Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

Within the compact thumbdrive style design of the RCA 4GB MP3 Player you will find a host of features to meet your needs. Complete with a detachable carrying clip this player is perfect for listening on the go. The flip-out USB connection allows for a simple PC connection and also allows you to use your player as a USB storage drive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.533 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation47%14 out of 30reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

Great MP3 value for the size of it

09/27/2012
By ,
Somerton, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an MP3 player that could play while charging, to use it into a Music on Hold Systmem. I tried other MP3's but none of them worked as they said they were going to.
It's been a week and the MP3 keeps playing all day and night wihtout stopping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 2 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

Very Basic MP3 Player

01/17/2012
By ,
Richmond, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The biggest advantage to this player is that it uses a AAA battery which allows the "On the go" person to just switch batteries and keep going without having to plug-in to recharge. A second positive is that the unit I got seemed sturdy enough for the jogger, bicycle rider, active person etc.
Draw backs: The unit software does not allow for mulitple "playlists" or files management. Everything you load into it IS the playlist. It will hold hundreds of songs, but finding the "one" song you may want to play for someone... it takes forever to find it.
If you are looking for the VERY basic MP3 player to listen to while you are out exercising then this is what you are looking for... Otherwise invest the $10.00 extra and step up to the model with the 2" color LCD monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Review 3 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection
01/13/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The specs are completely wrong for this item. It doesn't have a color display. It doesn't have a rechargeable battery. It requires a AAA battery (sold seperately). It doesn't have an fm radio. The flip out usb plug is defective on the one we got and does not register at all when plugged in to the computer. We will be returning it. Hopefully they take it back (the puppy chewed the package). If it worked it would be nice as a basic inexpensive mp3 player. The picture is accurate but the specs must be for another model.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+35points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oregon
Do not buy!!!
Posted 03/18/2012
As bec123 said the specs are wrong. There is NO FAST FORWARD!!! or backward which makes it totally useless for listening to audio books. I had an even cheaper version of this player and it worked fine. That's what I thought I was buying only with FM radio (which this player doesn't really have). What I got was a totally worthless piece of junk because you can not control what you are listening to.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

It's not good

06/15/2012
By ,
Col., Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this Mp3 player about 2 weeks ago and HATE it, the battery life isn't what it claims, if you barley bump it, it shuts off and you have to start your play list over from the first song, if the battery dies same thing. The buttons are barley responsive and to turn it on is hit or miss. The only good thing about this Mp3 player is the number of song it holds (if you can get to them before you bump it or the battery dies), don't try putting it in your pocket and sitting down, just like the battery died. Don't waste your money on this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 5 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

ok if you keep it out of the heat

01/21/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I prefer mp3 players with external batteries cause the rechargable ones are designed to last a few years.
The buttons are not very responsive, you often have to hit them twice.
My big complaint is when using this at the pool in 90 degree weather/100 degree heat index it fries the chip and breaks the unit forever. The manual says to keep it out of the heat, so believe them on it.
It's an ok player if you can deal with the button issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Review 6 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

Product was just what I wanted

10/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading all the reviews of this product mostly negative, I still decided to buy this MP3 player because the positive reviews made me feel that this was a basic cheap MP3 player that stores a lot more songs than my current one. I am pleased with this MP3 player. I have no problems with the buttons. They work fine. I love the use of a AAA battery so I can just replace it if it does dead instead of have to keep the MP3 player charged. I love the USB jack being in the MP3 player. I don't need a cord to plug it into my computer or my car's USB port. Has a great sound with IFrog Crew Ear Pollution ear buds. It is very basic but give me all i need and that is a lot of storage for a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 7 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

won't fast forward or rewind

07/02/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
won't fast forward or rewind
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 8 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

Works Great For a Cheap Mp3!

08/05/2012
By ,
Belleville, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just got this today and already got 90 songs on it, it works great! it
I got it because it was the cheapest one i could find. Works great if you just use it for music like i do!
is defiantly a great cheap gift idea for young teens and adults that want a cheap Music player!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

It's not an iPod people.

01/23/2013
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What do you expect? It do back-flips while it plays the music? It's a simple MP3 player that is a very good. I have had this for over 6 months and it stills work perfectly fine! I love it to death and choose it over an iPod. I love the fact that the USB is made into it and you don't have to worry about any cables! Also the fact that it uses AAA batteries is just great, I always have 1-2 in my purse or car just in-case. With me a single battery lasts about a month if I play it a-lot, As in if I use it every single day. If I use it like once a week, It will last maybe 2 months!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

Description is bogus but a great basic MP3 player

11/12/2012
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I picked it up in the store before reading the on-line description so i knew exactly what I was getting up front. It looks exactly like the picture. There's no color display, no FM radio and uses a replaceable AAA battery. That last thing is a godsend
If all you want an inexpensive, basic MP3 player with a fairly large capacity, shuffle play, and that allows you to simply copy from your 'puter to it, then this is exactly what you want. It won't play DRM controlled music, though, but if you rip your music from CD's, then it's perfect. I have two, one for the car and one for the travel kit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Review 11 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

Excellent product

09/14/2012
By ,
Hudson, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't listen to the negative reviews on this. It is a pretty simple MP3 player that is easy to use, stores enough music, uses AAA batteries instead of rechargeable (which I like), you can manage your music on your computer with the software provided, and the price can't be beat. I needed something I could use at my desk at work, on the plane when traveling, etc. and this product is perfect. No it isn't fancy, but I wasn't looking for fancy. I just wanted to be able to listen to my music on the go and didn't want to pay alot of money. For the price, you can't beat this product. I love it and would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

RCA 4GB MP3 Player

08/06/2012
By ,
Council Bluffs, IA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's convenient and small for on the go people and I like the battery part, rather than having to charge it. I believe the ad says there is a 'color' screen, which it is actually black/white. And I have yet to figure out the FM tuner (radio) part.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

THIS IS A JOKE!!

06/19/2012
By ,
San Tan Valley, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Save yourself time and money....DO NOT PURCHASE THIS ITEM. I purchased it and brought it home, only to learn that the needed software will not download properly. I do remember when RCA was a top name brand....but it has seriously gone down hill.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

false advertising

06/22/2012
By ,
Berryville, AR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this player about three months ago based on online description. Unfortunately I threw out my receipt as I exited the store. On unpacking, discovered it had no color display, no FM tuner, no video, no rechargeable battery, no battery included, just the barest, minimum player. It still works is about all I can say. Surprised that the online description remains the same.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 15 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

Not worth the purchase

05/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased last night. I would have rated this less than one star or less than one bar, that is how disappointed I was/am. It does not match the description posted on the website. It does not have a rechargable battery. It does not allow one to create play lists. It does not get radio. It did not have a color screen. You cannot listen to an album all the way through. The player is supposed to go alphabetically, (I discovered that after I bought it and loaded an audio book) but it seemed to have trouble doing that. I tried to listen to an audio book. It started with chapter five. I would think that chapter fifteen would come before chapter five so I do not know how it was determining the way it would play the chapters. To me, it didn't seem to be alphabetical and it didn't seem to by chapter number, either. I returned it and instead of buying the higher grade RCA player, (I didn't want to go through any more frustrations that night) I purchased the Phillips mp3 player which had all the things this was supposed to have for about fifteen dollars more. It also allows for picking the albums to listen to, the mp3 player doesn't do it for me. The Phillips player also allows for me to listen to the audio books in order. What a concept.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 16 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

good deal for the price

06/10/2012
By ,
pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if your looking for something inexpensive that is easy to put music on than this is it. it isn't fancy and doensn't have all the bells and whistles but for the price it is worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 17 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

What i expected but product summery is wrong

02/22/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
its the cheapest mp3 player available inside a walmart store. it claims usb2 but i have my doubts batteries are not included. i didnt expect much and i didnt get much. i cant comment on sound quality or strength since my audio book is still transferring over. only an hour and a half left to go for 850mb:\ however i can now join the world of mobile mp3 users even though i cant afford more expensive models
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 18 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

Do Not Buy This Product

10/02/2012
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased this product October 2nd, 2012 for my daughter's 7th birthday. She was so excited. We got home downloaded music added it to the mp3 player only to find out after safely disconnecting it like the directions tell you to do the stupid thing won't connect back to the computer. If I can get the music off of the mp3 player I am taking it back to Walmart and getting a different one. Do not buy this product. It isn't worth the money you spend on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME...

04/24/2012
By ,
Dubuque, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not have a color display. Does not have a rechargable battery - takes a AAA. Does not have FM radio. Directions are pretty sketchy on how to drag and drop, but I have done it before so I had a clue. Sound is nice. Directions tell how to skip over the songs to get to your playlist, but that doesn't happen. So I listen to whatever it's playing - no choice of switching folders.
Guess what...it goes back tomorrow!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 20 for RCA 4GB MP3 Player with Flip-Out USB Connection

Simple, nice. but don't trust the ad on this site.

10/10/2012
By ,
Seminole, OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this direct from the store without reading this page and the specs that it states. First, and foremost I wanna tell you that what they are advertising is absolutely not what they are selling. There is no video screen, way too small for that. No color display. To my knowledge there is no FM tuner. It did not come with batteries. I also couldn't tell based on the packaging whether or not it would recharge if plugged in, so I had to not only purchase the triple A rechargeable batteries, but also a small charger. I also did not notice a "detachable" carrying clip. This is a simple MP3 player, and that is exactly what I was looking for. I noticed some people are complaining about the software not working...I wouldn't know because I never tried to use it. This is a simple drag and drop system. Just open up a couple windows one to the removable disk (mp3 player) and one to your music folders then just drag and drop whatever music you want. No software needed, it's just like using a flash drive. I was able to add 27 albums at about 12-15 songs on each. At best that's a little over 400 songs, not the 1,200 that is advertised to hold. I use this product for biking, I'm not a huge fan of Ipod's or anything too fancy. I had to buy different ear phones cuz these small ones tend to fall out. But when in use, it's perfectly fine to just turn on and leave sitting in my pocket. If you're the type of person that wants to shuffle around through all your albums and find that very specific song, this might not be for you...with it's simplicity comes less options, and to scroll through a folder of 400 songs one at a time could become tiresome. If you're into a no frills , very simple, mp3 experience then this is your gadget. If you are expecting and ipod, then go get an ipod because this will leave you absolutely disappointed. Adjust your expectations and you might just be surprised at what you find for such a low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next