Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Straight Talk Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Enjoy amazing mobile applications of Android OS with the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone. Featuring a 3.2 inch touch screen, this LG Optimus Q Android cell phone provides you a prepaid plan with Android 2.3 OS. The Straight Talk prepaid phone package includes battery, 4GB MicroSD memory card, charger, service guide, user manual and service activation card. This LG Optimus Q Android cell phone features a slider QWERTY keyboard, touch screen, Micro USB and v 2.0 Bluetooth. The battery life of the Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone stands up to seven hours full talk time and 10 days stand by.
Average Customer Rating:
3.58 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(476 Reviews) 413
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
33
1 star
100
Customer Recommendation67%318 out of 474reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
197
4 stars
115
3 stars
31
2 stars
33
1 star
100
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

I Love My LG Optimus Q Android Phone!

07/13/2012
By ,
Alexandria, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started with the low-end Straight-talk phone and was overall very pleased with the Straighttalk service, but the low-end phone did not meet my needs. I looked into this Android LG Optimus Q with the Straighttalk plan, and after reading the reviews, decided to buy it. It cost a bit more than I wanted to pay, but after having the phone, I could not be more pleased! It exceeded my expectations.
I traveled from northern Virginia down to Atlanta, and utilized the GPS on the phone the whole way, and it was a life-saver! I have been very pleased with the service overall, including Internet speed, which is very reliable and fast.
This is truly a great phone, and there are so many apps that can be downloaded for the Android to customize it even more!
To be able to add entries to a calendar, have multiple fields for contacts, the GPS capability, checking email on the go, snapping photos, and browsing the internet ... all for only $45/month UNLIMITED with NO CONTRACT!!! You cannot go wrong!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+39points
Review 2 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Nice Phone... UNSATISFACTORY SERVICE

01/16/2012
By ,
Mount Vernon, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this phone and one month of the $45/30-Day service to try and replace my original Droid and Verizon service. The phone was not the problem... The service in my home area was horrible though. I live in town and from my understanding Sprint has a known "dead zone" for a block or two on either side of my home; unfortunately I use my phone at home (no house phone) a majority of the time (web and text especially). I will be returning the phone if at all possible due to the lack of service in my area. If you have satisfactory Sprint service (Straight Talk Androids run on Sprint network) where you will be using the phone, I would recommend it; otherwise go with Verizon... It may cost double but when you need good service its well worth it (especially when traveling).
Luckily I kept my current phone and service with Verizon until I tested the Straight Talk service. I will be sticking with Verizon!
REALLY WISH Straight Talk had worked for me. It would have cut my bill in more than half.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 3 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

excellent phone and money saver

12/24/2011
By ,
BRONX NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
look first i was reading all the bad things about SPRINT COVERAGE but i talk to a friend who has a BOOST MOBILE and he tells me there coverage is very good in NEW YORK CITY AS YOU know LG OPTIMUS Q from ST used the SPRINT PREPAID COVERAGE same as VIRGIN MOBILE AND BOOST MOBILE ,I AM glad i listen because this is the best thing i have done for my self. my old ST phone was on VERIZON and i will tell you here in NYC SPRINT COVERAGE is excellent just like VERIZON .i drove from NYC TO PHILADELPHIA only one drop call there coverage all around here is one of the best this phone works in the tunnel too i wish i have done this long time ago one thing in NYC AT&T has the worst coverage will never recommend that service to any one. with $45 for everything that a deal.look if you want to get a better battery on this phone get the "JUICE DEFENDER"APP is free from the andriod market then your battery will last 4 times more .thanks ST for this nice phone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+40points
Review 4 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

A smart phone to own in every way.

08/06/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, Co.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I poured over the reviews on this phone and even checked outside of Walmart for reviews. It came out on top. I am very pleased with this phone. Ease of use, connectivity has been great with rare dropped calls. Streaming video was a breeze. Plenty of Apps. No problem getting my email or chat. Love the option of the slider for texting for those fat finger days :o) This phone which I have now owned since 3/2012 has paid for it's self a few times over! I must say the camera takes nice photographs. I was a bit concerned but they are pretty nice looking. Not my Olympus but hey! Sound quality is great. I can understand people and they can understand me. Really if you want a smart phone that doesn't smart to own each month, I highly recommend this one. I have found accessories on Ebay...cover, car charger...or you can look up on any Droid site to find them. Walmart as of yet doesn't carry those at least not online anyway. Just remember, it is a pocket sized computer so rebooting now and again is advised!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 5 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone

01/05/2012
By ,
maryville, tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great phone.....You will not be disappointed....It does EVERYTHING!!!! YES!!!!! EVERYTHING.... You just need to download the users manual from LG & everything else is easy.... easy to text.....easy to to download any app....easy to load your email (no...not just Google...ANY email on the front page screen)...yes email on your home screen & you will get a notification whenever you have a new email or text (must set this up....not very hard once you have the manual)....downloading apps is easy....surfing the web is great & fast. But...you must remember to close out all apps & the internet when you are not using them because they will keep running in the background which will drain your battery. It take good picture & videos. The GPS & the "where are you" app works great (just takes a few minutes to set up)....this phone does a THOUSAND COOL THINGS...JUST BUT IT & DOWNLOAD THE MANUAL & YOU WILL NOT EVEN THINK ANYTHING OF THE $168 PRICE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 6 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Worthy of the hefty $180 price tag

08/18/2012
By ,
WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this phone when it first came out which I believe was in October of last year and it's now the midst of August 2012 and even though it has its minor glitches now, I'd say I've gotten my monies worth thus far. Texting is easy with the slide out keyboard and the cam quality is ok/good. Battery life with certain apps like task killer and without certain apps like facebook messenger is a day long lasting - a day and a half which is good considering its an Android phone. Minor glitches are: Going from landscape to portrait mode it can no longer recognize at times so I have the shake the phone a bit to get it to go back to portrait after I slide out the keyboard for texting which leads to another 1 which is when I take pix I have to shake it first otherwise it'll take a sideways pic, upside down too. Overall its done no wrong by me being on Sprint network. No idea why people complain about them. Sprints pre-paid coverage vs. ATT's and Verizons is better I'd say. But that's just my experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Awesome

12/14/2013
By ,
New Castle, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had the LG Optimus Q for a little over a year and this is my second one. I use it for Facebook, Multipul e-mails, texts, and calls. Theres not much space on it which is my biggest issue with the phone, other then the storage the phone is everything I want. The first one I had I took in to a swiming pool of soap phoam and this caused it to be moist inside and it would ghost call peole along with freeze and shut off, finally it gave up...shuting off and only going to the blue Trac phone screen and repeating. The newest one I have is like I said everything I wanted in a phone; decent size screen, slide keyboard, available applacation, and easy to use. The only problems I have ever had with this phone is THERE IS NO FLASH and on both of these phones I had/have the sliding keyboard is touchy and will become losse. When I purchased the phone the first time it was over $180.00 and the last time a little over $130.00, now its only $80.00 or so, which is an amazing deal for this phone. I would recomend this phone for anyone who is looking for a easy-to-use smart phone with Android power(Which I love).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 8 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

LG 505C, great phone for the average cell user.

08/04/2013
By ,
Bryan, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone 2 months ago and I just love this phone! It gets good service, which is Verizon, the touch screen is good, but I use the slide out keyboard and it works great. I don't need to use my phone for internet, but I need good service for text and talk and pictures and it works great for my low maintenance needs. The price for the phone is reasonable, and I use the 30/month plan, but can use the 45/month if I need to. When you buy a prepaid phone, one thing to watch is what cell service the phone will have. Each phone is different, so really check into that. For me living in Ohio, Verizon is the best and this phone uses Verizon. I love how I just pay 30/month (plus taxes, not much) and I don't have to sign a contract and I still get great cell service. If you don't want a high tech phone, then this is the phone for you. I just love it!! (and that makes my husband happy!)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 9 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Love Love Love

12/20/2011
By ,
mobile, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really do like this phone. Like others, walmart said the phone wouldnt work in my zip code, but it did work in surrounding zip codes so I purchased it. The lg optimus q under sprints network gets better reception than my e71 under the att network.The set up was easy and since I already had a phone with straighttalk the transition from my old phone to the new was great. The features on the phone are great. The battery life is the only complaint but I downloaded a task killer in the android market place that seems to be helping a lot with the battery. The optimus q is the same exact phone that verizon sales called the lg enlighten. So if you need any accessories just search on amazon for lg enlighten accessories and the cases and car chargers will work for the lg optimus q. I do highly recommend this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+91points
Review 10 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

great phone!!

12/13/2011
By ,
cambridge ohio 43725
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this phone in zanesville,but live in the cambridge area. i was told from straight talk and walmart in zanesville that this phone would not work in my area.(43725) i bought it anyway,tried to transfer my old straight talk # to it and it couldnt be done cus no service in my area....i then took it to walmart in cambridge,they called straight talk,gave them my cambridge address and zip code,but used zanesville zip code to activate it. it works perfectly!! no problems!! i even live 6 miles outside of cambridge in the country and it works better than my other straight talk p hone that uses verizon network!! this one uses sprint!! that supposidly has no coverage in our area,but boost moble and net 10 use sprint and are sold in our walmart ans uses sprint service!! buy this phone,it will work!!! if not you have a 15 day return pollicy....u wont be dissapointed
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+42points
Review 11 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

The best phone I've owned yet!

11/20/2011
By ,
Valdosta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Straight Talk phone runs on the Sprint network. The Walmart and Straight Talk websites said it was not available at my zipcode in Valdosta GA but it was available in Tallahassee FL. I had the phone shipped to my house in GA but had to drive an hour to FL set it up because it would not let me active it here. The phone works great here in Valdosta (connects at 3G with 6 bars) and it was well worth the hour drive to activate it! This phone has the latest droid software and has awesome features that let you stream movies through netflix as well as many more. My girlfriend likes this phone so much that she is cancelling her contract with Verizon and switching to this phone too. I'm sure it won't be long before people catch on to the fact that this phone will work anywhere that Sprint has coverage. Help me spread the word!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+696points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Albany, Ga
Posted 01/19/2012
I live in Albany, Ga. Do you think if I buy this phone and just transfer my number, that it can be activated? Or do you think I will have to drive out, as well?
+1point
Customer Avatar
Alabama
Help
Posted 12/13/2011
Hello. I live in alabama and i had the same problem as you which was my zip code wouldn't work for this phone. i saw that you said you went to tallahassee and purchased and activated it there. now where i live its the country side and i was wondering if i were to purchase it in the town which is 30 minutes away, would it turn out like yours and actually work. I'm really wanting an android phone but also dont want to have to leave straight talk.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Valdosta,Ga
Posted 12/12/2011
Ok so the phone DOES work in Valdosta?? Like everything works fine and fast the way it is supposed to? I realllllly want this phone and i don't want to order and it end up not working.
0points
Customer Avatar
Decatur Al
Post to cookeja24's post
Posted 11/26/2011
My name is Daniel and I live in Decatur Al. I am intrested in this phone and read your pots. But I don't understand on how the website said that your zipcode would notwork in Valdosta so u drove an hour to Tallahassee I( I used to live there for 5 years), but you have said that the phone works great. I am just a little confussed.
-1point
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 12 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

feels like I bought it for more

05/15/2012
By ,
Athens, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to switch to Straight Talk after having done a company analysis for one of my masters classes in which I compared all the major cell phone companies. Straight Talk seemed to have the best plan and so far I'm super thrilled with them and this phone. The phone is just like all my friends' androids, and costs a whole lot less overall. It has everything I need, and I'm really glad I have the option of the qwerty keyboard as well. The LG is built like a tank, unlike Samsung phones I've had in the past that felt like I was going to break them, the LG Optimum is solid, reminiscent of the LG Rumor (the original LG with slider keyboard). Everything seems to run quick on the Spring 3G network (even though Walmart said it didnt work in my area, I had previously been on Sprint's network and knew otherwise). Also, Straight Talk's customer service is pretty helpful as well, although a bit frustrating at times because they are outsourced to India and often their techs are hard to understand. Still they were always able to help me with anything I needed. I definitely recommend this phone and the Straight Talk service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 13 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Excellent Android Phone

11/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually bought this phone on the Straighttalk website for $179.00 on preorder. I've had it for approximately 2 weeks now and I'm more then pleased. It's the best Straighttalk phone that I've owned. The Walmart price of $149.00 is an AWESOME deal!! Order it and you will be glad you did. The Straighttalk website stated that it did not work in my order so I ended up ordering it through another zip code and had it delivered to my house. I then transferred the phone number to the new LG Optimus through Straighttalk's website online with no problem. If Sprint Prepaid is in your area then this phone will work just fine. You can check the Sprint or Boost Mobile websites and put in your zip code to see if its in your area. That's what I did and I've been extremely happy with the phone. Great clarity and 3G is fast enough for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+57points
Review 14 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

LG OPTIMUS Q.....JUST AWFUL

08/13/2013
By ,
Portland Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don't know if it's just mine but there is no way possible I can give this phone a good review. This phone has been the worse phone I have ever had. It shuts off randomly on it's own. it shuts off and turns on on it's own and most of the time I have to take the battery out of it just to get it to turn on. I have been disconnected from many important calls because of it. when there is clearly lots of free space on it or on my sd card and I try to read a text or listen to music or use any app it will randomly pop up not enough space please delete things to free up space the problem is no matter how much I delete it still comes up which I end up having to reset the whole phone just to get it to work to even make a call. on top of all that I was just sitting here trying to get on either Facebook or amazon and no matter what I do it keeps telling me that there was a problem with the app and I have to keep forcing close. well I am tired of all of the problems I absolutely hate this phone and can't wait to get a new one in a couple of days. I would NEVER recommend the LG Optimus Q to my worst enemy let alone any of my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 15 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Good bye Iphones!

12/20/2011
By ,
Perryville, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Money saver!! Unlimited text, unlimited talk and UNLIMITED DATA! All for only $48 (tax included). The unlimited data doesn't cut you off at 2 gigs or slow you down. We have been streaming Pandora and even Netflix without any worries of going over our data usage!
If you had this same plan with Apple's Iphone as a new customer, you would be paying well over $100!! The Android operating system has thousands of free Apps and plenty more if your willing to pay a little. Our area doesn't even have a strong Sprint service but it runs just fine. Plus it has WIFI capabilities. Even after streaming Pandora for several hours and daily phone usage, the battery only drained a couple of notches at the end of the day.
This has been a super money saver for us! I'm thinking of getting another one so we don't have to share it anymore!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+46points
Review 16 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone
11/29/2011
By ,
Urbana Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone was great for 1 month and then it froze up (while on Walmart's website) enough the battery had to removed to shut down. Now the display is solid black. Had purchased the walmart replacement plan so was not worried. Called the number for my protection plan and since it is a malfunction and I did not drop the phone then I need to contact mfg for mfg warranty for the first 12 months. Would not be bad if Straight Talk really had customer service. The response (after an hour of 3 different people and repeating the same information over and over) is yes we will replace your phone BUT this means in 3-5 days I will get a letter with a shipping label to mail my phone back to them. Once they receive my phone then they will ship me a new phone. If I have not received my letter in 5 days then I need to call them to follow up with the ticket number I was given. Overall best am looking at is at least 2 weeks with NO PHONE. Not happy after paying $180 for a phone (+$40 warranty) will be without a phone for half the time I owned the phone. After checking straight talk facebook page even more discouraged because posts have talked of waiting 12 weeks for the replacement phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+194points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
clearwater fl
return
Posted 02/08/2012
I had my phone well over a year and dropped it in water and after a couple days it stopped working. At no cost to me they sent me the return package label and i sent my phone and within the week I was sent a new phone. Its all on perspective. I couldn't be happier with the service I have recieved and I have been a customer for a couple of years. I didn't like being without my phone and can understand its fustrating when that happens especially with a new phone.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Boston, MA
Agrees that Straight talk and Sprint are lousy
Posted 01/14/2012
My sister had a terrible experience with less popular networks like sprint and tmobile. Took her days then weeks to just cancel her account and support is overseas. No thanks. I'll stick with AT&T go phones. My old Motorola RAZR V3 works great but I am shopping for a smart go phone but I won't buy anything other than an AT&T or Verizon. I've only used AT&T with great results. No dropped calls. Great reception and customer service. You can actually understand customer service reps.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Springdale, AR
It's a disappointment!!
Posted 01/10/2012
1) + Nice sound qualities
2) + Lots of Options
3) + Great Keyboard with slider or touch options.
4) + Fun to use.
4) POOR Battery Life - Turn it off when you aren't using it or close all APPs
5) Very limited RANGE!! EVEN in the wide open spaces in high elevations, there is limited coverage.
6) So close, so close, but yet so far............
+2points
Customer Avatar
Effie, MN
Torg
Posted 12/20/2011
I had a humidity problem with my phone and straight talk shipped me the replacemet phone and all I had to do is prlace the sim card and send the broken phone back. It was a fast replacement with no hassel. I had a good experience with customer service with no hassel and short wait time.
+2points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 17 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

I thought my samsung was bad, this takes the cake.

04/01/2013
By ,
Schenectady, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My first android and have had it about a month. I think I suffer from fat finger disorder so I had to get something with a slider keyboard as well. the keys are hard plastic which tends to cause your fingers to slip a little and the E & O keys lettering is already scratching off. If you play any games or even during charging you'll notice that the phone will get hot very quickly. most days I have to charge it atleast 2 times (Yes, I did follow the instructions on initial battery charging). As to not completely suck up battery power you have to stop everything from running when not in use and also turn the screen brightness down as low as possible... if you go outside and try to look at your screen with it turned down low, you will not be able to see it and then have to turn the brightness up to use it sucking up even more power. Im sorry I listened to the person i got a recommendation from as now Im finding out they had the same issues with this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 18 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Poor Product

12/24/2011
By ,
Orlando, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the LG Optimus Q for Straight Talk at WalMart. Service for phones is excellent...had a Straight Talk Samsung previously. Loved the new touch screen and qwerty slide BUT within 3 weeks the Optimus (WalMart label LG500C), with the battery fully charged, completely shut the phone down at least 6 times; twice in mid-call and once while using the GPS Navigation! None of the buttons was effective in getting it turned back on. The battery becomes excessively hot as well.
Straight Talk suggested buying a new Optimus, transferring the info, then return the old one. After all of that and porting my number over, the new phone shut down twice in the first 24 hours, even though, again, the battery was fully charged. And as with the "old" Optimus, the only way to re-connect was to take the battery out and re-insert it.
Another call to Straight Talk and the Customer Rep told me to return it, that the LG Touch Android phones were defective and they have had nothing but complaints about them. She advised me that the cheaper LG Touch Android w/out the qwerty slide was also defective. I followed the advise, returned it, and am now back to my old Samsung (non-smart non-Android).
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Android Quirks
Posted 02/04/2012
Entry level Android phones all have some quirks that relate to their limited internal memory for storing apps, and their limited "active" memory for the apps that you are using. The "trick" to having a good experience with such phones is to NOT add apps that you will not use, and delete apps that you are not using. The app I use the most is a task manager that closes the apps that I am not using. I make sure that a MINIMUM of 40 megs of internal memory is left empty, and at least 100 megs of operating memory is available before opening an "intensive" app such as GPS Navigation.
The GPS Navigation app when used with 3G requires ALL of the phone's CPU, a huge amount of memory, and drains the battery rapidly. Even if a phone is attached to a car charger, the battery may continue to drain.
Bottom line: to use entry level Android phones successfully, keep only a few apps on your phone, and keep them all OFF except for the one you are using.
+10points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

Very hard to add info/contacts

06/01/2012
By ,
Sacto CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just bought this phone based on others reviews, bad idea. The phone was easy to buy T mobile set up min. and get working, but after that it has a lot of features but it is almost impossible to get this phone to save and store contacts. We have been trying now for over 4 hours and we can make calls but texting is hard to figure out. My wifes old phone was a snap, but this phone is really hard to program and you have to push the suface really hard to get the info to take, it has a lot of delay time when the battery gets past half way??? Some times it freezes and you have to turn it off??? The battery only lasted 2.4 hrs and required charging already. I think we are going to end up taking this thing back?? Why pay so much for a squirly phone??? The users manual is like a small phone book and many times what they tell you does not come up on the view screen to do?? We have been using our air time trying to just make calls and text message.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 20 for Straight Talk LG Optimus Q Android Prepaid Cell Phone

LG Optimus Q

11/18/2011
By ,
East Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know why Walmart.com doesn't show this item in their regular menu but let me be one of the first to say this phone is FANTASTIC for what it is... a mid-level entry "Android" phone... and the free shipping to home took only 3 days... If you plan on buying this phone (VERY IMPORTANT) make sure you have good coverage with Spint's pre-paid 3G network... I happen be live in a place with very good coverage... If you don't, you will be very disappointed... and when connected to my home Wi-Fi, this thing flies... For the price, this is a home run (hands-down) !!! Sorry for the pic quality, they were taken on my old phone.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+448points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Valdosta, GA
Totally Agree
Posted 11/20/2011
I just got this phone and it is AMAZING!
+7points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 368 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next