Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

The Toshiba 65" LCD TV looks terrific in any living room, family room or home theater. Watch your favorite movies and programming in full-HD resolution. Savor fast-action sports or edge-of-your-seat gaming clearly thanks to exclusive CineSpeed Panel and ClearFrame 120Hz technology. Show your latest vacation videos and pictures on this Toshiba 65" television by using a high-resolution PC connection. And do it all with the assurance of famous Toshiba quality and reliability. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Toshiba 65" LCD TV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.78 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(41 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation73%30 out of 41reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Good TV, Better Price

11/28/2011
By ,
Rogers
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this TV during the Black Friday event. I LOVE the picture size. For those of you out there who want a BIGGER picture at a price you can afford, this is the one. The 65" picture is great with my HD programming and Blu-Ray player.
THere are VERY few "extras" with this TV, so only expect to get a big picture TV, not much more. The price is well worth the HD 65" tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+73points
Review 2 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Horrible for games, big gray blob

11/03/2012
By ,
maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this tv tinking of watching football. The night we bought it we set it up and as soon as we plugged it in noticed it has a giant gray blob over 3/4 of the screen! Thought maybe it just needed to warm up, we have given it a week and it is still there. It makes the colors look really dull, noticable difference! And on the darker images you can see it very clearly! Then When we watched the football game, the picture was so horrible!! Very pixally!! Couldnt even make out the faces at some points, couldnt enjoy the game at all!!! This tv is just overall JUNK!!!!!!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 3 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

ATTENTION GAMERS, DO NOT BUY THIS TV!

09/30/2012
By ,
Charleston, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this tv with high hopes of enjoying many football games, playing games, and watching movies. I had begged my wife for months, until she finally said I could get it. I checked tons of stores, and this tv was the cheapest for this size. I went to the store and bought this tv, came home and put it together and set it up. The first thing I did was tune into a football game (hd, of course), just to have my hopes crushed when I saw how the picture lagged. Then, my son quickly cut his wii on in hopes to play mario on a big screen, and the game lagged so badly, he could not even play. I can not blame the lagging on the size of the tv, since there are many large big screens that work perfectly with games. I am returning this tv, and I have decided to pay more money for samsung, since I own a 51" samsung and that has the best picture quality in my opinion. So if you are planning on shelling out about $1200 dollars on a tv, just spend a couple extra hundred and buy a different one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 4 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Ill founded complaints

01/03/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No the TV does not look great out of the box. You need to take some time and modify the settings based on your type of connection (Cable, off air and satellite all look different). The color takes some tweaking but then the picture quality is just as good as TV's costing much more. The complaint about the gray blob elsewhere in these reviews is indicative of a poor installation where someone pressed against the LCD and pressed the membranes together - if this happened to you - it is a very large TV - just take a soft cloth and rub the entire screen firmly - the gray blob will go away.
Keep in mind - this is a massive 65" TV - if you stand right in front of it and complain about the picture quality you are very much missing the point. You need distance and the correct viewing angle to fully appreciate this TV but that can be said about all sets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 5 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Great Tv Great Price

11/25/2011
By ,
Eastern NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only had this TV for about 12 hours now, so my review is somewhat limited, but I thought with the price Walmart is offering for black Friday, most people are dying for a review. This is the 4th hdtv I have owned. My first and probably still my favorite is my 42" Samsung Plasma. The picture on that tv is awesome. I also own a 50" Vizio LCD and a 73" Mitishubi DLP. I would rank this tv #2 in picture quality right behind my Samsung. To be honest, I may just be biased to my first true high def tv. I am still playing with the adjusts, and trying to get the "perfect setting", but I really like this tv. My only complaint is that all the inputs for this tv are very far to the left side of the tv. All my HDMI cable are only 6 feet in length, so I'm probably going to need to buy longer cables. I made them reach, but they are stretched to their limit. This is not a big deal to me, because I do not buy those overpriced cables from big box stores. Monoprice.com is the best place to buy great cables at a great price. The remote is also not great looking, it works fine, but it's appearance is not impressive. This is not a big deal to me, because I use a logitech harmony remote....but that is really digging deep to find a flaw. lol Overall, I do not believe you will find a better tv for a better price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+129points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
texas
to dannthemann
Posted 05/17/2012
i've been looking at this tv and also the 73" mitsubishi as well. could you give me a little info on which one you liked better n why? i just moved from PA to texas and want to purchase the biggest n best tv for a good price that i plan on having for a while. thanks
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Turn off Clearframe

11/30/2011
By ,
50266
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So I hated this TV out of the box the picture seemed to be behind and slow. It was like watching a boot-legged film. After making some adjustments and turning off the clear Frame feature I found it to be much better. Clear frame is suppose to improve the picture by increasing the refresh rate from 60 to 120hz, but I’m guessing the cheap processor that Toshiba uses can not keep up with it. Overall for under $1000 its has really good color and sound, the picture is just alright.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 7 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Great TV for the price

09/04/2012
By ,
Newburgh, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wall mounted this monster in a Bar/ restaurant for football season.
It's HEAVY! I needed 2 other guys just to lift it up.
The picture looks great, there are 3 HDMI inputs for different devices and for the price, I think it's a wonderful deal at $1298.00.
Most other brands/models are at least twice the price.
Once it was on, the initial set up was simple. It took less then a minute.
I installed a Panasonic 2 weeks ago and that was 20 minutes, just getting it set up to view a picture.
This model does not have all the bells and whistles of the newer 65" sets, but for watching sports in a big room, it's perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 8 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U
05/08/2012
By ,
metropolis,il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Saw this tv on sale at wal-mart, pic looked nice, and after thinking about it for a couple days decided to take a chance. When I got it hooked up wasn't real happy with pic had a problem with reception dish tech told me I did'nt have it on 1080 since then I simply could not be more pleased with this tv
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+34points
Review 9 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

save your money

02/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this unit back to walmart 4 days later. They had 2 and i waited in line black friday ,along with an eye doctor. When i returned mine the girl said the other guy brought his back this morning. This picture was terrible exspecially from a slight angle .I have a 55 inch toshiba plasma which has a great picture ,save your money on this model. The faces on hd news were blotchy very disappointed and hired someone to help hang it and take it down.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+30points
Review 10 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Picture Quality Lacking...

11/29/2011
By ,
Fort Worth TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this TV on black friday for $998. The good things about it are the sound quality and size.
The sound quality is very good for a flat panel; which are usually very bad. I found out about the sound quality, because I had to temporarily use the TV sound at first; until I purchased an optical cable. As there was no digital coax out (which is the type of cable I had/used on the previous TV).
65" TVs look big in the store, but HUGE at the house. This was an upgrade (so I thought) from a 55" Philips. However, the picture is pretty bad in comparison. The display is very pixelated. It's especially noticeable on faces/images that are not closeup and/or are in the background. I can see the pixelation on both live feed [DirecTV] HD channels (some channels worst than others) AND on DVDs! More noticeable, of course, on live feed. At times, the picture reminds me of that movie Scanner Darkly... Not as bad, of course. But that's the best way I can describe it. The shadows and detail are not smooth or clear. Lowering the blacklight level to zero, and adjusting the contrast seemed to help a little. But it's still very noticeable, and who wants to watch a darker screen to makeup for the manufacturer's flaws?
I'm currently trying to contact Toshiba's technical support to see if there is anything I can do about this. Because I would hate to have to package this thing back up and return. But until I am able to contact them, to see if the picture quality can be improved... My advise is to save your money for a TV with better picture quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Philips 55" Class LCD 1080p 240Hz HDTV, 55PFL5705DV/F7
4.9 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
+28points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WHERE CAN I EVEN BUY THIS TV???
Posted 10/14/2013
I AM LOOKING TO PURCHASE THIS TV AND CAN'T EVEN FIND 1 WALMART OUT OF OVER 6 LOCATIONS THAT EVEN HAVE THIS TV....THIS IS CRAZY!! IT'S NOT THE 1ST TIME I HAVE THIS PROBLEM.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

11/06/2012
By ,
San Antonio Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This TV is junk! Spend and extra $200 for the Vizio 65 which is flawless! The Toshiba is the worst TV I have ever owned. It has poor picture quality resembling the rear projection " fuzzy" picture. You will be dissappointed! The only positive was Walmart allowed me to return after the 15 days return policy since I was so upset about it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 12 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U
11/28/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We have had this tv for about 3 days now. Its a very nice tv but Im not enitrely impressed with the picture quality. Im not sure if the picture is just so big that you notice every movement or if the picture seems to run a little slow/behind. The price was very good for this tv but I def would not pay anymore for it. The Black Friday price was $998. My husband loves it to watch football but watching movies on it is not that great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+50points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Antarctica
Quality is Below Par
Posted 04/29/2012
My sister has a 67" LG Plasma 1080p tv, so I went to her house from Wal-Mart to compare the two side by side (with Matrix Revolution 1080p) . It turned out that the Toshiba's picture quality is pathetic (after watching the same scenes on the LG) ... .... well, in short, I've had the tv for 1.5 hours and will be returning it first thing in the morning for a 70" sharp
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Glad I purchased it.

11/16/2012
By ,
Clio, Mi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only received it 2 days ago but, We love it. Easy to set up, good looking, great picture,slim. Half the price of my Father-in-law's Samsung and has a picture at least as good as his.(and its bigger)It was a big jump from my DLP 60 inch to this 65 inch LCD. I have cable with a HD box
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 14 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

quality trade off is not worth the size gain

11/22/2011
By ,
newark, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got it to enhance my theater experiance and had to return it do to inferior sub par fliker problems consistant on all inputs. tested the store sample in case the return model was a fluke and discovered this was a comenality on this toshiba 65" model 65HT2U. Price was good at $1399 but we were much happier with a much better 60" for the same price or less
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ocoee, Fl
BAD PRODUCT Stay away from TOSHIBA
Posted 09/30/2013
Looks great but will not last you more than a year and will cost you more than $500 every three months to fix. Stay away from TOSHIBA.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Absolutely thrilling!

01/14/2013
By ,
Austin, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I very carefully reviewed several models and decided to go with the Toshiba not because it was best, but because I liked it and I like an underdog. Wow!! This TV is absolutely stunning!Up close it's not that great, but if you plan to be at least a few feet away or better the picture is phenomenal and all consuming. Easy to set up. I can't believe the picture is this nice right out of the box!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Great investment so far!!

08/22/2012
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking to upgrade my 52" Toshiba Cinematic series big screen from 2002 and I decided to stick with the same brand name due to the price. I have owned the TV for a few days now and I have absolutely no issues with this TV. I would say the ONLY drawback is my previous Toshiba had an option off sound so I can use the surround sound system but this one does not, at least I have not been able to find one so my only solution is to keep the sound at "0" and I use the sound system for both Blue Ray/DVD @ satellite. Great price for the value. Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 17 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Awesome

11/13/2012
By ,
Roswell, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy right out of the box. If you are looking for features or sound, this is not for you. If you want good picture at a great price, this is a must buy! HDMI cord is an option if you want to get the most out of this tv. Great tv at an even better price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 18 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

OUTSTANDING PICTURE

10/16/2012
By ,
hollandpatent,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this TV we hooked it up and mounted it on the wall the picture set up from the factory was perfect didn't have to change anything i should have bought it a long time ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 19 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Good for the price

08/14/2012
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Wife and I purchased this unit Three weeks ago, So far we are very happy. The picture is clear and sharp. Especially when viewing hi definition. I would recommend the set to anyone interested.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 20 for Toshiba 65" LCD 1080p 120 Hz HDTV, 65HT2U

Great value

11/28/2011
By ,
corona california
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took a few minutes for it to warm up but when it did what a great picture. Got the black friday deal for $998 and it was worth it. If you have HD braodcasting from your cable provider what a benefit. My blueray player shows the picture extremely realisticly. The base unit which holds the screen appears a little wobbly you definetely need to wall mount it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next