Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Generic GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

It can happen in an instant. You get separated from your child. Your Dad doesn't feel right — but he's not sure he should call 9-1-1. Or you simply feel uneasy walking to your car at night. Now there's personal security help at the touch of a button. This compact, GPS-enabled 5Star Responder can prepare you and your loved ones for any unsafe or uncertain situation. Simply push the Call Button anytime you need help, and you'll be immediately connected to a Certified 5Star Agent. The personal security responder conveniently attaches to your keychain, purse or backpack wherever you go. All 5Star Agents are equipped to handle a wide variety of personal security situations, and are available 24-hours a day.
Average Customer Rating:
4.298 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(181 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
39
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation89%160 out of 180reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
348 Questions | 781 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
39
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

One thing to consider-don't get it wet

05/26/2014
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't had to use Great Call and I've had it for about 1 1/2 years now. I did run into one problem however that people should be aware of. I wore the Great Call device as a necklace - between my skin and blouse. One day I cleaned it with a disinfectant wipe (nothing unusual) and I guess some fluid got down into the device - which I hadn't paid attention. I had swiped it across the face of it. The device went crazy and went into a loop of calling 911 and the Great Call operator. I started getting return phone calls from both 911 and Great Call. I didn't want emergency crews showing up at my door for nothing. I had to explain the situation to 911. Great Call had me place the device in a glass of water to destroy it and they sent me a replacement. I asked them if they had had this problem before, and they said they had heard of it if the device gets wet. SO BE VERY CAREFUL. The wipe was the only thing I could think of that set it off since it happened a few minutes after I did that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Naples, FL
Water resistant?
Posted 06/04/2014
If this isn't water resistant, as the post mentioned, then this isn't going to be considered reliable in my opinion. Walmart currently has a television spot (advertisement) that states in no uncertain terms that it is water resistant. With that claim in mind, if this is purchased and fails due to water intrusion, then it has to be replaced or refunded. Just remember that water resistant is NOT water proof. Taking it in the shower, tub or pool would ruin the device undoubtedly. Common sense use should be satisfactory or carry it in a zip lock bag if you're going to be in a wet location.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Nice but could be better

06/24/2014
By ,
La Verne, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've only had The GreatCall 5 Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device less than 5 days so
I'm still getting acquainted with it. I have learned that the device does not stay charged very long.
It has to be charged at least once a day, every day. The book recommends you charge it every night, but if I do that and I fall at night going to and from the bathroom, what good has it done me?
Also, I think something should be included with the device so it can be put around a person's neck as shown in pictures. Since I don't wear pants with belt loops, the little attachment that is enclosed is worthless to me. Most women would prefer wearing it around their neck , I'm sure. Why should
I the buyer have to try to find something that will hold it securely? Surely it wouldn't cost very
much to enclose something long that would fit comfortably around a neck and be easy to put on the device.
Thanks you.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

No home land line required, works almost anywhere

09/24/2012
By ,
Loves Park, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First purchased the well-advertised medical alert system, but it was not compatible with my Mom's home phone service. Researched other options and found the GreatCall 5Star Responder. Wish I had seen this first! It beats the other system several ways - 1) it works anywhere there is Verizon wireless service, where the other one only works within a specific range of your home. 2) It doesn't require phone service at all (cell or land line). This device runs on the Verizon network and your small monthly fee to GreatCall covers the service. 3) When connected to 5Star Responder's call center you converse over the device much like using a cell phone on speaker, rather than speaking through a box connected to your home phone, which may be hundreds of feet away. Recharges much like a cell phone, with a USB charger. The charge lasts nearly a week. You can send a "test call" online anytime you wish. Only negative I see is that it's not waterproof, but all the other great things make up for that. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+149points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device
01/28/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We haven't had our responder very long, but it is already bringing great peace of mind to know the security it affords to everyone involved. It is wonderful for the person that carries the device to have the ability to call someone with one simple touch...for any perceived need. It also brings such reassurance to the care givers to know that they can easily check the location of their loved one. The price is so reasonable, the coverage is vast, the service operators I have spoken with have been pleasant and knowledgeable, there is no service contract, the sound on the responder is easy for our granny to hear, it is small and inconspicuous, if Gran misplaces her device we can set it to beep so it is easy to locate...the Great Call company has been doing their homework with their business design. We love ours and one of Gran's friends has already put one on order because they saw how great Gran's worked for her. Keep up the outstanding effort Great Call...we are grateful!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Works great

04/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have only had this for couple weeks. Got it for my 90 yo dad that still lives on his own and loves to walk. We are able to check on his whereabouts on our cellphones. It's not precisely accurate with an address but shows the general area. He has mistakenly hit the button a few times and the response was quick and friendly when he explained the situation. I would give this a 5 star rating but the connection hole to charge it is very small. That is how he accidentally called for help. He was trying to plug it in to charge. I took some bright fingernail polish and outlined the hole where the charger goes in. This has helped a lot, but they need to look into an easier charge connection since I'm sure the majority of these are used by the elderly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Very easy to set up

05/08/2014
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my Mom. We had another system that was more expensive every month. This has a lot more features and is a great value. I activated it online and it was relatively easy but it did take awhile to enter everything. I do like that they have all of her information. Not being able to take it into the shower is not an issue for her because she has an aid who helps with that. For someone who does not have someone to help with showering this might be an issue. Getting a discount for activating online and getting the first month free was an added bonus! I told her doctor about it and she was very impressed with the features. I would recommend this for anyone and am considering getting one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Great Call Replacement

02/25/2014
By ,
Boynton Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This emergency responder is a great value. It has the huge advantage of working outside your home using GPS. There is a disadvantage in that it is not waterproof like other types, but you do not need to connect to your landline phone line. I gave it only 4 stars for expectations because my first responder died after only 2 years. The battery would not recharge. I thought this was unacceptable. But the agent told me that their usual life is only 2-3 years. This seems short to me. You can buy an optional warranty plan for about $3 a month, but this is a joke. The free warranty lasts one year, so paying $36 a year for the 2nd year makes no sense when you can buy a new one at Walmart for $40. Don't buy new responders directly from 5 Star. They charge you $50 and $15 shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

easy to hook up people are very friendly

03/03/2014
By ,
ASHLAND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i called instead of doing it over the net and the people were so friendly. It was something my uncle needed for quite awhile but was to stubborn to admit it till he found himself sleeping on the kitchen floor all night <12 hours to be exact> because he could not get up. i think that scared him. For the low cost of a 45.00 hook up, a free month and then 14.99 plus tax per month it is a small reassurance that he will be fine now. We did a simple test run with him and one push of the button gets the 5 star people for you. If you hold the button in you get 911. That is so simple even for my uncle who is very un-acknowledged when it comes to high tech items. HOPEFULLY HE WILL NEVER HAVE TO USE IT BUT IF HE DOES IT IS THERE FOR HIS SAFETY.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Security for my father

12/09/2013
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the 5Star for my Dad, who is 84 and sometimes needs assistance. He had recently been robbed at knifepoint while out and had no way to call for help. Besides taking his money, the robber forced my Dad to drive him to another location. Fortunately, the robber only took his money. Once they arrived at the other location, the robber jumped from the car and ran away. My Dad was so fortunate, but he was scared and the outcome could have been so much worse. If he'd had the 5Star at the time this occurred he could have pressed his button and had help in seconds. We previously had a land line based system for him. But after this incident we decided he needed a wireless urgent response device. He has not had to use it yet, but it gives me peace of mind knowing he has it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Activation Problems and poor service

03/23/2014
By ,
Sunbury, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although it says that it cover our area, it does not. Our cell phone work here, but this device requires a much stronger signal than the cell phone, and will not work indoors. We attempted to activate online, and had severe problems getting it activated. We were on hold for two times of 1/2 hour before getting assistance and getting it activated. It now flashes red and drains the battery overnight because it needs a stronger signal than our cell phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

I feel that this is a step up over my last system

03/06/2012
By ,
Northeast Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The system I had before would only work around the house, which was good for the time! But this system works regardless of where you are in the USA, it's like having a personal ON STAR unit for a person. It compares very well with the features of ON STAR. You don't have to use it strictly for medical emergency. The monthly monitoring fee is quiet reasonable compared to other medical emergency systems. Buying it through Walmart also gives you a month free. It's rechargeable! Has indicator light to let you know that it's in an area where there shouldn't be a problem for protection. Also one for the battery usage level. I also like the fact that you can go online ans ping your unit to locate it or see if signal is working from your unusual location. I haven't ever had to use it yet in an emergency and hope I never will, but it gives me the confidence it's there if I need it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+158points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

1st Day of Usage...

08/20/2012
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had placed the Greatcall in the front pocket of my jeans and accidently pushed the call button. (Obviously, I do not recommend carrying it in this manner.) I heard the ring and immediately pushed the button to end the call. Within a few seconds, I received a call. I advised the caller that I had accidently pushed the call button. The caller was most polite about my error and asked for my location. Since I was shopping, I told him the store that I was about to enter and was immediately asked if a specific store was adjacent. I confirmed that it was and he stated that his question was to verify and demonstrate that the GPS was performing accurately. This accidental call convinces me that this company lives up to its reputation for service. I believe this to be a great value. I am very, very pleased that I chose Greatcall.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MA
Posted 08/27/2013
So obviously you have to have a pocket, your purse, keychain, or a backpack with you whereever you go. I prefer the one I use at home only and wear around my neck.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Peace of mind for us kids

10/02/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My siblings and I purchased this device for our elderly mother who lives far away. It works exactly as it is supposed to as my mother tested it. It is very easy for her to use. Works just like a cell phone and it works in all the places where she frequents. Only requires the press of a button to contact a greatcall operator. We now have the peace of mind knowing our mother can contact someone (including us kids) in case of emergency.
Before buying, just be sure it will work in any zip code where it will be used. Activation is eeasy but takes about 30 minutes to do it online because of the information required. However it is definitely worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Bought for my elderly mother

09/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my elderly mother. Looked at other products but found she needed to be within 600ft of the home monitor. With this product she can go anywhere and still feel safe. She is still quite active and this gives her the freedom to go to her regular places and on small outings with her senior group. If she gets lost or feels unsafe all she has to do is press the button. Another nice feature is I can log online and see where she is. Living far away from her this is a priceless feature. I can check on her but respect her privacy too. It seems to be a well made product. That is durable and easy for her to use. The monthly price of 14.99 is more than reasonable when you consider what you are really getting. Peace of mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

It's a lifesaver

06/29/2014
By ,
Lakeside, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got grandma GreatCall 5star over a year ago. In this year she has worn it but never used it. One time she was leaving on a trip and I pushed the button, a friendly voice immediately answered. Another time grandma accidentally set it off. But yesterday grandma actually need it. She was walking her dogs, lost her balance, and fell. My husband and I were in the house when I received a call that grandma had fallen. We immediately went out and picked her up. I highly recommend this product to everyone who might fall. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Was hoping for more

07/21/2014
By ,
Marcellus, MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this for someone else because it offers coverage outside the home. The item is fairly large and is suggested for putting on your belt or keychain. Neither option was really viable for her. She was concerned about carrying it in her purse for fear that the button would be pressed by accident. The ring included with the device is small and somewhat flimsy. She also was hoping for something that would detect falls automatically, which this does not.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Great Idea !!!

09/02/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I care for my mother and I would worry about her when I was not home. She really likes to walk her little dogs and the home alert just would not cover the area even if she stayed in my yard. (It is rather large) This little unit allows her to call and talk to someone no matter where she is in the yard or around the block with just the push of a button. Not only that but it allows me to find her location on a map if I need to see where she is. You get 100% more piece of mind for half the cost, and no matter where she is she call talk to someone or get directly to 911.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Great product

11/24/2013
By ,
NYC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an RN this is one of the greatest products I have seen on the market for people that helps mainatin their independence. I purchased a few for relatives.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Great device

04/11/2012
By ,
Jefferson GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my wife who recently had serious heart issues and a pacemaker implanted. The device was delivered in record time for a reasonable cost. It was easy to set up one charged and very easy to operate. It gives my wife the piece of mind she needed to get on with life. I saved the first month monitoring fee by purchasing from Wal Mart.com. If you have a loved one that you need to afford this piece of mind and have the security of being able to instantly summon help then I suggest you look at this product. As it "follows" the person around it is not limited to use at home.
Great product!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Peace of Mind- GreatCall Personal Security

07/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set up was easy, great customer service.
Though we haven't had to use the device, it appears to be an easy to use device.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next