Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

Get a smartphone without all hassle of a contract with the Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Prepaid Camera Phone. This phone features a 3.2" LCD color touchscreen, Bluetooth wireless technology, a 3MP camera and video recorder and a built-in MP3 player and FM radio.
Average Customer Rating:
3.3 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation60%12 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

Great specs and value but has its flaws.

11/25/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
7/10
This phone has some great features such as the FM tuner, video capability and gravity sensor.
It uses AT&T towers.
After playing with it for a few hours here are some flaws I have noticed so far:
1. The screen could be more responsive. To unlock the phone sometimes you have to swipe the screen several times to get it to work. You cannot text quickly as there is lag.
2. The keys for texting aren't very big, so big thumbs will have difficulty texting. It seems faster to use only one hand with the included telescoping pen.
3. There are limited phone settings. For example, the only way to turn off sounds (Phone turning on/off, etc) is to put the entire phone in vibrate only. You might wake up your significant other while turning the phone on or off because of this.
4. FM tuner only works if you have head phones plugged in.
I'm sure I will notice more flaws soon, but I'm still happy with the phone because of all the features. For $35 it's a steal, if it was more than $75 I wouldn't recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+30points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
just a few pointers :)
Posted 12/04/2011
screen is responsive i noticed you have to touch with very tip of finger or use finger nail. and i dont like the texting lol it is very hard to get used to. this is my first touch screen so i have no others to compare that to. and if you go deeper into settings there is a way to turn sound off of the power on/off. i turned mine off bc i dont like my phone making noise turning it off and on at all. there are several options for volume. just play with the phone and u will figure it out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone
11/27/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the Kingfisher on Black Friday. It's an amazing phone. Nice features, everything is amazing.
A few cons:
The touch screen is a bit hard to manage, The network coverage was very poor, I'm not sure what carrier it uses but I couldn't talk to anyone in the house, and to download apps, you have to have a memory card.
Otherwise, a nice phone. Will be taking it back though.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
alpena mi
phone
Posted 11/28/2011
or you could sell it to me lol there are none in my area and i really wanted it please
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

AMAZING Smartphone for the price!

11/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased on black friday for only $35 and i am extremely satisfied with it. The keys on the touchscreen are a little small but easy to adjust to! Had no problems activating/transfering my number over, did it at straighttalk.com and it only took about 20 minutes until I was making my first call from the new phone.. All and all deff cant beat the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Troy, Alabama
Question
Posted 11/30/2011
The only problem i am encountering is transferring my number over on straighttalk.com, i tried my zip code, 36081, and it told me it was not supported in my area. Can anyone give me a zipcode i can use.?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

Ok I guess for the price

11/29/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I stood in line for over 6 hours to get this phone but was so disapointed. I got the phone because of thinking I could put apps etc on the phone only to realize that you can not do that with straight talk phones. It is just like any other phone in that sense. Yes it is touch screen even has a radio on it. However if you want to use the radio or listen to music you download on it you have to have head phones. Yes you can take videos with it however once you save them I have not been able to find out how to delete them, so the videos I took while messing with the phone when I first got it are just sitting on my phone taking up space. When you go to get online it is the same generic on line stuff that all the other straight talk phones have nothing special about it. Yes you can check your email on it however if you get more than a few emails a day I wouldnt recomend it since it can take forever to download more than just a few emails. The most annoying thing is that the service time you have remaining scrolls across the main screen all the time and there is no way to turn that feature off. So when you are on your main screen you constantly see that scrolling across the screen. Over all ok phone but really no different than the other phones. If it goes up above the $40 buck range dont waste your money just get basic phone cause really no different.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 5 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

Great Phone!

11/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was lucky enough to find a stray one on Sunday. This is an awesome little phone. Not sure why some are saying the volume is too low, I keep mine on low & it's still loud. I do have the earpiece volume up high but I'm a little hard of hearing. Sometimes I do have to try a couple times to drag the unlock button but that's no big deal. I use the stylus that was included for texting & getting the hang of that was quick. Great phone for an awesome price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

it is ok , for a Temp, phone.

11/28/2011
By ,
Kansas City. MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was sooo, excited to stand in line for 3 hours and get one of the phones, for $35 on Black Friday.was looking forward to enjoying my first Touch Screen Phone. The volume on the phone is lacking. it seems to down load slowly. It looks good, but i will be looking to buy another phone in the near future. i am very disappointed in Wal-Mart for this one. i had another Straight talk Phone before this one, that was wonderful
!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone
11/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I have had stratight talk for almost two years now. We decided to upgrade our phones and thought these were a great deal (we stood at walmart for 4 hours to get them for black friday). I've been trying mine out for two days now. The sound quality on a call is ridiculous. I can barely hear on it. The ringtones are loud, which is a plus. It didn't take this long for me to figure out how to work my Ipod. I wouldn't suggest this phone to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone
12/03/2011
By ,
AR.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone for my wife on the Blitz sale online. They flew off the shelf at the store. Ordered it Friday and got it on my front step Tuesday, I was amazed. The phone seems to be a good phone, takes a little bit to get used to it, learn the phone. The website says that there are some still in the stores in my area, about a half hour drive, Probably get one myself. The best part is the load ringers, All the Straight Talk phones if have used before haven't had this loud of ringer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone
11/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the phone so far however there is one very annoying feature. The airtime information scrolls across the main display screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Review 10 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

Not what I expected!

11/28/2011
By ,
Sulligent, AL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone on Black Friday for $35. I loved the big touch screen. The camera and video recorder are cool as well. However, it is not a good phone for texting. The screen is sensitive. But, the pen (which I didn't know was available until I read the reviews) helps a lot. The reception is not good either. Videos are not good quality but viewable. The volume levels are loud, which is a good thing for me. I'm considering taking it back. Maybe once I learn more, I will decide to keep it. I do agree with the other reviewer: if this phone was more than $70, I would definitely return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

Middle of the road.

11/28/2011
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this phone on black friday for $35.00. For the price it was great. I think this phone regular retail should only be $50.00. It can be a pain in the butt. I have been using it since saturday morning. I let it chrage all the way but with me using the internet throughout the day it kills the batt by night. The sound quality is great and so is the loudness of the speakers. There is lag on the phone bad so texting is alot alot slower. I am glad it came with a stylus though. Camera leaves alot to be desired and the camcorder is ok. I downloaded a video from the internet and there is no where in the phone for it to be deleted so i am stuck with it. When i open a text the countdown stays on the screen for to long and it makes it annoying. This is a great touchscreen starter phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

Phone is good for the price BUT...!

12/02/2011
By ,
Edinburg, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was excited to have gotten this phone at such a low price (under $40), plus it is touch screen and all but you get what you pay for. Some nice features are that it is a touch-screen but you have to try to unlock phone by sliding your finger across the screen and it doesn't work sometimes. You are better off using the stylus that it comes with. Adding contacts to phone is a bother cause the icons are so small, you always have to hit the "back" button and re-enter a letter to spell things right. The calls are not that great. Not very clear. I can't always make out what people are saying on the other end of the call. Sounds echoe-y (not sure if thats a word). But I have to ask people to repeat themselves sometimes. I guess it runs off of AT&T. I get good reception at home but no reception at work and that's cuz I work in an open building at the city next to my home town. It looks like an expensive phone and really nice but not really worth it. Gonna return it and look for something else. I would have kept the phone IF the buttons on screen were a little bigger or had better sensitivity, the voice calls sounded better, and had better reception. I guess it is good for your young kids who just want a phone to show off to friends because it doesn't really have great quality. Sorry. Nice looks but looks are deceiving.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

Motorola KingFisher

11/30/2011
By ,
Jonesborough, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I purchased two of these via the internet on Black Friday. Overall we are very pleased with them. Of course these are not I Phones but they are definitely well worth the $35.00 bargain. The camera is ok as well as the camcorder. This is our first touchscreen phone and again we are happy with the purchase. The volume is great, I have read a few reviews with complaints of this but ours is good. I actually think I have mine up too loud. Service is good also, as it was with our previous Straight Talk phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

love it

12/05/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought 3 of these on black Friday, one for me and one for each of my daughters. we love it, the texting buttons r small but if u turn it sideways it is alot easier. the stylus helps to when u r online. we r addicted to facebook so the app that we downloaded for it is awesome. much better than the other straight talk phones we have had. my girls wanted an mp3 player a camcorder and a phone this yr, this phone has all three and they r very very happy with it them all being in one and so am i cause i saved money
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 15 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone
12/04/2011
By ,
Crossville, Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this phone a lot. The only thing i dont like would it running off at&t towers and the texting on it. the texting im getting used to. the weird thing is is when im in my apt i get signal but when i pick it up the bars drop lol but i can still talk on the phone with 1 or sometimes no bars and everyone says they can hear me clear as day. no breaking up or anything. how weird is that? when im in town i get signal obviously. other than those 2 things i really love this phone. great phone for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

How do u turn on speaker when using phone to talk?

12/04/2011
By ,
Madison Heights, Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased the Kingfisher on Black Friday, I like the overall function of the phone, but where is the button to turn on speaker phone? I would like to have all the functions off the screen when phone is not in use so i can enjoy my grandkids picture on the wallpaper instead of the radio function or the days i have left from my card. FYI* to turn off phone keypad lock go to: settings-security-auto keypad lock-turn off, that will take away the lock you move when you screen up phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone

Before Buying...

12/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I went and bought this for my daughter for Christmas (and one for myself). I tried to activate this phone and there is no service for my area. Why does Walmart sell phone in a store, but there is no coverage for this area. I am not happy with this. Next time, I'm dealing with Straight Talk directly.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Straight Talk Motorola EX124G Kingfisher Prepaid Touchscreen Camera Phone
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5