Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

The Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone is a smartphone that does not tie you down to a contract. The QVGA color display is sharp and clear, allowing for a clear view of text, photos, and other menu settings. With a 1.3MP camera, capture beautiful moments of your life for posterity. The Straight Talk prepaid cell phone allows for entertainment on the move with the built-in MP3 player. The QWERTY keyboard cell phone makes texting a breeze. Keep in touch with friends and family with the Mobile web facility in addition to the SMS/MMS. With a microSD slot that is compatible with up to 16GB cards, storage space will not be a problem. The Straight Talk Samsung phone lets you store up to 1000 entries in the phonebook for ready contact reference. With a talk time of up to 5.5 hours and standby time of up to 16.6 days, the phone has a solid battery life that you can depend upon. Hearing aid compatibility makes it a great choice for every one.
Average Customer Rating:
3.827 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(185 Reviews) 161
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
49
3 stars
19
2 stars
14
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation81%147 out of 182reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
81
4 stars
49
3 stars
19
2 stars
14
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

Terrible for texting, low sound quality, and more

02/24/2012
By ,
NA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone, despite other reviews, is NOT a better phone than the 355C. I have multiple issues with this phone. I just received it and got it activated today. I've used it less than 2 hours, and already, I am browsing for a replacement; this one is going back. I will try to be as detailed as possible in my issues. They are not necessarily in order of importance. In addition to that, while I note my issues with the phone, I'll try to compare it with the R355C as I can.
1. Texting is terrible. I assume most of you have used phones that have the smart word suggestion feature. This one has that, but my issue with it is that on most phones, there is a feature in phone settings that allows you to disable that or stop the suggestions. With this phone, there is no such option, except to change the setting to regular abc every single time you use the phone. So every time you receive a text and try to reply, you have to change that setting, with every single message you send. Your next question... so why disable word suggestions, right? Here's why -- with the word suggestion feature on, the phone is slow to recognize characters you type as you type them, perhaps waiting for you to respond to what it thinks you want to say, and it even misses some characters that you type altogether with this feature enabled, particularly the space bar. If you text even at a reasonable speed (and believe me I do not text any faster than any other average person), this feature seriously slows down the speed at which you can type in a response, and if you do not disable this feature with every single text, you will find yourselffrequentlytypingresponseslikethiswithnospaces even though you hit the space bar, but because of the vast degree to which this feature slows down the accepted characters in the text message, it often does not recognize the spaces as you are typing. After you finish typing every single word, their 'suggested word' is still on the screen, so that when you hit the spacebar, instead of putting a space there as you intended, the phone just uses the spacebar to remove their suggested word choice from the screen, so then if you really wanted the space there, you have to hit it twice between every word, every single time. Even if you are only using the word 'I,' you have to hit the spacebar twice to get a space after I, if you dont disable the suggested word bank. If you never ever text, this won't be an issue for you, but if you text even occasionally, this gets to be very annoying very fast. Every message I tried to send ended up going into the phone with no spaces, every single one, except when I disabled the word suggestions, and since there is no option to turn the feature off completely, and you have to disable them manually with every single message you send, that gets to be frustrating.
2. Related to number 1, The fn (function) button, when replying to a text, if you press it should quickly change from word suggestion to numbers to symbols, or whatever. It does not even offer the suggestion to change to abc no matter how many times you press the fn button. And when you press the fn button for it to change to numbers, it won't let you type any numbers, giving an error message. Now this particular issue seems like a problem with the phone I got rather than the model, but I wanted to note it in case others are having the same issue.
3. As another reviewer noted, on the home screen of the phone, written across the front of the screen on the bottom is a message that lists the number of days of service you have left. It frustrated the other reviewer who commented, and he said that he had noticed a menu option to disable this feature before he activated, but he chose not to, thinking he would disable it later, but that after activation, the option disappeared. He was right. In fact, I disabled the feature before I activated the phone, turned it completely off. But when the phone was activated, the message showed up on the screen anyway, and when I went to the menu where the option to turn it off had been, the menu option was no longer there. I don't mean it was there and dimmed or grayed out; it was gone--completely vanished as if that menu option had never existed.
4. The sound quality is poor.
5. The keypad does lock, but if you get a text while the keypad is locked, it has the standard, view message option on screen, however it will not let you click on it until you unlock the keypad. With the R355C, this phone's predecessor, you could still view and respond to that one message without having to stop to unlock the keypad just to view it. Furthermore, why does it even flash the view now, or view later options on the screen if clicking them is disabled? If you cannot click the option it gives you when the keypad is locked, why does it give you an option rather than just playing the audio message alert tone or flashing a fast 'New Message' reminder with no options shone?
6. The keys themselves - On the 355, the keys are mostly flat, on this you can't tell from the picture, or even from the box, but when you feel it, or look at it from the side, you can tell that the keys are angled not flat, one side is raised higher than the other on each key. I assume they thought this was some kind of feature that would make the keys easier to use, since they also did make the keys on this model a little bigger than the ones on the 355, however, this does not make the keys easier to use, in my opinion, it made them more difficult to use. They have a more unnatural, awkward feel to them now. One other thing to not in comparing the keyboard of this phone to the keyboard of the 355 that it replaced is that they have also moved some of the keys around, which is a minor issue, but if you are upgrading from that model, you tend to know where most of the keys are but several have been moved around. For example, on the R355C the comma is just to the right of the spacebar with the exclamation point as a function of that same key, but on the R375C, they put the question mark to the right of the spacebar with the exclamation point as the function above the question mark--the comma is on the above row as a function of the period where the question mark was on the 355. This is a minor issue, but to those upgrading from the other model, it feels awkward, and you're left wondering what the purpose in moving those things was. It isn't the entire key that was moved, but that the arrangements of which keys were where and which key function went with which other key.
Lastly, on the phone itself compared to the 355, this model feels just slightly lighter in weight than the R355C, but it also feels more plastic and less durable. As I am returning the phone immediately, I cannot comment about its long-term durability, but the R355C feels sturdier, much sturdier than this model. The basic features of the phone are the same. On a more positive note, one reviewer noted an increased browser time with this phone model versus that of the R355C, and I can confirm that if you have to search online for something, this phone is slightly faster in that regard than the R355C was. This phone has an open hole in the side that I assume is for a headphone jack whereas the headphone jack slot on the R355C was on the top of the phone and hidden behind the little removable flap. Basic phone use for these phones is about the same. This model does include 2 game demos where the previous model did not.
There are a few positives, and I think they tried to add more features to improve the phone, but in my opinion, this phone is definitely not an improvement at all. I wanted to like the phone; I really did, but some of the features are just too buggy. In addition, adding features is of no benefit to the customer if those new features aren't customizable or optional. Adding new features might be nice or sound nice, but whether or not to use those features should always be up to the customer. There must be a way to turn them off or on. Perfect examples are the problems with the buggy word suggestion/space bar issue on texting, and the display message that says you have __ service days left splashed across the screen of the phone, and there is no phone setting anywhere in the phone that will allow you to completely and permanently turn off those features. Forced features are bad enough under any circumstances, worse yet when they are forced features that are either buggy, or that some customers just don't like. I can deal with the service message though I know that some others use personal pictures as their wallpaper and don't want that message splashed across their main screen all the time; however, I cannot live with the other buggy issues of this phone. I apologize for the length of this review--I know it is long, but I wanted to be as detailed as possible. I wanted to like this phone, but after trying it, there are just too many bugs to work out before I could recommend this model. If you don't mind the new forced features that you can't turn off, or the display messages that show up for which the menu option to turn it off completely disappears after activation leaving you stuck with it, or if you need only a simple phone for calls only, then perhaps this phone is for you. Otherwise, I'd say either go with the 355 or explore other models.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+49points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
virginia
I am not happy with this phone
Posted 08/05/2012
I had a Pantech it cost 50 dollars but is ten times better than this phone . This phone reminds me of a 20 dollar phone you buy at the dollar store not much to it nothing conveinent about it taking it back hopefully getting a better one that will cost more.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 03/28/2012
Hi you can change the option of the abc texting mode. I did that and I never have to keep hitting that before i text. Going to your text message setting and click it then click general. that will bring you up to the entry mode option. Click which one you want and then it is saved until you decide to change it. I have this phone and have loved it. the only thing i don't like about it is that it doesn't have multiple page texting.
+3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

Not Better That R 355C

07/06/2012
By ,
Skokie, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This cell is not better than R355C. This is terrible for texting and dropping calls. Sound quality is not what i thought it will be. Very disappointed with battery life. I will definitely go back to R355C.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

Unable to Activate!

06/02/2012
By ,
Hickory, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sorry, I know there are some rave reviews out there and I had hoped mine would be one. Not the case... I could not rate the fuctionality of a product that I could not use. After SEVERAL attempts over 3 days and 3 hours with Straight Talk, my phone could not be activated! I have never had any problems with Samsung products before but this was a nightmare! Maybe this is why the price keeps dropping on this item - who knows?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+9points
Review 4 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

Unable to transfer phone number.

05/24/2012
By ,
Tifton, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As with the android phones, buying a bunch of hype. Also, when contacting StraightTalk, it seems they outsource and ALL I was able to get was people that I had difficulty understanding (accents being VERY heavy).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

Do NOT go with Straight talk!

05/24/2012
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Straight talk customer service is a JOKE! I havne;t even gotten to use it yet because they haven't activated it yet!!!! I went around and around with a "service representative" and got no where! I cannot get my money back for the phone card I purchased, and yet I can't use my phone. Doesn't seem right- I guess I'm out the $30 for the phone card, but the phone will be going back to Wal Mart and I am getting a Verizon pre paid phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
USA
Here it us easy
Posted 05/28/2012
How do I activate my new Verizon Wireless Prepaid Phone?
You can activate your new Verizon Wireless Prepaid phone by visiting verizonwireless.com/activate. You can also activate service through your wireless phone by pressing the "SEND" button when the phone displays "Press SEND to activate your phone," OR by dialing "*22898 SEND" from your wireless phone.
-2points
Customer Avatar
USA
This phone USES VERIZON
Posted 05/26/2012
Thus you would be dealing with the same people!!!
-2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

Not really worth it

10/23/2012
By ,
Farmingdale, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its an okay phone doesn't compare to my last one, and was more expensive. Doesn't come with anything too impressive, barley an ringtones, horrible games, things that you want at your fingertips like alarm clock and calculator are hard to get at quick. Texting is a hassle the camera is okay and the voice command works well. Not sure if it has speaker phone or not but I haven't been able to find it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

UGH

09/24/2012
By ,
Twin City, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I personally hate this phone. The pictures are thumbsize. The buttons are small.
HOWEVER
Its a GREAT phone if ALL you are ever going to do is talk. The battery life is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone
06/08/2012
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had it for 2 months now, and it's already broken. It won't charge and I just hate this phone. Don't buy this if you are addicted to texting.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 9 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

Not good don't get it!

03/04/2012
By ,
Concordia,ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone worked for the first week. After that low to no bars, and cut in and out all the time. I have already changed back to the cell company I had with their prepaid service. I would say don't wast your time mad money. I have not tried to take the phone because I have read that they won't take it after 14 days. I guess I will try and see. I will stay hopeful that I can get my money be, don't wast yours.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

Phone not great & ST employees are padding reviews

03/16/2012
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is not as great as many of these reviews claim. The sound at times is terrible. Texting is not good. The keys are shaped weird making it harder to text. There is a stupid display on the screen that says how many days of service you have left. I think Straight Talk employees are padding these reviews to try to make their products look better, which makes you wonder how good their phones or service can be if they have to pad the reviews like this. Look at the problems that are common to almost ALL of the honest reviewers before you buy; and try those features if you do decide to buy so that you can take it back to the store within the 15 or 30 days limit--whichever it is. Keep the receipt.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

I hate this phone

09/27/2012
By ,
Akron,Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I hate this phone. IT's made cheaply. Calls break up that shouldn't and I'm going back to my Samsung355C and buy a new one. Never expected the space bar to not work for texting. DUH. It's made of plastic.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone
01/08/2012
By ,
Troy, Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like straight talk so far they have been good to me, but this phone wouldn't charge. I plugged it in and left it to charge over night and it didn't. I turned it on a few times and it would say charging then it would shut off. So straight talk is good but not happy with the SAMSUNG R375C
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Straight Talk Nokia E-5 GSM Smartphone (GSM-A)
3.7 out of 5(171)
 
 
 
 
 
+6points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/30/2012
Try removing the battery and then reinserting it again. You could be charging it too often. We had a Motorola that did the same thing your phone is doing and customer service said to let the phone's battery almost die completely before you charge it. If you don't and end up overcharging it can cause the battery to swell. Worked for us.
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/10/2012
Im not sure, but in alot of cases the phone will not charge if it is plugged into an extension cord. I had to learn that the hard way. I've had a lot of people ask me for help with their phone not charging and I told them to be sure it's not plugged into an extension cord and sure enough that was the problem. Not saying thats why yours wasn't holding charge.. but just thought I'd drop a comment. Btw I'm from Greenville ohio! Just 20 mins away haha!
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

bad quality!

05/08/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this phone looks good but the reception is real bad and the voice quality is worse,you can't check how many minutes you have left unless you call costumer service and of course is not free of charge!!!
:Walmart.com
+1point
Review 14 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

Not a Good Phone

07/02/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Samsung R375C is a very user unfriendly phone requiring unnecessary steps to do common procedures. The keyboard is poorly designed making for difficult texting. Do not buy this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

NO!!!!!!!

10/25/2012
By ,
michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you need a phone for nothing but calling then i would say this is an alright phone, but if you text and hope to have somewhat of a mobile internet dont buy this phone not worth the 50 bucks that it was on sale for, i had it less then 2 hrs and already knew it wasnt for me....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 16 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

Garbage!

02/07/2013
By ,
Erie, Pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Keypad way too small, unless you're a hamster. Can't receive pictures or ringtones unless you BUY them from Straight Talk. Just all around a trash phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 17 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

JUNK!!!

07/03/2012
By ,
Johnson, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I researched non-contract phone plans and ran the coverage scan. This phone scan gave me 100% coverage. I bought the phone and the activation card, ($100 dollar bill gone!) I followed all instructions and the phone activated perfectly. Tried to make a call, (lost signal). Tried to access web, (no signal). It's JUNK and I'm stuck with it!!! minus a $100.00 BILL!!!!!!!!!
DO NOT LOSE YOUR MONEY TO!!!!!!!!!!!!! In addition, when I tried to write this review I experienced all sorts of internet rejection screens. I worked it and finally got my review posted.
Well, if it posted! I'll check back. written by: computer science grad
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

the cheap LG without cam was faster

07/03/2012
By ,
Albany,Ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
omg i have had this phone since june 5th and i tell you it is very slow on the web...i drop signal everywhere even inside my house and im not recieving most of my calls. i wanted a camera phone but the little grey LG w/o the camera gave m great service it never lost a signal i drove from georgia through alabama to mississippi and was on facebook and making calls the entire way never dropping a signal i feel this samsung is not worth the price it should be free
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Miami, FL
Hello!
Posted 07/11/2012
Hi, this is Sara with Straight Talk Wireless. I read your post and am sorry that you are having problems. Please send me your contact information to the following email address ST.CorpResolutionTeam@straightalk.com . My colleagues and I can help you get the problem resolved right away. Please include your name, phone serial number or cell phone number. So you don’t have to retype this information, just copy your blog concern and email it to us.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

Ugh

07/12/2012
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are planning to use the mobile web at all do not buy this phone. It wouldn't even load facebook. It kept giving me a message that the page was too large to load. Other websites I got the unsupported content error. I was very disappointed and exchanged after 1 day. If you just want a basic phone that plays mp3's then this phone would do....and make sure you dont have fat fingers.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Straight Talk Samsung R375C Prepaid Camera Phone

maybe a usable phone once I get it set up.

08/26/2012
By ,
Concord, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can not get a complete manual down loaded from straight talk. getting the phone activated was a night mare. I,m sure it is a manual from samsung somewhere, at straight talk its pages of
tips on use of the phone. hey send me a manual .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
1-20 of 162 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next