Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Generic GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Generic GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

It can happen in an instant. You get separated from your child. Your Dad doesn't feel right — but he's not sure he should call 9-1-1. Or you simply feel uneasy walking to your car at night. Now there's personal security help at the touch of a button. This compact, GPS-enabled 5Star Responder can prepare you and your loved ones for any unsafe or uncertain situation. Simply push the Call Button anytime you need help, and you'll be immediately connected to a Certified 5Star Agent. The personal security responder conveniently attaches to your keychain, purse or backpack wherever you go. All 5Star Agents are equipped to handle a wide variety of personal security situations, and are available 24-hours a day.
Average Customer Rating:
4.278 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(162 Reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
34
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation88%142 out of 161reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
324 Questions | 712 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
104
4 stars
34
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Great Call Replacement

02/25/2014
By ,
Boynton Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This emergency responder is a great value. It has the huge advantage of working outside your home using GPS. There is a disadvantage in that it is not waterproof like other types, but you do not need to connect to your landline phone line. I gave it only 4 stars for expectations because my first responder died after only 2 years. The battery would not recharge. I thought this was unacceptable. But the agent told me that their usual life is only 2-3 years. This seems short to me. You can buy an optional warranty plan for about $3 a month, but this is a joke. The free warranty lasts one year, so paying $36 a year for the 2nd year makes no sense when you can buy a new one at Walmart for $40. Don't buy new responders directly from 5 Star. They charge you $50 and $15 shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

No home land line required, works almost anywhere

09/24/2012
By ,
Loves Park, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First purchased the well-advertised medical alert system, but it was not compatible with my Mom's home phone service. Researched other options and found the GreatCall 5Star Responder. Wish I had seen this first! It beats the other system several ways - 1) it works anywhere there is Verizon wireless service, where the other one only works within a specific range of your home. 2) It doesn't require phone service at all (cell or land line). This device runs on the Verizon network and your small monthly fee to GreatCall covers the service. 3) When connected to 5Star Responder's call center you converse over the device much like using a cell phone on speaker, rather than speaking through a box connected to your home phone, which may be hundreds of feet away. Recharges much like a cell phone, with a USB charger. The charge lasts nearly a week. You can send a "test call" online anytime you wish. Only negative I see is that it's not waterproof, but all the other great things make up for that. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+109points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device
01/28/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We haven't had our responder very long, but it is already bringing great peace of mind to know the security it affords to everyone involved. It is wonderful for the person that carries the device to have the ability to call someone with one simple touch...for any perceived need. It also brings such reassurance to the care givers to know that they can easily check the location of their loved one. The price is so reasonable, the coverage is vast, the service operators I have spoken with have been pleasant and knowledgeable, there is no service contract, the sound on the responder is easy for our granny to hear, it is small and inconspicuous, if Gran misplaces her device we can set it to beep so it is easy to locate...the Great Call company has been doing their homework with their business design. We love ours and one of Gran's friends has already put one on order because they saw how great Gran's worked for her. Keep up the outstanding effort Great Call...we are grateful!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

easy to hook up people are very friendly

03/03/2014
By ,
ASHLAND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i called instead of doing it over the net and the people were so friendly. It was something my uncle needed for quite awhile but was to stubborn to admit it till he found himself sleeping on the kitchen floor all night <12 hours to be exact> because he could not get up. i think that scared him. For the low cost of a 45.00 hook up, a free month and then 14.99 plus tax per month it is a small reassurance that he will be fine now. We did a simple test run with him and one push of the button gets the 5 star people for you. If you hold the button in you get 911. That is so simple even for my uncle who is very un-acknowledged when it comes to high tech items. HOPEFULLY HE WILL NEVER HAVE TO USE IT BUT IF HE DOES IT IS THERE FOR HIS SAFETY.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Activation Problems and poor service

03/23/2014
By ,
Sunbury, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although it says that it cover our area, it does not. Our cell phone work here, but this device requires a much stronger signal than the cell phone, and will not work indoors. We attempted to activate online, and had severe problems getting it activated. We were on hold for two times of 1/2 hour before getting assistance and getting it activated. It now flashes red and drains the battery overnight because it needs a stronger signal than our cell phones.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Security for my father

12/09/2013
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the 5Star for my Dad, who is 84 and sometimes needs assistance. He had recently been robbed at knifepoint while out and had no way to call for help. Besides taking his money, the robber forced my Dad to drive him to another location. Fortunately, the robber only took his money. Once they arrived at the other location, the robber jumped from the car and ran away. My Dad was so fortunate, but he was scared and the outcome could have been so much worse. If he'd had the 5Star at the time this occurred he could have pressed his button and had help in seconds. We previously had a land line based system for him. But after this incident we decided he needed a wireless urgent response device. He has not had to use it yet, but it gives me peace of mind knowing he has it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Peace of mind for us kids

10/02/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My siblings and I purchased this device for our elderly mother who lives far away. It works exactly as it is supposed to as my mother tested it. It is very easy for her to use. Works just like a cell phone and it works in all the places where she frequents. Only requires the press of a button to contact a greatcall operator. We now have the peace of mind knowing our mother can contact someone (including us kids) in case of emergency.
Before buying, just be sure it will work in any zip code where it will be used. Activation is eeasy but takes about 30 minutes to do it online because of the information required. However it is definitely worth it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

1st Day of Usage...

08/20/2012
By ,
North Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had placed the Greatcall in the front pocket of my jeans and accidently pushed the call button. (Obviously, I do not recommend carrying it in this manner.) I heard the ring and immediately pushed the button to end the call. Within a few seconds, I received a call. I advised the caller that I had accidently pushed the call button. The caller was most polite about my error and asked for my location. Since I was shopping, I told him the store that I was about to enter and was immediately asked if a specific store was adjacent. I confirmed that it was and he stated that his question was to verify and demonstrate that the GPS was performing accurately. This accidental call convinces me that this company lives up to its reputation for service. I believe this to be a great value. I am very, very pleased that I chose Greatcall.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MA
Posted 08/27/2013
So obviously you have to have a pocket, your purse, keychain, or a backpack with you whereever you go. I prefer the one I use at home only and wear around my neck.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

I feel that this is a step up over my last system

03/06/2012
By ,
Northeast Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The system I had before would only work around the house, which was good for the time! But this system works regardless of where you are in the USA, it's like having a personal ON STAR unit for a person. It compares very well with the features of ON STAR. You don't have to use it strictly for medical emergency. The monthly monitoring fee is quiet reasonable compared to other medical emergency systems. Buying it through Walmart also gives you a month free. It's rechargeable! Has indicator light to let you know that it's in an area where there shouldn't be a problem for protection. Also one for the battery usage level. I also like the fact that you can go online ans ping your unit to locate it or see if signal is working from your unusual location. I haven't ever had to use it yet in an emergency and hope I never will, but it gives me the confidence it's there if I need it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+157points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Great product

11/24/2013
By ,
NYC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As an RN this is one of the greatest products I have seen on the market for people that helps mainatin their independence. I purchased a few for relatives.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Bought for my elderly mother

09/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my elderly mother. Looked at other products but found she needed to be within 600ft of the home monitor. With this product she can go anywhere and still feel safe. She is still quite active and this gives her the freedom to go to her regular places and on small outings with her senior group. If she gets lost or feels unsafe all she has to do is press the button. Another nice feature is I can log online and see where she is. Living far away from her this is a priceless feature. I can check on her but respect her privacy too. It seems to be a well made product. That is durable and easy for her to use. The monthly price of 14.99 is more than reasonable when you consider what you are really getting. Peace of mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

emergency response necklace

11/17/2013
By ,
las vegas nevada
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After receiving this, reading the warranty and reading the reviews I returned this product. Moisture was the biggest issue. I need something that I can keep nearby when I take a shower. This item was not to be used anywhere near moisture.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Says can't use responder near shower...
Posted 01/28/2014
( Response) Place the device in a little sandwich baggy before you take it into the bathroom... SEAL the zip top, and place on nearby counter. It is safe from ambient moisture, and the button can be pushed WHILE it is in the baggy - try it... it should work right thru the thin plastic (radio waves go thru buildings). I don't recommend immersing it in the flimsy baggy- it is just to protect it from humidity.
0points
Customer Avatar
Mesa. AZ
EASY WAYS TO PROTECT THIS DEVICE FROM MOISTURE
Posted 01/25/2014
They make a waterproof pouch for these units you can purchase online. And in a pinch you can place it inside a freezer-style zipper bag and set it by the tub/shower. It's still usable through the plastic bag in an emergency.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Returned it

03/25/2014
By ,
Western Mts. ME
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It appears to be a good item and my rating does not reflect a personal experience with usage. I never opened the box. Not being able to wear it while showering was my deciding factor. That is where a fall could occur and help would be needed. Also GPS may not be reliable in all areas. The price and monthly fee was what attracted me to it in the first place. Tip: It is about $10 less expensive online than in the store.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Already recommending to others

11/23/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great 21st Century emergency device, comes with smart phone application so your smart phone can double as a 5Star Device . Setup is online which allows medical, contact and emergency notes to be included. I carry it with me all the time now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Battery Life ??

11/01/2013
By ,
Central NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The idea is terrific, but the battery life is terrible. How can you rely on your safety if the battery is dead. If nothing else, the battery should carry you through at least 24 hours before recharging. It does not. You hope that you never need to use it, but if you do and the battery is dead, why have it. It will not save your life.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NYS
Question
Posted 01/01/2014
What is the monthly cost?
0points
Customer Avatar
San Diego, CA
5Star By GreatCall
Posted 11/01/2013
Hello JustAMistake,
We regret that you were not satisfied with you GreatCall product.
Based on your feedback, it sounds as if the unit you purchased may have been malfunctioning. Under MOST conditions, our 5Star devices can go several days on a single charge, and only require charging for 1-2 hours at a time.
We would like the opportunity to address this problem and attempt to resolve your issue. Please contact GreatCall Customer Service or GreatCall Technical Support at your convenience. The number is included in your GreatCall Product package.
-GreatCall Customer Satisfaction
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

GreatCall 5Star

03/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The GreatCall 5Star has worked wonderfully. It met all expectations plus more. Our son has grand maul seizures and lives in another state. We no longer worry about him. The built-in GPS in the unit makes it very easy to find him if he is ever in a medical emergency. I would recommended to anyone. The staff was just as good as the unit. The staff is the best to work with. These folks provide "service".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Great device for seniors!

02/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the 5 star for my elderly parents. I was concerned about the reception because they live in a very remote area where even cell phone reception is hit or miss. This device works great. The people who answer the calls are very patient and courteous. I love the fact that they can take it anywhere and still have access to help if they need it as opposed to the devices that only work in your home.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

great alert system for anyone

02/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this product. at least I can go places and not worry if I need help that it is only one button away.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Great call device

02/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy ,simple and works great!!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for GreatCall 5Star Responder Wireless Personal Security Device

Very Happy

04/10/2014
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking at a number of other devices. This one filled our needs. ADT had one, but it was only good for a range of 300 ft limit and it was $30 a month, and set up fees. And we still needed to be able to track them while they were in their car or at any location. There we would've had to purchase OnStar for their car and still not know where they were at if they left the car. Another $30 dollars a month. This device did all of this plus more and at only $15 a month it's worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 141 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next