Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Catalina Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Catalina Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Get swimwear that's fun and flattering with this Suddenly Slim by Catalina women's shirred halter swimsuit. Made with a nylon-spandex blend and lined in polyester, this one-piece bathing suit is a smart addition to your swimming wardrobe. Designed long for modest thigh coverage, this retro-style swim suit is a complete bathing ensemble. With an elasticized fit on the waist, you can move comfortably and without self-consciousness. The shirred sweetheart neckline and halter style straps provide this swimsuit's characteristic feminine silhouette.
Average Customer Rating:
4.569 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(102 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation99%101 out of 102reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
68
4 stars
27
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Lots of compliments

12/21/2012
By ,
Riverside, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The halter top is different and cute; easy to slide over head without untying the halter. I got a medium and it fits nicely (I'm 166 lbs.) and wear size 16 in most clothing. The order came quickly. I would recommend this swimsuit to friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 2 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Amazing suit for young/thin people too!

07/20/2012
By ,
State College, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a ton of reviews for the other "Suddenly Slim" swimsuits before choosing to order this one. A lot of the reviews were from larger sizes or previously pregnant ladies. I, being 18 and scrawny, became a little worried that it would look too much like a older woman's suit. In addition to that, I was worried it would be too short or too loose, seeings how I have an extremely long torso (I'm 5'9") and am thin (waist is probably about 26in) with a smaller chest (I wear a 32B bra). However, to save me from my scrawny and petite features is my caboose, which is pretty big for my body type.
I went ahead and rush-delivered a size small so I could get it while still at the beach. I eagerly awaited its arrival. When it finally came, I was ecstatic; it fit perfectly. The halter was great because I could adjust it to the right tightness to keep me feeling covered and supported. The length was the best a one piece has ever been on me and neither sits too low or too high.
The only slightly disappointing thing was that if you lean down with your shoulders slumped forward, the top becomes a little loose. But, even doing that, the padding covers up the important parts. This suit does not have push up padding and the halter only helps a bit, so if you're uncomfortable with your smaller-sized chest and want to push it up, this probably isn't the suit for you. This swimsuit accents curves (mostly waist, hips, and butt) so in my opinion, even if you're smaller chested (like me), your chest is not the focus point. I've pretty much come to realize that I have a little chest and that will never change, so I might as well show off my waist and caboose, which this suit accents lovely.
With the incredible quality, style, and value, this suit exceeded my expectations. I absolutely love vintage fashion and the idea of a curvy woman. I'm very, very happy with my purchase. Definitely try it; if it doesn't work out, you can always return it!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+33points
Review 3 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Nice suit, but runs big

07/18/2012
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this suit in the red with whit polka dots. I was so in love with this suit online. I took a chance and ordered a suit online, which scared me because different brands of swimsuits fit differently. But with the inexpensive shipping cost, and the ability to return to any Walmart store, I took a chance. I ordered the size small: Measurements (32-26-32). It was huge on me. :( The built in cups were huge on me, the bottom drooped and it was just overall too big. I was so disappointed. I would love to of had the option to try the suit in an x-small, but that isn't offered. I'm very tiny, so I would say if you are small busted and have skinny legs and a little behind, even the small is going to be too big. Sigh...very disappointed it didn't fit, but really loved the style and quality of this suit!! Bye if you are average to larger size. I will be returning it, unfortunately, and ordering a suit from anothe website where the suits are similiar in style, but run smaller, but also costs 3 times as much. So sad.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Review 4 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Great Retro Suit!

08/18/2012
By ,
Lynn, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a rather hefty sized young woman who still tries to wear stylish clothing, I have learned to be weary at tags that say "Slimming!" or "Looks great on all sizes" or whatnot. This bathing suit, however is true to those tags!After first trying it on, my first word was, "..GROOVY!". I have a big tummy, and while only fruits, veggies and running shoes can change that, this suit doesn't hide it, it just flatters it. It isn't grossly revealing and it isn't too conservative. It honestly is the best bathing suit I have ever purchased...and the least expensive. I love the retro flare of it too. All in all its a pretty rockin suit. You should get one : )
Peace
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Review 5 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Red and white polka dot suit

07/20/2012
By ,
Redding, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The suit does run a little bigger than most, but I have a larger bust and bottom than average, so it fit me well. The style is really retro and fashionable, while still being modest and really reasonably priced. Good job on this one, Wal-Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Review 6 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit
07/25/2012
By ,
Tooele, Utah
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love the retro look and also need a little extra support in the tummy area. (I've had 4 kids) So I took a chance and ordered this suit online as I could not find it in store. Got the suit, TOO BIG! I have a large chest and am about a size 13/14 so I thought a large would work...NOPE should have ordered a medium. The other problem is that it states "Firm control" SO NOT FIRM CONTROL!! not any more than a normal swimsuit. The ruching hides the look of the belly in the front but there is NO side or back support. Also, the built in bra does nothing for support either. The tie top is great to hold up the suit and I really love the style. Wish I could order a medium but they are out of stock! I will have to return :( no more online shopping for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 7 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Sizing issues

08/07/2012
By ,
Orlando, Fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bathing suit a few months ago in a plus size 1X and it started feeling loose so i said let me buy a new one so i figured i go down a size with the XL but the XL was bigger than the 1X and then i tried the large but the black dot one was still big and the red dot one felt a little better so now i am ordering the medium ones and give those a shot i will also add i am 5ft and 195lbs and alot more of me is in my tummy i usually wear a size 1X or XL in tops in jeans i am a 14 to 16 so ladies it does run big Hope this review helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+4points
Review 8 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Best Bathingsuit Ever!!

02/13/2013
By ,
Sonora, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read almost all the reviews before purchasing this bathingsuit. I had never ordered one online, and I wanted to make sure that the sizing and style was true to its form. I am almost 5'6 and 177 lbs. I have lost about 33 pounds, and I feel that after 20 years, I am ready to be comfortable in a bathingsuit. I loved this style because it is modest with the front leg covering, vintage style, and also flattering for the bust area. I ordered a Large, and it fit perfectly. I am completely content with the price, the quickness of the shipping, and everything about this purchase. Some complained about the back area, and I have no problem with the back area. My husband said it looks great on me, and I am very proud to wear it, especially being a mommy now! Hope this helps. I would say the sizing is a bit larger than what you are used to, like the rest of the reviews. So, if you are an ex large, then I would order a large. Hope this helps!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 9 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Yesssss :)

10/20/2012
By ,
St Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a swimsuit that fits me perfectly! I'm 5'3, weigh 165 and a 40D bra size. I bought this in size Large and fits me perfectly. Gives a lot of support for the chest area and has great coverage all around. Can't wait to wear it to the Dominican Republic in January.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Review 10 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit
08/07/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this suit! It does run a little on the large size, so order a size down from what you would usually get. I've seen other bathing suits of this style for almost $90, so when I found this deal I jumped on it! I was a little worried about ordering online, because I couldn't try it on, but it fits like a glove! I have a large chest and the cups give perfect support. I have already told several friends about this and at least one friend has already ordered her own.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Review 11 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit
07/26/2012
By ,
michigan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this swimming suit several months ago in the red and it was absolutely fantastic, so when they got more of it in black and white I ordered it right away because I knew it would be out of stock so quick, but I was terribly disappointed. While the suit is still somewhat flattering it is NOT the same as the first batch from earlier in the season. The red one I have is all one solid piece of suit, on this one the front is separated from the suit, kind of like a swim dress, and I did not think it had nearly as much control for tummies (which is my major trouble area). This is definitely going back, I am really bummed. However, if you are just looking for a cute suit and don't need a lot of tummy control this would probably be great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Overall Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Styling
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 12 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Super cute, even for larger women

01/04/2013
By ,
Pennsylvania
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This looked really cute on the website, so I ordered it for an upcoming cruise. I was very pleasantly surprised to find out it looks just as cute on as it does in the pictures. I'm not a small women (I wear between size 12 and 14) and am very pear shaped. I ordered a size large. This suit made me feel good. It helps slim my middle and hid the cellulite in my upper thighs, without being uncomfortably tight. I am a C cup, and it fit great in the chest. There are built in foam cups, but no under wire, so if you have a larger chest you might find it doesn't have enough support. Conversely, if you have a smaller chest, the elastic in the back might be loose on you. I'm very tempted to order this in the other colors.
I haven't actually gone swimming in it yet, but the quality seems good. It looks as if it should hold up well, especially since I plan to mostly sun bathe in it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 13 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Really Cute Swimsuit

10/02/2012
By ,
Reno, Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makes you look 10 pounds lighter. My husband said I look sexy in this swimsuit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Styling
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 14 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Best swimsuit EVER!!!

07/31/2012
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have spent the majority of my life in a bikini. When I decided to have children, I wanted to start wearing a more modest suit, plus I didn't want to show everyone my stretchmarks. I tried on Tankinis as well as other one piece suits. I was never comfortable or confident. I discovered this suit last year in leopard, it was available in the stores at the time so I tried it on, and fell in LOVE~! I felt sexy and confident, and had never received more compliments in my life! Once I saw that it was available in the black with dots I had to have it! This suit was sold out for months!! I have been waiting for it to be available since March!!! I just purchased it last week along with the Teal!! Once the purple is back, I will order that too!! You will not be disappointed in making this purchase! The quality of the suit is amazing. A must have for the summer!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Too goooood!!!

01/09/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My only fear in writing this review is that everyone will purchase this same suit ;) I HATE shopping for bathing suits--after having 4 boys I am always looking for the best tummy control I can find. This is BY FAR the most comfortable I have felt in years while in a bathing suit. The halter straps can be tied as tight as needed and help conceal the dreaded arm-pit fat :) I think it runs just a smidge Large? I called me best friend begging her to buy the red one and she loves it too! THANKS WALMART!!! I would pay twice what I did for this confidence boosting suit!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 16 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Va-Va-Voom, Marilyn Monroe style.

07/22/2012
By ,
Chesapeake, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just can't say enough about this swimsuit. Let me start by saying I'm a "real" woman, with a chest and baby-bearing hips. I NEVER thought I would look good in a red swimsuit, much less good enough to buy one. On top of needing 2 sizes smaller than I expected (I figured I'd need around a 2X - a regular XL fit perfectly!), the length is awesome...I usually end up pulling a one-piece either up or down, and I don't have a long torso at all. This hides what needs to be hidden, and accentuates everything else!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 17 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Best bathing suit ever! But runs much larger

08/14/2012
By ,
Seattle WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have tried on every kind of bathing suit out there. None are as flattering as this! Or as cute. The style is perfect for me and it hides everything I want it to. I am 5 ft 5, 190 lbs, and according to the sizing chart, should be an XL. This was too big for me. Hopefully the next size down will be perfect! There wasn't enough support in the bust area, but the way it's cut, it still looks great. My bottom, which is cuvy, looks great, tummy...perfect, very flattering cut! I am so excited to have found this gem. I WILL reccomend this to my friends!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Review 18 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Best Swimsuit!

09/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was nervous to buy a swimsuit online without trying it on, but after reading other reviews I was convinced to try it. (Cheap shipping + easy to return to Walmart, if needed.)
I have never found a swimsuit that I felt confident in, until this one. It is so cute and flattering.
I ordered the Small and it fits perfectly. (I'm 5'4 1/2", 125 lbs, 36A bra size, in case this helps.)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 19 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Pleased and dissaponted.....

08/13/2012
By ,
nj
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was soooo excited to get this and now that i have it im happy, but not totally. Its really cute and it fulfills 3 of my main needs very well. i am currently 5'7 143 lbs w size D cups because im nursing and a buddah belly from two kids and not losing all the second baby weight (i suspect some of it will never leave lol#
Ok so i orderd a medium based on many reviews #check out the solid colr it has 700 reviews its the same style) it fits my boobs to a t! No side boob no boob spillage altho it is a littley revealing. It also covers up my butt so i most likely wont have a wedgie. BUT the tummy part is not tight at all. it doesnt suck in a thing. sooo dissapointed. Its like you have to have a huge stomach issue for this to do anything. In general though its cute and i like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 20 for Catalina Suddenly Slim Women's Shirred Halter Swimsuit

Beautiful Vintage Swimsuit for the Price

01/22/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had set my mind on finding a pin up style bathingsuit and after doing some online searching they ranged from $50 to $85!!! on websites that at times didn't give me the security I would like from an online purchase.
Im a 34D 26 waist and 35hips. I ordered a small. The bathing suit fits amazing. Its super sexy but super comfortable. Being big in the chest area I would of liked maybe an underlined wire for extra support but I love the thick straps, usually the thinner straps dig into my neck and leave a red mark which after a while is painful to bear. The mid area keeps your midsection super tucked in and the bottom boy short style lifts your tush adding fullness to your behind. Looking forward to wearing it this summer. Hope this helps you decide!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fit Accuracy
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Styling
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
1-20 of 81 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next