Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Sauder Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Organize your books in style with spacious Sauder Heritage Hill Library Bookcase. Available in brown color, this 5 shelf bookcase is easy to assemble. It comes with wood bookshelves that are adjustable and offer a fine look along with functionality. The modern design of the bookcase will give a tasteful appearance to your library. The classic cherry finish bookcase has been crafted beautifully to blend in with your home dcor. This library bookcase is capable of holding plenty of books and other decorative items. 3 shelves can be adjusted to create extra space for holding larger items. The back of the bookcase is enclosed but provides cord access to keep lamps or other electrical articles. This contemporary piece of furniture will add a touch of stylish elegance to your library.
Average Customer Rating:
4.014 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(208 Reviews) 185
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
71
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 star
17
Customer Recommendation83%172 out of 208reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 81 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
92
4 stars
71
3 stars
18
2 stars
10
1 star
17
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Don't buy this!

05/05/2012
By ,
Orange County, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this because it was so pretty in the picture. Two of the four shelves I ordered arrived. I opened the box and the longest pieces of "wood" were broken in half. I opened the second box and it was broken in the exact same way. Of course, Walmart is easy with refunds, but it was pretty annoying! I now have beautiful shelves from Ikea, sturdy, attractive and even cheaper.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Worth the money

05/11/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We just purchased 3 of these. Yes, they do take some time to put together. However, given the price and quality look of the finished product, they are certainly worth the money and effort. My husband put them together entirely on his own, given that I am 8 months pregnant, but now the bookcases are beautiful. We are planning on purchasing 2 more for another area in our home in the very near future.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry
01/17/2011
By ,
Oakland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instructions are very detailed, but it still took over an hour to put together. A tip that we learned...put the shelves in first and then adjust the edging. It made it easier than going back and forth doing little adjustments. We are very pleased with this product.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Item came broken

06/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I opened the package for the bookcase it was broken in two... I'm so upset because I was so looking forward to putting it up.. I will return the item to walmart
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry
04/13/2013
By ,
Waynesville, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my bookshelf. It only took me 3 days to recieve my item onced shipped. I love the color. Plus the bookshelf is sturdy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Terrible Buy

06/11/2012
By ,
Saint Louis
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The assembled sample in the store looked great. Brought this home and took hours to assemble. The parts do not fit together well and cheap back does not properly fit dimensions of the bookcase so that parts of the back stick out on one side and you can see through the back on the other side. No matter how the back was turned it still did not fit well. Cannot tighten screws so that all parts fit together solidly. Would not have bought this had I known. Will keep until I can find and afford a better, more expensive bookcase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Nice bookshelf for the price

08/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We really like the way this bookshelf looks and so far it's holding up under the weight of the books (each shelf has a 25 lb. weight limit, except for the bottom shelf, which has a 50lb. limit and the 3rd shelf down, which is not adjustable and has a 40 lb. limit).
We received the parts with some of the edges scraped or peeling, but most of these edges ended up behind other pieces, so they didn't show. We covered up the remaining scrapes with the "touch-up pen" (I guess that's why they include the marker). As far as assembly, it took 2 of us about 3 hours to put it together. Most of the instructions were understandable. The hardest part was placing the "adjustable brackets" in the right spot. We wouldn't find out if the bracket was in the right position until we were putting all the pieces together. When they didn't fit, then we had to unscrew the brackets and reposition them and try again.
Overall, we're happy with the bookshelf.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

These bookcases look great.

02/20/2014
By ,
Prineville, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I are building a small library for our den. We purchased the Sauder Heritage Hill series. For laminated particle board they look great. You can't tell they are not solid cherry wood once you have them put together. They seem to be very sturdy.
It took us about 2 and a half hours to put the first one together. We took our time and followed the instructions step by step. We did find ourselves rereading the instructions a time or two but got through the process We are not mechanically inclined but if we can put them together anyone should be able to do so. All you need is a small hammer and a #2 phillips screwdriver. I would recommend getting a long shafted phillips screwdriver as it make it easier to screw in the "hidden screws." The bookcase includes a pen to help hide scratches. We had one small scratch and the pen worked great. Can't even see the scratch.
The price is very reasonable for the bookcases. I would go as far as saying you get more than what you paid for and they are made in the USA.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

A very good bookcase for the price

11/02/2013
By ,
Snellville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Like most (or all?) Sauder products this unit requires assembly. And, it will take time to assemble it. It took me about 3 hours to assemble. However, the unit looks good with it's dark cherry finish and it looks nice in my home office. One thing you definitely need to do is to read the entire set of instructions first, and then come back and determine what they are trying to tell you as you go through each individual step. I found that I could actually assemble things in a slightly different order which made it easier, especially when it came to the triangular screw blocks holding everything together. If I had complaints they would be 1) the screws seem to easily strip the trim material when applying the front trim panels, and 2) the back (laminated cardboard) needs to be flattened for a day or so, so that it will lie flat against the back of the unit. However, overall the unit would get about 4 -4 1/2 on a scale of 5 when considering price, features, etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Nice Look for a Home Office

08/18/2014
By ,
Aledo, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have five of these bookshelves that line the wall of my home office. Their price was much less than others to which I compared and the "Cherry" color is very warm and attractive; the top crown molding trim gives the look of a more expensive furnishing. I also chose these because there are other matching pieces in this collection that I can add in the future, as my budget allows.
These bookshelves were relatively easy to assemble and have held up very well. They are not so soft that they ding and dent sitting them upright, but will knick (not to worry: they come with a touch-up marker). I would recommend using the enclosed wall brackets to brace them to the wall stud (as you should with any tall bookcase or furnishing), as it does steady the top, especially when on carpet.
Definitely worth the money and a good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Not Pleased

04/17/2009
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product looked very nice as I was putting it together and did not come with any nicks. It was very well packaged. However, the cardboard backing to the bookshelf is actually a tri-fold, so it is really obvious that it isn't made of the same material and makes the product look alot cheaper. Once I have books on the shelves that won't be obvious, though. However, all of the edges to the shelves are too short. At first I thought it was just a mistake, but I ordered 2 of these bookshelves and all 8 were 2 short. I just decided not to attach the front edge on the adjustable shelves and no one will know the difference. However, the permanent shelf...there is nothing I can do. I didn't feel like going through the pain of boxing the whole thing back up and returning, so I am just hoping it isn't that obvious to people that are walking into the room.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Look at all of the pictures first

08/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit was a little frustrating to put together. I had read the other reviews that said it took 3 hours. They were right, but didn't mention that sometimes the pictures aren't that clear and when you get to a later step you'll learn you put something on the wrong way and will have to re-do it. I bought 4 of these units and now that I know how the first one went together I am anticipating the next three will go much faster. It looks really nice in my office, I am very happy with it. If I had it to do all over again I'd read through the whole book first to get a better idea of how things are supposed to look and then start building. There are a LOT of screws so a mechanical screwdriver would be a good idea as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Overall good bookshelf - made some enhancements

12/17/2013
By ,
Lancaster, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall the bookshelves are great (ordered two along with 1 that has the doors on the bottom two shelves. BUT like everyone else the backing is horrible however I came up with an awesome idea that makes these look much better.
I went to my Home Improvement center and bought Unfinished Wood Wall Panels (they are thin tongue and groove panels typically used on walls). I also bought some minwax stain (Red Mahogany). It doesn't match exactly but its close enough to work. I stained and polyurethaned the panels and installed them on the back of the bookshelves. This makes the bookshelves look 100% better than the tri-fold cardboard that is provided. Some small nails (about 3/4 inch# will work just fine.
If you can't stand the cardboard back, this will resolve your issue. However you need a tablesaw to rip the final piece to fit on the back #or a circular saw).
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Nice Product

08/04/2014
By ,
Warwick, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've purchased Sauder brand many times before, so I knew that this was particle board with a laminate. Product has gotten even better---very nice looking!
Directions leave much to be desired. Words that should be emphasized were in lower case---should have been bold and capitalized, so I ended up putting one of the shelves upside down. Plus the only parts that were labeled were the two long sides and the shelves. It just added more time because you need to identify the parts and separate them to keep them in order.
It took much longer to assemble than I expected. I thought the reviews were exaggerated, but I was wrong. Because I've assembled this type of furniture before, I assumed that it would take 1 to 1 1/2 hours. Boy, was I wrong! Took 3 hours---very intricate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Nice bookcase, but tricky assemble

06/09/2014
By ,
boston
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've assembled a fair amount of furniture and always like Sauder. However this one is trickier than most. There are a lot of trim pieces that need to line up and are hard to get right.
I also don't like the "hidden screws." All furniture I've assembled recently has "locking cams" instead. But it looks good and feels solid.
Here are a few assembly tips:
*Do not fully tighten trim pieces until the whole unit is assembled. At that point you'll see where things don't line up and can nudge them before tightening.
*When it tells you to use the top and bottom horizontal trim as spaces, also use the middle trim piece as a spacer to avoid not leaving enough room between the vertical trim pieces.
*When it tells you to attach 12 angle brackets, only do 10...leaving the bottom one on each side for later. This will allow you to use the bottom trim as a spacer as the directions suggest.
*Put a quarter inch book between the floor and the side trim pieces as you attaching them to the angle brackets. The instructions tell you to leave a quarter inch gap, so a thin book works well. You'll still have to some realignment when finished, but this will make it close.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Excellent product, price & service

07/22/2013
By ,
Portland OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product met my expectations. The cardboard backboard is the only real downside, but it still looks good. Overall the design and quality is very good for the price.
The bookcase is flat packed and the packing is superb. the book case parts of packed & padded with polystyrene to ensure parts don't move inside the cardboard case (it would be useful to have another thin layer next to the thicker boards as a couple very minor blemishes from rubbing surfaces during handling/travel - the marker pen included conceals it very well). In addition to the cardboard box, all ends and side edges are covered by a heavy duty angle cardboard, then the whole lot is vacuum packed. This is one of the best examples of packing I have seen for componentry furniture and it works exceptionally well. Full marks!!
In addition, Walmart delivered ahead of schedule.
I purchased two bookcases and will likely buy another from Walmart as the product & service were great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

awesome

08/24/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's more difficult to set up than other but it seems much more sturdy. We bought both the 5 shelf and the library shelf and they look great together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Looks great

08/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looks great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Nightmare to assemble!

03/31/2009
By ,
Alabama
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bookcase was literally a nightmare to assemble, and this wasn't my first time buying Sauder furniture! I have never had trouble assembling furniture before, even by myself. This bookcase was a different story. My husband and I worked together on this bookcase for 3 days, often times getting so mad we had to come back later and try again. If you follow the directions step-by-step, that only makes it worse. You are asked to used peices of the bookcase as "spacers" during assembly, but if you are off even one tiny bit, the whole thing will not go together and you have to take it apart and start all over.
We bought two of these bookcases, so fortunately when we started the second one, we knew better than to follow the directions given by Sauder. The second bookcase only took us 30 minutes.
The overall appearance is pretty good. I wish it would stand up and be sturdy without the cardboard backing, because it looks much better without it.
Overall..
I don't think this bookcase is worth what we paid for it!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Heritage Hill 5-Shelf Library Bookcase, Cherry

Love this collection. Sturdy and lovely.

08/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Already have 2 bookcases and the desk. Great looking, easy to assemble and not expensive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 186 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next