Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Enjoy amazing mobile applications of Android OS with the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone. Featuring a 3.2 inch touch screen, this LG Optimus Q Android cell phone provides you a prepaid plan with Android 2.3 OS. The Straight Talk prepaid phone package includes battery, 4GB MicroSD memory card, charger, service guide, user manual and service activation card. This LG Optimus Q Android cell phone features a slider QWERTY keyboard, touch screen, Micro USB and v 2.0 Bluetooth. The battery life of the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone stands up to seven hours full talk time and 10 days stand by.
Average Customer Rating:
3.581 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(484 Reviews) 421
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
202
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
102
Customer Recommendation67%323 out of 482reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
202
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
102
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone freezes / Touchscreen not working

08/05/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great for a few months but now I am regretting spending my hard earned money on this phone only to possibly have to spend more money replacing it. I am a single mom of a toddler. I cannot be without my phone for weeks to send it back to Straight Talk for a replacement phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 62 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Bad Service

08/06/2012
By ,
Crystal, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Upon purchasing the Optimus Q Android we attempted to have a Straight Talk person help with switching over. She was hard to understand and generally rude. In the end she hung up on us . Topping it off, we had no service and we lost our original phone number and remaining 12 days of service. We gave up on Straight Talk and went with Walmarts Family Mobile.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 63 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
11/23/2012
By ,
little rock, ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Service is sum"boo boo" drop calls all the time, no service all the time whats the purpose of paying the bill if no service is available. I it go back to the old saying you get what you pay for...
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 64 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE

03/13/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone was great for the first two weeks or so, then after that it just broke down.
Here's a list of what's going wrong:
It freezes
I have to charge it at least 3 times a day
It takes about 5 hours to go from full battery to dead without even touching it
It lets me install a whopping 3 apps before the memory is full and it becomes a expensive paper weight
It won't let me put things onto the SIM card to free up space
It doesn't send texts half the time, it won't ever download pictures
The speaker barely works
The touch screen freezes half the time
It is CONSTANTLY glitching
The internet is slower then death
The cover for the USB port broke
The paint on the buttons wears off quickly
The camera is terrible, unless you live on the sun itself you will never have enough light to take a picture
Bottom line: THIS PHONE IS TERRIBLE, DON'T EVEN BOTHER WASTING YOUR MONEY!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 65 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Good phone but service is terrible!

07/04/2013
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good phone but everyone who is considering this plan should know that the service is very limited. I work 11 miles from home and got no service at all that far from home. keeping same number and activation was very smooth but what good is unlimited and nationwide when you can't use the phone anywhere but home!!??
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 66 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

BAD

11/23/2012
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone is HORRIBLE!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 67 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Phone needed a charge after only 6 hours.

09/27/2013
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
J U N K
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 68 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
09/23/2013
By ,
Thorndike, Maine
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your time buying this phone. Got this for my son to have and does not get service anywhere. Very disappointed. No one out there to help with it either.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 69 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

What a waste!

09/26/2013
By ,
Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had 2 of these phones within the year and they both have been awful. There is not enough memory and only certain apps can be saved on the sd card so I am constantly having to clear history, delete apps just so I have room for my texts. The first phone I had the touch screen quit working, the power button stopped working and all the main buttons stopped working, they did replace it but the second one I have had far less than 8 months and the power button is not working on it either which makes it a huge hassle
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 70 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

junk

07/05/2013
By ,
Delta,Co
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First couldnt get it to work then it get serv ice out of colorado
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 71 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
06/25/2013
By ,
havre, mt
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Junk couldn't use in my area
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 72 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Bad Customer Service

08/26/2013
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This review is for customer service which is part of the package for straight talk. If you are speaking to a person, they will NOT go beyond their script, and will NOT make any actions or adjustments that is not already prewritten. All they will say is a paraphrase of the same thing over and over again. My impression is they don't understand what I'm trying to convey to them. I just wanted verification about my credit card activity on someone else's phone and I was told no and that I was being unreasonable. I wish I hadn't bought a straight talk phone and service for my sister and I am also paying for my niece's. I was told that web service is excruciatingly slow and sometimes text will not be received by the other party for up to an hour. I almost bought one for myself. Thank goodness I didn't!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 73 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
10/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was not aware that Sprint had bought Straight talk when I purchaced the phone on line. When I put my zipcode in to check to see if there was enough coverage it brought up there were 18 towers in my zip. However when I finally got someone inat straight talk that spoke English!! He put my zip in and informed me that one Verizon no longer owned Straight Talk and there were ONLY TWO TOWERS in my area not 18. bIG DIFFERENCE for a 200 dollar phone!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 74 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
04/08/2013
By ,
Malakoff, texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I'm sure it would be a good phone if it didn't power off with full battery and if it got a signal. Battery doesnt hold up either.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 75 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Not worth the effort.

01/20/2012
By ,
Mid-Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have 2 straighttalk cell phones and was upgrading a family member with this smartphone. However, in my area of Michigan was not very smart and not worth the effort. As many have written, the phone freezes regularly and does need the battery removed and re-inserted to make the phone functional again. This occurred at least 2x per day. The sprint network coverage was poor. There was no service in areas that my verizon tower straighttalk phones did have service. I returned the phone in less than a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lansing Mi
Posted 02/24/2012
I live in Lansing Michigan and my Samsung Galaxy Precedent locks up if it's left on the text message screen for too long. I also have a Nokia E71 gsm phone and had problems with it alot. I had to get the SIM card replaced. you can purchase a SIM card from Straight Talk website and use it in any AT&T or T-Mobile phone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 76 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

defective right out of the box

04/05/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love all the features of the phone, but like many of the other people on here my phone was defective right out of the box, it would freeze up, and go to a black screen. Especially when trying to make a phone call.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jacksonville, FL
Posted 04/09/2012
Consider charging the battery all the way to full and see if that helps. Your problems sounds like a low battery and as you said straight out of the box the problems started. Most times the battery is somewhat lower by time it is bought off of the shelf
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 77 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Don't waste your money!!!

01/05/2012
By ,
Suffolk, Va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worst phone I've ever had. It freezes up several times a day and the only way to fix it is to remove the battery and reset the phone. The battery dies extremely fast and I don't even use it that much so if you want to use the web have your charger near by. Save yourself the hassle and get something else, anything, even two tin cans attached by string is more reliable!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 78 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

DO NOT BUY

02/27/2012
By ,
minnesota
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are thinking of buying this phone think twice!!! I have only had this phone for 7 days, i bought this phone at Walmart and have straight talk for my phone service. I have had nothing but problems with this phone, it froze up, turns off and it turned off even when I was in the middle of a conversation! the only way I can get the phone to turn back on is to take the battery out and reinstall it... I'm going to take it back to walmart and get a different phone or my money back!!!! I did call LG and they said that they have not had any issues with this phone that it has to be straight talk!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 79 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Battery constantly requires charging / slow phone

11/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The battery life is atrocious, a full charge barely lasts seven hours even with the bluetooth, GPS and WiFi disabled.
The 3G connectivity is terrible, the phone constantly displays "http server errors" when my freinds other StraightTalk Samsung phones work right next to me to visit the same web site.
Navigation is cool but it constantly freezes up and then jumps up to catch up to my actual location, I've missed street turns because of the freezing.
The controls are slow to respond, I've tried to hang up phone calls just to hear the other caller ask "are you still there???" because the phone hasn't actually hung despite being pushed to do so.
I bought this phone because I wanted the keyboard since I'm a Blackberry user but I should've taken my friends advice and bought the Samsung version which doesn't have a physical keyboard but still has a useable virtual keyboard.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
-13points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Arizona
Here is some help.
Posted 12/07/2011
I first got the free JuiceDefender from android MARKET apps. First day it saved increased my battery life by over 30%. After a few days I bought the $4.99?? app for the best version and now my life numbers are in the 40's and 50%'s range.
It works hard on all your toys and services. Too difficult trying to figure out what to turn off. Make it automatic like I did and you will be happy! :)
+4points
Customer Avatar
East Tennessee
Posted 12/07/2011
Yeah, I have to agree... I think you got a bad phone... Mine works like a charm although, you are correct, it does like to eat the battery once in a while.... and mine works fantastic when connected to my wi-fi at home, no lag and very fast ...
+4points
Customer Avatar
TENNESSEE
bad luck ..
Posted 11/25/2011
think you just got a bad apple mine is perfect and does not have any of the problems your having ... think if i were you i would just exchange that opp,q for another just like it , cause i feel ya on the great keyboard but my last straight talk ph. was the 1st keyboard ph. they came out with ... good luck and don't give up ....
+5points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 80 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

3rd LG Optimus Q & still not functioning properly

02/08/2012
By ,
Hampton, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this service for almost 2 years with my simple little cell phone & have LOVED every minute of it. Purchased this LG OPTIMUS Q phone in the beginning of January. Worked great for the first 10 or so days & then it started freezing up. Decided to exchange it for another one before my 15 days were up to avoid the nightmare of having to deal with straight talk directly. Got the 2nd phone & it worked great for 5 days & then it stopped receiving text messages from all other cell phone providers except AT&T. Called straight talks' nightmare of a customer service department, spent an hour on the phone with them, was transferred 3 different times, was told to complete the same update to my phone 3 different times & eventually was given a case number because they couldn't figure it out. I was told they had to research the issue & someone would get back to me in 72 hours. 72 hours passed & no phone call. Called back after 130 hours had passed & again, had to spend over an hour on the phone with them explaining the issues all over again even though I gave them my case number in the beginning of the conversation. Was again transferred to 3 different people, all of who had me do the same exact update to my phone that did not work the previous times I had tried it. Even spoke to 2 different supervisors who could not help me. They then proceeded to tell me that they were going to send me a shipping label to return the phone to them & that once they received my phone, they would send me a replacement. I have read many, many reviews that state that people have waited months for their new phones & being that I have no home phone with a small child, I cannot be without a phone. So, again, I decided to take the 2nd phone back to walmart before the 15 days was up. Got my 3rd phone last night & guess what, I still can't receive text messages. I can send them to everyone but I cannot receive them. I can, however, receive picture messages. DO NOT buy this phone. People on here are very, very quick to review this phone without giving it time to screw up. I promise you that it will eventually & you will have no choice but to deal with Straight Talk directly which I again, promise you, is an absolute nightmare. They don't speak english very well & have zero knowledge of how to repair a phone. They could only offer me one update solution to fix this problem & it didn't....even after days of so-called research. I will be returning this 3rd phone to Wal-mart & going back to my simple old cell phone as I had NO problems with that phone, ever. Which in turn means, I NEVER had to deal with the straight talk customer service. I highly recommend the Straight Talk concept if & ONLY if, you have a simple phone that runs on the Verizon network where you will NEVER have to deal with their customer service. If you want a smart phone, it's best to deal with a SMART company that can assist you when you have issues. Straight Talk is not that company - I PROMISE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+208points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
N.E. Hickory, NC
Straight Talk Customer Service
Posted 09/11/2013
The only thing these guys are good for is telling you what they CAN'T do. I love the plan I am on, but have had nothing but trouble trying to fix anything through customer service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
61-80 of 368 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  19 Next