Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

The only thing that might be sweeter than the delicious treats - the Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker is charmingly modeled after the cotton candy carts of the early 1900s. With this, spinning sugar into pink clouds of goodness has never been so much fun. Simply pour the sugar mixture into the top, turn the unit on, and in moments you'll have fresh, carnival-style cotton candy right in your own home. This cotton candy cart adds charm to any countertop. It features a removable bowl and 2 plastic cones for easy candy making. In addition, this Carnival candy maker is also is easy to clean as well.
Average Customer Rating:
2.895 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation47%18 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
3
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Simply Does Not Work

03/24/2009
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Despite carefully following directions and trying several times, I finally got enough cotton candy to feed a hummingbird. This product just does not do what is says it does. Very disappointed. I returned it to the store. However, I did purchase the Nostalgic Cotton Candy Maker Cart model for around $300 -- and, I must say, it works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Wouldn't buy it again!

10/26/2007
By ,
GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had read the reviews before purchasing this item but I thought "oh I'll buy it and see for myself". Well I wish I hadn't bought it now, and plan to return it. It's not very easy to make the cotton candy. I find it very difficult to get it to make the nice pretty cones and doesn't make much at a time. I'm not sure how they made the cone of cotton candy in that picture, but it would have taken at least 4 rounds of making it to get a cone that large, with that much candy on it.
I tried to use some Kool-Aid pre-sweetened mix like it says in the booklet that came with it and it made a terrible mess. The stuff shot out over the top of the little catcher thing and got all over me and the kitchen, (and that stuff hurts when it flies at your arms) and it never made any cotton candy that time around. I will be returning it as soon as possible.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Argo AL
Wish I Never Had Bought It!!!!
Posted 11/01/2011
Every day I go to the store and buy at the least 5 bags of cotton candy! When I seen the cotton candy maker I thought gee I can save money making my own!!! That was so not true. It took me 2 hours to make 3 small cones. The plastic cones they provide the candy does not stick. I had to buy paper ones. I was so frustrated! My kids wanted more but it was to much trouble so I had to go and buy them sum. I had rather buy it at the store. It taste 100% better and I dont have to go through all the hassle of hoping it will produce enough. This machine is a waste of money. I will be returning the one I purchased!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

just didn't work

07/09/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this thing as a birthday present and was dissapointed for two reasons. 1. it didn't come with ANY cotton candy mix and that is not the kind of thing they carry at the grocery store. 2. It just didn't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Didn't work

08/31/2008
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very first try I followed the directions exactly and it didn't work. I'll try a second time, but my guess is it is going back. Too bad. I was looking forward to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Terrible - does not work at all!

01/12/2009
By ,
Vicksburg, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was bought as a christmas present and I am so disappointed! The children gathered around the machine holding paper cones waiting for the candy. The first time it spit out tiny little strands - very disappointing! When we attempted a 2nd cone, the machine stopped working all together. Have tried several times since also with no luck! Will be returning asap for refund!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Don't waste your money

12/26/2008
By ,
Weston, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm sorry this product is beautiful indeed but I much rather have something not so pretty that can actually make cotton candy. I spent over two hours trying to get some floss and all I got was barely enough to see. I'm taking it back. Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Not so good cotten candy maker

10/18/2008
By ,
Santa Paula, Calif
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off the box when I picked it up was dented on the side, but the product looked alright. My grandchildren where so excited to have a cotten candy maker. We pluged it in and waited the 5 min.
to let it warm up. Much to our surprise we waited for another 10 mins. to see if anything was going to happen, when nothing happened, we turned it off and started all over again. but this time it did do something, it threw globs of pink suger onto the rim of the machine, not threads of suger, but globs of sugar. Needless to say I am less then happy, and my grandchildren are sad, but my motto is live and learn. So I suggest that other grandmothers think twice before buying this very cute, non-working cotten candy machine for their grandchildren.
Have a great day
Sandy
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Terrible

02/19/2008
By ,
Chattanooga TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Makes little to no cotton candy. Vibrates and moves all over coutner. It even moved so much it unplugged itself once. Takes forever to heat up and only makes about a small handfull of cotton candy each time. This item is horrible,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker
07/24/2008
By ,
Massachusetts
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Loved the way this product looked. It was very nostalgic. Easy to clean. But, not impressed with performance. It took me over 45 minutes to get about a 1/4 of a cone of cotton candy (which took 1/2 of a second to eat!) I will more than likely be returning this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

NotCottonCandy

06/12/2009
By ,
Southeast Ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this item without looking at the reviews - BIG MISTAKE! I followed the instructions and I was never able to get anything that resembled cotton candy. I took this item back immediately! Don't buy this unless you just want it for show!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

A Total Disappointment

02/26/2009
By ,
Greenwood, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because my son loves cotton candy and we were going to make cotton candy for my daughter's birthday party. My husband followed the directions and ran it for over an hour with no cotton candy, the sugar wouldn't even get hot enough to change. I was so upset and both of my children were highly disappointed - no cotton candy. Spend your money on renting one (it's about the same price). Thank goodness I could return it to Walmart here in our town. Please don't bother to order.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

COTTON CANDY MAKER

01/04/2008
By ,
FRESNO,CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SMALL AND GREAT FOR THE SIZE.DOES NOT PERFORM LIKE THE PICTURE SHOWS IT.TAKES A REALLY LONG TIME TO MAKE ONE COTTON CANDY.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

to slow

04/13/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the product looks nice and it can make cotton candy but it takes about 30 minutes to make 1 small cotton candy. i just don't have the time to wait so i returned the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Doesn't do the job

03/30/2009
By ,
Milpitas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you want really tiny cotton candy then go ahead and buy this, it is really messy and not worth the trouble.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-2points
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Not worth it!

03/23/2009
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've had this machine for 5 years now. I've used it two or three times. It makes a huge mess. You have to clean it after two or three scoops. The cotton candy puffs are really small. Not worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
0points
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker
07/09/2008
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was quite messy and only made a very small amount at a time. The machine was quite a bit smaller than we had expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker
12/31/2007
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Didn't work very well. My kids spent a half an hr, and didn't get much cotton candy. They were already tired of it before it started spinning candy. I had to finish it for them. ages 5-7 years old
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Not as expected

03/31/2008
By ,
Lakeland, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I wouldnt recommend this item because it does get messy and the cotton candy does not form as it should. I have tried over and over again to finally give up. If you can get it to work right and you dont mind the mess it would be a good product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Made great CC till it broke

01/02/2009
By ,
San Ramon, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This machine made great cotton candy for 2 days and then it broke. The rotating disk which spews out CC got stuck and would not come out. It needs to be removed after every use for cleaning. My eleven year old daughter for able to operate the machine for those couple of days easily. I am going to exchange the machine and hope the new one lasts longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics Cotton Candy Maker

Slow, Messy, and Noisy

10/23/2007
By ,
Alexandria, Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The cotton candy machine flings melted sugar onto anything nearby. It takes some time to heat up, then extra time to heat the sugar. The amount of sugar it can handle per making is very small. The machine vibrates and after using for about a week or so has now begun to squeal.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next