Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Enjoy amazing mobile applications of Android OS with the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone. Featuring a 3.2 inch touch screen, this LG Optimus Q Android cell phone provides you a prepaid plan with Android 2.3 OS. The Straight Talk prepaid phone package includes battery, 4GB MicroSD memory card, charger, service guide, user manual and service activation card. This LG Optimus Q Android cell phone features a slider QWERTY keyboard, touch screen, Micro USB and v 2.0 Bluetooth. The battery life of the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone stands up to seven hours full talk time and 10 days stand by.
Average Customer Rating:
3.575 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(482 Reviews) 419
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation67%321 out of 480reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Fantastic phone

11/19/2011
By ,
Rancho Mirage, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone - I'm so happy I decided to buy this one. I really wanted an LG, in my opinion based on my experience they are the best. This phone has superior voice quality on both ends, all the features I wanted in an Adroid including a full QWERTY keyboard as well as a virtual keyboard and is a sturdy, well-made, durable device. I couldn't ask for more, especially for the money. I highly recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1,023points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
missouri
apps
Posted 09/23/2012
I love the phone and have used it across the u.s. and hawaii. My complaint is the internal memory. They advdrtise 250,000 apps but i have 4 and the internal memory is full. Whoever heard of 250mb of storage? Can't transfer to sd card
0points
Customer Avatar
Livingston, MT
I WANT THIS PHONE!
Posted 01/23/2012
I really want this phone. I live in Livingston, Montana and it is not available here. Probably because it operates off of Sprint towers and we don't have Sprint here -- we have Verizon towers here! Can this phone be made to work on Verizon towers? It's not fair that this is a Straight Talk phone and I can't use it as a Straight Talk customer!
-2points
Customer Avatar
Detroit, MI
Great phone
Posted 01/07/2012
I absolutely Love my Lg Optimus Q phone. Best phone I have ever had.
0points
Customer Avatar
MONTANA
Posted 12/29/2011
WHY WON'T THIS PHONE WORK IN MY AREA???? I WANT ONE SO BAD!!!
-4points
Customer Avatar
East Tennessee
Optimus Q
Posted 12/03/2011
As of now, all ST "Android" phones are CDMA on Srpint's pre-paid 3G service...
+7points
Customer Avatar
caribou, me
?
Posted 11/23/2011
hey is this phone a gsm or a cdma phone?
-3points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

LG Optimus Q

11/18/2011
By ,
East Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know why Walmart.com doesn't show this item in their regular menu but let me be one of the first to say this phone is FANTASTIC for what it is... a mid-level entry "Android" phone... and the free shipping to home took only 3 days... If you plan on buying this phone (VERY IMPORTANT) make sure you have good coverage with Spint's pre-paid 3G network... I happen be live in a place with very good coverage... If you don't, you will be very disappointed... and when connected to my home Wi-Fi, this thing flies... For the price, this is a home run (hands-down) !!! Sorry for the pic quality, they were taken on my old phone.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+448points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Valdosta, GA
Totally Agree
Posted 11/20/2011
I just got this phone and it is AMAZING!
+7points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

The best phone I've owned yet!

11/20/2011
By ,
Valdosta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Straight Talk phone runs on the Sprint network. The Walmart and Straight Talk websites said it was not available at my zipcode in Valdosta GA but it was available in Tallahassee FL. I had the phone shipped to my house in GA but had to drive an hour to FL set it up because it would not let me active it here. The phone works great here in Valdosta (connects at 3G with 6 bars) and it was well worth the hour drive to activate it! This phone has the latest droid software and has awesome features that let you stream movies through netflix as well as many more. My girlfriend likes this phone so much that she is cancelling her contract with Verizon and switching to this phone too. I'm sure it won't be long before people catch on to the fact that this phone will work anywhere that Sprint has coverage. Help me spread the word!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+696points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Albany, Ga
Posted 01/19/2012
I live in Albany, Ga. Do you think if I buy this phone and just transfer my number, that it can be activated? Or do you think I will have to drive out, as well?
+1point
Customer Avatar
Alabama
Help
Posted 12/13/2011
Hello. I live in alabama and i had the same problem as you which was my zip code wouldn't work for this phone. i saw that you said you went to tallahassee and purchased and activated it there. now where i live its the country side and i was wondering if i were to purchase it in the town which is 30 minutes away, would it turn out like yours and actually work. I'm really wanting an android phone but also dont want to have to leave straight talk.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Valdosta,Ga
Posted 12/12/2011
Ok so the phone DOES work in Valdosta?? Like everything works fine and fast the way it is supposed to? I realllllly want this phone and i don't want to order and it end up not working.
0points
Customer Avatar
Decatur Al
Post to cookeja24's post
Posted 11/26/2011
My name is Daniel and I live in Decatur Al. I am intrested in this phone and read your pots. But I don't understand on how the website said that your zipcode would notwork in Valdosta so u drove an hour to Tallahassee I( I used to live there for 5 years), but you have said that the phone works great. I am just a little confussed.
-1point
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
11/21/2011
By ,
The Villages, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome!! It was hard for me to give up my iPhone, but could no longer afford it, so I had to move on. I spent many days trying to decide between the Galaxy Precedent and this phone, but I'm so glad I picked this one over the Precedent. I've had the phone 3 weeks, and already I can do more on it than on the iPhone in 2 years. I now listen to french songs from Paris radio stations while walking the dog, and this phone is capable of doing all I will ever need plus more. It's a great phone! It is difficult finding accessories for it, but I've managed to find some on various websites. Buy it...you'll love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+625points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Customer Avatar
lg optimus
Posted 06/18/2013
does this phone have a sim card?
0points
Customer Avatar
New York City,NY
it is a gsm phone?
Posted 05/13/2012
I would like to know if it is a gsm phone? I meant if it can be used in Brazil
+1point
Customer Avatar
cartersville, ga
Posted 02/22/2012
You can buy accessories by going under google and typing in "LG Optimus Q cases" or whatever else you want.
+5points
Customer Avatar
raleigh nc
lg optimus
Posted 02/16/2012
This is the best phone I have had since I have owned a cell phone period, I bought my first cell phone 13 years ago.
+3points
Customer Avatar
Honeoye Falls, NY
Accessories for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q
Posted 01/28/2012
Where did you find your accessories for your phone? I just ordered one for myself and would like to know how to purchase some accessories. I haven't been able to find any websites that sell accessories for this type of phone.
Thanks
-2points
Customer Avatar
salisbury,NC
phone was hard to find but great product to have
Posted 01/26/2012
i seen the phone in stores and know some one that has one, but it was very hard to find this one on line
-2points
Customer Avatar
Oregon
Disappointed in this phone's battery
Posted 01/07/2012
Walmart's Online Service is Great! My local store was out of this phone but Straighttalk send me one in 3 days. It's a fast phone but, I'm very disappointed in the battery life of this phone; I have had to recharge this phone 3 times in the same day I received it while trying to get the phone set up, and I found it get's hot as well. I'm going to go to a 32 GB SD card and hope that will help the battery life, I find that I have to continually turn it off, it doesn't let me logoff while on a website from the Google service on some websites and when I return to the home phone menu, I find it has not released me from the internetm which could interfer with extra data charges. I love Samsung products but very disappointed in this one.
+1point
Customer Avatar
NC
Accessories
Posted 12/12/2011
Where have you found accessories for this phone?
0points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

3rd LG Optimus Q & still not functioning properly

02/08/2012
By ,
Hampton, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this service for almost 2 years with my simple little cell phone & have LOVED every minute of it. Purchased this LG OPTIMUS Q phone in the beginning of January. Worked great for the first 10 or so days & then it started freezing up. Decided to exchange it for another one before my 15 days were up to avoid the nightmare of having to deal with straight talk directly. Got the 2nd phone & it worked great for 5 days & then it stopped receiving text messages from all other cell phone providers except AT&T. Called straight talks' nightmare of a customer service department, spent an hour on the phone with them, was transferred 3 different times, was told to complete the same update to my phone 3 different times & eventually was given a case number because they couldn't figure it out. I was told they had to research the issue & someone would get back to me in 72 hours. 72 hours passed & no phone call. Called back after 130 hours had passed & again, had to spend over an hour on the phone with them explaining the issues all over again even though I gave them my case number in the beginning of the conversation. Was again transferred to 3 different people, all of who had me do the same exact update to my phone that did not work the previous times I had tried it. Even spoke to 2 different supervisors who could not help me. They then proceeded to tell me that they were going to send me a shipping label to return the phone to them & that once they received my phone, they would send me a replacement. I have read many, many reviews that state that people have waited months for their new phones & being that I have no home phone with a small child, I cannot be without a phone. So, again, I decided to take the 2nd phone back to walmart before the 15 days was up. Got my 3rd phone last night & guess what, I still can't receive text messages. I can send them to everyone but I cannot receive them. I can, however, receive picture messages. DO NOT buy this phone. People on here are very, very quick to review this phone without giving it time to screw up. I promise you that it will eventually & you will have no choice but to deal with Straight Talk directly which I again, promise you, is an absolute nightmare. They don't speak english very well & have zero knowledge of how to repair a phone. They could only offer me one update solution to fix this problem & it didn't....even after days of so-called research. I will be returning this 3rd phone to Wal-mart & going back to my simple old cell phone as I had NO problems with that phone, ever. Which in turn means, I NEVER had to deal with the straight talk customer service. I highly recommend the Straight Talk concept if & ONLY if, you have a simple phone that runs on the Verizon network where you will NEVER have to deal with their customer service. If you want a smart phone, it's best to deal with a SMART company that can assist you when you have issues. Straight Talk is not that company - I PROMISE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+208points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
N.E. Hickory, NC
Straight Talk Customer Service
Posted 09/11/2013
The only thing these guys are good for is telling you what they CAN'T do. I love the plan I am on, but have had nothing but trouble trying to fix anything through customer service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Love Love Love

12/20/2011
By ,
mobile, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really do like this phone. Like others, walmart said the phone wouldnt work in my zip code, but it did work in surrounding zip codes so I purchased it. The lg optimus q under sprints network gets better reception than my e71 under the att network.The set up was easy and since I already had a phone with straighttalk the transition from my old phone to the new was great. The features on the phone are great. The battery life is the only complaint but I downloaded a task killer in the android market place that seems to be helping a lot with the battery. The optimus q is the same exact phone that verizon sales called the lg enlighten. So if you need any accessories just search on amazon for lg enlighten accessories and the cases and car chargers will work for the lg optimus q. I do highly recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+91points
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
11/29/2011
By ,
Urbana Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone was great for 1 month and then it froze up (while on Walmart's website) enough the battery had to removed to shut down. Now the display is solid black. Had purchased the walmart replacement plan so was not worried. Called the number for my protection plan and since it is a malfunction and I did not drop the phone then I need to contact mfg for mfg warranty for the first 12 months. Would not be bad if Straight Talk really had customer service. The response (after an hour of 3 different people and repeating the same information over and over) is yes we will replace your phone BUT this means in 3-5 days I will get a letter with a shipping label to mail my phone back to them. Once they receive my phone then they will ship me a new phone. If I have not received my letter in 5 days then I need to call them to follow up with the ticket number I was given. Overall best am looking at is at least 2 weeks with NO PHONE. Not happy after paying $180 for a phone (+$40 warranty) will be without a phone for half the time I owned the phone. After checking straight talk facebook page even more discouraged because posts have talked of waiting 12 weeks for the replacement phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+194points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
clearwater fl
return
Posted 02/08/2012
I had my phone well over a year and dropped it in water and after a couple days it stopped working. At no cost to me they sent me the return package label and i sent my phone and within the week I was sent a new phone. Its all on perspective. I couldn't be happier with the service I have recieved and I have been a customer for a couple of years. I didn't like being without my phone and can understand its fustrating when that happens especially with a new phone.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Boston, MA
Agrees that Straight talk and Sprint are lousy
Posted 01/14/2012
My sister had a terrible experience with less popular networks like sprint and tmobile. Took her days then weeks to just cancel her account and support is overseas. No thanks. I'll stick with AT&T go phones. My old Motorola RAZR V3 works great but I am shopping for a smart go phone but I won't buy anything other than an AT&T or Verizon. I've only used AT&T with great results. No dropped calls. Great reception and customer service. You can actually understand customer service reps.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Springdale, AR
It's a disappointment!!
Posted 01/10/2012
1) + Nice sound qualities
2) + Lots of Options
3) + Great Keyboard with slider or touch options.
4) + Fun to use.
4) POOR Battery Life - Turn it off when you aren't using it or close all APPs
5) Very limited RANGE!! EVEN in the wide open spaces in high elevations, there is limited coverage.
6) So close, so close, but yet so far............
+2points
Customer Avatar
Effie, MN
Torg
Posted 12/20/2011
I had a humidity problem with my phone and straight talk shipped me the replacemet phone and all I had to do is prlace the sim card and send the broken phone back. It was a fast replacement with no hassel. I had a good experience with customer service with no hassel and short wait time.
+2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Love it!

12/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on the phone before I purchased it. I read really good and really bad reviews. I think what I was seeing was this, if you have a phone compatable with Apple Iphone, you will probably not be very happy with this phone. If you've never owned a droid before, you'll love it. My daughter has the iphone and she was telling me that her phone was quicker to get on certain apps. On the other hand, this phone had features hers didn't. I love it. There are alot of apps for free to download. If you are thinking about getting it, I'd say go for it. It's well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+83points
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor Product

12/24/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the LG Optimus Q for Straight Talk at WalMart. Service for phones is excellent...had a Straight Talk Samsung previously. Loved the new touch screen and qwerty slide BUT within 3 weeks the Optimus (WalMart label LG500C), with the battery fully charged, completely shut the phone down at least 6 times; twice in mid-call and once while using the GPS Navigation! None of the buttons was effective in getting it turned back on. The battery becomes excessively hot as well.
Straight Talk suggested buying a new Optimus, transferring the info, then return the old one. After all of that and porting my number over, the new phone shut down twice in the first 24 hours, even though, again, the battery was fully charged. And as with the "old" Optimus, the only way to re-connect was to take the battery out and re-insert it.
Another call to Straight Talk and the Customer Rep told me to return it, that the LG Touch Android phones were defective and they have had nothing but complaints about them. She advised me that the cheaper LG Touch Android w/out the qwerty slide was also defective. I followed the advise, returned it, and am now back to my old Samsung (non-smart non-Android).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Android Quirks
Posted 02/04/2012
Entry level Android phones all have some quirks that relate to their limited internal memory for storing apps, and their limited "active" memory for the apps that you are using. The "trick" to having a good experience with such phones is to NOT add apps that you will not use, and delete apps that you are not using. The app I use the most is a task manager that closes the apps that I am not using. I make sure that a MINIMUM of 40 megs of internal memory is left empty, and at least 100 megs of operating memory is available before opening an "intensive" app such as GPS Navigation.
The GPS Navigation app when used with 3G requires ALL of the phone's CPU, a huge amount of memory, and drains the battery rapidly. Even if a phone is attached to a car charger, the battery may continue to drain.
Bottom line: to use entry level Android phones successfully, keep only a few apps on your phone, and keep them all OFF except for the one you are using.
+10points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
12/02/2011
By ,
Cerro Gordo, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pleased with the phone and the service considering it is unlimited for only $45 a month. I have had a decent connection most of the time, even though it said the phone wouldn't work in my zip code, when I zoomed in on the map there was coverage at my address. The battery life isn't that great but the phone charges up quickly. Overall, I am pleased with my purchase. One a side note, the customer service for Straight Talk is atrocious. I think I was talking to robots. It took me days and hours talking to several reps to get my service changed over from my old phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dayton, OH
Straight Talk Customer Service
Posted 01/02/2012
I want to echo the comment about Straight Talk customer service posted above. I have spent hours on hold, being transferred several times trying to activate my phone and transfer my old number. Each time I was transferred, I had to pass along all of my information again, essentially starting all over. Additionally, my phone was incorrectly deactivated during the process adding to the delay in transferring my number. Financially Straight Talk makes sense but prepared to suffer extreme headaches while trying to setup the service. One final note, I did attempt to activate my phone online but there was an error and I was forced to call the 1-877 number.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent Android Phone

11/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought this phone on the Straighttalk website for $179.00 on preorder. I've had it for approximately 2 weeks now and I'm more then pleased. It's the best Straighttalk phone that I've owned. The Walmart price of $149.00 is an AWESOME deal!! Order it and you will be glad you did. The Straighttalk website stated that it did not work in my order so I ended up ordering it through another zip code and had it delivered to my house. I then transferred the phone number to the new LG Optimus through Straighttalk's website online with no problem. If Sprint Prepaid is in your area then this phone will work just fine. You can check the Sprint or Boost Mobile websites and put in your zip code to see if its in your area. That's what I did and I've been extremely happy with the phone. Great clarity and 3G is fast enough for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+57points
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

12/02/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most superb phone I have ever owned, it's above and beyond the best phone I have ever owned. The screen is nice, the keys are excellent for typing, the android market is loaded with great free apps. I would recommend this phone to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone!!

12/13/2011
By ,
cambridge ohio 43725
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this phone in zanesville,but live in the cambridge area. i was told from straight talk and walmart in zanesville that this phone would not work in my area.(43725) i bought it anyway,tried to transfer my old straight talk # to it and it couldnt be done cus no service in my area....i then took it to walmart in cambridge,they called straight talk,gave them my cambridge address and zip code,but used zanesville zip code to activate it. it works perfectly!! no problems!! i even live 6 miles outside of cambridge in the country and it works better than my other straight talk p hone that uses verizon network!! this one uses sprint!! that supposidly has no coverage in our area,but boost moble and net 10 use sprint and are sold in our walmart ans uses sprint service!! buy this phone,it will work!!! if not you have a 15 day return pollicy....u wont be dissapointed
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

excellent phone and money saver

12/24/2011
By ,
BRONX NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
look first i was reading all the bad things about SPRINT COVERAGE but i talk to a friend who has a BOOST MOBILE and he tells me there coverage is very good in NEW YORK CITY AS YOU know LG OPTIMUS Q from ST used the SPRINT PREPAID COVERAGE same as VIRGIN MOBILE AND BOOST MOBILE ,I AM glad i listen because this is the best thing i have done for my self. my old ST phone was on VERIZON and i will tell you here in NYC SPRINT COVERAGE is excellent just like VERIZON .i drove from NYC TO PHILADELPHIA only one drop call there coverage all around here is one of the best this phone works in the tunnel too i wish i have done this long time ago one thing in NYC AT&T has the worst coverage will never recommend that service to any one. with $45 for everything that a deal.look if you want to get a better battery on this phone get the "JUICE DEFENDER"APP is free from the andriod market then your battery will last 4 times more .thanks ST for this nice phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Good bye Iphones!

12/20/2011
By ,
Perryville, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Money saver!! Unlimited text, unlimited talk and UNLIMITED DATA! All for only $48 (tax included). The unlimited data doesn't cut you off at 2 gigs or slow you down. We have been streaming Pandora and even Netflix without any worries of going over our data usage!
If you had this same plan with Apple's Iphone as a new customer, you would be paying well over $100!! The Android operating system has thousands of free Apps and plenty more if your willing to pay a little. Our area doesn't even have a strong Sprint service but it runs just fine. Plus it has WIFI capabilities. Even after streaming Pandora for several hours and daily phone usage, the battery only drained a couple of notches at the end of the day.
This has been a super money saver for us! I'm thinking of getting another one so we don't have to share it anymore!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

I Love My LG Optimus Q Android Phone!

07/13/2012
By ,
Alexandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started with the low-end Straight-talk phone and was overall very pleased with the Straighttalk service, but the low-end phone did not meet my needs. I looked into this Android LG Optimus Q with the Straighttalk plan, and after reading the reviews, decided to buy it. It cost a bit more than I wanted to pay, but after having the phone, I could not be more pleased! It exceeded my expectations.
I traveled from northern Virginia down to Atlanta, and utilized the GPS on the phone the whole way, and it was a life-saver! I have been very pleased with the service overall, including Internet speed, which is very reliable and fast.
This is truly a great phone, and there are so many apps that can be downloaded for the Android to customize it even more!
To be able to add entries to a calendar, have multiple fields for contacts, the GPS capability, checking email on the go, snapping photos, and browsing the internet ... all for only $45/month UNLIMITED with NO CONTRACT!!! You cannot go wrong!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, horrible network

12/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone and I really wish I could use it. It uses sprints towers however, and even though they show service in my area on their coverage maps, I cant even get it activated the reception is so poor. So make sure you ask around about sprint in your area before you buy, or else you will just be really sad that you cant use this awesome phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+57points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GROVETOWN, GA
IF YOU GET POOR SIGNAL
Posted 08/26/2013
JUST PUT IT ON ROAM ALL TIME AND YOU WILL HAVE SIGNAL AND WI-FI ALWAYS
0points
Customer Avatar
Where are you at?
Posted 12/23/2011
whats your location that it doesnt want to work at?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Decent Phones BAD Customer Service

12/29/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had two different Straight Talk Phones the Samsung Slider T401G (non-android) and the LG Optimus Q (Android). In a nutshell, if you want to save money and don't want a contract Straight Talk isn't a bad choice. However, I've had some problems with my Optimus Q and service leaves something to be desired.
Straight Talk's non-Android phones have great coverage. The Android phones fall a short on coverage. However, if you spend most of your time in a moderate to large metro area the android phones should work fine. If not, I would recommend not wasting your money. See the coverage maps here: http://www.straighttalk.com/Coverage
If you have any problems with your service or phone, be prepared to receive awful customer service. In general their customer service representatives speak poor English, have no clue what they are talking about, and expect you to call from an alternate phone to troubleshoot your phone. If your cell is your only phone this may present a problem.
The Pros:
•Inexpensive plans with unlimited talk/data
•Non-android phones: Excellent service coverage(Verizon network)
The Cons:
•Android phones: Ok service coverage (Sprint network)
•TERRIBLE Customer Service
•Limited phone selection
•Android phones expensive
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+38points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cocoa, Florida
Samsung Slider T401G/ Optimus Q Android
Posted 01/01/2012
I own the Samsung Slider T401G. I have to say I am very dissatisfied with it. Yes, the service coverage is great however, for what I paid for it $89.00 I expected a little more than what I got. I regret not doing a little more reviewing before I jumped in and bought it. It was sadly a quick replacement for the Galaxy Mesmerize CDMA phone that I brought with me from Missouri. when I moved to FL. I had to cancel service and so I went with ST. I do want to comment on the Optimus Q Android as well. I am waiting patiently for the price to fall and it will then I will be replacing my premature purchase. Once an Android user always and Android user. You can call Straight Talk and ask to speak with an english speaking agent if you so desire. I am hard of hearing and I ask each time and they have been very accommodating. However, like you. My ST phone is my only phone and trying to get my phone fixed is difficult. I drive to my local Walmart and let them call and they are happy to do it. If I wasn't saving almost 75.00 a month I would go back to a regular service plan however, this day and age ST is just fine and when you find the phone you can enjoy then it is easier to settle into. I have done my research on the LG Optimus Q and it's the best for ST Androids. So hopefully Walmart will start lowering the price so those of us waiting on a good solid android phone may enjoy one. Good luck in the future with customer service and choosing your new phone. Do not lean to far towards other androids without doing your homework first. You might be disappointed.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Get it!

12/12/2011
By ,
Hickory-Morganton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with this phone.
It's everything you'd expect from an android phone, with a great price.
If Sprint towers have a presence in your area, you will not be disappointed!
Coverage:
I live in Morganton, NC. Checking the zip through STs website says it will not work. Yet it would work in the next town 5 miles away. So i checked zip codes. Checked Sprint/Virgin Mobile coverage, and saw alot of coverage. Talked with friends who had Virgin Mobile (sprints prepaid network) and others using a prepaid android in this area. Everyone had no problem. So once
Wal-mart began selling it, i gave it even more thought.
I finally broke down and got it.
I am glad I did. If you live anywhere near Hickory, NC (morganton, valdese, icard, connelly springs, newton, lincolnton, statesville, marion, nebo, and everything else in between), then don't fret that your zip code shows no service on the ST website. This phone uses sprint, and sprint ain't shabby in our area. You get alot for a droid phone with an unlimited plan @ $45/month.
I did read earlier, someone complained about the GPS being too laggy to be useful. They were right. I checked it out. I didn't give it a destination, just had it follow me, and we drove for 15 minutes and it only updated our position 3 times. When we were coming out of the store, it said we were still on the interstate, like it did while we were still driving to the store 5 minutes earlier. The Nokia E71 i had was very quick in the GPS department. Then again, it lacked everything i wanted that only droid could offer.
Bottom Line. If you really think you want this phone, you probably do. Worried about your signal if you invest in it? Then goto virgin mobile and check their coverage. You can zoom in on their website's coverage map, unlike straight talk's map.
You won't regret this droid. You'll be glad you did it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome and cheap Android phone

12/15/2011
By ,
OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone and the straight talk package. For under $200 I have access to a smart phone with no contract. The phone works well for me as Sprint is available in my area. The deal breaker for me being new to the touch screen was the keyboard. Overall I am more than happy with my phone and would totally recommend it. The only drawback is that the camera does not have a flash but thats cool becuase I tend to use my digital camera for taking pics anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
1-20 of 368 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next