Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for H&R H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

H&R H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

This gun from H&R will always shoot straight and aim true.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%17 out of 17reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 53 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

I Would Have Paid 400 For It!

12/05/2012
By ,
Dublin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun is truly amazing. Don't be afraid to be let down from this gun because you will not. I bought the 28" Barrel but it's a very durable gun. Easy to clean and to take apart. Perfect for shooting Bird Shot #8. ( Get 100 Rounds for 23 Dollars at Walmart) and Does Great with 00 Buckshot. It doesn't kick to hard with the bird shots but with the 00 buck shot be ready for a ride of a lifetime. Perfect for a first gun. Great Accuracy. Wouldn't trade it for nothing!
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

I LOVE THIS GUN

04/07/2014
By ,
Pitcher, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a shotgun to hunt with, The Nice man at the Cortland Walmart told me about the Maverick, Then he told me this one. But with an 18" barrel how accurate will that be?
He told me it was more for home defense. That never crossed my mind. So I purchased the maverick 88.
Then the next day I went back and purchased the H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga.
At 18" it saves one from having to saw the barrel off. A pistol grip makes it the perfect toy.
Now it is a lot of fun. Inside and out.
Yes, this is the same gun as the Remington 870.
Yes, It is made in china. By the A company owned by the same company that produces the 870.
This is a great gun. trust me.
Go out and get one today. besides you will need something other than a .22 because no one has any ammo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

Can't be beat

03/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know how you could go wrong buying this shotgun. If you need a short barrel 12 gauge for home defense or whatever, this is it. Solid and heavy duty with 5+1 capacity. Most any other HD style shotgun like the Remington 870 or Mossberg 500 start at just over $300. This H&R is usually UNDER $200. Right now it's $187. I may just pick up another. The length of pull on it seems a bit shorter than any of my other shotguns which is good for an HD gun. The action is very smooth and cycles shells perfectly. Outstanding value in my opinion. It also comes with the studs to add a sling.
Be sure to take the plug out of the magazine tube. It comes with it installed to make it a 2+1 capacity. Removal is very simple and takes about 2 minutes or less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

Can't be beat at this price point!

08/19/2012
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a GREAT shotgun for the price. As stated by other reviewers, this is a Remington 870 Clone. Its about half the price of the 870 express but is a BETTER built gun than the 870 express. H&R is owned by the Freedom Group. The Freedom Group also owns Remington among other gun manufacturers. I added the 870 Knoxx Gen II pistol grip stock that I got right here on Walmart.com for $50. This is a great addition to this gun. Also added a tactical flashlight and "The Claw" sling.
Have only put about 20 rounds through this gun so far (mix of birdshot, buckshot, and slugs) but it shoots everything just fine and surprisingly accurate with slugs considering the short barrel and bead sight. I did upgrade the magazine follower and spring for another $12. Nothing really wrong with the stock follower and spring, just looked a bit weak although it would probably have functioned without problems for a lifetime.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+112points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

Great weapon

10/24/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my birthday in Feb. I have only taken it out once. I put a Blackhawk Specops II stock on it before I took it out. I will say that with 2 3/4" birdshot, it STILL kicked like a mule. It had a little trouble with the shell lifter, but that was probably because I was not racking it hard enough. You got to manhandle this weapon. It is also very loud, both racking it and firing. You wouldn't think there is that much difference from one shotgun to the other when firing it, but there is, and you will notice it. I don't mean to make this weapon sound bad, because I love it. It is very rugged, I really seriously doubt you could hurt it. It definitely gets the job done. I think it looks great, especially with this stock. If you want an "elegant" trophy piece, this probably isn't it. But if you want a serviceable tool for a specific job, without paying a small fortune, this is the tool for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Once per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

Best kept secret in the shotgun world.

11/30/2012
By ,
Athens, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gun is built like a tank. Machined very well and is very smooth.
With a solid metal trigger assembly, a robust machined extractor and real parkerizing these guns have better quality than modern Remingtons especially the Express models.
I have disassembled and cleaned this gun and every part in it looks like it is built to last 100 years.
I have shot a dozen or so 3" 00 buck shells through it at HD distances and it does great.
Plan on shooting a few dozen #4 buckshot(not birdshot) soon, my favorite choice of HD load.
If you don't mind it being made in China then this gun will not disappoint.
You might have a hard time finding one though, they are scarce in my area.
BTW, the description is wrong, this gun holds 5 in the magazine + 1 in the chamber.
This gun also has a smooth bore not a smooth twist.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

Great Home Defense Gun

07/03/2013
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little leary of buying a gun made in China but I decided to try it out because of the good reviews. For $179, you can't beat it. This gun is a simple weapon that will do the job. Basically, it's a Remington 870 that isn't American made. The gun functions great and I've had no problems with it. If you need a good home defense gun and are on a budget, this is the one for you!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

Good shotgun at a GREAT price!

08/03/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this shotgun after reading many reviews about it online. It is a Remington 870 clone, Remington owns H&R. It's low priced because the parts are made in China, but they did it right! I took it out to the range and ZERO problems! I bought this as a back up to my AR-15 for home defense and to have fun with. Now I'm looking to replace the butt stock and replace it with a pistol grip adjustable stock to give it a tactical look. For the price and quality, you can't beat it. If you're on the market for a low priced shotgun that won't let you down, I'd suggest to pick up one of these shotgun's. A plus is that all of the 870 goodies will fit on this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+80points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga
01/29/2013
By ,
scottsboro,al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought the Pardner about 2 weeks ago in Scottsboro. Real pleased with the weapon, has a good feel and shoots great. Would recommend to anyone without hesitation. Co-worker purchased one also. Cant beat the price anywhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

Lot of Bang for your buck

01/14/2013
By ,
Murphy, N.Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you're looking for a no frills, dependable defense gun, this is the one. I challenge you to beat the quality for the price! This gun is built like a tank. I want to get another one in 20ga.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

excellent shotgun for the $$

04/13/2013
By ,
seattle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
while the finish isnt the best the fit and function is great and the fact that you can use all 870 accessories (except the barrels ) is great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

Excellent Shotgun!

11/29/2012
By ,
Prattville, Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very well made, solid weapon. Nice "thunk" when racking the slide! It's a little heavy, but that seems to help with recoil. Overall very happy with both the gun AND the price at Walmart....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LUTZ
PRICE?
Posted 10/22/2013
HOW MUCH IS IT NEW AT WALMART
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

H&R PARDNER PUMP

01/30/2013
By ,
VIENNA WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WHAT A GREAT SHOT GUN I AM A GUN COLLECTER HAVE MOOR THAN ONE H&R GOOD HOME PROTECTION NOT WHAT I WOULD HUNT WITH OR SHOOT SKEET OR TRAP BUT VERY NICE GUN THIS IS A UGLY GUN WHICH MAKES THIS GUN ALL THE BETTER
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

Great Home Defense gun

04/18/2013
By ,
St. Marks, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had been looking to convert my 870 to a home defense gun when I spotted this at Walmart. The price was just a little more than what I was going to pay for a Remington barrel. Bought the H&R instead. Found it kicked like a mule when shooting 3" magnum buckshot. I already had an ATI recoil reducing stock I had bought for the 870 conversion. Installed on the H&R with no problem. Greatly helped with the recoil. Great well built gun for an affordable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

Great heavy duty shotgun without the heavy price

12/20/2012
By ,
west georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gun and was extremely pleased. From the first time you pick it up you can tell that it's good, quality steel. This gun is basically a remington 870. The only parts that dont interchange is the barell. I would highly recommend this to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga

NEGATIVES?.............NOT!!

11/05/2013
By ,
eastern NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, great product, nuff said.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for H&R Pardner Pump Protector Shotgun, 12ga
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5