Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Weider Weider Total Body Works 5000

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Weider Weider Total Body Works 5000

Designed for a total body workout, the new and improved Weider Total Body Works 5000 is perfect for both upper and lower body workouts. Its space saving design makes it perfect for using at home.
Average Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(278 Reviews) 246
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
177
4 stars
88
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation98%272 out of 278reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
177
4 stars
88
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Highly Recommend

02/01/2008
By ,
West Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I Love This Thing! It was easy to put together, and it works great. Because of the low price I wasn't to sure if I made a good choice when I ordered it, but I am VERY glad I did! The only thing they could do to make it better would be to provide a better workout guide or dvd with it, the chart it comes with is kind of vague. Other than that it is perfect and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a good workout but doesn't have the money or the room for a weight machine.
Just like anything else, it won't work if you don't use it. After only a couple weeks I am already starting to see results!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 62 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Awesome!!

08/13/2008
By ,
Johnson City, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this!! It will work what ever "problem" area you may have, it's up to you whether you work on your arms, legs, back, chest areas... I start sweating within the first 5 minutes... There are so many different positions you can exercise in. It is fun and that's what will keep me doing it!! I got it a week after I ordered it. I do wish it had come with a DVD. It just came with a chart showing different exercises... Would have been better to actually see the moves being made, so you would know you are doing them right... just trial and error... but it is fantastic... would recommend to anyone!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 63 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

dream machine for a cheap price!

02/04/2009
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product last month for such a low price i figured i wouldnt use it and it wouldnt hurt my pockets. Wrong--it was so easy to set up. Im a 20 yr female 110lbs this product is perfect. My boyfriend and i use it and he's 180. There's so many workouts i dont get bored and i dont have time to go to the gym. My biceps and thighs are firm in this one month-says the boyfriend. Ladies I reccommend this to tone and shape muscles and guys-my boyfriends arms look hot!
I use it 30 mins 3 x a week and 10 mins the other 4 days. I love to workout and the Weider is exactly what I was looking for
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 64 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

It is what it says it is. Maybe a little more.

03/27/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a better-made product than I expected. It has a nice heft to it, everything works smoothly, and it does what it's supposed to do. It even looks halfway decent in my spare bedroom.
A few exercises don't quite end up being in the ideal position for the muscles worked. Or at least so far I haven't QUITE found the perfect nautilus-style exercise for the pectorals. But this is just quibbling. If I were very serious about exercise, I would be willing to spend more money on it.
I'm very pleased with this purchase -- It's hard to imagine something that works this well at a better price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 65 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Exceeds Expectations

04/02/2008
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the Weider 5000 for over a week now, and it is excellent. It is mostly assembled out of the box (only the about 4 or 5 pieces to put together...only 3 bolts). Transitions between exercises are very easy and quick. The only slight issue that I have ran into is trying to take it down after a workout to store it. I haven't quite gotten the hang of collapsing the unit yet. Other than that very slight inconvenience, this product is excellent. It even exceeded my expectations by being very easy to put together, with it's ease of transitions between exercises, and with it's sturdiness.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 66 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Great Product for the PRICE

01/25/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was bought for my wife with one goal, a low cost, versatile exercise system with tension straps that would be easy to use. This product meets that need and then some. The number of exercises and muscles categories that you can target for your workout is wide ranging. The poster provided with the system allows you to select the muscle categories. The machine adjusts to the type of tension you feel comfortable using with the exercise. This machine is amazingly simple to operate, but provides a broad array of exercises, allowing you to target the workout to meet your needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 67 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Good Workout!

04/15/2009
By ,
The O.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this after reading reviews and comparing the price of a Total Gym. I figured for $147 vs. $375 it was worth a try. Was pleasantly surprised how easy to put together and get going. Most exercises are for upper body, but that's what I was looking for. Good construction and workmanship. I have been using it daily and find that it is easy to use and set up. Instructions are limited, so if you can get onto You-tube you can see how to use the Total Gym which is the same; and figure out the different exercises you can do. Only works if you use it! Great Value...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 68 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

just love it

04/17/2009
By ,
Wichita, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have been using this product along with the previously purchased video tapes from the total gym. This Weider product requires no accessory changes and everything can be done on it exactly the same and some with minor adjustment. For the fraction of the price of the big boys product and considering I don't like to stop and attach and detach accessories while working out, this product is so much better in my opinion. All who have come over and tried it agree that it gives a knockout workout and is totally fun. A joy to work out on. Product is of high quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 69 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Total Gym clone

07/09/2008
By ,
Henniker, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I will be having knee replacement surgery and needed a 'total gym' to prepare w/exercises.
The lowest priced TotalGym was +/- $70 more than this and had fewer features.
This compares favorably with the $300+ TG 1700.
Pros: STURDY! Very well made. Can't beat the price.
Easy to set up & adjust
Cons: Heavy to move and much bigger than expected (my fault there - failure to recognize how big it needs to be)
Overall - highly recommended. I don't know (yet) if these can really get you in shape but this dedicated couch potato gets worn out pretty quickly on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 70 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

A great piece of exercise equipment

11/12/2008
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Weider Body Works 5000 for one exercise because I have a foot injury and the PT conducting my rehab at the Cleveland Clinic Sports Medicine Dept. has me doing it at their facility and I wanted to do the same thing at home. This device is like the Total gym, but 1/8 the cost. It allows me to do the exact same exercise as I do at rehab plus I am using it for a lot more. That is a bonus.
The 5000 seems to be sturdy, I weigh 200 pounds and it is stable and solid.
I am very pleased with the capability for rehab and the value it provides.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 71 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Wonderful!!!!

04/08/2008
By ,
Meridian, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Other than being a little heavy for just me to pick up, the product is wonderful! It was super easy to put together. I had read all the reviews I could before I purchased this item, and I am totally pleased with it. I have used it every night for about 15-20 min, and I can tell a difference in my arms and back especially. It is fun to workout on, and I don't get bored. Easy to change from one exercise to another easy to adjust the incline also. I love this machine. I look forward to working out and becoming more healthy and in the near future!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 72 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Awesome Product!

04/27/2008
By ,
Katy, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was quicker assembling the gym than removing it from the box. I did a lot of shopping around before I found this one and was very impressed with the price and quality. I have a pretty busy schedule & don't have the time to join a gym, but a few minutes a day with the Weider Total Body Works has made a tremendous positive change for me. My coworkers have noticed a difference in my appearance within the first week of use. My wife loves it too & says it is one of the best investments we have made in a long time. You won't be disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 73 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Nice, sturdy equipment

05/19/2009
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as an alternative to a more expensive model... hoping to get in shape with this. The few times I used it, I had trouble reaching around to locate and grab the handles attached to the cable wires. I did get a good workout, but a dvd demonstrating the exercises would have really helped. I returned this to the store only because it was too large to fit under my couch or bed, and my apartment is too small for this equipment. It's best to use this in a separate room where you don't need to fold it up and put away.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 74 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

weider gym

02/04/2008
By ,
Somewhere, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like it alot, but the thing that bummed me out about it is then when I started to put it together your supposed to get 3 bolts, and 1 of the 3 bolts didnt even have threads on it! so I had to go get a bolt to use in one of the holes. Then the foot pad part uses to L pins to hold it in, and the holes arent big enough for the pins to go through them, i had to file and ream out the holes. That made thigns very aggrivating, other than that I like it alot and it seems like a great product and would still recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 75 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Great deal

07/20/2009
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I agree with others that the manual isn't very good about explaining how to expand the equipment, but customer service was very helpful. My mat (the part you lay on) was ripped, but again customer service made things right. This is a great work out. I wish there were a DVD that shows the exercises more. The web site says there are 100 exercises, but on the sheet, I think there are only about 30. So I'm looking to buy a DVD. This is much better than the Total Gym. Basically, its the same thing, but much cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 76 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Awesome Product

07/14/2008
By ,
Laurel MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great adition to my home gym. This product is very easy to assemble, I did it in 3 minutes. The workout that you get out of it is priceless. I truly recommend this for those who are martial artist and boxers. The structure of it is very solid, no gimmicks. You have over 100 excersices that you can do with it. I have noticed my body shape change to tha point that people ask me what am I doing. I have lost 6 pounds in only 3 weeks and I look cut and feel great. I recommend this product to anybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 77 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Great Value!

04/02/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's as good as Total Gym, only half the price. Very sturdy, but a little awkward getting used to setting it up from the folded position.
No complaints thus far EXCEPT for the way it was shipped. Somebody really smashed the box around, broke two roller wheels and scratched up two other parts. The good news is that Wieder replaced the parts in about a week. You pay about $5 to get the parts, but I didn't feel like taking it back to Walmart and re-ordering.
Overall, a great product for a reasonable price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 78 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

great product

10/26/2008
By ,
San Marcos, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had it shipped from site to store and it arrived early which was great. Very easy to set up, took about 15 minutes. Great for the apartment. It's easy to move and set up for each workout while it also folds up a little to help save space. Make sure you have space when you use the machine to extend your arms. Great upper body workout and good for core area too. Was much much cheaper than an actual total gym. It doesn't have as many features but is a great product for the price paid. I would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 79 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Very Good Product.

05/07/2008
By ,
Sterling, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This machine is comparable to the "other" brand sponsored by the karate guy.
It is less than one tenth the price and seems to be of equal quality.
Would be willing to pay a little more for a video that displays the exercises. The included chart is helpful, but doesn't demonstrate like a video would.
The tension bands do add to your workout.
It is a great machine for the entire family.
My 6'4" 21 year old son gets a great workout and my 9 year old, while being monitored, enjoys trying out the exercises.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 80 for Weider Total Body Works 5000

Great but HEAVY

08/24/2008
By ,
Sanger, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product for full body workouts. The only difficulty and surprise for me was the size and weight. It is huge! And it is heavy! This is a good thing and a bad thing. It is good because it is a very substantially made piece of equipment, definitely not the flimsy piece I was afraid it might be. It is durable and strongly made and should be able to sustain workouts for many years. The bad part is that it is very heavy, about 75 pounds and quite big, even when folded up. The ideal situation would be to have enough room to keep it up and fully articulated full time. If you have to take it down and move it every time you use it, like me, it could be a problem. Plus it can mean a few pinched fingers if you are not careful setting it up and taking it down. Consider that part of the workout. If you can prop it up against a wall that would be ideal since you can keep it fully extended. But it is a little unwieldy so be careful. So consider the space you have. I would recommend at least an area of 6 feet in each direction to give you enough room to workout and to keep it fully extended. More would be better. Other than that, this is a great piece of equipment and more than fulfills its promise. And at this price it is outstanding. The workouts I have received have been wonderful and my arms are already feeling the burn. I use it mostly for my upper body but there are more exercises than you will ever do. It is the best workout you can get at home at this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
61-80 of 247 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  13 Next