Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Enjoy amazing mobile applications of Android OS with the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone. Featuring a 3.2 inch touch screen, this LG Optimus Q Android cell phone provides you a prepaid plan with Android 2.3 OS. The Straight Talk prepaid phone package includes battery, 4GB MicroSD memory card, charger, service guide, user manual and service activation card. This LG Optimus Q Android cell phone features a slider QWERTY keyboard, touch screen, Micro USB and v 2.0 Bluetooth. The battery life of the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone stands up to seven hours full talk time and 10 days stand by.
Average Customer Rating:
3.612 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(498 Reviews) 433
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
212
4 stars
119
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation68%337 out of 496reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
212
4 stars
119
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
04/15/2012
By ,
benton, il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
was told that i could get service in my area. couldn't get a single bar. spent too much time researching and trying to set up this phone. very disappointing.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 82 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

VERY SLOW!!!!!!!!!!!

03/29/2013
By ,
Ridgeland, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone works on sprint prepaid towers which doesnt work ANYWHERE! The memory is shot, the phone resets itself and it ALWAYS freezes up. Stay AWAY from this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 83 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

PIECE OF JUNK - TERRIBLE CALL QUALITY

04/19/2013
By ,
bradford, pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
THE WORST AND MOST EXPENSIVE PHONE I EVER OWNED. I HAD BETTER CALL QUALITY AND SIGNAL STRENGTH WITH EVERY OTHER PHONE I HAVE EVER HAD, EVEN FREE ONES. THE PHONE LOCKS UP ALL THE TIME. THE ONLY TIME I CAN MAKE A CALL IS WHEN I AM PARKED UNDER A CELLPHONE TOWER. I CAN'T WAIT TO GET RID OF IT.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 84 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
06/25/2013
By ,
havre, mt
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk couldn't use in my area
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 85 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

I wouldn't buy this phone again if it was $.99

12/18/2012
By ,
Yankton,SD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this phone Oct. 10th it's been nothing but trouble since then. Every time I have to refill it I have to get on the phone to customer service. They keep telling me there is a glitch in the phone's software and they have to manually reset it. It's been 3 days since I refilled and called CS and now back on the phone with them because even though I bought the unlimited cards my phone says I don't have enough money to make a call or text. I'm not sure if it's the phone or their CS but either way I would never buy another one of these phones nor would I buy one that you can only refill online.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 86 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
08/23/2013
By ,
manchester pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
only worked for 2 weeks then it just flashed LG
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 87 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
09/11/2013
By ,
lancaster pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is horrible! I get absolutely no signal anywhere and most of the apps and games I like aren't able to download to this type of phone and the customer service Straight Talk is horrible. It took me almost a week to get somebody in customer service then when I finally did the customer service person hung up on me twice and the problem still wasn't resolved. I can't wait to return this phone!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 88 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
08/18/2013
By ,
Ladson SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible.. Had to take back and get different phone.. very cheap, shut down all the time, random calls. Do not buy this phone..
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 89 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

DON'T BUY THIS PHONE!!

11/06/2013
By ,
El Dorado, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is junk! I only used this phone one game and talking to family. this phone worked great and one night the screen just never came back on. this phone has always given me trouble. DON'T BUY THIS PHONE
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 90 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Bad service

03/31/2013
By ,
Worthville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this phone online after putting my zip code in the check coverage area. It said it would work in my area. Then, when I got it home, it wouldn't work. It ran off of Sprint towers and I needed one that ran off of verizon towers. So, I ended up having to take it back to the store and spending more money on a model that DID work in my area. I was very disappointed and think that I should be reimbursed the money that I was out for the more expensive phone if not given something in return for the two days I was without a phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 91 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Shuts off during calls!

01/02/2014
By ,
SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone will just shut off during a call, it has poor reception areas as it is a trac phone unknown to me when I purchased it online! I DO NOT RECOMMEND IT AT ALL!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 92 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
06/27/2013
By ,
chillicothe, ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
was defective when recieved
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 93 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

no bang for buck

10/25/2012
By ,
Renton,Wa
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read the reviews before i bought and only a few one stars, now there are plenty and i know why. My wife and i both switched to this LG. Her phone drops at least one call a day by turning itself off. Mine freezes once every one or two weeks. The screen is small and is very hard to surf the web unless you have eyes like a eagle. Lastly because the memory is so small your apps will be limited to about ten apps before its full. It's not the worst phone, but for 180 bucks i expect more. I'll never be able to sell them so i will just have to use for a year then upgrade to a more useful phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 94 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Hi tech piece of junk with glitches

01/30/2012
By ,
46350
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone when looking at it seemed like the best one. Well let me tell ya. within the first 14 days the phone froze up while trying to answer a call. it has froze up several times. it shuts off by itself. sometimes the battery drains in like 2 hours. it drops calls and uses sprint as the carrier so no signal anywhere. I expected more for my money meaning a phone that works. i do not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 95 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone is ok, battery is awful. Service is a joke

07/22/2012
By ,
chillicothe, ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased this phone on 7/22/12 along with the protection plan, $45 monthly minutes, extended battery, screen protectors, and car charger.
The phone itself is great aside from the battery. If you have bad signal, it will constantly be searching for signal and the battery will die within 10 hours.
The service is not good unless in wide open areas.
My phone has since crashed twice. It stopped working thursday evening and tech support said it should be fixed withing 24 hours. IT was an error on their part. 48 hours later(saturday evening) I still have no working phone. I called back in and the phone was reactivated and the plan was reinstalled. IT worked. And now the phone has once again stopped working(today 7/22) stating my account cannot be validated. I have sat on the customer support line for over an hour only to be told it will take 24-48 hours for the phone to be fixed for an error that is once again their fault.
If the phone is not fixed withing the allotted time I will be returning it for a full refund including the monthly unlimited plan and extended protection plan and be moving onto a actual droid phone.
$45 a month is great to have unlimited, but the hassle is just not worth it. Ill pay double that a month if it means I will have a working phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 96 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Not what I expected.

01/01/2013
By ,
Lowell, AR
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought the phone less than a month ago, and have already filled up and emptied out the phone storage a couple times. You have to manually put apps on SD card, and not all of the apps can be moved to the SD card.
The internet is very slow to load. The product description did not specify there was no flash for the camera.
Contemplating returning it for a different one.....
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 97 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Fair entry-level Android; low battery life

10/10/2012
By ,
Canton OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Optimus Q phone has a short battery life, only 150MB (that's right MEGABYTE!) internal memory and a slow processor compared to other pre-paid smart phones. Once the "low memory" warning appears, forget sending/receiving texts or much of anything else. Even though you have a microSD card, many apps will not allow you to move them to the SD card. Facebook cannot be moved and takes 44MB of the total memory. And the slow processor sometimes can't handle several background tasks running AND choose active apps at the same time. The phone will just freeze for awhile then move on OR just reboot itself. This made my wife VERY unhappy with this phone.
So if you want an "OK" smart phone with all of the features this phone offers, then the Optimus Q is not all that bad. The phone works great with Straight-Talk as far as voice, texts, running apps (one-at-a-time) web access and such. But the low internal memory and slow processor ranks this phone at the low-end side of Android smart phones in my opinion. The battery might last longer than 2 hours if you don't over-task the phone.
FYI ... You can void your warranty, root the phone (search Android forums on the benefits) and force apps to load to the microSD. The slow processor could use the extra-quick access rate of a class 10 versus a class 4 microSD (Amazon Basics' microSD cards are very good and no one beats their price ex: $11.74 for a 16GB class 10).
One last note; I did not root this phone, but I did return it in less than 45 days. Although my wife wanted a slider QWERTY keyboard, she gladly gave-up this feature for the Samsung Proclaim with 1GB internal memory and 1GB processor at the same price as the Optimus Q
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Proclaim Prepaid Cell Phone
4.2 out of 5(1,168)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
Review 98 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Honestly Hate it

08/27/2012
By ,
west hazelton ,PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was on who never wanted to get a touch screen but after my env3 broke i figured why not give it a try. i fell in love with the keyboard which is what sold me on it. now after owning it for some time now i can honestly say I deff hate it! between the phone freezing, Powering on and off during my phone calls (or not even being used),not reciving phone calls/txt msges or pictures, not being able to send pictures, connect to WiFi and battery dying quick when not even being used has pushed me to want a phone that is going to last
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 99 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Battery makes it almost useless

02/10/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Before I bought it, I read that this phone had poor battery life, but I thought the complaints were from heavy users. No, the battery life on this thing really is PATHETIC. I try to use it as little as possible, keeping features like GPS and Wifi turned off all the time, telling it not to update my email too often, and rarely going to the web. It still goes critical within 12-36 hours. The battery menu says 84% was used by "cell standby" and "phone idle" - only 16% was used by voice calls.
It also recharges kind of slow.
So, my mobile phone is not really mobile, if it has to be plugged in so much. And my smart phone is not really smart, if I am afraid to use the features. Every day for the first 2 weeks, I considered returning it. Now I am debating switching back to my flip phone to talk, and using this as an iPod/camera. But then, what good would the qwerty keyboard be, if I can't text with it?
There is a double battery you can buy online. I guess I would have to get that, in order to go out after work and keep my phone on.
** The best thing about this phone is the video camera. It works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 100 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
02/18/2012
By ,
parkersburg,WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this phone from the straight talk site with the package deal switched my number to my new phone with the new unlimited card 2 days later it was deactived saying it needed a card um no! and it keeps shuting off for no reseason and wont turn back on I reaaly dont want to call customer service again hard to understand what they are saying I have been a straight talk customer for three years never had trouble with my old phone
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
81-100 of 368 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  19 Next