and the replay value in this franchise is like WOW. I've seen friends play WOW and D2 for several years continuously.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
You never played this game...
Posted 07/12/2012
How can you write a review and give it fives stars when you obviously have not played it?? There are no skill points at all. For myself and many many others i have talked to find very little if any replay value for this game. I have played through it twice and i'm done with it. its painful to "play" this game.
Don't write a review about something youve never used. Its terribly uncool.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

disappointed

06/10/2012
By ,
MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't even know where to start. Everything that made Diablo a great game has been stripped out.
People keep saying, it will get better with patches and expansions, but I don't see it. Its a non subscription human version of WOW. This game should not be allowed to have the name Diablo at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wilmington, NC
why?
Posted 09/24/2012
How long have you been playing D3? Have you seen the in's & out's of this game?
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

An Even Better Description of the Game

05/12/2012
By ,
Shadow Moses, AK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Diablo III PC/Mac Game revolves around an interesting plot which will keep you spell bound. while you are playing. This Strategy Video Game also has some similar setting as the Diablo II like Tristram. The Witch Doctor is a new character in this game, is reminiscent of the Diablo II Necromancer, The Barbarians in this strategy video game have a variety of revamped skills at their disposal on the basis of the use of their incredible physical prowess. Bring home the PC video game to solve the mysteries of the mighty Barbarians.
Diablo III PC/Mac Game: The Witch Doctor is a new character reminiscent of the Diablo II Necromancer The Barbarians will have a variety of revamped skills at their disposal based on the use of their incredible physical prowess. 1-on-1' dueling system coming into play.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
-35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Spring, Texas
I have had it for 7 hours now!
Posted 05/15/2012
I am leveling like a madman already level 41 you guys better catch up your already getting behind. This game RoCks and the Witch Doctor rules.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Not up to expectations but a good game.

08/23/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned and played the entire Diablo series. I held out buying a new gaming laptop in anticipation of this game. Quite frankly, I was a bit hesitant to buy it based on the early reviews. Diablo 1 was a great game. The follow-up, Diablo 2, now 10 years old, was an instant iconic game in it's category. Diablo 3 had mighty big shoes to fill, so, it's no wonder that many fans are so critical of the latest rendition. After buying my new laptop and then taking the leap and buying this game I can say that although it doesn't fully meet my expectations, I'm glad that I bought it. The graphics in the game are beautiful. I read some other reviews that said it wasn't as dark as Diablo 2... I don't see it that way. To me it is dark when it is appropriate to be so. The characters, which are all new except the Barbarian, are fresh and fun... but I have to admit that I miss building my character to be my own (allocating points earned to abilities and spells). This brings up a point about the gameplay in general... it has been simplified, or dummied down, from Diablo 2. There are enough hints from continuity glitches to indicate that the team that started creating this game, the team responsible for Diablo 2, is not the team that finished it... it feels a little like World of Warcraft in many instances. Blizzard has been putting out patches which do improve gameplay. Eventually it may near expectation. For someone not familiar with the series, this game will not disappoint. It is beautiful and will provide hours of fun. For fans of the series, once they get past the initial disappointment they will find that, although this game doesn't meet their expectations, it is a good game none the less.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Don't buy

06/12/2012
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Here I sit, on a nice day off. Spend a little time playing a single player game I think to myself. No says Blizzard we can't keep our servers up. Luck me for spending $60 on a game that I can play less than half the time I try to. Such joy.
Seriously though, DON'T waste your money here. Wait till the price drops to at least less than $20. Servers are so rough, even a couple months after release and several patches later, that you can hardly play.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

I waited 20 years for this

05/31/2012
By ,
Berthoud
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I did not realize that this is only an online game. Your subjected to Servers being down. The game so far has much better graphic and similar story line.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)
07/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this as a Father's Day gift for my husband. Warning, can be very addictive, but he is extremely happy with the game.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Priced Right and Fun

05/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value for the money. Not an amazing game but it's priced right.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Great Game

05/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Diablo III (PC/ Mac)

Software Was Defective.

07/28/2013
By ,
Portsmouth, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It wasn't plain at first that the In Store pickup closed after 10pm. I tend to think of Walmart as a 24x7 operation, but in all fairness after reading the confirmation e-mail again I saw that the department closed at 10pm. (Advise: make it very clear in large fonts the hours of operation)
When I did get the software the box was sealed but once trying to activate it the software key was already in use. I went to the store with a letter from the Blizzard (developers of Diablo III) and exchanged the software. I called the developers from the store to confirm the software key was not in use, it was. In the end I had to return the product for a refund. I probably won't attempt this method again for software (I likely won't buy software from Walmart again).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next