Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Stack-On Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Stack-On Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

The Stack-On Gun Storage Safe features a black epoxy paint finish, chrome accents and a silk screen on the door. This cabinet also features a three-point locking system that provides greater security than other safes. It is fully convertible and has adjustable shelves that can be placed on the right or left side of the cabinet. The steel center partition and shelves can be installed or removed to customize the safe to fit your storage needs. The top shelf is positioned in the front of the unit, so long guns can be stored along the back wall. This Stack-On Gun Safe holds 18 firearms up to 54" tall or nine firearms with extra storage. The Stack-On Safe can also be used for storage only. Foam padding is included for all shelves and the bottom of the cabinet to protect your firearms from scratches.
Average Customer Rating:
4.018 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation85%46 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Fantastic safety cabinet for the money

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for additional storage capacity for my rifles to the existing Stack-On cabinet that I purchased last year and noted this one on the Walmart site.
As others have pointed out, this is not a safe strictly speaking, and it should be clear that it only provides very basic protection against theft. My aim was simply to keep my equipment out of site and make it more difficult to access, a function that it perfectly fulfills.
For the price, you can't beat this product in my view, particularly when you calculate in free shipping. Despite the fact that the cabinet was very well packed, it arrived with a minor dent at the top end, but this is fortunately not visible, as it's situated on the back of the cabinet. Outside of that, the quality is very good and the nice finish means that it fits nicely in the corner of a room without creating an eyesore. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a basic solution for securing firearms.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Great value to keep the kids out

08/20/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stack-on must have improved the packaging, because there were no dents or damage despite the box being banged up. The corners are protected by foam and it is shipped in an oversized box. Fed Ex never contacted me to coordinate delivery, they just left it upside down next to my garage door. Luckily the box is very discrete, with only Stack-On and the model number appearing in smallish lettering, no pictures. The keys are loose in the box, but they were still present despite holes in the box. I put 1/4" plywood behind it instead of cutting out the baseboard and purchased 1/2" longer lag screws and added some slightly wider washers. I put the shelves in and installed by myself without any difficulty, I borrowed help to get it through the house because of its size. My only gripe is the key and locking mechanism seems to catch/stick sometimes, I haven't tried adding some lubricant to the mechanism and lock yet. It's still a superb deal when you factor in the free delivery to your driveway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Great value, expectations surpassed.

01/11/2013
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been shopping around for a gun cabinet (actual safes were out of my price range), and landed on this one. I wanted room to expand my gun collection, as well as plenty of space for ammo, holsters, range accessories, etc. I chose this cabinet, though a little bit bigger, for the extra storage. The special rests for scoped rifles work great. I've got 3 rifles on the back wall, 3 shotguns on the side wall, and 3 shelves up the other side. Stack On includes pre-cut foam padding for each shelf, as well as the bottom, which I really appreciated. The key and lock is a little heavier/more quality than I had expected out of a cheap cabinet. It took a little longer than expected to assemble all the shelves, but was not difficult. The gold etching on the outside was a nice touch. I was nervous that the steel would be banged up after reading reviews of other cabinets. I had mine shipped to a local store. It was ready for pick up in less than 24 hours, and it was in great condition. A couple hardly noticeable dings on an edge, but I'm pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

damaged upon receipt, buying another

08/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased the 18 gun cabinet online for shipping to my store. My expectations were for a way to secure valuables in an upstairs room. Based primarily on weight and need to move the cabinet, as well as price, this cabinet fits the bill.
When opening the box at the store prior to pick up and accepting the item, we noticed several dents. None of which would most likely have impacted the function of the cabinet, but ... come on... for a brand new item to have multiple dings, dents, and scratches??
Anyway..... while looking at the cabinet at the store, and feeling its weight, I believe this will be exactly what we need.
So.... spoke with the customer service rep at the pick-up counter, returned that item, and going online to purchase another before the price changes. For the "bang-for-the-buck" and an additional layer of protection for valuables..... this should do the job. You would think that the mfg. would figure out how to ship these things with no damage.
Will it prevent a determined thief from getting what is inside? Nope, not at all likely. However, in combination with other security around the house, this will prevent a common "smash & grab" from getting access to what is inside. Will also keep children from getting into stuff they are not supposed to get their hands on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Nice security cabinet

08/24/2014
By ,
Chattanooga , TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I consider it a very good value for the price. Great for storing long guns, handguns and ammo. It had a small dent on one side. Mine came with no keys included, but I called Stack-On and the friendly service person got them put in the mail to me that same day. Overall, the cabinet meets my expecations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Good Basic Safe

08/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Received the first one and it was dented, the second one was good. I am still waiting for them to pick up the dented one, it has been over a week and a half.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

great for the price

08/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Falls way short

08/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item is flimsy at best. Not even sure if it could keep my children from my firearms. Look for something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Good Design - Big Ding on the side

08/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I like the unit, it is exactly what it is supposed to be.
I was pretty sad when I found a big Ding on the right side after I had already put it all together. Looks like Walmart did not treat this one too well. I did not see it until I had it all together, at that point it was too much of a pain in the rear to box it back up and take it back to Walmart, so I will just deal with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

meets and exceeds ALL advertised features

08/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
came as expected - easy to assemble - performs at or above advertised specs - LOVE IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

stack on cabinet

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall it's a great steel cabinet came dent free but I will say this the box was pretty beat up I was kind of scared to open it but when I did it was spotless stack on needs to do a better job with packaging.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Great cabonet but missing paint and barrel rests h

03/08/2013
By ,
Bay Area, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I brought this gun cabinet as a medium security storage system for my guns and ammo. I found it in stock at my local walmart for $25 less than the internet price so I was delighted. I got it home and opened up the box and it was in wonderful condition with no dents or scratches. Looking inside the cabinet with a flashlight I found a few areas by the door which was unpainted and was starting to form surface rust. Aside from that I found the holes to screw in the plastic barrel rests positioned too high for my Ruger 10/22 (normal size) and 16" barreled AR-15. So I would suggest anyone who purchase this to pick up a can of rustoleum to paint the unpainted areas inside the cabinet and find a drill to drill some holes to position the barrel rest lower if you own anything smaller than a full sized hunting rifle or shotgun. There were four lag bolts supplied to secure the cabinet to the walls of my bedroom closet but I went to the hardware store and added a couple more for extra security. All in all this cabinet is more solid than I was expecting (definitely more secure than a high school locker as some have suggested) and is a great value. I plan on adding some battery powered LED lights and a dehumidifier inside the cabinet and I’m set.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Good to keep kids away from guns, good deal.

11/15/2011
By ,
Cape Fear area NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was shopping for a carry case for my latest gun purchase when I saw this item in the store for ~$150, so rather than buy yet another case, I bought this to store most of my guns in. While not heavy duty enough to be considered a “safe” it is a fairly rugged locker. Enough shelving is included to provide many storage options. I opted to install the divider with the top full width shelf and two more shelves on one side. This allowed me to put eight long guns ( mostly pellet rifles and a couple .22’s) on one side with shelves on the other for ammo, part, and accessories. I also had room under the shelves to put some more guns with folding stocks, also in front of the shelves I manage to fit a few more pellet rifles. The paint finish seems good, with the lettering and pin striping being acceptable but I do not think I would put it out in my living room. The barrel rests seem a little shallow to hold some guns securely upright. The lock/latch mechanism works smoothly, and two keys were provided. Assembly was straight forward, just pay close attention to the shelf orientation and do not tighten the hardware beyond hand tight until you have everything in place. As far as security, I would say this would keep young kids safely from your guns (if you hide the keys well enough), but if someone was determined to steal them, they could break into this locker fairly quickly. Price: If you get it for $150.00 or less, I’d say it’s a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Santa Barbara, CA
Posted 08/14/2013
"$150 or less" for the "Sentinel" version (Walmart Item No. 550854890) of this Stack-On cabinet? Lotsa luck with that. At $179 (plus tax), Walmart's online price on this item is -- far and away -- the best I could find ANYwhere.
For example, Amazon is currently selling the CHEAPER, "Stack-On" version of this cabinet (Walmart Item No. 000947296, currently priced at $149 online, and ALWAYS out of stock for exactly that reason) for $200, and the "Sentinel" version for $250 ... not including added shipping, which runs about $50 to $100 for this item. With Walmart online, I got what is clearly an unbeatable price on the better, "Sentinel" version of this cabinet, with NO added shipping charges (by picking it up from one of their stores), and I would heartily recommend that anyone interested in this cabinet do the same ... and feel thrilled about the deal.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Great Product - Fair Service

05/31/2013
By ,
Glenwood, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product is nice. Price point is excellent, $50 less than May-nards , $100 less than Ca-belsa, $140 less than Bass-Proo-shoppe. It won't stop an experienced thief but it will secure your firearms from curious fingers.
The shelving is straight forward and easy to assemble in many configurations. Some of the screws are difficult to reach for one person to do by himself.
Don't expect your unit to show up in store in pristine condition. It wont be. It WILL arrive with dents or scratches. You really wont be able to examine it until you get it home. Hopefully yours will be in usable condition. Mine had 3 dents in the right side which will not bother its function. This comes from rough handling and careless employees. If they treated it like a light refrigerator rather than a heavy box of stuffed toys it might be better. If your carton is unsealed or has puncture marks examine it carefully. You might save yourself a trip back to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Perfect for Apartment

03/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband and I were looking for a way for us to lock up firearms and important documents without having to buy one of the heavy duty safes while we were in an apartment (we didn't want to have to move one of the super heavy and big ones when we got into a house of our own). This was definitely perfect for what we needed it for and the value was great. The only thing I would recommend is that it ships put together (apart from the shelving), so unless you have a truck to pick it up in, I would order it site to home.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

18 Gun Stack-On Gun storage cabinet

02/21/2013
By ,
WA, State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent value for your dollar. Very popular item, out of stock most of the time. Found a couple holes that were drilled really sloppy from the factory at the back of the cabinet. They had missing/scratched paint around them, like the drill got away from the assembler. Otherwise, no shipping damage at all and well packaged. If you have 6-8 guns you can install shelves for your supplies in the other half of the locker. Good for ammo and gun cleaning supplies to keep them out of the kids little paws too. Looks great and has decent keyed locking mechanism.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Nice security cabinet with good options.

08/13/2013
By ,
Santa Barbara, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Walmart makes this a tough value to beat. I've seen cabinets like this on other sites at $100 more, which probably explains why the item is often out of stock. Once I picked out what I wanted, and saw it on Walmart's website, I continued checking every few days until it came back into stock, and then ordered it, "site to store," right away. It was delivered to my local store within about a week, and here's what I got.
This is Stack-On's Model No. GCWB-18S ... the "S" is for "Sentinel" ... apparently a trade name used by Stack-On for this model ... just a little nicer than the lower cost GCWB-18 (also sold by Walmart, for about $30 less). The dimensions and function of the two cabinets are identical. The cabinet comes in a big cardboard box, with the cabinet, two keys, an instruction pamphlet, one top shelf, one center divider, four half-shelves and all the hardware you need to put it together and do a basic anchor to your floor and wall.
The cabinet is held in place inside the box by four of those expanding pads ... one at each corner. The pads do a pretty good job of protecting the corners of the cabinet, but not the sides between the pads. So, if the people moving the carton puncture the side, or drop the container so that it hits a hard edge somewhere in the middle of the box, the cabinet WILL get dented. That is -- flat out -- just a packaging error on the part of Stack-On ... something they really need to remedy. Mine had a pretty big dent on one of the rear edges ... certainly not something you should see on a brand new item (and the reason I took one star off in this review), but for me, not a big enough deal to haul the cabinet back to the store and request a replacement. Stack-On could completely eliminate this common problem by improving their packaging, at a minor increase in cost. Stack-On ... are you listening?
I specifically bought this cabinet because I currently have no rifles, and wanted a cabinet with maximum shelving options, for storage of pistols, ammo, reloading supplies, and the like. This cabinet comes with sufficient shelving to make the whole thing into shelving storage (a top shelf, center divider and two lower shelves, separated by the divider. Even with all the shelving installed, it still has enough room for a rifle or two in front of the shelves. The laquer finish is very glossy, and the pin-striping and "Sentinel" logo are a nice touch ... they make it look like a safe.
I was able to do the assembly by myself in an hour or two, but I really took my time, because I wanted to make sure everything was tight. The instructions were adequate, and I found that all the shelves and hardware fit together nicely. The three-point locking mechanism is solid, and is operated by a beefy key with a polymer grip.
If you properly anchor this cabinet to your floor and wall, you will have a very secure cabinet, but NOT a safe. A motivated thief with the right tools and adequate time WILL be able get into this thing. However, this cabinet will repel ALL smash & grab thieves, kids and nosy guests. At Walmart's price, it's an excellent value in low-to-medium level security for your firearms and related supplies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Best deal going on a simple security cabinet

01/12/2013
By ,
Homosassa, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for my son in law to keep his long guns safe from my grandson. It is very versatile in the way you can put the shelves in(or not.) Adequate for everything but determined thieves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Waste of money!

01/26/2014
By ,
Mississippi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I don't know what gun cabinet people here are giving 5 stars, I must have gotten a different one.
I wasted several hours assembling this junk. I would return it but I moved it upstairs before putting it together and it just doesn't seem worth it to drag it back down and to the store.
Less than half the predrilled holes lined up making all the shelves crooked. This was made worse because when you try to force the thin shelves to line up with the holes they bend. The holes in the back to secure to the wall were not 16 inches apart requiring molly bolts. Fully a third of the included bolts would not screw into the nuts, and when you try to force them with a power tool half of them strip out. The barrel rests are only able to be mounted at one height which is too high for my AR-15's. It looks like it will end up being a rather expensive ammo storage locker.
If you ignore this warning and buy this junk anyway one piece of advice. It claims to be configurable anyway you want, but take it from me DO NOT put the shelves on the left. You have to reach over the door to screw the barrel rests in from the back and it's very hard to do even with someone helping.
I wish I had saved my money to buy a more expensive quality product.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Stack-On Products Sentinel 18-Gun Fully Convertible Steel Security Cabinet

Cost Effective Gun Storage

02/21/2013
By ,
Northern NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this cabinet because my small gun collection was beginning to include rifles that would not fit in the smaller cabinet I had purchased for handguns. I really (really!) liked the idea that you can set up this cabinet with shelves on one side for handguns and ammo while still storing rifles on the other side. That was a major selling feature for me. The foam padding for the bottom and shelves is also a nice feature. Saves you the time of getting and cutting your own.
As others have commented, the cabinet arrived with minor cosmetic shipping damage. Noticeable, but not bad enough to detract from the product rating. Packing wasn't bad, but FEDEX can break anything. I did Site to Store shipping to save the shipping costs. This worked very well. Local WM wheeled it out to my truck and helped me load. I unpacked the cabinet in the garage and then carried it into the house. In the packaging it was just too bulky for me to carry it. Unpacking first also let me remove the inner package that had the shelves and mounting HW. Made it about 10 pounds lighter when I carried it up to the 2nd floor closet where it now lives.
Assembly instructions are not great, but this cabinet is not that complicated, so just pay attention to the diagrams.
The 18 gun advertised capacity is probably a bit optimistic, especially if you don't want your guns banging each other when you put them in or take them out. I'd say 6 or 7 on each side is more realistic.
A number of other online sellers offer this cabinet. Most price it $100-$150 more than Walmart, even when they say "it's on sale"!
Overall I am very satisfied with this cabinet, except for the extra space which I now need to fill up with a pair of Ruger SP101s (22 & 357)!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 48 total reviews
1 2 3 Next