Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Enjoy amazing mobile applications of Android OS with the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone. Featuring a 3.2 inch touch screen, this LG Optimus Q Android cell phone provides you a prepaid plan with Android 2.3 OS. The Straight Talk prepaid phone package includes battery, 4GB MicroSD memory card, charger, service guide, user manual and service activation card. This LG Optimus Q Android cell phone features a slider QWERTY keyboard, touch screen, Micro USB and v 2.0 Bluetooth. The battery life of the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone stands up to seven hours full talk time and 10 days stand by.
Average Customer Rating:
3.58 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(481 Reviews) 418
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
101
Customer Recommendation67%321 out of 479reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
101
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

junk

07/05/2013
By ,
Delta,Co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First couldnt get it to work then it get serv ice out of colorado
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 62 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Not impressed.

08/06/2013
By ,
Sachse,TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone does not hold a charge very long. Calls do not come through sometimes, or when they do, they drop in mid conversation and the phone shuts down and restarts. You hear yourself echo when you try to answer the phone, or call someone.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 63 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

3rd LG Optimus Q & still not functioning properly

02/08/2012
By ,
Hampton, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this service for almost 2 years with my simple little cell phone & have LOVED every minute of it. Purchased this LG OPTIMUS Q phone in the beginning of January. Worked great for the first 10 or so days & then it started freezing up. Decided to exchange it for another one before my 15 days were up to avoid the nightmare of having to deal with straight talk directly. Got the 2nd phone & it worked great for 5 days & then it stopped receiving text messages from all other cell phone providers except AT&T. Called straight talks' nightmare of a customer service department, spent an hour on the phone with them, was transferred 3 different times, was told to complete the same update to my phone 3 different times & eventually was given a case number because they couldn't figure it out. I was told they had to research the issue & someone would get back to me in 72 hours. 72 hours passed & no phone call. Called back after 130 hours had passed & again, had to spend over an hour on the phone with them explaining the issues all over again even though I gave them my case number in the beginning of the conversation. Was again transferred to 3 different people, all of who had me do the same exact update to my phone that did not work the previous times I had tried it. Even spoke to 2 different supervisors who could not help me. They then proceeded to tell me that they were going to send me a shipping label to return the phone to them & that once they received my phone, they would send me a replacement. I have read many, many reviews that state that people have waited months for their new phones & being that I have no home phone with a small child, I cannot be without a phone. So, again, I decided to take the 2nd phone back to walmart before the 15 days was up. Got my 3rd phone last night & guess what, I still can't receive text messages. I can send them to everyone but I cannot receive them. I can, however, receive picture messages. DO NOT buy this phone. People on here are very, very quick to review this phone without giving it time to screw up. I promise you that it will eventually & you will have no choice but to deal with Straight Talk directly which I again, promise you, is an absolute nightmare. They don't speak english very well & have zero knowledge of how to repair a phone. They could only offer me one update solution to fix this problem & it didn't....even after days of so-called research. I will be returning this 3rd phone to Wal-mart & going back to my simple old cell phone as I had NO problems with that phone, ever. Which in turn means, I NEVER had to deal with the straight talk customer service. I highly recommend the Straight Talk concept if & ONLY if, you have a simple phone that runs on the Verizon network where you will NEVER have to deal with their customer service. If you want a smart phone, it's best to deal with a SMART company that can assist you when you have issues. Straight Talk is not that company - I PROMISE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+208points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
N.E. Hickory, NC
Straight Talk Customer Service
Posted 09/11/2013
The only thing these guys are good for is telling you what they CAN'T do. I love the plan I am on, but have had nothing but trouble trying to fix anything through customer service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 64 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
10/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was not aware that Sprint had bought Straight talk when I purchaced the phone on line. When I put my zipcode in to check to see if there was enough coverage it brought up there were 18 towers in my zip. However when I finally got someone inat straight talk that spoke English!! He put my zip in and informed me that one Verizon no longer owned Straight Talk and there were ONLY TWO TOWERS in my area not 18. bIG DIFFERENCE for a 200 dollar phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 65 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
09/02/2013
By ,
augusta ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My phone will come on but it will not work. This is the worse product I ever purchased and I am disappointed with ealmart
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 66 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

What a waste!

09/26/2013
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had 2 of these phones within the year and they both have been awful. There is not enough memory and only certain apps can be saved on the sd card so I am constantly having to clear history, delete apps just so I have room for my texts. The first phone I had the touch screen quit working, the power button stopped working and all the main buttons stopped working, they did replace it but the second one I have had far less than 8 months and the power button is not working on it either which makes it a huge hassle
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 67 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Piece Of Junk

12/23/2011
By ,
Emporia, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this phone to anyone, this phone is constantly freezing and the touch screen and slide work when they want to, company sent me a new phone thinking maybe it was just the phone but its still the same problem, another problem once you leave the city and get out into rural areas away from town or even in smaller towns there is little to no service so since i live out of town my phone constantly says searching for service and with other cheaper phones i have full service. bottom line is this phone is the biggest waste of $200 bucks ever and WOULD NOT EVER RECOMMEND THIS PHONE!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 68 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY

02/27/2012
By ,
minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are thinking of buying this phone think twice!!! I have only had this phone for 7 days, i bought this phone at Walmart and have straight talk for my phone service. I have had nothing but problems with this phone, it froze up, turns off and it turned off even when I was in the middle of a conversation! the only way I can get the phone to turn back on is to take the battery out and reinstall it... I'm going to take it back to walmart and get a different phone or my money back!!!! I did call LG and they said that they have not had any issues with this phone that it has to be straight talk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 69 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE ! I HAVE RETURNED 8 DEFECTIV

06/02/2012
By ,
Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I could do no star rating !!! Touch screen has stopped working randomly on all of them... Defective ??? so frustrating ... every time they stop working I spend no less than an hour on the phone with Straight Talk and then having to wait 3 days for them to send a fed ex paid envelope to me so I can send them the broken phone, Then wait another week or more to receive the brand new replacement phone ( all while I'm phone-less and my service days are being lost... then when I get the new one I have to call Straight Talk again about an hour yet again to have them activate the new one with all my old stuff stored in and my existing number transferred. I lose all my apps each and every time -_- ... 8 phones have been returned and replaced since Nov... It's now June 2nd, so 8 phones in 7 months.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 70 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

GARBAGE! and Waste of Money!!

08/14/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is by far the WORST phone I have EVER had! It stopped working after 31 days... I have decided to drive over the phone with my car tires just to get SOME satisfaction. Straight Talk Customers...BEWARE....Their "customer service" is terrible! If you plan on traveling outside of your zip code you will NOT GET SERVICE. Also, randomly more times than not the phone will say "Searching For Service" and you will NOT GET SERVICE. Straight Talk's only answer was to send the phone back in the mail and wait for a replacement. In the mean time, you will be without a phone. I am so disappointed with BOTH the phone and Customer Service with Straight Talk. Their wait times are LONG and you will regret all the wasted hours, literally, you will spend on hold!! I am cancelling my Service ASAP. Do Not Buy This phone or allow Straight Talk to be your wireless provider!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 71 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Great phone, horrible network

12/05/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone and I really wish I could use it. It uses sprints towers however, and even though they show service in my area on their coverage maps, I cant even get it activated the reception is so poor. So make sure you ask around about sprint in your area before you buy, or else you will just be really sad that you cant use this awesome phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+57points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GROVETOWN, GA
IF YOU GET POOR SIGNAL
Posted 08/26/2013
JUST PUT IT ON ROAM ALL TIME AND YOU WILL HAVE SIGNAL AND WI-FI ALWAYS
0points
Customer Avatar
Where are you at?
Posted 12/23/2011
whats your location that it doesnt want to work at?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 72 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
02/24/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has a stupid battery and it has frozen on me a few times. I have to charge the battery at least twice per day. This phone has been running Extremely slow ever since I got it. I am very disappointed in this phone!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 73 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

It worked for three months

05/28/2013
By ,
Carbondale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have taken good care of the phone and it's worthless at this point. During almost every phone call I can't hear who I am talking to and they can't hear me. I have to push the button at the top several times per call to start hearing again. Sometimes if I put it on speaker phone it works better but it still happens. The memory card that came with the phone is so small it fills up quickly and your voicemail won't come in. There is no message telling you this. I'm hopeful I can exchange it for my old fashioned flip phone style that I can actually text correctly with. Very disappointing!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 74 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
07/01/2013
By ,
Cullman, AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Phone carrier SPRINT does not work in my area! I am having difficulty sending it back for a refund.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 75 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone needed a charge after only 6 hours.

09/27/2013
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
J U N K
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 76 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

lack of flash

06/19/2012
By ,
nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not have a flash player and cannot download one so I cannot watch videos that I want to watch or play games that I want to play. They don't let you know that this phone lacks a flash player and one cannot be downloaded. As far as anything google you are good to go.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 77 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

"Nice" phone...but "POOR" reception!!!

07/04/2012
By ,
Greenville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The actual phone itself was ok...but the reception where I live was "horrible"!!! My old samsung flip phone gave me better signal strength/service than the Android did!!! I couldn't get any signal strength on one side of my house...& a little on the other side!!! Sometimes, the phone wouldn't ring when people were calling me, but I would get a voicemail notification & that's how I knew someone had tried to call me!!! Also, I would be talking on the phone & when I went to the other side of my house, the call would get dropped!!! Don't even let me comment on the internet connection...or LACK THERE OF!!! I am returning it to the store & going elswhere for service.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 78 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

not working right wont keep a charge

03/04/2013
By ,
sterling, co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i am having to take my phone back it wont keep a charge and the batery keeps dieing, even charging it ever nite . last couple hrs them dies again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 79 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor Product

12/24/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the LG Optimus Q for Straight Talk at WalMart. Service for phones is excellent...had a Straight Talk Samsung previously. Loved the new touch screen and qwerty slide BUT within 3 weeks the Optimus (WalMart label LG500C), with the battery fully charged, completely shut the phone down at least 6 times; twice in mid-call and once while using the GPS Navigation! None of the buttons was effective in getting it turned back on. The battery becomes excessively hot as well.
Straight Talk suggested buying a new Optimus, transferring the info, then return the old one. After all of that and porting my number over, the new phone shut down twice in the first 24 hours, even though, again, the battery was fully charged. And as with the "old" Optimus, the only way to re-connect was to take the battery out and re-insert it.
Another call to Straight Talk and the Customer Rep told me to return it, that the LG Touch Android phones were defective and they have had nothing but complaints about them. She advised me that the cheaper LG Touch Android w/out the qwerty slide was also defective. I followed the advise, returned it, and am now back to my old Samsung (non-smart non-Android).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Android Quirks
Posted 02/04/2012
Entry level Android phones all have some quirks that relate to their limited internal memory for storing apps, and their limited "active" memory for the apps that you are using. The "trick" to having a good experience with such phones is to NOT add apps that you will not use, and delete apps that you are not using. The app I use the most is a task manager that closes the apps that I am not using. I make sure that a MINIMUM of 40 megs of internal memory is left empty, and at least 100 megs of operating memory is available before opening an "intensive" app such as GPS Navigation.
The GPS Navigation app when used with 3G requires ALL of the phone's CPU, a huge amount of memory, and drains the battery rapidly. Even if a phone is attached to a car charger, the battery may continue to drain.
Bottom line: to use entry level Android phones successfully, keep only a few apps on your phone, and keep them all OFF except for the one you are using.
+10points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 80 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

DONT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!!!

09/11/2012
By ,
Indiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a great phone for the first couple of months. You can do everything on it but TALK. This is the WORST piece of JUNK I have ever owned. I bought this thinking it was a great deal. But as it turns out it is NOT. The screen freezes up and the phone randomly calls and txts people. You can not have a conversation on it it drops calls and cuts in and out. When I call Straight Talk the said they would send me a new phone. But this is already my second replacement and its the same after the first couple of months. DONT WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
61-80 of 368 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  19 Next