Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Enjoy amazing mobile applications of Android OS with the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone. Featuring a 3.2 inch touch screen, this LG Optimus Q Android cell phone provides you a prepaid plan with Android 2.3 OS. The Straight Talk prepaid phone package includes battery, 4GB MicroSD memory card, charger, service guide, user manual and service activation card. This LG Optimus Q Android cell phone features a slider QWERTY keyboard, touch screen, Micro USB and v 2.0 Bluetooth. The battery life of the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone stands up to seven hours full talk time and 10 days stand by.
Average Customer Rating:
3.58 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(481 Reviews) 418
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
101
Customer Recommendation67%321 out of 479reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
34
1 star
101
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
11/21/2011
By ,
The Villages, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is awesome!! It was hard for me to give up my iPhone, but could no longer afford it, so I had to move on. I spent many days trying to decide between the Galaxy Precedent and this phone, but I'm so glad I picked this one over the Precedent. I've had the phone 3 weeks, and already I can do more on it than on the iPhone in 2 years. I now listen to french songs from Paris radio stations while walking the dog, and this phone is capable of doing all I will ever need plus more. It's a great phone! It is difficult finding accessories for it, but I've managed to find some on various websites. Buy it...you'll love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+625points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Customer Avatar
lg optimus
Posted 06/18/2013
does this phone have a sim card?
0points
Customer Avatar
New York City,NY
it is a gsm phone?
Posted 05/13/2012
I would like to know if it is a gsm phone? I meant if it can be used in Brazil
+1point
Customer Avatar
cartersville, ga
Posted 02/22/2012
You can buy accessories by going under google and typing in "LG Optimus Q cases" or whatever else you want.
+5points
Customer Avatar
raleigh nc
lg optimus
Posted 02/16/2012
This is the best phone I have had since I have owned a cell phone period, I bought my first cell phone 13 years ago.
+3points
Customer Avatar
Honeoye Falls, NY
Accessories for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q
Posted 01/28/2012
Where did you find your accessories for your phone? I just ordered one for myself and would like to know how to purchase some accessories. I haven't been able to find any websites that sell accessories for this type of phone.
Thanks
-2points
Customer Avatar
salisbury,NC
phone was hard to find but great product to have
Posted 01/26/2012
i seen the phone in stores and know some one that has one, but it was very hard to find this one on line
-2points
Customer Avatar
Oregon
Disappointed in this phone's battery
Posted 01/07/2012
Walmart's Online Service is Great! My local store was out of this phone but Straighttalk send me one in 3 days. It's a fast phone but, I'm very disappointed in the battery life of this phone; I have had to recharge this phone 3 times in the same day I received it while trying to get the phone set up, and I found it get's hot as well. I'm going to go to a 32 GB SD card and hope that will help the battery life, I find that I have to continually turn it off, it doesn't let me logoff while on a website from the Google service on some websites and when I return to the home phone menu, I find it has not released me from the internetm which could interfer with extra data charges. I love Samsung products but very disappointed in this one.
+1point
Customer Avatar
NC
Accessories
Posted 12/12/2011
Where have you found accessories for this phone?
0points
Read Comments (8)
Read Comments (8)
Review 22 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Decent Phones BAD Customer Service

12/29/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had two different Straight Talk Phones the Samsung Slider T401G (non-android) and the LG Optimus Q (Android). In a nutshell, if you want to save money and don't want a contract Straight Talk isn't a bad choice. However, I've had some problems with my Optimus Q and service leaves something to be desired.
Straight Talk's non-Android phones have great coverage. The Android phones fall a short on coverage. However, if you spend most of your time in a moderate to large metro area the android phones should work fine. If not, I would recommend not wasting your money. See the coverage maps here: http://www.straighttalk.com/Coverage
If you have any problems with your service or phone, be prepared to receive awful customer service. In general their customer service representatives speak poor English, have no clue what they are talking about, and expect you to call from an alternate phone to troubleshoot your phone. If your cell is your only phone this may present a problem.
The Pros:
•Inexpensive plans with unlimited talk/data
•Non-android phones: Excellent service coverage(Verizon network)
The Cons:
•Android phones: Ok service coverage (Sprint network)
•TERRIBLE Customer Service
•Limited phone selection
•Android phones expensive
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+38points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cocoa, Florida
Samsung Slider T401G/ Optimus Q Android
Posted 01/01/2012
I own the Samsung Slider T401G. I have to say I am very dissatisfied with it. Yes, the service coverage is great however, for what I paid for it $89.00 I expected a little more than what I got. I regret not doing a little more reviewing before I jumped in and bought it. It was sadly a quick replacement for the Galaxy Mesmerize CDMA phone that I brought with me from Missouri. when I moved to FL. I had to cancel service and so I went with ST. I do want to comment on the Optimus Q Android as well. I am waiting patiently for the price to fall and it will then I will be replacing my premature purchase. Once an Android user always and Android user. You can call Straight Talk and ask to speak with an english speaking agent if you so desire. I am hard of hearing and I ask each time and they have been very accommodating. However, like you. My ST phone is my only phone and trying to get my phone fixed is difficult. I drive to my local Walmart and let them call and they are happy to do it. If I wasn't saving almost 75.00 a month I would go back to a regular service plan however, this day and age ST is just fine and when you find the phone you can enjoy then it is easier to settle into. I have done my research on the LG Optimus Q and it's the best for ST Androids. So hopefully Walmart will start lowering the price so those of us waiting on a good solid android phone may enjoy one. Good luck in the future with customer service and choosing your new phone. Do not lean to far towards other androids without doing your homework first. You might be disappointed.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Love it!

12/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read the reviews on the phone before I purchased it. I read really good and really bad reviews. I think what I was seeing was this, if you have a phone compatable with Apple Iphone, you will probably not be very happy with this phone. If you've never owned a droid before, you'll love it. My daughter has the iphone and she was telling me that her phone was quicker to get on certain apps. On the other hand, this phone had features hers didn't. I love it. There are alot of apps for free to download. If you are thinking about getting it, I'd say go for it. It's well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+83points
Review 24 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

amazing

12/28/2011
By ,
hickory, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my younger sister got the Straight Talk Samsung Galaxy Precedent when it first came out but i held out because i could not do without a keyboard, boy am i glad i waited i love this phone its a complete life saver the only down fall is its battery life, but thats if your using all its features, if you only use it for calling and texting and play around a little on it, it will last all day. but any long term use will drain the battery but on the other side of the coin the recharges in no time. when i first saw this advertised as coming out i looked up extras for it (cases, screen protectors, ect.) but now that it has been out a while they are getting much easier to find. i got this phone really only because it was the only android phone with full keyboard but i find myself using the swipe to text feature more then i ever thought i would. this compared to my sisters phone is a hands down winner, not only is mine running a newer os but hers is always freezing and having just annoying problems out of it. this is a must get you will not be disappointed
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 25 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

WOW. Awsome Phone

04/21/2012
By ,
Sanford, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I do not bother with product reviews unless I am looking to purchase a product. I don't write them myself. First I will say that I this phone is incredible. I cannot believe it is only $179. This phone truly operates like $600 phone. I have only had a Blackberry in the past and this phone far exceeds the blackberry. I have owned it a month now and the only thing that has bothered me is it hangs whenever the WiFi is on. You can turn it off and on at will. I found out that it lags sometimes when the WiFi is turned on because it scans for open networks, so I leave it off unless I am downloading and near a hot spot (which is rare). I have not had an other issues with it. When you hold it in your hand, you can feel the weight and quality in it and it is very responsive. Its options and capabilities seem endless. Get it, you will not regret it. Like I said, I don't write reviews but I had to say something and give it the props that it deserves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 26 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Fantastic phone

11/19/2011
By ,
Rancho Mirage, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone - I'm so happy I decided to buy this one. I really wanted an LG, in my opinion based on my experience they are the best. This phone has superior voice quality on both ends, all the features I wanted in an Adroid including a full QWERTY keyboard as well as a virtual keyboard and is a sturdy, well-made, durable device. I couldn't ask for more, especially for the money. I highly recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1,023points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
missouri
apps
Posted 09/23/2012
I love the phone and have used it across the u.s. and hawaii. My complaint is the internal memory. They advdrtise 250,000 apps but i have 4 and the internal memory is full. Whoever heard of 250mb of storage? Can't transfer to sd card
0points
Customer Avatar
Livingston, MT
I WANT THIS PHONE!
Posted 01/23/2012
I really want this phone. I live in Livingston, Montana and it is not available here. Probably because it operates off of Sprint towers and we don't have Sprint here -- we have Verizon towers here! Can this phone be made to work on Verizon towers? It's not fair that this is a Straight Talk phone and I can't use it as a Straight Talk customer!
-2points
Customer Avatar
Detroit, MI
Great phone
Posted 01/07/2012
I absolutely Love my Lg Optimus Q phone. Best phone I have ever had.
0points
Customer Avatar
MONTANA
Posted 12/29/2011
WHY WON'T THIS PHONE WORK IN MY AREA???? I WANT ONE SO BAD!!!
-4points
Customer Avatar
East Tennessee
Optimus Q
Posted 12/03/2011
As of now, all ST "Android" phones are CDMA on Srpint's pre-paid 3G service...
+7points
Customer Avatar
caribou, me
?
Posted 11/23/2011
hey is this phone a gsm or a cdma phone?
-3points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 27 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Outstanding cell phone!

01/10/2012
By ,
Berryville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought and activated this phone a few days ago, breaking my contract with AT&T - and an HTC Inspire 4G.
First, the phone:
This Optimus has better voice quality than the Inspire - probably as good as the Blackberry I had until several months ago. The volume also gets a bit louder, which is very nice for a guy who drives in a noisy van all day. The menus are quite similar, both being Android 2.3. The Optimus' touch screen is as responsive as the Inspire's. The Optimus has a smaller screen and a much bigger battery, so I don't have to keep a second battery in my pocket - what a relief!
Second, the service:
A couple months ago, AT&T decided to change policy, and I was kicked into a new data plan, without the option to walk away free. It added about $50 per month to my bill. Straight Talk is a whopping $45 per month - a third of last month's AT&T bill.
Third, the signal provider:
Tracfone, including Straight Talk and Net10, has no towers. They use the singals from Verizon, AT&T, Sprint and probably others. If you live or work in an area where that is an issue, you should do a search to find out whose signals a particular phone uses. The Optimus uses Sprint signals, which are plentiful and strong here.
I'll have to pay for breaking the contract with AT&T, but I'll recoup that in 3 or 4 months. I'm happy with the Optimus and with Straight Talk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 28 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
12/02/2011
By ,
Cerro Gordo, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am pleased with the phone and the service considering it is unlimited for only $45 a month. I have had a decent connection most of the time, even though it said the phone wouldn't work in my zip code, when I zoomed in on the map there was coverage at my address. The battery life isn't that great but the phone charges up quickly. Overall, I am pleased with my purchase. One a side note, the customer service for Straight Talk is atrocious. I think I was talking to robots. It took me days and hours talking to several reps to get my service changed over from my old phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+59points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dayton, OH
Straight Talk Customer Service
Posted 01/02/2012
I want to echo the comment about Straight Talk customer service posted above. I have spent hours on hold, being transferred several times trying to activate my phone and transfer my old number. Each time I was transferred, I had to pass along all of my information again, essentially starting all over. Additionally, my phone was incorrectly deactivated during the process adding to the delay in transferring my number. Financially Straight Talk makes sense but prepared to suffer extreme headaches while trying to setup the service. One final note, I did attempt to activate my phone online but there was an error and I was forced to call the 1-877 number.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 29 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice phone, some kinks

03/02/2012
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this phone for about 3 weeks. Prior to getting it, I researched all of the phone's available on the Straight Talk phone. I was concerned with the reviews from the other Android phones, so I figured I'd pay the $50 difference for this phone that had better reviews. Here's what I've thought so far:
Pros:
The Straight Talk plan is the cheapest I've found that includes unlimited data.
Coverage has been very good.
The phone has a lot of cool features and I love the apps that are available.
Call quality is excellent.
Cons:
It doesn't play adobe videos.
It sometimes freezes up and I'll have to pop the battery out. A few times, when a call has come in, the phone will freeze up and I can't answer the call.
The battery gets drained very quickly.
Overall, I think it's a decent phone for the price, especially when paired with the $45/month plan.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 30 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
01/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is AWESOMEE!! I bought it for myself, and im so glad i did! All the great features and great app choice is amazing. Yes the battery life is kind of short, but what do you exspect for an Android. And if you download the battery live saver app your fine, i downloaded it yesterday and my phone hasnt died in 14 hours and i use it constantly, awesome picture and camera quality! AWESOME phone all togetherr!! Well worth the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 31 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

GARBAGE! and Waste of Money!!

08/14/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is by far the WORST phone I have EVER had! It stopped working after 31 days... I have decided to drive over the phone with my car tires just to get SOME satisfaction. Straight Talk Customers...BEWARE....Their "customer service" is terrible! If you plan on traveling outside of your zip code you will NOT GET SERVICE. Also, randomly more times than not the phone will say "Searching For Service" and you will NOT GET SERVICE. Straight Talk's only answer was to send the phone back in the mail and wait for a replacement. In the mean time, you will be without a phone. I am so disappointed with BOTH the phone and Customer Service with Straight Talk. Their wait times are LONG and you will regret all the wasted hours, literally, you will spend on hold!! I am cancelling my Service ASAP. Do Not Buy This phone or allow Straight Talk to be your wireless provider!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Review 32 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Android phone.

01/07/2012
By ,
Alton Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is a great deal both for the money and the service. I have had too many phones to count from the htc evo to the Iphone... I got tired of the 120 dollar month service plans and have been using straight talk for the past 8 months. Untill this phone came out I will say that I straight talk seemed to be scraping the bottom of the barrel for equipment, but this phone is comparable to all but the 4g phones on the market. The difference between 3g and 4g service in my opinion is almost non existant unless you are using your phone as a hot spot. I have had no issues with the service since it runs off the AT&T network. I save $75.00 a month, that comes out to $900.00 a year...Or for me Christmas....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 33 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Great Phone

12/02/2011
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the most superb phone I have ever owned, it's above and beyond the best phone I have ever owned. The screen is nice, the keys are excellent for typing, the android market is loaded with great free apps. I would recommend this phone to everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+54points
Review 34 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Get it!

12/12/2011
By ,
Hickory-Morganton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with this phone.
It's everything you'd expect from an android phone, with a great price.
If Sprint towers have a presence in your area, you will not be disappointed!
Coverage:
I live in Morganton, NC. Checking the zip through STs website says it will not work. Yet it would work in the next town 5 miles away. So i checked zip codes. Checked Sprint/Virgin Mobile coverage, and saw alot of coverage. Talked with friends who had Virgin Mobile (sprints prepaid network) and others using a prepaid android in this area. Everyone had no problem. So once
Wal-mart began selling it, i gave it even more thought.
I finally broke down and got it.
I am glad I did. If you live anywhere near Hickory, NC (morganton, valdese, icard, connelly springs, newton, lincolnton, statesville, marion, nebo, and everything else in between), then don't fret that your zip code shows no service on the ST website. This phone uses sprint, and sprint ain't shabby in our area. You get alot for a droid phone with an unlimited plan @ $45/month.
I did read earlier, someone complained about the GPS being too laggy to be useful. They were right. I checked it out. I didn't give it a destination, just had it follow me, and we drove for 15 minutes and it only updated our position 3 times. When we were coming out of the store, it said we were still on the interstate, like it did while we were still driving to the store 5 minutes earlier. The Nokia E71 i had was very quick in the GPS department. Then again, it lacked everything i wanted that only droid could offer.
Bottom Line. If you really think you want this phone, you probably do. Worried about your signal if you invest in it? Then goto virgin mobile and check their coverage. You can zoom in on their website's coverage map, unlike straight talk's map.
You won't regret this droid. You'll be glad you did it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Review 35 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

LG Optimus (Straight Talk)

01/27/2012
By ,
Dacula GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this Cell Phone 2 months ago. I consider the Straight Talk Service $45 monthly plan with UNLIMITED EVERYTHING, a good bargain. The Android Operating System upgrades itself automatically. Very reliable, it operates flawless in 3G, Wi-Fi and regular cellular system.
The touch screen keyboard takes some practice, so the slide keyboard was the selling point. Keeping your existing phone number: It must be active before initiating the process. It can be done trough the Internet, using your new cell phone or through any phone with long distance capabilities. This phone is provided by "Track Phone" and operates on the Sprint Network. The information about not operating in some areas is misleading. If you or someone in your area have a good Sprint signal, It will work in your area. You can get access to thousands of "apps" from the Android Market. More than 200 are free, fun and practical. Games like Angry Birds and some "apps" like a mortgage calculator, weather alerts, etc are free. The GPS capabilities are ok, running on Google Maps. The battery doesn't last as advertised, It must to be charged every night. The screen window is not glass, so a shield is mandatory to avoid scratches. The 3.2 megapixel camera is good under existing light, no camera flash. The calendar is very nice and synchronizes with the Google Calendar with all the appointments shown in your computer and in the phone. Nice cellular phone. Go for it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 36 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

it hardly ever picks up

05/14/2012
By ,
Joelton, tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I live in Joelton, Tn I like that this phone is touchscreen so it is easier to use the internet but that is about all I like about this phone. Everyone gave it good reviews maybe it is just where I live but if I move my head while talking it breaks up and the person I am talking to doesn't hear me, When I call people they can not hear anything I have to wait for them to call me back for the phone to pick up at all. And last month the phone didn't work at all for 2 1/2 days. After talking to straight talk for 2 hrs and finally getting a manger I was told that the tower was out for android. It sure would have been nice if the managers told the service dept that so I didn't waste 2 hrs of my time on hold. If verizon would put out a touchscreen straight talk everyone would throw these phones away!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+5points
Review 37 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Slow and Freezes up a lot! Waste of Money!!!!!!!!!

05/02/2012
By ,
Detroit, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not waste your money on this phone!! The Straight Talk Optimus Q freezes up a lot and most of the time I'd have to take the battery out and put it back in to get it to work again. I bought this phone in Dec. 2011. I recently decided to use the replacement plan I got so I could get a different phone through T-mobile, atleast with them you're not forced into buying the most expensive plan they have to use an android when you dont need unlimited talk time. Straight Talk is good if you have a phone that is NOT an android though. The connection was slow and did not work as well as it said it would. When I would text it would take at least 20 seconds to send or to even let me go back to look at any text messages in my inbox! I liked the option of the slide out QWERTY board but it's not worth the aggrivation! Waste your money on something else! I wish I did so I wouldn't have had to wait a week to get a new phone!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+2points
Review 38 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

3rd LG Optimus Q & still not functioning properly

02/08/2012
By ,
Hampton, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this service for almost 2 years with my simple little cell phone & have LOVED every minute of it. Purchased this LG OPTIMUS Q phone in the beginning of January. Worked great for the first 10 or so days & then it started freezing up. Decided to exchange it for another one before my 15 days were up to avoid the nightmare of having to deal with straight talk directly. Got the 2nd phone & it worked great for 5 days & then it stopped receiving text messages from all other cell phone providers except AT&T. Called straight talks' nightmare of a customer service department, spent an hour on the phone with them, was transferred 3 different times, was told to complete the same update to my phone 3 different times & eventually was given a case number because they couldn't figure it out. I was told they had to research the issue & someone would get back to me in 72 hours. 72 hours passed & no phone call. Called back after 130 hours had passed & again, had to spend over an hour on the phone with them explaining the issues all over again even though I gave them my case number in the beginning of the conversation. Was again transferred to 3 different people, all of who had me do the same exact update to my phone that did not work the previous times I had tried it. Even spoke to 2 different supervisors who could not help me. They then proceeded to tell me that they were going to send me a shipping label to return the phone to them & that once they received my phone, they would send me a replacement. I have read many, many reviews that state that people have waited months for their new phones & being that I have no home phone with a small child, I cannot be without a phone. So, again, I decided to take the 2nd phone back to walmart before the 15 days was up. Got my 3rd phone last night & guess what, I still can't receive text messages. I can send them to everyone but I cannot receive them. I can, however, receive picture messages. DO NOT buy this phone. People on here are very, very quick to review this phone without giving it time to screw up. I promise you that it will eventually & you will have no choice but to deal with Straight Talk directly which I again, promise you, is an absolute nightmare. They don't speak english very well & have zero knowledge of how to repair a phone. They could only offer me one update solution to fix this problem & it didn't....even after days of so-called research. I will be returning this 3rd phone to Wal-mart & going back to my simple old cell phone as I had NO problems with that phone, ever. Which in turn means, I NEVER had to deal with the straight talk customer service. I highly recommend the Straight Talk concept if & ONLY if, you have a simple phone that runs on the Verizon network where you will NEVER have to deal with their customer service. If you want a smart phone, it's best to deal with a SMART company that can assist you when you have issues. Straight Talk is not that company - I PROMISE!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+208points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
N.E. Hickory, NC
Straight Talk Customer Service
Posted 09/11/2013
The only thing these guys are good for is telling you what they CAN'T do. I love the plan I am on, but have had nothing but trouble trying to fix anything through customer service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 39 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome and cheap Android phone

12/15/2011
By ,
OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone and the straight talk package. For under $200 I have access to a smart phone with no contract. The phone works well for me as Sprint is available in my area. The deal breaker for me being new to the touch screen was the keyboard. Overall I am more than happy with my phone and would totally recommend it. The only drawback is that the camera does not have a flash but thats cool becuase I tend to use my digital camera for taking pics anyway.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Review 40 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Pretty decent entry level Android

01/11/2012
By ,
Friendswood, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, I've had Android phones before. This one is actually a pretty sweet deal. For $180 and only $45 a month for unlimited EVERYTHING, you really can't beat that.
One thing I would like to stress is make sure you are close enough to the Sprint towers. THIS PHONE DOES INDEED RUN OFF SPRINT TOWERS. I checked my coverage for Friendswood (where I live) and League City (where I work) and the website said I should have OK coverage (which I actually do). I'm actually more of a texter than a caller (which is why I wanted the phone with the keyboard) but I haven't experienced any dropped calls or anything.
One thing that I was kind of annoyed with was the 3G speeds. In certain spots, it's reeeaaalllyy slow, or just doesn't go at all. Connect to wifi if able, it's way faster. But, of course, that is the company's fault, not the phone.
Other than that, this phone really is neat. I really love it. It's lightweight, slim, and the battery life is decent, though I'd download a battery saver from the Android market to increase it's life. It runs Angry Birds flawlessly, Netflix, the keyboard is very comfortable and it blacks out the screen while on the phone so you don't start hitting keys with your face (my old Android didn't have that feature). The colors are vibrant, it gives you 5 home screens, and the speakerphone sounds loud and clear. Personalized ringtones are very loud and just overall it is a good, sturdy phone. (And I say sturdy because I have dropped it several times on accident and it still runs like a champ).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
21-40 of 368 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next