Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO

Generic Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO

This gun from Bushmaster will always shoot straight and aim true.
Average Customer Rating:
4.882 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation94%16 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
42 Questions | 177 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO
12/06/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking at this rifle on Walmart's site, you may have already know that Bushmaster is once of the best M-16/M4 rifles on the market and have been for many years. There will be alot of people that say this rifle was built for Walmart to "Wlamart Specs," but I can assure you that is just a rumor started by people that don't like Walmart because they cannot or will not offer you the same price.
I bought this rifle and an ammo can of 240 Federal 5.56mm rounds for under $1200. This site won't give you a couple of details that I would like to share...
1- This rifle, like all Bushmasters, is designed to shoot 5.56 and .223 ammo and the rifle is stamped to reflect it.
2- This is the same Bushmaster Model XM15-E2S #a.k.a. Patrolman# that everyone else sells, but at $100-$300 less.
It is made in America by Americans, so I do not have a problem with buying this rifle from Walmart for less.
Make your decision because I already made mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+917points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Saratoga NY
Price
Posted 09/09/2012
I can't find any price anywhere on this rifle! Help!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO
03/31/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Bushmaster M4 can shoot both 5.56 NATO and .223 ammunition, it is chambered for 5.56 so it is safe to use .223 as well. It is quite accurate out of the hard plastic carry case that it comes in. It also comes with a gun strap, 30 round metal magazine, and an owners guide that takes you step by step through the cleaning process, to keep your rifle operating at peak performance.
If you are in the market for this type of rifle, you won't find one for less anywhere, unless it's at another Walmart. Other stores generally charge 200 to 300 dollars more than Walmart does. There are tons of add ons you can get for this M4 as well, bi-pods, picatinny rail, foregrips, magpul magazines, optics for the rail beneath the removable carry handle, lights, etc.
No regrets with this purchase, I took it to the range and put 200 plus rounds through it and it is a lot of fun to shoot and quite accurate even with iron sights. Would highly recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
COLUMBIA,SC
I would not accept that advice.
Posted 11/12/2012
The NATO round is the military round...The Remington .223 is a civilian round.To call one .223 and the other 5.56 is meaningless. That is just one measurement in inches and the other in metric.All ammo I fired for 5 years in the military had both measurements on the box.The only action that will safely use both rounds is a WYLDIE action. I advise read you handbook closely and only use what Bushmaster says to use in it. You don't want a receiver blowing up in your face that close to your eyes.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO
11/10/2011
By ,
Jefferson City MO.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My gun i recently bought at my local wal-mart is one of the best i have ever owned. I have put my own optics on top of this rifle and went to the local rifle range. I was surprised at the results i got from this rifle. I was able to shoot bullets holes on bullet hole one after another with this rifle. I talked to the manufacture before i bought this rifle and it has chrome lined chamber and bore that is a must i look for in a rifle of this type. I have even had a very close friend who is in my mind a expert with this type of rifle . He has took the time to Inspect this rifle very close in his opinion it is a high quality rifle [ in his words it will last me a life time a very well built gun ] . In my own mind no one would go wrong if they buy this rifle. Thank you for taking the time to read this post i hope it helped. Mike1022oneshot
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+515points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO
11/19/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
- So, I was in Wal-Mart to buy ammo and walked by the gun display, when...
- I spied an AR in the case
- Immediately, a smile appeared on my face and I knew that things were looking up for the store. I asked the clerk to take it out for inspection.
- Holding it in my hands, I knew I had to take it home. How does she shoot?
- Perfectly
- Amazing
- Performance shooter
- Positively the best rifle I've purchased from Wal-Mart. Kudos for stocking it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+418points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO

Excellent Rifle

03/08/2012
By ,
Knoxville,TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this rifle at my local Wal-Mart and love it. A lot of people talk trash about BM about how they don't come with properly staked gas keys or come with a black crano ring. I purchased the rifle after inspecting it and when I inspected it I noticed it did come with staking on the gas keys actually very good staking as good as colts staking matter of fact. It comes with a black crano ring as well. It has m4 feedramps and a carbine buffer.
It doesn't however have castle nut staking but you can do that yourself at home in under 5 minutes with a hammer and a punch or screw driver. It doesn't have an F marked front sight post but that can be fixed for 5 dollars or so.
I would recommend this rifle to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO
12/17/2011
By ,
butler mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just purchased this item !!! and it has passed all expectations by far !!! I took it out to the range and thought id have to do a lil sight adjustment to put it on target ??? but it was dead on, right on target !!! after a 100 rounds i wanted to shoot all day !!! love this gun !!! and i was surprized it came with a plastic case . like the adjustable stock and so did my friends !! they all want one now !!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+64points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO

Excellant entry level AR

11/09/2011
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellant entry level AR and offers a good value. As with all firearms, I recommend cleaning it before the first use. Use good ammunition, for at least the first mag or 2, to break in the AR; the American Eagle .223 is a good choice or if your Walmart has it the xm855 in the green ammo can. Afterwards use what you want, Tula Ammo is less expensive for shooting paper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+219points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
Davie, FL
Tula ammo is one DIRTY ammo
Posted 10/24/2012
I don't recommend Tula Ammo in any weapon.
0points
Customer Avatar
fairfield
bushmaster m4
Posted 09/23/2012
i own 4 of these and i plan on having 10 when i'm finished!they are american made and operate without jams and sight problems!when our daily way of life abruptly changes these will be our protection and security!get ammo also!guns are wortlless without bullets to shoot! 12/20/ 12 is coming!!
-2points
Customer Avatar
cv az
how much
Posted 07/18/2012
how much did this gun cost
+2points
Customer Avatar
SADLY N.C.
Best Bang for the BUCK!!!
Posted 03/04/2012
Alright this a Bushmaster rifle, really shouldn't have to explain why you need to buy this rifle. Wal-Mart has finally stocked a item that make sense for the average shooter. This rifle is price at or about $850. Now this is a A3 version AR(handle is removable for scope/redDot) , it has a telescoping stock with a 30 rd mag. Wal-mart should become the MASTER of sales when it comes to AR's now with this addition. Who ever at Walmart that was the person who thought of this should get a week of free Vacation. Smartest Corprate decision I've seen.
I know im running of at the mouth here, but the AMMO they got is awsome too. The Federal stuff is lake City ammo, same stuff the military shoots. I should know I was a Marine for 5 years and a coach too. Again another great idea Walmart!!
PEOPLE IF YOU WANT A GREAT AMERICAN MADE AR15 THIS IS IT!
+6points
Customer Avatar
Weirton WV
State to state rifle sales?
Posted 02/17/2012
I live in Weirton WV. I recently just bought a pistol and I am looking to get into more guns. The Walmart in my town does not sell AR's. I have never seen them since I have been shopping there.
My question is can I buy an AR from the Steubenville Walmart since I live in Weirton? Is it the same as buying a pistol? I walked into a pawn shop here in weirton without ever owning a gun or any type of gun lisense or certificate all they did was call in for a background check and I walked out 5 mins later with my very first handgun, is this the same system when it comes to buy AR's?
0points
Customer Avatar
Palm Coast, FL
Russian ammo in an AR...NOT a good idea
Posted 11/13/2011
Just a suggestion: While this is a great carbine, BE CAREFUL when using Tula, Wolf, or other Russian ammunition in this carbine or any AR-type rifle. At least, check the box to make sure the ammo is not made with steel casings.
AR's are usually manufactured from high-grade aluminum (the receiver, extractors, etc.# which is a softer metal than steel. Russian ammunition tends to be made with steel casings, which will wear out AR's quickly while American .223 ammo, although more expensive, is usually made of brass #softer than the aluminum used in AR's), so stick with brass casings.
Russian weapons, such as AK's, SKS's, and the like are made of steel so Russian ammunition is made for them with steel casings.
+6points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 8 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO

Great rifle ant a great price!!!

06/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking at this Bushmaster for the past month at my local Walmart and finally decided to buy it. Compared to any other place, Walmart had the lowest price for this model. I've taken it to the range and have put 100 rounds through it with out any problems, not that there should be with brand new rifle. I was looking at the S & W AR15, but decided to go with Bushmaster. I've looked it over, in and out and it all looks great! I bought this mostly for target practice and home defense. It takes me back to my Army days, even though we used the A2's back then. This is so much better though, now I just need to get a Slide Fire and some good optics and I'm ready to GO!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO

Great Rifle

03/31/2012
By ,
San Tan Valley, Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bushmaster M4A3 is a fantastic rifle to either add to a collection or for a first rifle, very easy to shoot and accurate. My fivteen year old daughter can shoot this rifle with very accurate results and loves to go out shooting it with dad, you will not be disapointed with it!
I use Federal .223 ammo with brass casings and have never had a problem with it, I have had people tell me that the cheaper ammo with steele casings has jammed on them but I don't buy cheap ammo just to avoid any problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO

Great Carbine

11/10/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this rifle for several years. And it's proven to be a reliable firearm. I really trust Bushmaster Firearms.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO

great deal

05/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this rifle as a christmas gift to myself last year and i just want to confirm the other comments posted, its a great rifle. great price. fun to shoot. take the time to get familiar with it (disassembly, maintenance, etc.). invest in a decent rail system and customize it as you see fit. iraq or the carolinas its a decent ifle
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO
04/19/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have never owned or fired one of these rifles until a few weeks ago when I bought it. I dont know the diffirence between this AR-15 or other AR's but this gun was worth every penny "$872". I brought it home, ran a cleaning rod through it and put on a little oil, loaded the 30rd Mag and started pulling the trigger. Although I only bought 200rds, I had a awsome time shooting cans with my son. Taking the gun apart was as easy as loading the mag too. Had the gun cleaned and oiled in less then 10 min. For any body looking for a great AR-15 rifle and at this more then fair price, this is your gun. Get one while you can!! Plus alot of ammo, your going to need it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO

Bushmaster M4A3: Excellent Rifle

10/22/2012
By ,
Alvin, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First this is an Amazing Modern Sports Rifle. It has preformed every task that i have brought to it. Once you get this rifle to a range and put rounds on paper you can see why so many people also love this rifle. I was so glad that the rumors about walmart firearms being (sub-par) to be false.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Davie, FL
Thanks for the info
Posted 10/24/2012
I have heard nothing but excellent things about this AR-15 platform. I will be getting mine in a few short weeks. Very excited. I like the fact that with the A3, you can remove the carrying handle to be able to better mount red-dot scopes, etc.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO
09/29/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this rifle and it was a great buy. I've owned rifles before and did research on .223s before purchasing this one. The rifle is exactly what I wanted. GREAT BUY!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Carolina
Great rifle.
Posted 10/06/2012
I bought this rifle from Walmart a few weeks ago and I absolutely love it. It's as solid as the Colt I carried in Iraq and Afghanistan. It shoots great too! I have put 500 rounds through it with no problems, no misfeeds, no jams. It was pretty accurate right out of the box. I did zero it to my eye so it's much straighter now. I have no complaints. Kudos to Walmart for stocking it. It was $200 cheaper than the local gun shop too!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO

The best for the rest

03/18/2012
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My answer for the Larue junk rifle. This piece is a work of art compared to the Colt. The Colt is made for leftys. And we all know most of us are right handed. Get one today.......while you still can.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lefty
Posted 12/01/2012
As a lefty, it fires fine for me. The brass ejects with enough force to miss me. Do Not get a brass deflector, the hot brass will end up down your shirt...
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO
01/07/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am a Gun dealer and I have owned a Bushmaster in the past and they perform well. However most people do not know that Bushmaster is not really Bushmaster anymore.My personal favorite for AR-15s are the Windham Weaponry rifles.These(Windham folks) are the original Bushmaster people that are known for producing top quality guns at great prices.Read the Windham story online and you will understand.I own a Windham M-4 style and it is a beautiful rifle that shoots extremely well .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
-453points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/12/2012
So.... Why did you give this gun a 3/5?
+1point
Customer Avatar
Cape Fear Region, N.C.
Windham Weaponry in Windham, ME
Posted 10/13/2012
This is the web site to all the ex-employees of the old Bushmaster Company that closed down in Maine and apparently these people got together and started their own company. Sounds like a good company to check out.
http://www.windhamweaponry.com/content_meet_our_team.asp
-2points
Customer Avatar
ohio
Irrelevant Comment
Posted 04/10/2012
Your comment and star rating seems to have nothing to do with the performance of the gun, which is what this is intended for. I'm interested in the working order of the gun not the current Branding of the gun.
+33points
Customer Avatar
Idaho
Bushmaster
Posted 02/24/2012
Bushmaster are currently manafactured by Bushmaster Firearms/Quality Parts Company LOCATED in Windham, ME. The previous company name was Bushmaster Firearms, and the name changed to Bushmaster Firearms/Quality Parts Company after it was sold on April 13, 2006.
+13points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 17 for Bushmaster Patrolman's Carbine M4A3 Rifle, 5.56 NATO

Good Buy

11/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Decent gun, it isn't a Larue though so it will probably break when I get to shoot it. Maleante is a rooster holster.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-321points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.