Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

The Toshiba 65" LCD TV looks terrific in any living room, family room or home theater. Watch your favorite movies and programming in full-HD resolution. Savor fast-action sports or edge-of-your-seat gaming clearly thanks to exclusive CineSpeed Panel and ClearFrame 120Hz technology. Show your latest vacation videos and pictures on this Toshiba 65" television by using a high-resolution PC connection. And do it all with the assurance of famous Toshiba quality and reliability. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Toshiba 65" LCD TV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.78 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation73%30 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U
08/24/2012
By ,
Danville, ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Here goes. I bought a Toshiba 65" high def tv from Circuit City in 2007. Paid $1900.00 for it. Here it is 5 years later and am having white spots show up on this tv. I have contacted Toshiba and they will not do anything to help the customer. The same thing was happening to samsung, and Mitsubuishi and they were taking care of their customers. I will never, ever buy anything with A TOSHIBA name on it, and i would highly recommend you don't either unless you want to buy from a company that won't back their products. Just wish Toshiba would pay to have my tv fixed. If you spend this much for a tv it should last longer than 5 years
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-7points
Review 2 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

ATTENTION GAMERS, DO NOT BUY THIS TV!

09/30/2012
By ,
Charleston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv with high hopes of enjoying many football games, playing games, and watching movies. I had begged my wife for months, until she finally said I could get it. I checked tons of stores, and this tv was the cheapest for this size. I went to the store and bought this tv, came home and put it together and set it up. The first thing I did was tune into a football game (hd, of course), just to have my hopes crushed when I saw how the picture lagged. Then, my son quickly cut his wii on in hopes to play mario on a big screen, and the game lagged so badly, he could not even play. I can not blame the lagging on the size of the tv, since there are many large big screens that work perfectly with games. I am returning this tv, and I have decided to pay more money for samsung, since I own a 51" samsung and that has the best picture quality in my opinion. So if you are planning on shelling out about $1200 dollars on a tv, just spend a couple extra hundred and buy a different one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 3 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Don't Buy This TV!!!

11/11/2012
By ,
ARKANSAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this TV in November 2011. It lasted about 10 months before two green lines started appearing down the right side (as your facing the TV). Low Quality and Craftmanship! For the price they want for this TV, it should last a lot longer before things start going wrong. In addition, a 65 inch is a pain to have to transport to get fixed. Save yourself the trouble and buy something better.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 4 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

quality trade off is not worth the size gain

11/22/2011
By ,
newark, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got it to enhance my theater experiance and had to return it do to inferior sub par fliker problems consistant on all inputs. tested the store sample in case the return model was a fluke and discovered this was a comenality on this toshiba 65" model 65HT2U. Price was good at $1399 but we were much happier with a much better 60" for the same price or less
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ocoee, Fl
BAD PRODUCT Stay away from TOSHIBA
Posted 09/30/2013
Looks great but will not last you more than a year and will cost you more than $500 every three months to fix. Stay away from TOSHIBA.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Horrible for games, big gray blob

11/03/2012
By ,
maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this tv tinking of watching football. The night we bought it we set it up and as soon as we plugged it in noticed it has a giant gray blob over 3/4 of the screen! Thought maybe it just needed to warm up, we have given it a week and it is still there. It makes the colors look really dull, noticable difference! And on the darker images you can see it very clearly! Then When we watched the football game, the picture was so horrible!! Very pixally!! Couldnt even make out the faces at some points, couldnt enjoy the game at all!!! This tv is just overall JUNK!!!!!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 6 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

save your money

02/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this unit back to walmart 4 days later. They had 2 and i waited in line black friday ,along with an eye doctor. When i returned mine the girl said the other guy brought his back this morning. This picture was terrible exspecially from a slight angle .I have a 55 inch toshiba plasma which has a great picture ,save your money on this model. The faces on hd news were blotchy very disappointed and hired someone to help hang it and take it down.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+30points
Review 7 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

11/06/2012
By ,
San Antonio Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This TV is junk! Spend and extra $200 for the Vizio 65 which is flawless! The Toshiba is the worst TV I have ever owned. It has poor picture quality resembling the rear projection " fuzzy" picture. You will be dissappointed! The only positive was Walmart allowed me to return after the 15 days return policy since I was so upset about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 8 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U
05/19/2012
By ,
New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money. We returned it within 3 days and purchased a Samsung LED 55 inch.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 9 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

You must sit at least 14 feet from tv to look good

12/01/2011
By ,
Gainesville
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I agree with the other reviewer who said the picture looks like a scene from the movie Scanner Darkly. That is exactly how I described the picture to my friend. Even at a distance of 12 feet from the tv the picture looks sort of mottled, skin tones look horrible. At around 14 feet the tv looks acceptable, so only buy this if you have a LARGE living room. Turning off the Digital Noise Reduction (DNR) feature does improve the bad skin tones, but not completely.
I'm not really sure why the picture looks the way it does, but its just not right. I have tried multiple image sources all with a quality HDMI cable, HD cable tv, PS3 gaming and neither one gives a great picture. PS3 looks acceptable, but you must turn on the tvs "game mode" or there is a lot of lag. Also, high speed motion like sports causes the tv to pixelate. It doesnt handle sports very well.
I have really tried to talk myself into liking this tv, (because the price is excellent) but the image is just sub par. This is my first LCD tv, all my others have been plasma. I love my plasma panels, but this 65" toshiba LCD is just not very good. I would only recommend it for a large room. The image actually looks pretty good from over 14 feet away.
I am going to try a blueray movie tonight and I will update this review if it makes a difference. I really dont think it will though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 10 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Picture Quality Lacking...

11/29/2011
By ,
Fort Worth TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this TV on black friday for $998. The good things about it are the sound quality and size.
The sound quality is very good for a flat panel; which are usually very bad. I found out about the sound quality, because I had to temporarily use the TV sound at first; until I purchased an optical cable. As there was no digital coax out (which is the type of cable I had/used on the previous TV).
65" TVs look big in the store, but HUGE at the house. This was an upgrade (so I thought) from a 55" Philips. However, the picture is pretty bad in comparison. The display is very pixelated. It's especially noticeable on faces/images that are not closeup and/or are in the background. I can see the pixelation on both live feed [DirecTV] HD channels (some channels worst than others) AND on DVDs! More noticeable, of course, on live feed. At times, the picture reminds me of that movie Scanner Darkly... Not as bad, of course. But that's the best way I can describe it. The shadows and detail are not smooth or clear. Lowering the blacklight level to zero, and adjusting the contrast seemed to help a little. But it's still very noticeable, and who wants to watch a darker screen to makeup for the manufacturer's flaws?
I'm currently trying to contact Toshiba's technical support to see if there is anything I can do about this. Because I would hate to have to package this thing back up and return. But until I am able to contact them, to see if the picture quality can be improved... My advise is to save your money for a TV with better picture quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Philips 55" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 55PFL5705DV/F7
4.9 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
+28points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WHERE CAN I EVEN BUY THIS TV???
Posted 10/14/2013
I AM LOOKING TO PURCHASE THIS TV AND CAN'T EVEN FIND 1 WALMART OUT OF OVER 6 LOCATIONS THAT EVEN HAVE THIS TV....THIS IS CRAZY!! IT'S NOT THE 1ST TIME I HAVE THIS PROBLEM.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

bad black line down middle of screen

10/28/2012
By ,
gren bay,wi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
right out of the bax to the stand. Bad line of black pixels down the middle of the screen. Waste of my time. Brought it back and decided to not chance another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 12 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U
11/28/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have had this tv for about 3 days now. Its a very nice tv but Im not enitrely impressed with the picture quality. Im not sure if the picture is just so big that you notice every movement or if the picture seems to run a little slow/behind. The price was very good for this tv but I def would not pay anymore for it. The Black Friday price was $998. My husband loves it to watch football but watching movies on it is not that great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+50points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Antarctica
Quality is Below Par
Posted 04/29/2012
My sister has a 67" LG Plasma 1080p tv, so I went to her house from Wal-Mart to compare the two side by side (with Matrix Revolution 1080p) . It turned out that the Toshiba's picture quality is pathetic (after watching the same scenes on the LG) ... .... well, in short, I've had the tv for 1.5 hours and will be returning it first thing in the morning for a 70" sharp
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

BEST BANG FOR THE BUCK!

10/03/2013
By ,
Lansing, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Probably one of the best bangs for the buck. Size, picture quality, and sound quality are good to great. The only thing I could say that I don't like is the remote and the settings screen. Overall I would still recommend it especially for the cost factor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 14 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Great for the price.

03/11/2013
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the left over display model so I was able to examine the picture quite closely before my purchase. I wall mounted the TV in a room that it 22 feet in length. I have read some reviews that are good and some that are bad. I have not used all of the features of the TV yet and may post additional information later. As of this post, I hooked up my TV and since it was a display, I used the menu to factory reset the TV. I hooked up my DirecTV box with HDMI cable and Fiber Optic sound cable. I hooked up my old DVD player with component (Red, Blue, Green) cables and digital coax sound cable. I played a Redbox DVD and took a seat some 15+ feet back and was blown away by the picture quality. I will admit that when I stood directly in front (3-5') of the TV it was pixaly but I dont watch that close. With a large room that contains two love-seats and three chairs for the seven members of my family no one will be very close. I then watched a DVR'd HD show and again, was quite impressed with the picture. My son (19) watched ESPN HD and loves the TV. My son (8) and daughter (14) simply describe the TV as "SOOOO Awesome" That is pretty much all I have done with the TV so far but I must say that, even though I have not explored the other features or played with the settings, I am still very pleased with the TV. But BEWARE this TV seems to grow by 20% and nicely fills a 13' wide wall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Product Defective

12/09/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this TV after my projection TV went out because of the size and price. I was so delighted to come across this great deal until I got it home and plugged it in. There was a great big white splotch on the screen. I promptly returned it to Walmart and instead of exchanging it for the same, I decided on the 65 inch Vizio which is an amazing TV with the exception of the flimsy stand they supply that barely supports the tv. All in all, the Toshiba didn't have the features the Vizio has but it looked great in my living room. Although mine happened to be defective, I would recommend this TV to anyone not big on what's new technologically...if you are just pay $200 more and get the Vizio Smart 65 inch!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Lots of Real Estate for a little money.

02/23/2013
By ,
Morgan Hill, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this at very close to the Black Friday pricing. I do think many TV's out there are better than this but carry a higher price tag. I think it works great if you need a lot of tv and don't want to drop a ton of cash. Don't get me wrong, it does have a great picture. You need to sit 12-15 feet away to really enjoy the picture. You need to sit directly in front of tv, if you do not, the colors are not really accurate at more than a few feet off center. I am glad I bought it for the price. I would not pay retail for this tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Good TV, Better Price

11/28/2011
By ,
Rogers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV during the Black Friday event. I LOVE the picture size. For those of you out there who want a BIGGER picture at a price you can afford, this is the one. The 65" picture is great with my HD programming and Blu-Ray player.
THere are VERY few "extras" with this TV, so only expect to get a big picture TV, not much more. The price is well worth the HD 65" tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+73points
Review 18 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Turn off Clearframe

11/30/2011
By ,
50266
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I hated this TV out of the box the picture seemed to be behind and slow. It was like watching a boot-legged film. After making some adjustments and turning off the clear Frame feature I found it to be much better. Clear frame is suppose to improve the picture by increasing the refresh rate from 60 to 120hz, but I’m guessing the cheap processor that Toshiba uses can not keep up with it. Overall for under $1000 its has really good color and sound, the picture is just alright.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 19 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U
07/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture is crystal clear great for the price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 20 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

great value

07/13/2012
By ,
near warner robins ag
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great value for a good picture and quality did buy warranty though to extend the value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next