Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Stack-On Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

The Stack-On Gun Storage Safe features a black epoxy paint finish, chrome accents and a silk screen on the door. This cabinet also features a three-point locking system that provides greater security than other safes. It is fully convertible and has adjustable shelves that can be placed on the right or left side of the cabinet. The steel center partition and shelves can be installed or removed to customize the safe to fit your storage needs. The top shelf is positioned in the front of the unit, so long guns can be stored along the back wall. This Stack-On Gun Safe holds 18 firearms up to 54" tall or nine firearms with extra storage. The Stack-On Safe can also be used for storage only. Foam padding is included for all shelves and the bottom of the cabinet to protect your firearms from scratches.
Average Customer Rating:
4.048 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation89%74 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 55 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Item damaged

11/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The safe was as expected. Unfortunately the safe was a ship to store item that was still in the protective cardboard box when I picked it up at my local store. Once I got it home and moved down a set of stairs to it final location I un packaged it. I was disappointed to see that the top left corner of the safe was damaged. As this safe is a rather ackward and difficult item to move I elected not to return it to the store. The safe itself is what I expected and works well for my needs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Great value to keep the kids out

08/20/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stack-on must have improved the packaging, because there were no dents or damage despite the box being banged up. The corners are protected by foam and it is shipped in an oversized box. Fed Ex never contacted me to coordinate delivery, they just left it upside down next to my garage door. Luckily the box is very discrete, with only Stack-On and the model number appearing in smallish lettering, no pictures. The keys are loose in the box, but they were still present despite holes in the box. I put 1/4" plywood behind it instead of cutting out the baseboard and purchased 1/2" longer lag screws and added some slightly wider washers. I put the shelves in and installed by myself without any difficulty, I borrowed help to get it through the house because of its size. My only gripe is the key and locking mechanism seems to catch/stick sometimes, I haven't tried adding some lubricant to the mechanism and lock yet. It's still a superb deal when you factor in the free delivery to your driveway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Great value, expectations surpassed.

01/11/2013
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been shopping around for a gun cabinet (actual safes were out of my price range), and landed on this one. I wanted room to expand my gun collection, as well as plenty of space for ammo, holsters, range accessories, etc. I chose this cabinet, though a little bit bigger, for the extra storage. The special rests for scoped rifles work great. I've got 3 rifles on the back wall, 3 shotguns on the side wall, and 3 shelves up the other side. Stack On includes pre-cut foam padding for each shelf, as well as the bottom, which I really appreciated. The key and lock is a little heavier/more quality than I had expected out of a cheap cabinet. It took a little longer than expected to assemble all the shelves, but was not difficult. The gold etching on the outside was a nice touch. I was nervous that the steel would be banged up after reading reviews of other cabinets. I had mine shipped to a local store. It was ready for pick up in less than 24 hours, and it was in great condition. A couple hardly noticeable dings on an edge, but I'm pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Fantastic safety cabinet for the money

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for additional storage capacity for my rifles to the existing Stack-On cabinet that I purchased last year and noted this one on the Walmart site.
As others have pointed out, this is not a safe strictly speaking, and it should be clear that it only provides very basic protection against theft. My aim was simply to keep my equipment out of site and make it more difficult to access, a function that it perfectly fulfills.
For the price, you can't beat this product in my view, particularly when you calculate in free shipping. Despite the fact that the cabinet was very well packed, it arrived with a minor dent at the top end, but this is fortunately not visible, as it's situated on the back of the cabinet. Outside of that, the quality is very good and the nice finish means that it fits nicely in the corner of a room without creating an eyesore. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a basic solution for securing firearms.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Great cabonet but missing paint and barrel rests h

03/08/2013
By ,
Bay Area, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this gun cabinet as a medium security storage system for my guns and ammo. I found it in stock at my local walmart for $25 less than the internet price so I was delighted. I got it home and opened up the box and it was in wonderful condition with no dents or scratches. Looking inside the cabinet with a flashlight I found a few areas by the door which was unpainted and was starting to form surface rust. Aside from that I found the holes to screw in the plastic barrel rests positioned too high for my Ruger 10/22 (normal size) and 16" barreled AR-15. So I would suggest anyone who purchase this to pick up a can of rustoleum to paint the unpainted areas inside the cabinet and find a drill to drill some holes to position the barrel rest lower if you own anything smaller than a full sized hunting rifle or shotgun. There were four lag bolts supplied to secure the cabinet to the walls of my bedroom closet but I went to the hardware store and added a couple more for extra security. All in all this cabinet is more solid than I was expecting (definitely more secure than a high school locker as some have suggested) and is a great value. I plan on adding some battery powered LED lights and a dehumidifier inside the cabinet and I’m set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Good to keep kids away from guns, good deal.

11/15/2011
By ,
Cape Fear area NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was shopping for a carry case for my latest gun purchase when I saw this item in the store for ~$150, so rather than buy yet another case, I bought this to store most of my guns in. While not heavy duty enough to be considered a “safe” it is a fairly rugged locker. Enough shelving is included to provide many storage options. I opted to install the divider with the top full width shelf and two more shelves on one side. This allowed me to put eight long guns ( mostly pellet rifles and a couple .22’s) on one side with shelves on the other for ammo, part, and accessories. I also had room under the shelves to put some more guns with folding stocks, also in front of the shelves I manage to fit a few more pellet rifles. The paint finish seems good, with the lettering and pin striping being acceptable but I do not think I would put it out in my living room. The barrel rests seem a little shallow to hold some guns securely upright. The lock/latch mechanism works smoothly, and two keys were provided. Assembly was straight forward, just pay close attention to the shelf orientation and do not tighten the hardware beyond hand tight until you have everything in place. As far as security, I would say this would keep young kids safely from your guns (if you hide the keys well enough), but if someone was determined to steal them, they could break into this locker fairly quickly. Price: If you get it for $150.00 or less, I’d say it’s a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Santa Barbara, CA
Posted 08/14/2013
"$150 or less" for the "Sentinel" version (Walmart Item No. 550854890) of this Stack-On cabinet? Lotsa luck with that. At $179 (plus tax), Walmart's online price on this item is -- far and away -- the best I could find ANYwhere.
For example, Amazon is currently selling the CHEAPER, "Stack-On" version of this cabinet (Walmart Item No. 000947296, currently priced at $149 online, and ALWAYS out of stock for exactly that reason) for $200, and the "Sentinel" version for $250 ... not including added shipping, which runs about $50 to $100 for this item. With Walmart online, I got what is clearly an unbeatable price on the better, "Sentinel" version of this cabinet, with NO added shipping charges (by picking it up from one of their stores), and I would heartily recommend that anyone interested in this cabinet do the same ... and feel thrilled about the deal.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Great Product - Fair Service

05/31/2013
By ,
Glenwood, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is nice. Price point is excellent, $50 less than May-nards , $100 less than Ca-belsa, $140 less than Bass-Proo-shoppe. It won't stop an experienced thief but it will secure your firearms from curious fingers.
The shelving is straight forward and easy to assemble in many configurations. Some of the screws are difficult to reach for one person to do by himself.
Don't expect your unit to show up in store in pristine condition. It wont be. It WILL arrive with dents or scratches. You really wont be able to examine it until you get it home. Hopefully yours will be in usable condition. Mine had 3 dents in the right side which will not bother its function. This comes from rough handling and careless employees. If they treated it like a light refrigerator rather than a heavy box of stuffed toys it might be better. If your carton is unsealed or has puncture marks examine it carefully. You might save yourself a trip back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Total Disappointment

03/12/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ordering this item was a total waste of time and money. The packaging for this item is grossly inadequate and as a result the item came severely damaged. The top rear corner was smashed in and there was a pie plate sized dent on the opposite side. There were no keys with the cabinet. I did not weigh it, but the cabinet also felt much lighter than the advertised 87 lb. shipping weight. I bought this because it had good ratings. My guess is that the cabinets being shipped now are not the same as the ones that received the good ratings in the past. The packaging was so shredded that it is unusable, so now my only option is to lug it to a Walmart to return it. I wish Walmart allowed pictures to be attached to this review so they could see what was delivered in their name. This order was a total disappointment.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Good Basic Safe

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received the first one and it was dented, the second one was good. I am still waiting for them to pick up the dented one, it has been over a week and a half.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Lots of bang for the buck..

10/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OK its not a safe. Understand that. Its sort of a poor mans way to secure your firearms....I did a site to store order. It arrived 2 days before they said it would..Free shipping is a plus on this item. I picked it up at the local store in my town. A Walmart employee helped me load it into my vehicle. Customer service means a lot.
Now the cabinet: It came well packaged, foam on each corner, enclosed in a large plastic bag, and in a heavy duty cardboard box. I unpacked it, it was flawless. No scratches, dents, or dings.....Made in the USA is a big selling point to me....Workmanship seems to be top notch for the money. Painted black, with gold trim. It looks good.
It will hold 18 long guns, if you don't use some of the side shelves that are provided. Holds 9 if you use the shelves. There are all sorts of combinations explained in the directions. All hardware is provided. You will need to install the barrel rests, and shelves if you use them. All you need is a screw driver, and maybe another person to help....FYI: the keys are in a small bag. They are taped to the top of the large shipping bag the cabinet is enclosed
in. Be careful that you don't throw them away..I saw this on a Youtube review and thought I'd pass it on.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

A nice safe for the money...

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went with the ship to store option...box didn't look in that bad of shape, so I loaded it up and went home. Safe was packed with corner protectors and wrapped in plastic...keys were taped to the top of the safe in a small zip lock bag.
No scratches on finish...which is hi gloss black...looked very nice...located 1 dent in the lower corner...popped out with a little coaxing...hardly noticeable when done...
Shelving packed in a secure cardboard sleeve...4 different options to set up your interior any way you like..
Overall I am very happy with this safe for the money...although not a super tough, fire resistant safe, it will keep your valuables from prying eyes and wondering visitors around your home..
Would buy another if they weren't sold out already...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

18 Gun Stack-On Gun storage cabinet

02/21/2013
By ,
WA, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent value for your dollar. Very popular item, out of stock most of the time. Found a couple holes that were drilled really sloppy from the factory at the back of the cabinet. They had missing/scratched paint around them, like the drill got away from the assembler. Otherwise, no shipping damage at all and well packaged. If you have 6-8 guns you can install shelves for your supplies in the other half of the locker. Good for ammo and gun cleaning supplies to keep them out of the kids little paws too. Looks great and has decent keyed locking mechanism.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Great for gun sotrage

09/28/2014
By ,
Southern NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived earlier than stated, great condition, easy to assemble. Exactly what I was looking for. With shelves have plenty of room for rifles, handguns and ammo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Great for first safe

09/28/2014
By ,
indianapolis,in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it quicker than I though. Will serve to keep whatever I put in it safe from kids.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Cost Effective Gun Storage

02/21/2013
By ,
Northern NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this cabinet because my small gun collection was beginning to include rifles that would not fit in the smaller cabinet I had purchased for handguns. I really (really!) liked the idea that you can set up this cabinet with shelves on one side for handguns and ammo while still storing rifles on the other side. That was a major selling feature for me. The foam padding for the bottom and shelves is also a nice feature. Saves you the time of getting and cutting your own.
As others have commented, the cabinet arrived with minor cosmetic shipping damage. Noticeable, but not bad enough to detract from the product rating. Packing wasn't bad, but FEDEX can break anything. I did Site to Store shipping to save the shipping costs. This worked very well. Local WM wheeled it out to my truck and helped me load. I unpacked the cabinet in the garage and then carried it into the house. In the packaging it was just too bulky for me to carry it. Unpacking first also let me remove the inner package that had the shelves and mounting HW. Made it about 10 pounds lighter when I carried it up to the 2nd floor closet where it now lives.
Assembly instructions are not great, but this cabinet is not that complicated, so just pay attention to the diagrams.
The 18 gun advertised capacity is probably a bit optimistic, especially if you don't want your guns banging each other when you put them in or take them out. I'd say 6 or 7 on each side is more realistic.
A number of other online sellers offer this cabinet. Most price it $100-$150 more than Walmart, even when they say "it's on sale"!
Overall I am very satisfied with this cabinet, except for the extra space which I now need to fill up with a pair of Ruger SP101s (22 & 357)!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Perfect for Apartment

03/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I were looking for a way for us to lock up firearms and important documents without having to buy one of the heavy duty safes while we were in an apartment (we didn't want to have to move one of the super heavy and big ones when we got into a house of our own). This was definitely perfect for what we needed it for and the value was great. The only thing I would recommend is that it ships put together (apart from the shelving), so unless you have a truck to pick it up in, I would order it site to home.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Nice security cabinet

08/24/2014
By ,
Chattanooga , TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I consider it a very good value for the price. Great for storing long guns, handguns and ammo. It had a small dent on one side. Mine came with no keys included, but I called Stack-On and the friendly service person got them put in the mail to me that same day. Overall, the cabinet meets my expecations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Good value

10/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got lucky as the gun cabinet arrived without dings, dent or scratches. The keys were at the bottom of the box-I was lucky they didn't fall out the bottom. There is a small plastic bag taped to the large bag around the cabinet that the keys started out in. They need to tape the keys to the side of the cabinet. I built a simple shelf system inside. The security cabinet will keep out your kids but probably not a thief with a crowbar and some time. Good cheap storage overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Best deal going on a simple security cabinet

01/12/2013
By ,
Homosassa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my son in law to keep his long guns safe from my grandson. It is very versatile in the way you can put the shelves in(or not.) Adequate for everything but determined thieves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Nice cabinet for lght to medium duty storage needs

10/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice cabinet for keeping firearms and ammo out of the sight and reach of curious children and such. Definitely not a safe in the classic sense of the word, but it meets my needs very well. The three point locking mechanism is secure enough for my application but it can certainly be compromised by a determined intruder with a couple of pry bars.
Again, my purpose for the cabinet is to keep my toys out of the sight and reach of curious little hands and it definitely meets my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next