Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for AT&T AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

AT&T AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

The AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone combines the convenience of GoPhone prepaid service with the power of the Android operating system. This OS delivers fast and reliable performance to enjoy online multimedia contents like movies, video chat, and more. The 3.5" touchscreen provides stunning resolution to view photos, videos, and much more. It also makes for easy navigation. This 3.5" Touchscreen Cell Phone features a built-in GPS that help you find the locations and directions you need to reach. With the 5 MP autofocus camera, you can capture photos and record videos in HD quality. The 3G technology allows you to do live video chats with your friends and family. This prepaid 3G cell phone has USB connectivity to transfer multimedia files from PC. Other versatile features of this AT&T cell phone are Bluetooth V. 2.1 wireless connectivity, ring back tones, and predictive text. This AT&T black cell phone supports microSD cards up to 32GB for your convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.771 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(105 Reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
29
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
13
Customer Recommendation73%74 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
29
3 stars
12
2 stars
8
1 star
13
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black
11/28/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice phone has enerything i need but for the price im better of buying a phone with a contract
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-145points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Boston, MA
@rodjam
Posted 01/13/2012
You think price is too high for the phone thus you want to buy a contract phone. Do the math before you express an opinion. Let's use the following as an example. Just for comparative purposes....Let's use $100/month for the average for a 2 year contract phone...$100 x 24 months=$2,400. Now let's compare that to AT&T go phone unlimited monthly plan for talk, text and data for $50/month. Let's assume that you keep this go phone for 24 months. $50 x 24 months=$1,200. Clearly the AT&T Avail Android GoPhone is a much better value with NO CONTRACT.
+5points
Customer Avatar
NW Indiana
why is contract cheaper?
Posted 12/26/2011
Are you using the phone for calling only, in remote areas? Or are you using the data, maybe texts and calling.. just curious. Maybe I am missing something.
0points
Customer Avatar
wv
to those who bought this phone
Posted 12/22/2011
do you still love it at this time i'm with straight talk and not impressed with the phone i have.
+1point
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 2 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

AT&T Z990 Avail GoPhone

12/28/2011
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this phone...
Pros: Touch screen, 5mp auto-focus camera with video capability, bluetooth, feels durable. With wi-fi on you can connect to the internet through your home wi-fi connection at no extra charge. With the included 2GB microSD card we were able to connect the phone to the computer and download music and pictures to the sd card. This was a replacement phone for our goPhone service. Put our old sim card in this phone - thats it!
Cons: Battery drains fast with wi-fi activated. Save the battery life by turning off the wi-fi when not in use. Other phones we looked at were a bit cheaper, but none had the 5mp camera.
Very happy with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+244points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
QUESTION
Posted 10/04/2012
Do you need to buy a extra data package for it
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black
12/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got this phone and it is outstanding. It does more than expected. It has and does twice of what the AT&T fusion has. For the price and what it does it cant be beat
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+103points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
tomball,tx
question
Posted 08/21/2012
hi does at&t charge you for when you are not using the phone? ..
0points
Customer Avatar
Can anyone tell me
Posted 06/13/2012
What prepaid card do you have to have for this particular phone? $30? $35? $50?
Thanks!!!!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Palestine
Love this Phone
Posted 03/20/2012
I've had my Avail a little less than a month now and this is my first smartphone and I'm finding that this phone is very easy to use. I haven't had any problems with it. I love this phone. I looked at lots of different phones before I bought this one and I am so glad I went with the Avail. I wanted a great phone that didn't cost a lot and this is it. It is great.
+1point
Customer Avatar
GA
Question
Posted 02/03/2012
You wrote on your review "It has and does twice of what the AT&T fusion has..." can you please elaborate on that? I have the fusion now, but am wondering if I should 'upgrade' to the Avail.
Crystal
+2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 4 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

FANTASTIC Phone...

01/11/2012
By ,
Somerset, Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did some looking b4 I made a final decision looked at alot of different phones, even looked at the att&t fusion, but after reading the reviews on this phone, it made up my mind that and seeing one at the AT&T store being able to hold it in my hand and see it. The screen is a Very Nice Size at 3.5" don't have to strain your eyes to see things on it. It has the GPS which is GREAT, and all the feature's of that I had as a long time AT&T Customer under contract, but w/this phone IF you have AT&T and want to switch to pre-paid they can do that for you with NO CONNECTION FEE, Loved that part to. I had an HTC phone but to get it on the pre-paid plan AT&T wanted a bunch of money to do that, but with this phone..it's just $50 a month an You get Unlimited Talk, Unlimited Text, and Unlimited Data.
I'd recommend this phone to ANYONE and EVERYONE that wants a Cell phone but DON'T want a Contract...IT'S AWESOME!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+227points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
49601
Data coverage for the Avail Prepaid gophone.
Posted 02/15/2012
I was on the phone today with an at&t Rep. He said we have an option to activate the Device as a not smartphone, and we can get the same unlimmited everything as a regular handset. Idk though if you would still have the wifi feature. I'm thinking not though.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Henning, TN
Games
Posted 02/07/2012
Can you play games on this phone? Also do you need any other monthly plan besides the 50.00 card
0points
Customer Avatar
Posted 01/15/2012
Data is not unlimited for smart phones. You have to buy a data pack, or just use wifi, in addition to the $50/month. Ulmtd data only on feature phones!
+2points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

Good phone for price

01/21/2012
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good phone for the price. There are a few things that could be different, but overall it is nice. One thing that I wish were different is the 3G data on/off option. You have to go through settings to switch it on/off. It should be a shortcut you could put on your screen. Not enough of an issue to not purchase the phone. The battery charges very quickly, but it also drains quickly unless you shut down a lot of the apps. It does have the swype keyboard as well as talk-to-text, so that is a nice feature. No designated camera button and no camera flash. There are 7 home screens to personalize. Overall, the phone is worth the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 6 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black
01/22/2012
By ,
Atlanta, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Omg! I am so pleased with this phone! I have always been pretty big on having the best contracted phones. But... $$ is tight with me having a family of my own right now, so I can not afford flashy phones anymore! So my husband talked me into getting a pre-paid phone. I am so GLAD that I did and choose this model as my first. It has the android market, swype keyboard, touch screen, rubberize backing for better phone damage protection, call record, block call options, user friendly and more. I love this phone and the price. This phone does the same things as those pricey phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+141points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Question
Posted 07/16/2012
Does this Android allow you to download apps like contract androids do? I.e. instagram?
0points
Customer Avatar
Blairsville, Ga
AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black
Posted 02/21/2012
This phone is amazing ! Android OS Latest Gingerbread 2.3.4 Nice camera, Graphics are crystal clear. USB to PC is great for transfer's of apps and files to phone. Battery last for hours of constant use. I listen to music with this phone more than I do my ipod. Plus add some data and surf the web on the go. Again, great phone. You want be disappointed !
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black
01/23/2012
By ,
seymour indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this phone is a good deal for the price i use wifi at home to use the web and it still uses up my data plan witch i dont understand and it seems impossible to get ringtones i had to use an app on the phone called ringtone maker cause i couldnt find anything on the phone to be able to buy a ringtone and sometimes it seems like the phone just freezes and doesnt want to work also if you hjave to call customer service you cant understand anything they say
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
west monroe
Data drain
Posted 06/05/2012
You have to manually go into your settings and disable your data, I have a Samsung Captivate on a prepaid plan and i have to do the same thing. You do that and you should no longer have any problems with the "data monster" eating it up :)
+1point
Customer Avatar
Missouri
Posted 02/01/2012
You can get ringtones from Zedge in the market. HTH
0points
Customer Avatar
Mansfield
??
Posted 01/24/2012
can u add signatures to text??
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 8 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

Great smartphone for the price

01/28/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This isn't as fancy as the 4G phones out there but I am perfectly happy with this android phone. It does everything I want it too...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 9 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

ZTE AVAIL

02/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does everything the more expensive adroid phone does. Runs on Android 2.3.4 Gingerbread. I like how it's smaller and lighter than the other phones. No contract needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+17points
Review 10 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

My first smart phone!!!

02/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG... I absolutly love this phone. It like a mini computer. I researched all phones for pre-piad and this one had the best ratings by far...I absolutly love this phone.. takes awesome pics as well.
I am so glad I chose this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+27points
Review 11 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

Great intro smart phone

02/10/2012
By ,
Bastrop, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having lost my blackberry to a fall, I began the search for a replacement smartphone. I use the AT&T prepay, and wanted apps for document storage and a few 3G functions. I didn't want high data charges, having a home wifi that access was also important to me. After searching higher priced phones with more features, this fit the bill. Other reviews gave a good picture of it's capabilities and they have all been correct. The one negative was battery life. I am not a full time talker but was finding a charge barely lasting a day. The solution is to get one of the battery saver apps. I got JuiceDefender and have had great results, often going 2+ days with limited phone activity between charging. Be sure to check it out.
I like the landscape keys for entry, one of the reasons I didn't go back to the BB, along with the price. Overall, a great little droid phone so far, about 3 weeks into use. Also, get the extended coverage for piece of mind, include accidental dunking, it happens.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 12 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

Great phone for the price

02/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was looking for a basic smart phone with a low cost plan, found it!
Takes pics, makes calls, sends text, wifi interface....new to Android so it takes some time getting use to it, but all over a great phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 13 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black
02/10/2012
By ,
Grand Rapids, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking around and studying the many different cellular telephones I have found that this one gives you the most features for the price. I have only had it for approximately two weeks but since that time it has worked flawlessly. I have been able to load the various programs that I needed – such as for my credit union account. I have been able to load a distinctive ringtone on it. The camera has taken good pictures.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 14 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

Good, Basic Smart Phone-Moderately Priced

02/11/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased two weeks ago to replace a Land Line Phone in a outlying area near St. Louis. AT&T service is very good and I wanted reasonably priced phone service as I am near retirement. The Z990 has very competitive features with the top cell phones in this market. Voice calls are clear, but without excessive volume. The battery life is not as long as expected but a download of a battery saving app from market extends the useful life by 8-10 hours usually re-charging every two days. The camera is overrated but this is a phone, not a camera. Access to very useful apps is a positive and g-mail is wonderful as is SMS Texting sometimes my only way to reach my mid-20's adult daughter. Will respond after 6 months to verify longer term usability. Currently very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 15 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

Wonderful phone

02/11/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first smart phone, and I am pleased. The phone is intuitive and easy to learn. It has a soft rubber backing which makes damage less likely. The 5 MP camera and video are great. Images are very clear. It has GPS, and can help you find anything nearby through Places or the YP app. It gives spoken directions using GPS! I find myself using the phone for things I would have used the computer or Garmin for before. Oh, and phone reception is clear and there is call fowarding and all of that. I use wi-fi at home, and gmail instead of texting, and have been able to get by with about $25 per month using the 10 cents/minute and $15 data plan. Love it! My daughters with their contract phones are jealous.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 16 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

It's cheap and and cool!

02/21/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really liked this phone but sometimes the phone freezes or the battery runs out really quickly when I don't touch it for few hours. Overall, it's pretty a decent phone for a great price and it's an android.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black
02/22/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The only thing I can think of that I don't really like is that all of the ports to plug things in to it (hole for headphones, charger, etc.) don't close or have any kind of protection when not in use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 18 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

ALL U NEED AT A VERY LOW ANDROID PRICE!!!

02/22/2012
By ,
Arlington,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because I am a writer I do a lot of research on subjects..So when it came down to smartphone shopping for a great deal at a low price..I found that the AVAIL was the best buy for anyone who wants a android 3G phone..I had no problems with the set-up & since I was already a GO-PHONE customer I got 2 keep my number..Phone looks & feels great as is..Sound is PURE & the screen is big & bright..Everything feels great..I have been with AT&T 4 almost 7 years & never had a problem with drop calls or bad reception & I still don't..With the AVAIL unlike the FUSION you get a free car charger..So not only do u get a better phone u get a free accessory..I have already told my brother & mother 2 get 1..Especially since it's NO CONTRACT & u can purchase the data that u need anytime u need it..Walmart gives u 15 days 2 return the product..3 days if u want 2 purchase the $20 18 month warranty..If u are use 2 4G or Iphones..I suggest u stay with them if u overuse your phone with them 4 it may be a downgrade but u cannot beat this deal if u tried..Now since I have a landline & a home PC..This works 4 me & will work 4 others as well even if u don't..Get rid of your contract & FREE YOURSELF WITH THE AVAIL..Hope that helped because reviews helped me A LOT..=-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Review 19 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

Great Phone, Poor Battery

02/26/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This phone is great! I can't afford a full contract smartphone so this is the perfect alternative. I usually don't talk much on my phone, I like to text more. If this is like you, this phone would be perfect for you. I am on the $25 plan, 250 min. and unlimited min. so it's a great value for your money. The only bad part is the battery life. It's just plain bad! I've only had it for about 2 days and only used it for texting and I've run the battery to its death before the end of the day. You definitely need a car charger or an extra battery on hand all the time with this phone. Other than that, I love it. It's got a great texting feature, the speak and text capability that may be old news to some but it's new for me! I love being able to speak my texts and not worry about typing them out. Makes me get it done much faster.
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
MS
Pre paid
Posted 07/26/2012
If you a wifi on your home computer and use the prepaid plan for the cell phone does it take away your minutes if you enter your pc code in the phone ? I am new to this,hope someone can answer this for me.
0points
some ideas
Posted 02/27/2012
Turn off these features:
Bluetooth
Wifi(unless you are using it)
Auto Screen Brightness
Vibrate(unless needed)
Do not use a live wallpaper as that is a HUGE battery killer.
Using an app killer would be a great idea too. Getting rid of those unwanted running apps.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for AT&T Z990 Avail Prepaid Android GoPhone, Black

Think before you purchase

02/28/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this phone for 10 days now. It has taken some getting used to. The thing I don't like about this phone is the lack of accessories. I can't find a case or a screen guard and I like to take care of my phones so they last a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Near Austin, Texas
I found plenty of accessories..
Posted 06/08/2012
online.
0points
Customer Avatar
MICH
where to buy a case
Posted 04/22/2012
you can buy a 2 piece snap on case for less than $20.00 on sale a month ago for $9.95
in several colors at talkietech.com
+1point
Customer Avatar
oklahoma
phone cases
Posted 03/21/2012
I bought this phone a couple weeks ago and at frist was frusterated about the lack of accessories, BUT, check out Ebay, they have cases and screen covers.
+1point
Screen Protectors/Cases are available...
Posted 02/29/2012
Grab yourself a universal screen protector available in any walmart in the electronics department.
As for cases, search on ebay or amazon. I am sure you can find some. There is also another ZTE phone(phone is branded AT&T, but made by ZTE) that fits this phone perfectly.
+2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
1-20 of 97 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next