Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NETGEAR NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

NETGEAR NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Watch thousands of movies and TV in HD instantly with the NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player. With the 1080P HD video player, you can stream movies and TV shows from Netflix, Hulu, VUDU, and many more on your television set. You are also given the choice to access the best entertainment channels, hottest games, music selections, and much more. The wireless video player offers remote control application for smartphones that helps you in easily searching and playing your favorite entertainment option. It also helps you in connecting to the internet with the built-in, high-speed 300 Mbps Wi-Fi.
Average Customer Rating:
4.024 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation80%63 out of 79reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
20
3 stars
5
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Great online player

11/09/2011
By ,
Fort Smith, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NETGEAR NTV Streaming Player (NTV200)
When you first look at the device, you will notice how small it is, making this device able to be placed just about anywhere. Installation is very simple just plug in the power adapter, the HDMI cable between the device and TV, and decide if you want it connected to the internet, wired or wireless. Easy on-screen prompts guide you effortlessly through the installation. Once installed, you will find many applications to chose from. For instance Netflix, which I found enjoyable being able to full access without having to place anything in my Queue. VUDU with very affordable HD rentals, which the device automatically adjusts the quality to your service provider. This device allows access to many other applications as YouTube, Facebook and so many others, that would be impossible to list every one. The small, slim remote already comes loaded with batteries. Updates when needed, display on the screen, and are a simple two button operation.
For the price you can't go wrong with this attractive device, made by NETGEAR, who has manufactured high quality products for years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+238points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
ROY UTAH
netgear neo tv streamer
Posted 01/26/2012
EASY SET UP,DOES GOOD JOB WITH NET FLIX, ONLY PROBLEM IS WEAK AND QUIRKY REMOTE CONTROL.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Texas
Any free channels
Posted 12/30/2011
Please are you able to watch some free channels/programs like the Roku or you will have to pay for everything, and if what are some of the interesting and free program/channels that you watch.
I have ordered one but am in Afghanistan and will be home in a week but I wanted to get the roku but when I say your comment I went for the NTV200, hope the kids can get some good educative channels/programs, News and sports.
Respectfully
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

great product

02/16/2012
By ,
woodstock
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this box about two weeks ago and I love it. It works great has Hulu Plus the main reason i got it and the Netflix is just like my Vizio Blu-Ray Player almost as easy as it is on computer. It took about 10min. to set up but so far the only things i have set up is Netflix, and Hulu Plus oh and the wi-fi. I will say most of the apps. are worthless if you ask me there are a few good ones and it would be nice if the box had RCA hook ups for older Tv's. I would buy another for my kids room but only has HDMI and I am not gonna buy a new Tv for a bedroom until hers goes bad but Roku has a LT box thats the same price as this that will hook up to all Tv's so I'll give it a try as well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 3 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Amazing streaming player for an excellent price!!

09/29/2012
By ,
W.V.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking into a smart TV for a while but they are way too pricy for me. So I decided to go with an updated and reasonably priced TV and a streaming media player. I came across this little gem & I'm so glad I did. I had it hooked up, set up and browsing my Nexflix account in about 10 minutes. Getting Netflix set up was a breeze! Activating Vudu was a snap! There are so many channels and apps I haven't got the chance to check them all out yet. Keep in mind you must have a HDMI port on your TV. I have an LG 27 inch 720p and the picture quality with NeoTV is excelent. Using the device is very easy and user friendly. My main purpose for purchasing was Netflix. It is very simple to browse movies. All in all, I love this device. I highly recomend this for anyone looking for a great streaming player for a reasonable price. Also, I suggest a Link Depot gold plated HDMI cable (sold at walmart.com online only) if you need an inexpensive and good cable to go along with your device(s).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

You can't go wrong at this price

04/07/2012
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I rarely write reviews, but in this case I want to share my experience with this wonderful product. I am a certified computer technician and love gadgets, and this NETGEAR streaming player is worth 3 times what I paid for it. After seeing what this device could do I dropped cable tv and bumped my internet service up to 15Mb. This will work with internet speeds as low as 2Mb but will work better with 6+ Mbs. I am a tv junkie but with this box I can watch endless movies and documentaries. I bought an antenna for my tv and get all the local digital channels free. I am saving over $70 a month by dropping cable. Now for the Box. First off it is very small. 4 inches X 4 inches and 1 inch tall. It was very easy to set up. It has an HDMI output, an ethernet port and digital audio out. The only drawback is that it doesn't have RCA ( composite ) outs, so it will not work on older televisions that do not have an HDMI input. I have it wired direct to my router via the ethernet port. I haven't tried the wireless feature. I use WPA2 security on my router with a 63 character password and wasn't keen on trying to enter the password into the box. But other reviewers have stated that the wireless works fine. Once setup you will be amazed at the amount of applications this has. I subscribe to netflix and huluplus. and the set up with each was easy. It also has vudu apps which adds many more applications to what the box already has. The remote works well and has just the right amount of buttons to easily control/navigate the box. Everything loads fast and I have not experienced any lag or slow downs while streaming. There are many free apps available, but there are also many that require either monthly fees or one time rental fees. The only ones I pay for are netflix and huluplus which are $7.99 each per month, but for what you get the price is well worth it. The video and audio are excellent. Better than what I got through the cable company. The user interface is straight forward and easy to navigate. I've had the box for a month now and have barely scratched the surface on what it can do. I wanted to put one in my bedroom, but I have an older tv there that doesn't have HDMI, so I bought the Magnavox ( same price ) streaming box which does have the RCA ( composite ) outs but it doesn't even remotely compare to the Netgear box. The Magnavox only has a total of 9 applications, but does include neflix and huluplus if you let it update. It is much slower and the video and audio isn't as good as the Netgear, but that could be the difference between the HDMI and composite hook ups. To sum it up, I would not hesitate to buy the Netgear streaming player again. For the money you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Arlington Hts., Illinois
Basic TV Channels
Posted 05/10/2012
How do you get the basic TV channels
0points
Customer Avatar
DE
hdmi to composite cable
Posted 05/07/2012
Why didn't you just buy hdmi to composite or component cable for your older TV and the problem is solved?
0points
Customer Avatar
Arlington Hts., Illinois
Local Digital channels
Posted 04/22/2012
How did you get all the local digital channels? Are you talking about 2,5,7,9, 11,20,26, 38 or 18?
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Works only on tv's that have HDMI not for older TV

02/20/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was told this would connect to older tv, does NOT took back and bought Roku 2 like it real well.
Netgear Neo would be good if you have a newer tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+70points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
You still can
Posted 07/14/2012
Just buy one of these
http://eforcity.store.buy.com/p/hdmi-to-3-rca-male-audio-video-component-cable-for-hdtv/225033516.html
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Good deal for the price!

03/12/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to hook up, and if you have a Wifi TV it's even easier. All I did was purchase the HDMI cable with the Netgear media player hooked into one of the HDMI ports, and 5 min. later I was watching Netflix (first month free). I did run into one problem about two weeks after purchase, called the 24 hour Netgear support line and they (in broken English) told me to press the reset button for 30 seconds and I was back in business so all in all not bad. Netflix is OK, but you do have to go through a lot of movies to find the one you want, unless you use the search feature where you spell out the movie, it does take a little time, after all you don't have a keyboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+7points
Review 7 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player
02/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little box is amazing! I bought a different brand 1 month ago. And it failed 3 days after I got it. It advertised you could receive all these channels but that was not true. Well I am here to tell you with Netgear they Deliver! And for the price you can't beat it from Walmart. Down side it takes a long time to get this unit....almost two weeks. So if you can be patient you won't be disappointed! Note:With certain apps it takes longer to Download
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 8 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Very user friendly.

03/16/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product for streaming Netflix. With wifi, it's basically a plug and play product. Just register product with Netflix thru a computer and your set to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 9 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player
03/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Like other Reviews before me. Great product because of size, setup, amazing picture, easy remote. Only aggravation was---DOES NOT come with hdmi cord. Write-up or other reviews didn't say that. So order cord from walmart at the same time. The cheap one for $4.39, 1080 resolution worked fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CT
UPDATE ON PRODUCT
Posted 03/26/2012
I WAS VERY HAPPY W/ UNIT, BUT AFTER OWNING IT 3 WEEKS THE SCREEN ON TV WAS BLACK AFTER UNIT WAS TURNED ON. SOME DUDE STATED SAME THING HAPPEN TO HIM, PRESS THE RESENT BUTTON ON THE BOTTOM OF UNIT FOR 30 SEC. AND WILL FIX THE PROBLEM. THANKS, OTHERS MAY NEED THIS SOLUTION
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Great product

03/23/2012
By ,
San Antonio, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a bluray player that also has streaming video. This unit would not stream video in my bedroom, the farthest location from my wireless router. The netgear geo streaming video unit works quite well in the bedroom and has many more options then the bluray player with streaming. The unit was easy to install. You need a hdmi cable that does not come with the unit, but you can order 1 when you order the netgeo or purchase 1 at the same time. Well worth the extra few dollars!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player
02/28/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one each room of the house. It has turned all of my TV's into smart TV's. I have also given a few to friends as gifts. The unit streams all of my VUDU, HULU and netfix videos. At the price it is a steal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 12 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Nice

03/24/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lots of options easy to use and install/setup. Very happy with the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Invested $49 and now saving $100.00 monthly

10/11/2012
By ,
Chicago IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted to try out a video streamer before I made the leap of cutting off my cable and I am so glad I did! This baby is saving me $100.00 + a month from my cable bill.
With this box you can stream Hulu , Netflix, You Tube and a ton of other net tv, music and game streaming services. I had this now for a year and I havent missed cable tv or the BIG bill. I have the luxury to see a movie when I want to and not try to catch it when its playing or hope its on Demand ..
This Neo box on my bedroom tv and I have a Roku in my living room, so I can truly compare the two products. Both do the same thing, but I have to say, the ROKU (I paid $90 ) you do get more channels and a better remote again its was $ 50 more however you can find them at $60 .
Overrall, they are about neck and neck with picture quality and sound, they both work on my economy internet service with an occasional buffering due to my low speed and they save me money.....
My goal was to stream Netflix and Hulu wirelessly without paying over a $100 bucks for internet connectable blu ray player or upgrade to a fancy internet ready tv and my goal was accomplished!
I would say anyone who realizes they are not home enough to justify a cable bill and just want to see movies when they get home , this is the way to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Would not connect to wireless network

04/28/2012
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a network engineer, and set up, troubleshoot and maintain multi-thousand dollar routers and other networking gear for companies for a living- all of which are much more complicated than this device.
This thing is really a piece. It will not connect to my home wireless network, and for absolutely no reason. Everything else will connect with it and the signal where the d-link is located is good. It will find my network and then ask for the password but then it never contacts my router again per the logs. Why? This makes no sense. I tried a manual setup by hitting the WPS button on the router and also disabling the security on my router, but it made no difference.
I'll be taking this back and getting a Roku or running an CAT-V cable in my house...not sure which yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Great streaming video

05/01/2012
By ,
tobyhanna, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this item because i bought a 32" led tv and to save a little on the tv i did not get the internet ready. this is exactly what i needed to watch netflix and hulu. was easy to set up took just five minutes with the on screen instructions. very small unit so you can put it just about anywhere. the one thing you will need is a HDMI cable since you can not use A/V cables to hook it up. Save your self some money and get this over the roku....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 16 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Awful!!!

09/08/2012
By ,
Upper Marlboro, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am truly disappointed in this product! I bought this item to stream Netflix, hulu, etc. and the unit would always run hot, the remote was impossible to use, due to the fact that every time you attempt to press the buttons-even while pointing directly at the unit, the unit would either not respond, or it would take repeated attempts at pushing the buttons for the unit to work! This happened so often that every time I used the unit to stream/watch a show/movie, my fingers would actually be sore from repeatedly pressing the buttons, to no avail. I returned this awful unit and bought the Magnavox streamer instead. It seems to work well so far...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

Great product

04/23/2012
By ,
Moose Lake, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, other than the Wii gaming system, I have nothing to compare this product to. I know that there are many products that are similar to this one out there. That being said, we are very pleased with this product. It is quite small, and the remote is fairly user friendly. We loved the quality of the screen resolution (1080 vs our Wii that is like 480), and the many menu options. It is even preloaded with a few games like Black Jack, Bubble Blaster and card Matching (plus about 5 more). I would definately recommend this product to anyone. The price is efficient (like $50) and it has alot to offer for a little box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player
04/13/2012
By ,
Sylacauga, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far we only use this device for streaming Netflix. Total time for setup from beginning to completion was under 5 minutes. The neotv immediately found my wireless router and connected with the internet as soon as I entered the password. I did have to phone Netflix as their website would not accept the authorization code. A representative answered almost immediately and in less than a minute the device was accepted. We've been using this device daily for about a month. Twice there has been a short pause for buffering but I attribute this to Netflix or Charter servers. I chose this device rather than the Roku because it is not necessary to register a credit card and the higher resolution available. We are completely satisfied with our neotv player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sylacauga, Al
Forgot to mention
Posted 04/21/2012
The "OK" button makes a much better "play/pause" button than the one designated for this purpose. If the designated play/pause button is used, the stream re-buffers. If the "OK" button is used, the stream stops instantly and will begin replay without re-buffering. I still love this little box. Any glitches, such as a wait for movie icons in the library to load, I attribute to Netflix. This is a great device.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

didn't work

06/07/2012
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have the Netgear router and wireless. No problems with setup or service. Thought the Netgear streamer would be the same but it wasn't. Setup started ok but then kept coming up with message of 'connection time out'. Tried on line support but the only site that kept coming up with one that I had to pay $24+ for advice on how to get past this message. Finally gave up, returned and purchased a Roku.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 20 for NETGEAR NeoTV Streaming Video Player

don't forget the HDMI cord

02/26/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I had this item shipped site to store and it arrived sooner than expected, which is always nice. I live about 25 miles from the store, so when I got home and found there was no way to connect it to the tv I was a little mad. I had to go to my small town Radio Shack and pay over twenty dollars for a cord. No big deal. I got the cord, hooked it up, and everything worked great. We watched something on netflix that night, perfect. The next morning went to turn it on with remote(the only way)and nothing happened. I had to unplug it and plug it in so it would come on by itself. Once on the remote worked fine. I could even turn it on and off with the remote. After having it off again for a couple of hours the same thing happened a gain. It could just be the one I got but I'm taking it back and getting the new roku.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next