Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Enjoy amazing mobile applications of Android OS with the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone. Featuring a 3.2 inch touch screen, this LG Optimus Q Android cell phone provides you a prepaid plan with Android 2.3 OS. The Straight Talk prepaid phone package includes battery, 4GB MicroSD memory card, charger, service guide, user manual and service activation card. This LG Optimus Q Android cell phone features a slider QWERTY keyboard, touch screen, Micro USB and v 2.0 Bluetooth. The battery life of the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone stands up to seven hours full talk time and 10 days stand by.
Average Customer Rating:
3.58 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(481 Reviews) 418
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
101
Customer Recommendation67%321 out of 479reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
101
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
11/23/2012
By ,
little rock, ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service is sum"boo boo" drop calls all the time, no service all the time whats the purpose of paying the bill if no service is available. I it go back to the old saying you get what you pay for...
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 82 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

VERY SLOW!!!!!!!!!!!

03/29/2013
By ,
Ridgeland, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone works on sprint prepaid towers which doesnt work ANYWHERE! The memory is shot, the phone resets itself and it ALWAYS freezes up. Stay AWAY from this phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 83 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
06/27/2013
By ,
chillicothe, ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
was defective when recieved
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 84 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
11/29/2011
By ,
Urbana Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone was great for 1 month and then it froze up (while on Walmart's website) enough the battery had to removed to shut down. Now the display is solid black. Had purchased the walmart replacement plan so was not worried. Called the number for my protection plan and since it is a malfunction and I did not drop the phone then I need to contact mfg for mfg warranty for the first 12 months. Would not be bad if Straight Talk really had customer service. The response (after an hour of 3 different people and repeating the same information over and over) is yes we will replace your phone BUT this means in 3-5 days I will get a letter with a shipping label to mail my phone back to them. Once they receive my phone then they will ship me a new phone. If I have not received my letter in 5 days then I need to call them to follow up with the ticket number I was given. Overall best am looking at is at least 2 weeks with NO PHONE. Not happy after paying $180 for a phone (+$40 warranty) will be without a phone for half the time I owned the phone. After checking straight talk facebook page even more discouraged because posts have talked of waiting 12 weeks for the replacement phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+194points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
clearwater fl
return
Posted 02/08/2012
I had my phone well over a year and dropped it in water and after a couple days it stopped working. At no cost to me they sent me the return package label and i sent my phone and within the week I was sent a new phone. Its all on perspective. I couldn't be happier with the service I have recieved and I have been a customer for a couple of years. I didn't like being without my phone and can understand its fustrating when that happens especially with a new phone.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Boston, MA
Agrees that Straight talk and Sprint are lousy
Posted 01/14/2012
My sister had a terrible experience with less popular networks like sprint and tmobile. Took her days then weeks to just cancel her account and support is overseas. No thanks. I'll stick with AT&T go phones. My old Motorola RAZR V3 works great but I am shopping for a smart go phone but I won't buy anything other than an AT&T or Verizon. I've only used AT&T with great results. No dropped calls. Great reception and customer service. You can actually understand customer service reps.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Springdale, AR
It's a disappointment!!
Posted 01/10/2012
1) + Nice sound qualities
2) + Lots of Options
3) + Great Keyboard with slider or touch options.
4) + Fun to use.
4) POOR Battery Life - Turn it off when you aren't using it or close all APPs
5) Very limited RANGE!! EVEN in the wide open spaces in high elevations, there is limited coverage.
6) So close, so close, but yet so far............
+2points
Customer Avatar
Effie, MN
Torg
Posted 12/20/2011
I had a humidity problem with my phone and straight talk shipped me the replacemet phone and all I had to do is prlace the sim card and send the broken phone back. It was a fast replacement with no hassel. I had a good experience with customer service with no hassel and short wait time.
+2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 85 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Worst phone I have ever owned.

04/03/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
touch constantly stops working, it works on sprint towers so very poor reception, apps always "force close" everytime you use them, the phone loads and operates very slow. it broke after 2 months. I have 2 other friends who have the same phone and also have the same problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 86 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
05/13/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
unless you live in a area that has good reception with sprint do not buy this phone it not worth the time or hassle.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 87 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

This phone is possessed!

08/02/2012
By ,
Woodbridge, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have owned various phones, inexpensive and very expensive (Blackberry, Palm). This phone calls people without me even touching the phone. And, it's not even the last number dialed. It has terrible reception, way too many dropped calls. When I use the charger that came with the phone in an ac outlet, it won't let me use the phone and it starts surfing through various menus and websites without me even touching it. I have never owned a phone that was possessed before, (Smiles), but this one is Twilight Zone material. The battery stinks! It won't hold a charge for more than a few hours and I don't use a lot of apps. I really only use the phone to make calls and when I'm not at home to read emails and occasionally use the web. The phone takes dark pictures. It has been a lesson in frustration and I'm ready to move on to "bigger and better" things.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 88 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
09/11/2013
By ,
lancaster pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is horrible! I get absolutely no signal anywhere and most of the apps and games I like aren't able to download to this type of phone and the customer service Straight Talk is horrible. It took me almost a week to get somebody in customer service then when I finally did the customer service person hung up on me twice and the problem still wasn't resolved. I can't wait to return this phone!
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 89 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Horrible network phones not worth the money I paid

10/09/2012
By ,
Sanford, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It was a nice phone at first when I first got it, after about two weeks after I got it, the phone started randomly shutting off. Then I have limited coverage in a lot of places. Now the screen is broken, (didn't invest in the warranty) and now I have trouble keeping it charged litterely will not stay charged for 1 min then I have to wiggle the cord then extremly gently set it down, if I move it the wrong way on the charger it will shut down and restart. If your gonna buy a phone buy the nice one, not this one. Anyone know what I can do about my phone its basically useless and I'm down 200 bucks, I know someone said they are defective, will straighttalk or LG send me another one?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 90 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Not Worth Your Money

11/19/2012
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
At first I was excited about this phone, and it worked really well. However, that only lasted about 2 months. After that it started being very slow, and I had to keep turning it off, then back on to get it to work at a speed that is semi-close to how fast other phones I have had. It randomly loses, even if I haven't moved. It automatically saves apps to the internal memory, so I have to go in and manually switch them all to the SD card so I don't constantly get a "memory full" message when I have very few things installed. Getting it replaced with a new phone won't help, the new one also quit working well after a few months. I was hoping to keep this phone for a while, but will likely replace it with a completely different model soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 91 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor operating sys/Poor memory

03/10/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've had the phone for about 13mo. In that time, the phone shuts off in middle of call, freezes when I'm writing a text on touch screen and open to use the Q-board to continue typing and the internal memory is HORRIBLE. You're stuck with worthless apps you can't delete from internal memory and can't move to the SD card. The worst thing is that the apps update and as they do, it eats up the internal memory until guess what....YOU GOT IT!!!! It loops at th power-up phase after it shuts off and now I its worthless...I can't use the phone at all....$170+ later....it's worthless and I've got to fork over another $200 for a new phone. Totally unexpected.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 92 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
03/22/2013
By ,
tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The phone keep shutting off by itself in the middle of a phone call and keep freezing up on me. Had too take it back and get a refund. If it would not have had them problems it would have been a great phone but it just has too many issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 93 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Hi tech piece of junk with glitches

01/30/2012
By ,
46350
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This phone when looking at it seemed like the best one. Well let me tell ya. within the first 14 days the phone froze up while trying to answer a call. it has froze up several times. it shuts off by itself. sometimes the battery drains in like 2 hours. it drops calls and uses sprint as the carrier so no signal anywhere. I expected more for my money meaning a phone that works. i do not recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 94 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Fair entry-level Android; low battery life

10/10/2012
By ,
Canton OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Optimus Q phone has a short battery life, only 150MB (that's right MEGABYTE!) internal memory and a slow processor compared to other pre-paid smart phones. Once the "low memory" warning appears, forget sending/receiving texts or much of anything else. Even though you have a microSD card, many apps will not allow you to move them to the SD card. Facebook cannot be moved and takes 44MB of the total memory. And the slow processor sometimes can't handle several background tasks running AND choose active apps at the same time. The phone will just freeze for awhile then move on OR just reboot itself. This made my wife VERY unhappy with this phone.
So if you want an "OK" smart phone with all of the features this phone offers, then the Optimus Q is not all that bad. The phone works great with Straight-Talk as far as voice, texts, running apps (one-at-a-time) web access and such. But the low internal memory and slow processor ranks this phone at the low-end side of Android smart phones in my opinion. The battery might last longer than 2 hours if you don't over-task the phone.
FYI ... You can void your warranty, root the phone (search Android forums on the benefits) and force apps to load to the microSD. The slow processor could use the extra-quick access rate of a class 10 versus a class 4 microSD (Amazon Basics' microSD cards are very good and no one beats their price ex: $11.74 for a 16GB class 10).
One last note; I did not root this phone, but I did return it in less than 45 days. Although my wife wanted a slider QWERTY keyboard, she gladly gave-up this feature for the Samsung Proclaim with 1GB internal memory and 1GB processor at the same price as the Optimus Q
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 95 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Honestly Hate it

08/27/2012
By ,
west hazelton ,PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was on who never wanted to get a touch screen but after my env3 broke i figured why not give it a try. i fell in love with the keyboard which is what sold me on it. now after owning it for some time now i can honestly say I deff hate it! between the phone freezing, Powering on and off during my phone calls (or not even being used),not reciving phone calls/txt msges or pictures, not being able to send pictures, connect to WiFi and battery dying quick when not even being used has pushed me to want a phone that is going to last
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 96 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Very hard to add info/contacts

06/01/2012
By ,
Sacto CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just bought this phone based on others reviews, bad idea. The phone was easy to buy T mobile set up min. and get working, but after that it has a lot of features but it is almost impossible to get this phone to save and store contacts. We have been trying now for over 4 hours and we can make calls but texting is hard to figure out. My wifes old phone was a snap, but this phone is really hard to program and you have to push the suface really hard to get the info to take, it has a lot of delay time when the battery gets past half way??? Some times it freezes and you have to turn it off??? The battery only lasted 2.4 hrs and required charging already. I think we are going to end up taking this thing back?? Why pay so much for a squirly phone??? The users manual is like a small phone book and many times what they tell you does not come up on the view screen to do?? We have been using our air time trying to just make calls and text message.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 97 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

battery life

09/01/2013
By ,
connecitut
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the battery life on this phone is lousy
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 98 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Runs on Sprint Network. No signal around trees.

06/01/2012
By ,
Georgia
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If you live in an area like Chase City, Va or in any farm area..or any area in general that is not in a big city, don't buy this phone. The phone itself is great but the service was poorly chosen. Straight Talk has phones that work great but they work on a Verizon network, the other is an ATT network which isn't excellent but is much better than Sprint who has no service towers in areas that you certainly wouldn't want to be stranded in with no signal like in the boondocks or on a dirt road near the woods. lol.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 99 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

nice phone

08/16/2013
By ,
wilmington De.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I LOVE the phone but could not store pictures and save pictures that was sent to me and pictures I took. :( and emails also. I had to return the phone. I did not want to :'( :'(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 100 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

PLEASE READ BEFORE BUYING!!!!!

08/20/2012
By ,
eau claire,WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Well i have been using the same flip phone for years and loved it but realized times are changed and need to upgrade. I went and got this phone and it blew me away for the first week, worked, great was fun, fast, good youtube, and voice commands. But after just 1 week it began always freezing, i would shut it off and turn it back on and it would freeze again, almost everytime i went to check messages. Updated, deleted, and force closed every thing i could but would still always freeze. Finally decided for almost $280 with plan, warranty, and phone itself was just not worth the freezing. so glad i returned it but now gotta find a new phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
81-100 of 368 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  19 Next