Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

Enjoy gourmet coffee and espressos in the comfort of your own home with the Mr. Coffee Espresso Machine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.528 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation64%23 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

My first espresso maker

02/15/2011
By ,
St. Augustine, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I had always wanted an espresso maker...I am a coffee junkie and spend tons of money on coffeeshops. My mom gave me this for Christmas, had it shipped to my house. At first, I was THRILLED! I loved it, I became very good at making lattes and cappucinnos. But now, less than two months later, It is falling apart already. The rubber frother cover ripped, so frothing is no longer available. I just had to order a new rubber tip from a website, as both Walmart and the Mr. Coffee companies do not offer replacement parts, only a replacement carafe. The lid to the coffeepot section fell off, we just sit it on top, but every time you lift it to fill the water and coffee, it falls right off. The burner plate under the coffeepot has worn off and already big metal scrapes are showing through. I just cleaned it tonight with a descaler powder, and couldnt' believe the big chunks of stuff that came out in the water. It's only been like 6 or 7 weeks since Christmas! The other thing is that the metal pot that holds the espresso is starting to rust on the bottom.
Don't get me wrong, despite all this it does make a decent cappucinno. The carafe for the coffeepot is one more complaint...the way it is designed water and coffee spill all over the place when you are trying to pour water into the tank, or coffee into your cup. We have tried to lift the lid when pouring, figuring more air might lessen the dripping spill, but no...nothing really works except to pour your coffee extra extra slowly into your cup.
All in all, I really don't know what to expect from an espresso machine, since this is my first one. I am pretty disappointed that everything is breaking already, granted we use it probably three or four times a day, at least, but still I figure it should last a bit longer than two months.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21
04/05/2010
By ,
Madison,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my husband and he loved it so much. He kind of figured out how to use the first time. And after that he had no more problems. he is a coffee drinker and he makes his latte all the time. he have not even used the coffee yet he just uses the cappuccino.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

Nice Espresso Maker, poor coffee carafe

08/09/2009
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this primarily to see if I could pull off making my favorite latte, cappuccino, and mocha drinks at home that I love so much from the chain coffee shops while still having the ability to make coffee as well.
The espresso maker is great. As other people have reported, you can run out of steam to properly froth and heat the milk. To over come this problem, I have to improvise, if I need 2 shots of espresso to make my latte, I fill the chamber of water up to 3 shots instead. Works like a charm.
My only complaint is with the coffee maker. While it does take some time for it to brew a full pot, it brews a nice cup of coffee. However, to pour the coffee into a cup is a real pain. It spills everywhere so I have to pour my coffee over the sink so that I'm not constantly cleaning up after every cup I pour.
But for the price of this machine, I have already saved a ton of money by making my own gourmet coffees at home.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

great coffee

03/16/2009
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had it for a few weeks now and use it everyday. It keeps the coffee hot. The spills from the other reviews happened to me and I realized I have to hold the top for the carafe opened and pour the coffee slowly. Makes great expresso and capuccino.
The bad part is that is not programable and does not have auto shut-off.
I recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

Love it!!

05/22/2009
By ,
Kaycee, WY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this product over 6 months now and use it every day at least once. I love it and the coffee and espresso are great! I to had problems with pouring from the espresso carafe but figured it out after a few tries. The steamer on this one works great compared to the cappuccino maker I had before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

"Disposable" Coffeemaker?

04/26/2010
By ,
Pennsylvania
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this coffeemaker just over a year ago. It worked great for about a year. Then the quality began to show.
The reservoir lid began to crack, it started as a hairline crack and soon separated into multiple cracks- all starting around where the lid contacts the swinging nozzle that dispenses the hot water into the basket. I contacted Mr. Coffee asking how much a replacement lid would cost. In the meantime, I duct taped the lid together, while I waited for a response. It has been three months, and I have yet to hear anything. I figured I could live with a duct taped lid, after all- it's ugly but still functional.
This morning, the gasket on bottom of the reservoir split, leaking 3/4 of the water that was in the reservoir all over my kitchen counter, at least I got one REALLY strong cup of coffee out of this coffeemakers final day.
When I purchased this unit, I paid over $90. Far too much to pay just for a few chances to pretend that I'm MacGyver.
Even if you buy a new coffeemaker every year, surely there are better options available than this.
I will never purchase another Mr. Coffee product again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

good morning

04/19/2009
By ,
Seffner,Fl.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I agree with everyone about spillage and I got better at pouring. My biggest dissapointment was the Cappuccino side of the unit. I don't like the fact you have to use the little tin plate for steam or frothing. I tried to use it without the plate and it just doesn't get the job done. Great coffee but I'm gonna give it away.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

2nd review

06/27/2010
By ,
Kaycee, WY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I originally wrote a 5 star review after having this machine for a couple of months. However now less than a year after buying it, the espresso maker part has quit working. I cleaned it with vinegar, and it worked fine until the 3rd rinse cycle, then it would just work until 1/2 the carafe was full then it just steamed out everywhere. I think you get what you pay for, and I'll not be buying another Mr. Coffee espresso maching again. This is my 4-5 one, and each has had to be replaced within a year of buying it. I didn't mind when they were $25, but I spent $80 on this, and will just pay for a very good maching this next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

2 in 1 coffee maker

09/23/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is awesome we bought it to reduce the amount of clutter in our kitchen. Since we have family members that drink both regular coffee and espresso we decide to invest in this product. It works great, the leak issue is minor and is fixed when you hold it at the right angle and just a bit higher. The coffee is rich and delicious, have even made hot chocolate with it and we are very happy. The espresso is wonderful and it is a great value for a machine that does both. We had been waiting for a machine like this that was more affordable for a while. Love it. Keeping it. Not sharing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

I Love It!

12/24/2010
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Mr. Coffee product greets me every morning! I make coffee in the mornings & cappuccinos throughout the day! It works wonderfully! The frother takes some getting used to, its all in practice! This would make a great gift for any coffee lover.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

GREAT product!

05/04/2010
By ,
Norwalk, Connecticut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE the coffee and espresso. I did have problems pouring the coffee at first but like in another review found that if you lift the top, the problem goes away. Gets the coffee good and HOT and its great coffee!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

I am becoming a barista!

12/21/2010
By ,
Chicago. IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I enjoy making specialty drinks with this machine. Pouring from the coffee pot must be slow or you will spill it. Too bad that there isn't a frothing pitcher or a tamper for the espresso.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

Very Good Product!

06/24/2010
By ,
Durham
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only problem I had with this product was that it has no timer so you don't know when your coffee's done. And there is no clock on it, other than that it is an Awesome product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

A Combo of Mediocrity

08/27/2012
By ,
Falls Church, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Where do I begin? First, there are no 8-cup coffee filters. Size #2 is too small and size #4 is too big and must be trimmed with scissors. The frothing tube is an inappropriate length. You have to use more milk than needed, leading to waste. It takes a lot of practice and caution to be able to pour coffee without spillage. To top it all off the coffee maker quit working properly after one year + a couple of days (out of warranty). The coffee maker is dead when switched to 5-8 cups mode. And it now takes 17+ minutes to brew 2-4 cups. The espresso maker still works, so now all I have is a very large espresso maker. And to keep it and add a new coffee maker to my counter seems ridiculous. Lesson Learned: never buy combo appliances.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

lousy pouring

04/05/2009
By ,
San Antonio, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this product and was hopeful that it would make good coffee and espresso. Coffee and espresso taste fine, not fantastic. Unfortunately for us we are stuck with it now. The pot pours dribbly messes each time all over the counter, down the cabinets etc.. We have never had so many pot pouring problems. What is so hard that they could not see this trouble in their testing labs before putting it out for sale to the public.
I definitely do not recommend this product for purchase to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

spend more and get a good one!!

11/22/2009
By ,
canfield, oh
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
we also have had lots of pouring problems.......you have to open the lid completely to pour without spilling and if you have guests who don't know that automatically (who would?) it does spill everywhere......
my biggest complaint, though is that the lid on the coffee side snapped off and now has cracked......also, the coating on the heating plate has started to wear off....
haven't tried the espresso maker yet, it seems very complicated........
i would recommend that you spend the big bucks and get a better machine..........we'll be upgrading ours for christmas!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

Great Gift!

12/27/2009
By ,
Abingdon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I received this unit for Christmas and I LOVE it! I'm sick of spending $5.00 for my favorite drink at the chains. I used it nonstop at a holiday party yesterday and it worked like a charm everytime. Some of the parts must be handled carefully, and I wish it was programable for the coffee portion. The expresso maker and frother work great! We've been on a caffeine frenzy for two days now. I would recommend it for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

sloppy

12/08/2008
By ,
The Villages,Fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
While this machine makes very good coffee and espresso,the main problem is the coffee decanter. You cannot pour a cup of coffee without spilling a third of the coffee on your countertop, It's like a dribbler glass. Also,there is no auto shut off so be very careful about walking away from this machine when done. Plan to exchage for another like product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

Not as good as Expected

05/16/2011
By ,
Portland, ME
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I feel like I'm going to eventually break this machine. It's so pightweight and "plastic-y". It does what it needs to do, but it's not as good as I had hope. I will I had seen it in person before I purchased it. It does need cone paper filters or one of those reusable ones. No bells nor whistles, so don't expect anything beyond what's pictured.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee Coffee & Espresso Cappuccino Maker, ECM21

Unexpectedly Mediocre

01/02/2011
By ,
Tampa, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This coffee pot is difficult to use. The regular coffee part is difficult to pour from and spills over the side of the caraffe. The cappuchino maker is fine the milk frother is difficult to use, the pot used must be shallow or the milk spills when removing it from the arm. I would never buy Mister Coffee again..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next