Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kobo Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kobo Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

Here's good news to all those book lovers. With a store of 2.5 million books, including more than a million free, the Kobo VOX Tablet is sure to satisfy your thirst for books. This Kobo VOX 7 eBook Tablet with Android OS 2.3 and built-in Wi-Fi takes reading books to a whole new level. With the Kobo's open platform, you can read your books on any open device you like. Slip this lightweight compact tablet into your pocket or handbag and read when you are traveling, waiting for an appointment, anytime anywhere. The seven-inch color touchscreen of this tablet features a wide viewing angle that ensures comfortable reading. Connect to the internet using the Wi-Fi and browse the web or play your favorite games. This tablet with Android 2.3 is worth your money.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation94%17 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

Better than expected

03/15/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The KOBO VOX is an excellent e-reader. If you are looking for something to read KOBO books on, you can't go wrong w/this. However for the price I would have liked to see more bells and whistles. It does not compare to my wife’s (rhymes with dwindle). If you want a tablet, get a tablet!
Since I purchased it strictly for an e-reader, I am very pleased with the VOX, the OS and the unit’s performance.
I added a 16GB mini-SD for extra book storage, I have about 700 books now and I have still not used all the available space on the unit.
Set up was simple and did not take much time. Updates are painless. I can get about 8 or 9 hours out of the battery if I am reading, considerably less if I am connected to WIFI. It is portable, easy to operate and can download any/all Android apps (they take up considerable storage). The unit comes pre-loaded with several apps (most of which I had no interest in), they were easy to remove.
Overall, this is a good unit if you want a high end e-reader. If you want a tablet - buy a tablet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 2 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

Superb E-Reader and Good Tablet

01/17/2012
By ,
Nampa, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What you need to know:
1. The Vox was a gift for my wife who reads an average of 50 books a year.
2. After fully charging the Vox, I started and connected it to my wireless router. Almost immediately, the latest update was pushed to the Vox. The update reported failing indicating the Vox did not have sufficient memory to install the update. I did a full power off and started the unit up a second time. This time the update downloaded and installed normally.
3. After a solid week of use, my wife report the battery will last 7 hours as long as Wi-Fi is used sparingly or turned off. If used as a tablet, you can expect 4 to 5 hours depending on what you are doing (surfing the web, video, music, etc). She uses Airplane mode to disable Wi-Fi while reading.
4. The screen responds to tapping or touch more accurately than swiping. Since most of the time she is reading, typing emails, turning pages or selecting applications having to swipe a second time every now and then doesn’t bother her and she is satisfied with the screen’s responsiveness.
5. I read reviews that the Vox screen would bleed through white light on dark backgrounds. My wife’s Vox was manufactured mid-December 2011 as doesn’t exhibit any bleed-through issues.
6. My other area of concern was system performance. I own an HTC 7” tablet that is very fast. The Vox cost about 2/3 the price and performs nearly on par with my HTC and is actually better in displaying flash enabled websites.
7. I’ve installed the Kindle and Nook readers on the Vox and they work perfectly. With the native Kobo reader my wife can read essential all popular e-books currently on the market regardless of format. Prices and availability also vary between Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Kobo, so she feels she has the most flexible solution by not being tied to just one store.
8. My wife enjoys her Vox as an e-reader and in 10 days of use has had it slow down or lock up only once—a quick power off and on and all was good.
9. As a tablet, she thinks the 7” display is a little limiting and prefers her netbook for more serious web browsing. Email, music, watching videos and occasional web lookups (with pinch to zoom) are perfect on the Vox in her opinion.
10. Her only real qualm with the Vox is its middling battery life—not an issue if plugged in every other night. If Kobo builds a Vox 2 with 10 or more hours of battery life they will have a homerun on their hands.
11. Walmart’s New Year’s promotion of $168 + tax was the best price I could find and I like having a local store for returns if needed.
One tip my wife wanted me to add. The bookshelf doesn’t show new books purchased and with her extensive library it can be time consuming to scroll through the list of books. If you open a book it is displayed on the book widget (showing 5 books) on the home screen. So after buying her latest batch of books she simply opens each one before reading so they are always immediately available on the home screen when she starts up her Vox. She will be asking Kobo to add a new book sort option to their book shelf.
If you couldn’t tell from this review, my wife is extremely pleased with her Vox and also likes the reading statistics, awards and encouragement that the Kobo Vox provides. Such as: You have been reading for the last 4 hours and 35 minutes, I guess you don’t watch much TV. Keep reading to earn more rewards.
Thank you Kobo for a great e-reader!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+90points
Review 3 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

Great eReader

12/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Kobo Vox is a great eReader! I am so very pleased with it. It's a nice size and weight. Has a nice stylish look to it. Nice big, color screen. Not too expensive either. Worth the money. Useful for many things, even cooking in the kitchen! I use it for recipes and instructions. I'm looking forward to the free book a month club starting in Jan. Great gift for Christmas!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+60points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Akron
You might be confused
Posted 12/19/2011
When I was looking these up online, I'm pretty sure the book of the month club was with the Kobo Touch, not the Vox. You might want to double-check.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

the best value option

01/03/2012
By ,
St. Louis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In looking at the other color eReaders, I think this is the strongest one. Great with .PDFs and magazines. It has the read-to-you function, so really handy with kids books. Plus there's much better connectivity with Facebook for sharing reading stats. Bang for your buck I think this is best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 5 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

This thing stole my heart !!

10/11/2012
By ,
Reynoldsburg, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was on the fence about this one and had been looking around at some other popular e-readers. The more I looked onlline and read, the more I became confused, so I would just forget the whole thought of buying one all together. A few days would go by and I would look again and the same thing , I would just get overwhelmed. After reading the review from IDAHODEALSEEKER I was thinking , well, his wife seems to love it and it does everything I want it to do. So, I bought it because of his review and the fact that it is Pink AND Black. I opened it, charged it, turned it on and from the moment the thing turned on, it STOLE MY HEART.... I love it. I did not sit there and look at it and say, what the heck, how am I supposed to know what that is.... !!!!! It basically ran itself. I did not do much, then it connected, the library came up. The Google books was already loaded. I am not into things that take me forever to figure out. This is not one of them. Right out of the box and ready to go after charging. I have listened to my music, read some yummy recipes, looked at their library, downloaded my Google books , earned some achievements on the Reading app. I love this and have truly fallen in love with it. I also immediately ran outside in the sun to see if I could really read in bright sunlight. I could if I made the font bigger. I am sure there were other tweaks I could have made but it was good enough for me. If you are the kind of person that likes to get a good item for a low price. This is the item for you !!! The screen size is great, the touch screen is easy. I have a 10 inch tablet that drives me crazy with the touch screen. This spelled everything correctly without 5 other letters magically appearing out of nowhere .. ONLY thing that could make it better is a camera...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 6 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

absolutely lovemy kobo

07/16/2012
By ,
festus mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ive always wanted a kobo. and now i have one. it works great. it has apps and internet and a facebook link on the main screen. the battery lives a long time when wifi isnt on. i read for hours on it and it doesnt overheat.i love how the library can be set up to look just like a bookshelf. and everything else about it. oh it works off the android market for anyone wondering. and requires .epub format for books.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

Pretty decent eReader

12/11/2011
By ,
Toronto / New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had my Vox for a couple of weeks. I had some trouble when I first started it up, but I did the firmware update and found that fixed the lag. The Reading Life is a pretty cool feature. I'm looking forward to more graphic novels to be uploaded.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Review 8 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

versatile color ereader

02/29/2012
By ,
olathe, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love my kobo vox. Its a great little ereader that is also good for checking email and web surfing. In my opinion the advantages of a kobo are that you can install just about any other ereading app and the kobo reading life badges are just fun. The main disadvantage is the short battery life. The vox does not support pdf files like the kobo touch did, but there are 3rd party apps you can use for this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 9 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

Great Pruduct!

11/06/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to replace another brand of e-reader that finally died on me. WHAT A DEAL!!! I thought I was just getting an e-reader, but I basically got an iPad for hundreds less!! If you're looking for an e-reader, THIS is the one you should go with!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 10 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

Love it!!!

03/06/2012
By ,
Salem, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this Kobo! The wi fi allows me to reade any where any time and it allows me to check my email and facebook, hold all my contacts and even lets my txt.... Its small and compact and has a long battery life which is nice since Im on it all the time, I absolutly love this product!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

For more of an experienced user

03/05/2012
By ,
Sun Valley, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Little confusing at first. Said i can turn in on as soon as a got it but then read up on he internet said i neded to charge it for two hours before using it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

Good Choice

02/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like my Vox. As an eReader it works great. I just wish that Kobo would open up the Vox to the entire android market for apps instead of being directed to their own market with only thier choice apps. I needed the citrix receiver app to use my Vox to support my job, but it was not available. Other than that, I have no complaints. It's a great device.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

Great Christmas Gift

12/26/2012
By ,
Andalusia, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for Christmas yesterday and I am loving it. Now the hubby and I won't fight over the desk top, I can read in bed with out the light bothering him, and it is just plain fun to have! Thanks Santa!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 14 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)
04/25/2012
By ,
Gladstone MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love my Kobo Vox, but the price is a little too high, I was going to bring it back and get a nook but once I was able to connect to the wireless I decided to keep the Kobo Vox. I wish I had a choice of connecting to the internet to download the Kobo Vox by computer or wireless. They do not give you a choice on that which I thought they did but they do not. The product is good but not perfect. I like the reading choices on night/day reading .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

Another great Walmart value

03/02/2013
By ,
Jackson
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jumped on this Wed at the great sale price $99, and by Sat morn----out of stock. So glad I acted quickly. A slight issue initially downloading updates, but charge it up and be persistent.....great product! Glad my wife Vikki Lou got the last one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)

It didn't work right from the get go.

10/12/2012
By ,
Gloucester MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very disappointed after I charged my new Kobo and it did nothing but freeze up every time I tried to restart. I returned it for a Nook and I'm very happy with that product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Kobo Vox K080-KBO 7" eBook Tablet Android OS 2.3 (Assorted Colors)
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5