Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Enjoy amazing mobile applications of Android OS with the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone. Featuring a 3.2 inch touch screen, this LG Optimus Q Android cell phone provides you a prepaid plan with Android 2.3 OS. The Straight Talk prepaid phone package includes battery, 4GB MicroSD memory card, charger, service guide, user manual and service activation card. This LG Optimus Q Android cell phone features a slider QWERTY keyboard, touch screen, Micro USB and v 2.0 Bluetooth. The battery life of the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone stands up to seven hours full talk time and 10 days stand by.
Average Customer Rating:
3.58 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(481 Reviews) 418
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
101
Customer Recommendation67%321 out of 479reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
101
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY

02/27/2012
By ,
minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are thinking of buying this phone think twice!!! I have only had this phone for 7 days, i bought this phone at Walmart and have straight talk for my phone service. I have had nothing but problems with this phone, it froze up, turns off and it turned off even when I was in the middle of a conversation! the only way I can get the phone to turn back on is to take the battery out and reinstall it... I'm going to take it back to walmart and get a different phone or my money back!!!! I did call LG and they said that they have not had any issues with this phone that it has to be straight talk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 82 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE ! I HAVE RETURNED 8 DEFECTIV

06/02/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I could do no star rating !!! Touch screen has stopped working randomly on all of them... Defective ??? so frustrating ... every time they stop working I spend no less than an hour on the phone with Straight Talk and then having to wait 3 days for them to send a fed ex paid envelope to me so I can send them the broken phone, Then wait another week or more to receive the brand new replacement phone ( all while I'm phone-less and my service days are being lost... then when I get the new one I have to call Straight Talk again about an hour yet again to have them activate the new one with all my old stuff stored in and my existing number transferred. I lose all my apps each and every time -_- ... 8 phones have been returned and replaced since Nov... It's now June 2nd, so 8 phones in 7 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 83 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor Product

12/24/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the LG Optimus Q for Straight Talk at WalMart. Service for phones is excellent...had a Straight Talk Samsung previously. Loved the new touch screen and qwerty slide BUT within 3 weeks the Optimus (WalMart label LG500C), with the battery fully charged, completely shut the phone down at least 6 times; twice in mid-call and once while using the GPS Navigation! None of the buttons was effective in getting it turned back on. The battery becomes excessively hot as well.
Straight Talk suggested buying a new Optimus, transferring the info, then return the old one. After all of that and porting my number over, the new phone shut down twice in the first 24 hours, even though, again, the battery was fully charged. And as with the "old" Optimus, the only way to re-connect was to take the battery out and re-insert it.
Another call to Straight Talk and the Customer Rep told me to return it, that the LG Touch Android phones were defective and they have had nothing but complaints about them. She advised me that the cheaper LG Touch Android w/out the qwerty slide was also defective. I followed the advise, returned it, and am now back to my old Samsung (non-smart non-Android).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Android Quirks
Posted 02/04/2012
Entry level Android phones all have some quirks that relate to their limited internal memory for storing apps, and their limited "active" memory for the apps that you are using. The "trick" to having a good experience with such phones is to NOT add apps that you will not use, and delete apps that you are not using. The app I use the most is a task manager that closes the apps that I am not using. I make sure that a MINIMUM of 40 megs of internal memory is left empty, and at least 100 megs of operating memory is available before opening an "intensive" app such as GPS Navigation.
The GPS Navigation app when used with 3G requires ALL of the phone's CPU, a huge amount of memory, and drains the battery rapidly. Even if a phone is attached to a car charger, the battery may continue to drain.
Bottom line: to use entry level Android phones successfully, keep only a few apps on your phone, and keep them all OFF except for the one you are using.
+10points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 84 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst phone I have ever owned.

04/03/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
touch constantly stops working, it works on sprint towers so very poor reception, apps always "force close" everytime you use them, the phone loads and operates very slow. it broke after 2 months. I have 2 other friends who have the same phone and also have the same problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 85 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

DONT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!

09/11/2012
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a great phone for the first couple of months. You can do everything on it but TALK. This is the WORST piece of JUNK I have ever owned. I bought this thinking it was a great deal. But as it turns out it is NOT. The screen freezes up and the phone randomly calls and txts people. You can not have a conversation on it it drops calls and cuts in and out. When I call Straight Talk the said they would send me a new phone. But this is already my second replacement and its the same after the first couple of months. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 86 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Not Worth Your Money

11/19/2012
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was excited about this phone, and it worked really well. However, that only lasted about 2 months. After that it started being very slow, and I had to keep turning it off, then back on to get it to work at a speed that is semi-close to how fast other phones I have had. It randomly loses, even if I haven't moved. It automatically saves apps to the internal memory, so I have to go in and manually switch them all to the SD card so I don't constantly get a "memory full" message when I have very few things installed. Getting it replaced with a new phone won't help, the new one also quit working well after a few months. I was hoping to keep this phone for a while, but will likely replace it with a completely different model soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 87 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

VERY SLOW!!!!!!!!!!!

03/29/2013
By ,
Ridgeland, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone works on sprint prepaid towers which doesnt work ANYWHERE! The memory is shot, the phone resets itself and it ALWAYS freezes up. Stay AWAY from this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 88 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

GARBAGE! and Waste of Money!!

08/14/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is by far the WORST phone I have EVER had! It stopped working after 31 days... I have decided to drive over the phone with my car tires just to get SOME satisfaction. Straight Talk Customers...BEWARE....Their "customer service" is terrible! If you plan on traveling outside of your zip code you will NOT GET SERVICE. Also, randomly more times than not the phone will say "Searching For Service" and you will NOT GET SERVICE. Straight Talk's only answer was to send the phone back in the mail and wait for a replacement. In the mean time, you will be without a phone. I am so disappointed with BOTH the phone and Customer Service with Straight Talk. Their wait times are LONG and you will regret all the wasted hours, literally, you will spend on hold!! I am cancelling my Service ASAP. Do Not Buy This phone or allow Straight Talk to be your wireless provider!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 89 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
06/27/2013
By ,
chillicothe, ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
was defective when recieved
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 90 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor operating sys/Poor memory

03/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had the phone for about 13mo. In that time, the phone shuts off in middle of call, freezes when I'm writing a text on touch screen and open to use the Q-board to continue typing and the internal memory is HORRIBLE. You're stuck with worthless apps you can't delete from internal memory and can't move to the SD card. The worst thing is that the apps update and as they do, it eats up the internal memory until guess what....YOU GOT IT!!!! It loops at th power-up phase after it shuts off and now I its worthless...I can't use the phone at all....$170+ later....it's worthless and I've got to fork over another $200 for a new phone. Totally unexpected.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 91 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
03/22/2013
By ,
tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone keep shutting off by itself in the middle of a phone call and keep freezing up on me. Had too take it back and get a refund. If it would not have had them problems it would have been a great phone but it just has too many issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 92 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
09/11/2013
By ,
lancaster pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is horrible! I get absolutely no signal anywhere and most of the apps and games I like aren't able to download to this type of phone and the customer service Straight Talk is horrible. It took me almost a week to get somebody in customer service then when I finally did the customer service person hung up on me twice and the problem still wasn't resolved. I can't wait to return this phone!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 93 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Hi tech piece of junk with glitches

01/30/2012
By ,
46350
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone when looking at it seemed like the best one. Well let me tell ya. within the first 14 days the phone froze up while trying to answer a call. it has froze up several times. it shuts off by itself. sometimes the battery drains in like 2 hours. it drops calls and uses sprint as the carrier so no signal anywhere. I expected more for my money meaning a phone that works. i do not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 94 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Honestly Hate it

08/27/2012
By ,
west hazelton ,PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was on who never wanted to get a touch screen but after my env3 broke i figured why not give it a try. i fell in love with the keyboard which is what sold me on it. now after owning it for some time now i can honestly say I deff hate it! between the phone freezing, Powering on and off during my phone calls (or not even being used),not reciving phone calls/txt msges or pictures, not being able to send pictures, connect to WiFi and battery dying quick when not even being used has pushed me to want a phone that is going to last
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 95 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, horrible service.

07/03/2012
By ,
pa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone hoping to get rid of my house phone. My boyfriend got a straight talk and has service throughout our entire house (which is a bad place for any reception). The phone itself is an awesome phone, but i was unaware that different phones use different towers. I had no reception where i had great reception on every other phone i ever had! + now i have to return it to get almost the same exact phone but a samsung so i can use verizo towers! ugghhh, This whole experience has been a huge pain.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 96 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

NEVER BUY THIS PHONE!

12/19/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, Fl
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have been using this phone for about 9 months. The battery life is horrible. It only lasts for about 3 hours if I'm not constantly on it, so I have to take my charger everywhere I go if I want to use my phone. I liked this phone from the start, except the HORRIBLE reception it got EVERYWHERE I went. The camera is horrible. If they were going to make the camera so bad they should've at least added a flash to the phone. After using the phone for about 3 months, the charger that came with it stopped working for my phone. It worked for everyone elses phone that had the same charging slot as mine. Ever since December started I have had more & more trouble with that stupid phone. It won't charge without shutting off every 2 minutes, except if I keep music on while its charging. It freezes up about 3 or 4 times each day, so I have to take the battery cover off and take the battery out. I have had to download a texting app, because the one that came on the phone stopped working. It drops calls like crazy now. And I don't receive a text back from anyone until about an hour after they sent it. I don't get voicemails until around 24hours after someone leaves one. I am very unhappy with this phone, and I've decided to get rid of this one, and buy a new DIFFERENT one. I wouldn't give this phone to my worst enemy, that's how bad it is. Don't buy this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 97 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
02/18/2012
By ,
parkersburg,WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone from the straight talk site with the package deal switched my number to my new phone with the new unlimited card 2 days later it was deactived saying it needed a card um no! and it keeps shuting off for no reseason and wont turn back on I reaaly dont want to call customer service again hard to understand what they are saying I have been a straight talk customer for three years never had trouble with my old phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 98 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Terrible phone.

11/01/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
When I first got it, I was so excited to have this phone...but shortly after my phone started to freeze, and I constantly had to take the battery out. I could be talking to someone on the phone, and my screen will go completely black and the only way to hang up is to take my battery out. Also, the battery power isn't even as good as they say. Sometimes the touch screen would just stop working, I don't know if this is just the phone I got...but I wouldn't spend my money to get another one like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 99 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Cool Features, missing some standard features thou

04/01/2013
By ,
jasper
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love LG phones...this one is knock-off in my opinion.. No remiders other than intiail response, small dot on screen says if u have missed call or messages, I cant tell you how many times i have to now look at phone as it wont ever beep/remind as there is no feature to do so unless its on initial call/message. Sprint service in my area isnt working so well.. I have arssed called so many people..I just cant get used to it...Touch screen is not for me...and i can see why people would have accidents if attempting to even drive and call on this phone..I tried once and was all over road, took me 6 times to actually get correct #s typed so call could go through... Overall good phone for a idle person, but if on the go..this phone fails (me)... I had an LG envy before, I dont see anything like that phone, and am saddened I cant keep her on a pay as you go plan comparable to straight talk...
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 100 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Not good for my use

02/17/2013
By ,
Cheyenne, WY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
To touchy , bought one for wife before l placed order for this one ended returning it. She doesn't like hers. l returned mine same day l picked up.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
81-100 of 368 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  19 Next