Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Rust-Oleum Rust-Oleum Specialty Magnetic Primer, 1 qt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Rust-Oleum Rust-Oleum Specialty Magnetic Primer, 1 qt

The Rust-Oleum Specialty Magnetic Primer is a base coat that allows you to create a surface that attracts magnets almost anywhere. This primer can be applied to wood, metal, masonry, drywall and plaster. Create a fun and unexpected way to hang notes, photos and more. Now the Rust-Oleum Specialty Magnetic Primer is three times stronger than before!
Average Customer Rating:
1.8 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation40%2 out of 5reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Rust-Oleum Specialty Magnetic Primer, 1 qt

Great in theory, not in practice

11/25/2012
By ,
fairfax
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I applied almost the entire can to a section of the wall, about 3x4 feet long. This meant almost 10 coats. Despite that many coats, the strength of the magnetic wall is super weak and just barely holds any magnets for my kids and their magnetic toys. Much of it slides down.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+32points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Use with real earth magnets
Posted 12/01/2012
This is a great idea, but don't expect to get the same effect from a regular metal background. I read a lot of reviews that if you use real earth magnets it works a lot better.
I ordered them online and waiting to receive them to try.
Hope it works because i did think $20 for a can that small was kinda steep.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Rust-Oleum Specialty Magnetic Primer, 1 qt

Keep in mind this is Paint...

04/07/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
... not a full sheet of steel that you are attaching to your wall. The magnet-attracting quality comes from iron particles in the paint, not the liquid itself. What this means for you:
1) as another reviewer stated, ask the paint dept. to pop it in the paint shaker when you buy it. Then use it within a day or two!
2) The particles are still going to be mostly on the bottom (but stir frequently anyway) so the first coat will have the fewest particles. Count on 3 coats, minimum. The can promises 16 sq. feet but I didn't have any extra when I was done my 14 sq. foot rectangle. Also recommends "thin coats"-- if you can!-- this stuff is like paste.
3) Don't expect high powered magnet action. Perfect for kids to attach toy magnets for fun & education. If, like me, the magnets are not the main attraction but will be holding things onto the wall, really really REALLY consider neodymium magnets (rare earth). I was able to get 100 1/8" cubes-- super tiny!-- for $22 incl. shipping online (search "magnets"). They hold my *beautiful* wall of photos, 1-4 magnets per photo, depending on the size. In some cases the photos are on scrapbook paper so they hold thru 2 layers. <<rare earth magnets are considered so powerful that they may be dangerous for homes with young children>> Most of my household magnets would stay on the wall but would not hold a picture.
4)two coats of colored latex paint did not seem to lessen the magnet-attracting capability.
Check out my attached picture~ and note how the tiny neodymium magnets work great.
So... I adjusted my expectations before my project, and it worked great for me!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Everett, WA
The photo is over to the far right of the review
Posted 07/07/2013
The photo is over to the far right of the review :}
----------------------------------------------------------->
0points
Customer Avatar
La.
Posted 04/16/2013
I don't see the picture, but I'd really like to! this sounds great!! I'm curious if it will work on glass, the add doesn't say so, just " many" other surfaces. when they say tile I'm thinking the glazed side( noon pros), pretty much like glass. I think it will work, especially w strong magnets, & not a cheap set of alphabet magnets, can't wait I've been dying to make memo boards w this under Dry eraser &/or chalkboard!!-
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Rust-Oleum Specialty Magnetic Primer, 1 qt

good for refrigerators... read review for tips!

03/03/2013
By ,
Milwaukee
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Here's the deal: This magnetic primer is good for SOME things. I wouldn't recommend it for use on walls or doors... What I found it to be good for was use as a primer for a refrigerator (that would then be covered in chalkboard paint.)
A few tips that you DEFINITELY want to do:
1. Have someone at the store shake / mix the can for you in their machines. There is metal in this stuff. It gets gross and gritty if not shaken well, but you will spend hours shaking or mixing it by hand... so make sure to do it at the store, then use it immediately after. Paint in thin coats (as directed) and make sure you mix again before each new coat.
2. sand down (and then wipe down) your surface before using this paint
3. use a dropcloth
4. use GLOVES! this stuff is messy and does NOT just wash off - even off of skin.
5. have a paint-thinner on hand for messes (see above note)
6. use a small roller rather than a brush
7. mix, mix, mix!
Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per year
+15points
Review 4 for Rust-Oleum Specialty Magnetic Primer, 1 qt

Don't buy!

01/28/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product does not work. One can is supposed to work but I'm on my 2nd can and am going to have to buy a 3rd. The door I was painting is ruined now. What was a $20 fun project has turned into a $60 waste-of-money project. If I could rate this 0 stars I would
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
ON MY 3RD CAN, DON'T BUY
Posted 08/07/2013
I HATE and am disappointed in this magnetic paint. I bought a can for my son to paint his door so he could put all his magnet souvenirs on it. The first can (3 coats) didn't work. I figured maybe it was too much area for the one can so I bought another. Nope, nothing, nada. I have now applied can 3 and only the thinnest lightest of magnets works. I stir well after every coat and between applications, I let it dry well, I did everything the can said but it didn't work. I have now ruined the door and still have no display place for the souvenirs. I wish I'd listened to the bad reviews I read and had not hoped for better. I won't be buying any Rust Oleum again especially since I have to replace a now ugly black door
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Rust-Oleum Specialty Magnetic Primer, 1 qt

Didn't work for me... buyer beware

06/12/2013
By ,
Ocean City, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great idea in theory. But after stirring for close to a half hour to get the right consistency and applying three coats (as per the instructions on the box) with a foam roller, the paint wouldn't hold the smallest of items. Worse, the covering itself was rough for some reason... so I had to sand it all down in preparation for repainting.
A lot of investment for absolutely zero return.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point