Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

If you are looking for a system that can give you a cup of java while it is brewing, then the Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker is the apt choice. This 12-cup coffee brewer machine comes with the Pause n' Serve feature which gives a few cups of coffee for the guests while it is still brewing. You can choose to vary the strength of your java using an array of programmable settings on this Mr. Coffee programmable coffee maker, such as brew strength selector and fresh brew time. The Mr. Coffee thermal coffee maker not only offers hot and fresh coffee, but also ensures easy cleaning and filling owing to the water window and the detachable filter. In addition, the Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker limits the chlorine content in water up to 97 percent.
Average Customer Rating:
4.059 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1040 Reviews) 937
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
628
4 stars
181
3 stars
43
2 stars
40
1 star
148
Customer Recommendation81%843 out of 1,036reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
167 Questions | 490 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
628
4 stars
181
3 stars
43
2 stars
40
1 star
148
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

not the coffee pot I wanted

09/16/2013
By ,
Des Moines, IA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to walk past the coffee pot section to the back of the store to make my pick up and when I got home the coffee pot I was trying to purchase, that would have matched the pot I had that went bad after seven years, was not the same for the reasons I liked the last pot. It looks the same when looking online, but many key issues important to me were not the same!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Horrible Coffee Pot

08/06/2013
By ,
Bradenton, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this coffee pot two weeks ago and have had nothing but problems. The coffee comes out weak and the strong coffee button never stays on. The machine leaks water all over. But the worst is that there is never consistency in the strength of the coffee. We didn't change the brand of the coffee or the number of scoops put in. Very disappointed in this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Quit in less than a year

01/03/2014
By ,
Lancaster CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looked good, worked pretty good for less than a year and then died. Even when working properly it has a design flaw, two overflow ports in the back of the unit where you can't see them. If you are careful you will pour the water directly at the ports and it spills out all over the counter, in the back where you don't see it until it's too late. Durability is very bad. I purchased it to replace a Cuisineart that was factory rebuilt and lasted more than 6 years. I won't be buying another Mr. Coffee after having this one die in such a short time.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

JUNK JUNK JUNK!!!

12/01/2013
By ,
Rincon, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not purchase this piece of junk. I purchased this in April of 2013 and it only lasted 7 months (Nov. 2013). I smelled a nasty burnt smell coming from the machine, I think it is the mother board. Do not buy any "Mr. Coffee" coffee makers because the product has gone downhill. Although, I still love their ice tea makers and haven't had a problem with those failing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

The smell of burning plastic

02/03/2014
By ,
Ellicott City, MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I chose Mr. Coffee since my wife is still using the basic 4 cup model I've had for over 20 yrs. The programable 12 cups models I've been using (Gevalia) seem to last only 1 to 3 years. The very first pot I made smelled and tasted like burnt plastic. I flushed the maker with vinegar leaving the following cups to taste like vinegar and burnt plastic. My wife couldn't stand the burnt plastic smell and continually begged me to take the maker back; so I did after about a week with only a small amount of improvement.
Other misgivings include puddles of water outside the filter of coffee grounds instead of passing through the coffee, and weaker tasting coffee from the large round filters as opposed to the cone filters I was use to.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Broken

01/13/2012
By ,
Clarksville,Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker last month and its broken. The heating element went out. Also, the pot spills every time I pour a cup and I get grounds in my coffee if I don't place the filter just right.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Huge disappointment.

03/09/2012
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I picked up this coffeemaker just a few days after Christmas of 2011. We loved the look of the maker because of it's red color. It's a very classy looking appliance, BUT that is where it ends. I am a lefty and the pot opens up for a right-hander. It's so difficult for a left-handed person to pour water into the back of the pot. I have to turn the whole pot around every time I make coffee and it's really difficult and very unhandy. Every time anyone pours a cup, it spills, drips or drizzles. Both my son and my mother have the same pot and experience the same problems. I find the clock very difficult to see. It's quite dark so it makes it almost impossible to see the time from any distance. I wrote Mr. Coffee, but got no acknowledgement from them. I suggest that they give Mrs. Coffee a chance to design the pot and see if she couldn't do a better job. I have been so disappointed in this coffee pot. I had a Hamilton Beach, it was red and still ran fine. I just might have to get that back out and start using it once again. I like the looks of the Mr. Coffee more than the Hamilton Beach, but the service of Mr. Coffee is really lacking. I would think with this being 2012 the kinks would be all worked out. Do companies take comments seriously, or do they go unnoticed and unread?? I would love to see a response from Mr. Coffee!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Looks and Feels CHEAP!

12/06/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the digital clock broke the second day...garbage, I wished I spent a few extra dollars for a decent machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

The worst coffee maker yet

04/17/2014
By ,
San Jose, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this about a month ago and now it will not brew coffee. It keeps shutting off. Trying to brew 8 cups of coffee the last time I had to keep turning it back on over 20 times. Complete waste of money, do not buy this coffee maker!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Didn't last long

04/09/2014
By ,
23139
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had this coffee machine about 4 months. It worked great at first. Now it takes about 30 minutes to make a pot and all of the steam goes up and into the the clock and buttons. The clock and timer are full of condensate and are completely useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Pot was broken upon arrival

01/03/2013
By ,
10302
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Maybe yours won't be but shipping was terrible, pot was broken.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

pretty, but useless

01/24/2013
By ,
morehead city nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it 4 days ago because it was pretty. The coffee is horrible. I thought it would get better but it seems to be getting worse even after running water & vinegar through it. I can only imagine what kind of toxins I have consumed from the plastic in this horrible thing. And to make matters worse, it peed on the counter today. I only put in 5 cups of water to make a half a pot. I heard a noise and went in the kitchen to discover clear water all over the counter. Seriously...it isn't rocket surgery. This is going back to the sotre today!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Winston-Salem NC
WORKED LESS THAN 1 1/1 YEARS
Posted 04/27/2013
I bought my coffee maker 17 months ago and now the lights come on but there is no heat. seems to me Mr. Coffee products are designed to last a short time after the warranty expires.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker
03/07/2013
By ,
Tulsa ok
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I would not have bought this.
Coffee does not even taste good.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

So Disappointed

07/01/2013
By ,
Castro Valley, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew that for $40 I wouldn't get anything fancy, but I certainly didn't think that a Mr. Coffee machine would have such a short lifespan.
I bought the machine 3 months ago and just yesterday morning it was kaput - no good. The water wouldn't run through and I checked the outlet and the plug and reset the maker. I even looked online to try and troubleshoot myself only to find that many Mr. Coffee machine purchases were known to break down sooner than later. Those who were able to return the machine to the manufacturer had to ship the item personally.
Despite the features that I appreciated (the strong vs regular brew option and the delayed brew option), I will NOT be buying another Mr. Coffee machine. $40 for three months of use is unacceptable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Not Again

01/22/2013
By ,
Lincoln, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this coffeemaker in October of 2012 and it made a pot of coffee guick. Now in January 2013 it takes 1 hour to make a pot of coffee, it is not used everyday, so I would not recommend it for anyone. Good Luck to you who decide to buy this item. Very sad , I would have expected more from such a big brand name company.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Disappointing

03/28/2014
By ,
Houston pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This was a replacement for my old one that was 6 years old. I got a lemon. After 3 days the alarm would go off to let you know it was done and it was 30 seconds into the pot brewing. Then is stopped brewing when the alarm went off. So if it had a half cup it thought it was done. My last one lasted for years and was still working when we replaced it but was getting slower. Also the clock started getting condensation up in it and now we cant tell what time it is to set it. ??????? Its not like we got it wet. I wish I had kept my old one now. I dont know if I want to try a new one again or get something else. I am upset that this product works so badly...or does not work at all. grrrrrrrrrrrrr
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

I will not purchase anymore Mr. Coffee machines...

02/22/2013
By ,
south carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We've owned this coffee maker for less than a year and once again, we're throwing it in the garbage. It seems inevitable with every Mr. Coffee machine we purchase there will come a morning, usually within a year of purchasing the machine, that you'll press the "start" button and nothing will happen! I'm convinced they build in a very short life expectancy on these machines so you'll have to keep coming back. I'm switching to a traditional percolator this time, tired of supporting Mr. Coffee and the garbage they peddle! I may also purchase a French Press. I think the heating pads and other electronic components in the automatic drip makers are just not built to last.......simplicity in coffee making seems to be the solution for me, based upon other reviews i have read.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

The Worst!

06/30/2013
By ,
Somewhere, Earth
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have owned Krups, Braun, Melitta and Cuisinart. They all brewed coffee with the same taste. This coffee from maker is barely drinkable. We cleaned everything and have tried it for 3 weeks. STILL TERRIBLE. Cannot figure out what the problem is, hot water and coffee should produce approximately the same result every time. Ordered a Cuisinart two weeks ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Looks nice, but shame on Mr. Coffee.

12/30/2013
By ,
Suffolk, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this in the beginning of Nov 2013, and thought it would be a great buy. Was I ever wrong! Soon after purchase, condensation built up in the already non-lit clock area, and then it was impossible to read the clock, no matter what I did. Argh! It takes too long to make coffee now...I am just disgusted. I've trusted Mr. Coffee products since the early 1980s, but that love affair is now at an end. Junk!!!!! Don't waste your money and time: it looks great, but it falls apart quickly. I call it the Alibi Coffeemaker.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Mr. Coffee Doesn't Disappoint

12/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Easy to use, coffee nice and hot, appealing to the eye (we got the black and stainless),
and I love the programmable timer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 930 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  47 Next