Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

Get a smartphone without all hassle of a contract with the Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card. This app-capable phone features three home screens with widgets, Bluetooth wireless technology, a 2MP camera and video recorder and a built-in MP3 player.
Average Customer Rating:
1.977 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation28%12 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

This phone is awesome!

11/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price this one is hard to beat. It has all the features I care about in a phone plus it can play MP3s so it's my ipod now too. The touch screen works well and I like the fast wifi when I'm at home on my network. The mobile web works good - but it's not a smartphone so it's not like a real full featured browser but it gets the job done. It takes picture and movies and they look pretty good but not in really low light. The battery life is great - I can go 2 days without a charge and I use it alot! Most of all I love the $45 unlimited plan so I can txt or whatever and not worry about usage problems. I got the one with the skinit voucher but this one comes with more memory which I think is better to hold more songs. I would totally buy this is you want a nice phone but don't want to pay a ton for a smart phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+223points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Defuniak Springs, Fl 32433
THIS PHONE IS *NOT WORTH THE AGGERVATION!
Posted 12/09/2011
This Phone Is AWFUL! I absolutely HATE IT! it will freeze up on me and i cant go to my messages or go to my contacts. it will say "initializing"., it will jus turn off for no reason. I wish i have never bought this phone. i would recoment buying the Android from straighttalk.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

Headache of a phone

12/04/2011
By ,
Biloxi, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My husband and I both got this phone, and were thrilled at first; the price was reasonable, it had a lot of features we wanted, and we have been using Straight Talk for over a year now. Then, the problems started. After a couple of weeks, my husband's phone kept deleting all of his contacts and resetting the phone. I didn't have any issues with mine until I refilled for the first time. I did it through the app on the phone, and it still says 0 days remaining (a week later). I didn't worry at first because I was still able to make/receive calls. Then I realized I couldn't send or receive texts. Any time I tried to access the messaging, a box with "initializing" popped up and nothing changed. While on the phone with customer service, it randomly started working, but since then the messaging goes out every time the battery dies or I turn the phone off, and reappears anywhere from an hour to two days later. I am supposed to get a new sim card, which seems to be cs's answer for every problem. If nothing changes, I will have to get a new phone. Wish I had read these reviews first!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
New Braunfels, Texas
Bad Cell Phone
Posted 12/29/2011
I have purchased two of these phones as well and I have had the SAME problems. Not to mention the phone are only two and three months old. So upset, especially when it is my business phone. Not only can I not send or received messages after many resets, my phone just went dead. I have sent many customers to straight talk, but would NOT recomend this phone.
0points
Customer Avatar
thomaston maine
Big headache
Posted 12/26/2011
I bought this phone off walmart.com and it asked what my zip code was and it said this phone would work in my area. So i bought it for a christmas gift then when the girl called to activate it with streight talk they said would not work in my area . All i can say is what a big mess it caused
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

not a good choice

12/02/2011
By ,
richmond, va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was super excited because the price was great for my first touchscreen phone. Got it home and i loved it until it started freezing 4 times a day, shutting down when i received messages and once a day my phone screen would have december 31st as the date and the time would say 8:00 p.m.. i am so dissappointed in this phone. and the bad thing about it is i didn't know i could've gotten insurance on this phone. now i am stuck with it!! SMH
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+62points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Georgia
Hey
Posted 01/06/2012
You can contact Straight Talk and they will send you a replacement. You can call their customer service line, or visit their page on Facebook. They give all of their phones 1 year replacement warranties.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

Dont buy this phone

11/27/2011
By ,
Gallipolis Ferry, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this phone it is a horrible phone. It freezes up constantly. my texting is messed up and will not work it always restarts on me. I hate this phone i only had it for 3 months and have already had to buy a new phone. If you want a good phone get the samsung galaxy.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+61points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Lawrencebug,Tn
Hate this!
Posted 12/27/2011
I got this phone every so often you have to get a new sims card!!! During a phone call it'll make this irrating noise!! Urrggg!!! Then when you hit a button it'll wait , wait , wait , then you have to hit it AGAIN for it to work!!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Nebraska
This Phone
Posted 12/13/2011
I had bought this phone, it has been 3 weeks now. I bought mostly to have a phone I can talk on outside of any big cities. Since I like to do a lot of country driving. If you buy the "Samsung Galaxy, which is a Android phone". You will only be able to operate it near big cities and the interstate system. I live in Nebraska. And if you go west, like past, North Platte. The Galaxy will have no signal to talk or data.
The problem I have really with the T 528 is, it does reset the calendar back to December 31, 2010. But if you wait about 20 minutes in will change back to the correct Date and time again. And the keyboard is a pain, but I did not buy the phone testing much. I had to get away from Virgin Mobile, their coverage really "Stinks".
0points
Customer Avatar
WORST PHONE DONT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 12/08/2011
this phone is rediculos......it keeps freezin up and shuttin down and worst of all THIS website said it would work in my zip code and it doesnt so now im stuck with a phone that doesnt work where i live..
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

Excellent phone

12/23/2011
By ,
asheville, north carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My phone never freezes up on me. It plays mp3's and mp4 vids without any problem. I can even copy a TV show or movie song from the internet and use it as a ringtone. You have to use a data cable first. You can get them online for around 12-15 dollars or buy one at Radio Shack for 20 dollars, but it's worth it. You can also save pictures from the internet and use as wallpapers on the phone. This way you don't have to buy a wallpaper or ringtone that may last only a month or two. The speaker is very good, and the sound quality is great. I set up my bluetooth 2.1 stereo adapter so I could use headphones without any problem. I like the fact you can use up to a 32gb micro sd card. I have several with music and videos on them so I don't have to use my Sansa Fuze when I want to listen to and/or watch them. The picture quality on the screen is excellent for such a small screen. Who needs a 400 dollar iphone or a 200 dollar android phone. The texting keyboard is qwerty style and touchscreen which I like because you dont have to have a keyboard sticking out the bottom or a slider which I hate. You can get a limited 30 dollar a month plan but If you use the web a lot and like to text I recommend the 45 dollar a month unlimited plan. For me this phone is well worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card
12/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ive own this phone for about 2 months now, the first month it was a great phone, this last month the phone has been horriable, shuting off at random times, turning off in the middle of phone calls. and here recently its been going hay wire, only way i could get this phone to work properly was to have it plugged in. it works ok in the morning but in the afternoons its a different animal. i wouldnt recommend this phone to anyone, your just throwing your money away with this phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card
12/04/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased my phone off Ebay, pretty decent phone, I can do alot of what I need on the internet browser, I liked that it had the facebook app already on the phone, Overall a good phone for someone that is new to the smart phones but I need something a little faster and that can download apps, I would recommend it to a friend that was looking into a smartphone for a cheap low price.
Cons:Not a lot of memory for the phone, I'm big on taking pictures and had to purchase a memory card for the phone, I don't like the fact that I set the phone to automatically delete the old messages and I still have to go in and delete them myself. It does randomly shuts off when your trying to something, doesn't do it all the time but when it freezes, its does.
Pros: Takes really good pictures. It does take a memory card which my old phone didn't but it could hold a bunch of pictures(I had over 900 pictures on my old phone but its not a smartphone).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

this phone sucks!

12/06/2011
By ,
sc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont buy this phone it doesnt hold a signal unless you are in a big city. you cant type and it constantly puts in the wrong letter even though im clearly on the right one. Everytime i press ok to send a message it deletes the last character i put in b/c the x button is right beside the ok button. ps i have tiny fingers. it is not worth the money get one with a full key pad.....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

Not worth the money

12/06/2011
By ,
Birmingham, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I started having problems with this phone on the second day after I purchased it. It restarts on its own, usually when I am trying to make a call. It also has the wrong date, time and contract expiration sporadically (Dec. 2010, 6:00am, You have 365 service days left). I have also been having problems with calls not coming through. People will try to call me and it goes straight to voice mail. The main reason I purchased this phone is because it is touchscreen and has app capability. Wrong!!! You can only download apps from a website that I had to google to find, and the apps don't work. There are some apps that come with the phone (Samsung apps), but they are things like birthday countdown, unit converter, things that I don't even use. The only positive thing is the picture quality, but even with that, you can't zoom, so you have to get really close to whatever you are taking a picture of. I am very unhappy with this phone and have gone back to using my old straight talk phone.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

Junk Phone

12/15/2011
By ,
Charlottesville, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone 3 weeks ago and it no longer works. Never dropped, or did anything else that would have caused this to die. Will not power on, and when it did work it would sometimes drop the phone call by shuting down and power off. When I was working, text message was very hard to use, a lot of web pages would not work, and the auto complete would sometimes spell words that you did not want to use. No apps at all for this phone either.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

very poor

12/19/2011
By ,
Indianapolis, In
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was so excited to get this phone, however I hate it, it freezes all the time have to take out battery to restart, shuts of in middle of phone call or text message, have lost all my contacts over and over again!! So frustrating people say they call or text and I don't receive them. Do not purchase this phone!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card
12/13/2011
By ,
Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had bought this phone, it has been 3 weeks now. I bought it mostly to have a phone I can talk on outside of any big cities. Since I like to do a lot of country driving. If you want to buy the "Samsung Galaxy, which is a Android phone". You will only be able to operate it near big cities and the interstate system. I live in Nebraska. And if you go West, like past, North Platte. The Galaxy will have no signal to talk or data.
The problem I have really with the T 528 is, it does reset the calendar back to December 31, 2010. But if you wait about 20 minutes it will change back to the correct Date and time again. In away, I might think it might be Straight Talk Tower "AT&T" is not sync. right. And I really don't have to worry about that, since I don't live by the Calendar. The keyboard is a pain, but I did not buy the phone for texting. I had to get away from Virgin Mobile, their coverage really "Stinks". And I don't use the Manual the came with it. Download the regular pdf one from Samsung.
I read all the reviews, good and bad. And I decided that this is a good phone, if you want a Android type smart phone then buy one. Just make sure to check the coverage map on Straight Talk about them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

Not recommended

12/24/2011
By ,
Tennessee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone for myself for CHRISTmas this year. Everything everyone said on this board is true! The touch pad icon's were too close together, so wrong numbers standard dialing issues. Very slow to download, and not enough memory to operate as expected. I returned this phone to the store in under 24 hours Either spend less money and get a flip phone, or spend more and get something better. Major disappointment! Sidebar... I Phone not available for Straight Talk, Grrr!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card
12/25/2011
By ,
Lovingston, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this phone even after reading all the comments about it. giving it the benefit of the doubt. its an ok phone. the touch screen key pad is kind of too small. took me forever to send a text because of hitting the wrong keys. I tried to overlook that.. but when I would get screeching and noise in the middle of my phone conversation, I knew it was time to switch back to my old fone. it has happened quite a few times. it does take good pictures. didnt fool with it long enuff to check out everything else. I just wasnt happy with it
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

might not wrk in your area even if it says yes

12/15/2011
By ,
belfast,me
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
thought this was a really good deal so i entered out zip and it said that it would work in our area so i got 2 one for me and one for my husband. went to add a card and the straight talk people told us that it would not work in our area. so i went back on walmart.com and again it said it would work and also went to straighttalk.com to see if it was on there as a phone that would work in our area and it would not. so always make sure u check the real straight talk website before getting any phone dont go by what walmart says...
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

Phone so bad, went back to expensive Verizon

12/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The cheesiest phone ever. If you have any technical savvy, this phone will annoy you. It's super slow, freezes, and doesn't even have a keyboard. This phone made me feel I was suddenly thrust back into the 90's. I paid $100 for this in store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
New Braunfels, TX
There is a keyboard
Posted 12/22/2011
When you are in message mode turn the phone sideways and touch the screen the keyboard will appear, but I agree the phone is aweful, getting new phone as soon as I can afford it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

get what you pay for

12/15/2011
By ,
wv
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its a good phone for the price for me it was $99..but if you want an iphone for $500 of course it will be higher quality. PROS: fast wifi, camera,video facebook app CONS: freezes up and restarts internet, no decent games, only has facebook and myspace app and you can not use youtube....but overall its good for making and recieving calls so i guess it does what its suppose to do
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

Do NOT purchase this phone!

12/16/2011
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had no intention of getting this particular phone, but my sister had already purchased this one online and then turned around and bought one instore. I purchased this from her. She never used it. The phone shuts off on its own at any given time. If often displays the wrong date, time, and number of days left on the phone plan purchased. The texting is horrible. The keyboard is not aligned right or something because when I'm texting and I hit the letter I want to type, it types a different letter out on the screen. My sisters and my brother all have Straight Talk phones, and I'm the only one that has issues with their phone. I have to be RIGHT next to a window to get halfway decent service. I have to be on the interstate to get great service. If I'm sitting in my house, away from a window, then I either get no service, or intermittent service. I can't stand it. So, to save yourself undue stress and aggravation, don't buy this phone. Right now as I type this, I have the overwhelming urge to throw it up against the wall. Yes, that's how aggravated I get over it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

This phone is terrible!!

12/16/2011
By ,
Jefferson, P.A
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While this phone has awesome features the call quality is not good!! The first phone I bought made this loud roaring sound when I would make a call, the other person on the line could hear me but I couldnt hear them so I went and exchanged it for another phone and that one did it too. It does it alot, I thought I had just got a bad phone that go around but like I said I exchanged the phone for another one (of the same kind) and that phone did it too..I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung T528G Prepaid Camera Phone with 4GB MicroSD Card

the worst phone straight talk ever offered!!!!

01/11/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone didn't not stand up to my hopes about this phone. This phone bit a big one cause i froze up on me all the time. It also cut off in the middle of text messages and phone calls. If you try to get this phone i wouldn't i would put that money towards one of the android phones at least with those touch screen phones they run on the droid market and have fun apps you can get. Plus much faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+1point
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next