Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Clarity Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone

Clarity Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone

The XLC2 is a loud, simple and easy-to-use amplified cordless phone featuring up to 50 decibels of Digital Clarity Power amplification, DECT 6.0 technology and a loud and clear speakerphone. Large, high contrast buttons are easy to press and see and speak the numbers as they are dialed. There is no need for a Caller ID screen, the handset speaks the number of the incoming caller.
Average Customer Rating:
4.273 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation82%9 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 4 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone

Phone worked OK, with a caveat. See "My Review"

12/22/2012
By ,
Washington, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The telephone operated as advertised when we tested it at our home.
HOWEVER, when we installed it at my hard-of-hearing mother-in-law's home, it did not work well. There was a great deal of background "noise". Tech support first advised us to verify that the transmission line was analog, vs. digital. The phone only works in analog format. (A Radio Shack salesperson informed me that, even if the transmission line was digital (e.g., Fios), there is a box outside the house which would convert the signal to analog.) I confirmed that the transmission was in analog format. Back to the tech. support, who advised me that there must be a lot of interference (or noise) in the transmission line. The phone amplifies the noise as well as the speaker's voice. Makes sense. She advised me to get a DSL filter (Radio Shack - $14.95). I installed it and it did reduce the noise somewhat, but not enough to make the conversation easy to hear, even to the non-hard-of-hearing ear.
Unfortunately, I had to return the phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone

Perfect for hearing and sight impaired

05/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a phone for my father-in-law who is hard of hearing and legally blind that really works! His phone is his lifeline. It is loud and clear enough for him to hear well. The large speaking keypad is a wonderful feature for him. He was even able to program the speed dial by himself. He has a good memory and likes the talking caller ID because he recognizes the phone numbers. The standard AAA rechargeable batteries will make it easier to maintain.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone

Didn't even get it of the box...

06/03/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We bought this phone for my mother.She is 82,hard of hearing and bad eye sight. When we read that there was 3 steps she had to do for the speed dial feature. We knew she could not do a 3 step we needed a one button speed dial feature. . May be a really good phone we just couldn't use it. Thats why we couldn't recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone

Great phone for the elderly

03/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone for my grandparents (mainly for my grandfather who is heard of hearing and has very poor eyesight). The buttons are big enough for him to see and the ringer is loud enough for him to hear: I even had to turn down the ringer a bit. There are only 2 issues I have with the phone. 1. With the vocal caller ID, you have to wait until the number if finished being said in order to pick up the phone: otherwise the call can't be heard. This was not a big deal, however, because the feature can be disabled and my grandfather didn't want it on anyway. 2. The Memory button on the side should be a bit more distinctive. My grandfather uses speed dial often and has a problem locating where the memory button is due to his poor eyesight. Despite these two issues, the phone is great and I highly recommend it to anyone who is hard of hearing or has vision problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone

Clarity phone

07/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Mom is 93 yrs old and she could'nt even hear us shouting on a regular phone but she can hear with this one even when it's not even turned all the way up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone
02/20/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Nice phone and a nice option for hearing impaired; however, for hearing and vision impaired it's a bit difficult. It has too many features on the handset and there are too many small buttons near the "Talk" button. If the user has to go by feel and sight, then there will be an issue with pressing other buttons by accident. A cordless handset for the sight impaired should be no frills...dialing numbers and a on/off button and that is all! The taper design of the handset and keypad is also very awkward and confusing for a sight impaired individual working by feel...the spacing between the numbers varies and the placement of the numbers varies due to the tapered design. For hearing impaired and moderate visual impaired, it's great. However, if the user is more than moderate visual impaired, look for a better design.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
From ClarityCustomerSupport10/31/2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on the design and feature operation of our products. Clarity does manufacture various models of cordless and corded telephones designed to meet the various needs of our customers.clarityproducts
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone

Great basic / simple cordless phone!

01/03/2013
By ,
Palm Harbor, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift for my visually impaired father in law. He says that the large number layout / configuration makes dialing numbers much easier for him. The Talking Caller ID and Talking Dial Pad also make it much easier for him to know who's calling as well as what numbers he's dialing without having to squint at a tiny LCD screen. We both find the call quality to be very clear. There are additional sound quality features that I'm sure would enhance the experience for hearing impaired users. The handset is large, comfortable to hold and surprisingly light in weight.
The box lists one of the features as: "Large font and high contrast Caller ID screen with Talking Caller ID". It does have Talking Caller ID, but there isn't a "large font / high contrast" screen on THIS model. Probably a typo and he wouldn't see it anyways.
All in all...a great phone at a great price and serves its purpose quite well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone

Great phone. Finally I can actually hear.

12/05/2012
By ,
Colleton County
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Being hearing impaired, this phone provide volume and clarity. Should have bought one 2 years ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone
10/25/2012
By ,
Rocky Mount, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a super phone. Highly recommend to anybody with sight & hearing problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone

Great phone for the hard of hearing

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I liked this phone so much that this is the second phone I bought from Walmart1
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Clarity XLC2 Big Button Speakerphone
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5