Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Mr. Coffee Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

If you are looking for a system that can give you a cup of java while it is brewing, then the Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker is the apt choice. This 12-cup coffee brewer machine comes with the Pause n' Serve feature which gives a few cups of coffee for the guests while it is still brewing. You can choose to vary the strength of your java using an array of programmable settings on this Mr. Coffee programmable coffee maker, such as brew strength selector and fresh brew time. The Mr. Coffee thermal coffee maker not only offers hot and fresh coffee, but also ensures easy cleaning and filling owing to the water window and the detachable filter. In addition, the Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker limits the chlorine content in water up to 97 percent.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(1107 Reviews) 1004
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
669
4 stars
199
3 stars
45
2 stars
43
1 star
151
Customer Recommendation82%904 out of 1,103reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
172 Questions | 505 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
669
4 stars
199
3 stars
45
2 stars
43
1 star
151
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Not A Good Maker

01/28/2012
By ,
IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had this maker a couple a months. The first couple of weeks we loved it. It brewed fast, loved the timer and the fact that I could get up to my coffee being done already. Then these last few weeks have been nothing but a pain in the butt. First the clock went out on the front of the coffee pot, then we couldn't set the timer for the coffee pot anymore, then I couldn't turn it off anymore and I would have to unplug it. Now it won't even turn on on when I plug it back it! I bought this coffee pot just over 2 months ago to replace a coffee pot I had for 7 years I paid $8 for. I'm going back to my old coffee maker I found one just like it on ebay.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Disappointed

12/23/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker on 12-23-11. I bought the only red one in stock and brought it home. The red is beautiful and looked great on my counter, but that's as far as my compliments go. I immediately unpacked it and was looking forward to making that first pot of coffee. I poured the water in and in a matter of seconds, the water was all leaking out the bottom. Not just a little water, but a steady stream of water in a few different places. So I will be packing this coffee maker up and returning it to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Do Aware Of This Product

12/23/2011
By ,
Cary, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you buy this product you have to make sure that the cup that holds the coffee grounds is exactly in the proper place. If it is not it will overflow inside the coffee pot. Also, you have to make sure the canister is in the exact spot otherwise you will have coffee all over the counter top. I was surprised how "touchy" this pot is. I made the mistake of our original coffee pot that broke after quite a few years - went to a cheaper model and was disappointed. I ended up going back to our old brand and paying the higher price.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Illinois
I'm confused?
Posted 11/09/2012
The Mr Coffee model BVMC-SJX33 I purchased 2 months ago works perfectly but the part that puzzles me in this review and in several others is that the maker overflows if the filter is not in the proper position. My maker has a tab on the filter holder that fits into a slot on the side of the filter holder assembly in the maker allowing the water to pass thru to the pot. Is this simply a case of not aligning these parts?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Huge disappointment.

03/09/2012
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and I picked up this coffeemaker just a few days after Christmas of 2011. We loved the look of the maker because of it's red color. It's a very classy looking appliance, BUT that is where it ends. I am a lefty and the pot opens up for a right-hander. It's so difficult for a left-handed person to pour water into the back of the pot. I have to turn the whole pot around every time I make coffee and it's really difficult and very unhandy. Every time anyone pours a cup, it spills, drips or drizzles. Both my son and my mother have the same pot and experience the same problems. I find the clock very difficult to see. It's quite dark so it makes it almost impossible to see the time from any distance. I wrote Mr. Coffee, but got no acknowledgement from them. I suggest that they give Mrs. Coffee a chance to design the pot and see if she couldn't do a better job. I have been so disappointed in this coffee pot. I had a Hamilton Beach, it was red and still ran fine. I just might have to get that back out and start using it once again. I like the looks of the Mr. Coffee more than the Hamilton Beach, but the service of Mr. Coffee is really lacking. I would think with this being 2012 the kinks would be all worked out. Do companies take comments seriously, or do they go unnoticed and unread?? I would love to see a response from Mr. Coffee!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Not Again

01/22/2013
By ,
Lincoln, NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this coffeemaker in October of 2012 and it made a pot of coffee guick. Now in January 2013 it takes 1 hour to make a pot of coffee, it is not used everyday, so I would not recommend it for anyone. Good Luck to you who decide to buy this item. Very sad , I would have expected more from such a big brand name company.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

I took it back got another....

03/09/2013
By ,
AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received this as a christmas gift. After 2 weeks it literally stopped working. I brought it back the store and exchanged it for another one on Jan 14th. 3 weeks later it stopped working too.... I plan on taking it back again. Spend money on something that will last longer than 30 days.
It's nice looking... However, it is useless... I don't recommend it to anyone....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

The unit I bought was defective.

03/10/2012
By ,
Parma, ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This might be a very good coffee maker, and I bought it because I discovered that Consumer Research had recommended it as the best coffee maker available in this price range. But upon starting to use it, it became a really hard struggle. On this particular unit, the calibration is apparently off from the tip of the drip nozzle protruding from the filter basket down to the plastic top of the Mr. Coffee decanter. They don't quite meet, so that the brewed coffee will not flow down from the filter basket into the decanter below unless a person holds up the decanter up against the decanter roof, thus allowing the coffee to drip down from above.
I called the Mr. Coffee helpline (1-800-672-6333) and the lady that answered understood my problem exactly and agreed to replace this defective coffee maker. The replacement maker will be sent by "Jarden Consumer Solutions" and is scheduled to arrive at my home on March 14th. The replacement is shown as an "Order" but the "Order Total" is stated as "$0.00".
So hopefully the replacement will arrive and will be calibrated correctly so that the coffee will drop through without a person having to hold up the decanter.
I don't quite understand why "Jarden Consumer Solutions" is handling this replacement rather than Walmart. Is that company your agent for customer service on Mr. Coffee makers which you have sold?
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Okay, but greatly disappointed..

04/01/2013
By ,
Winnemucca, Nv
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
1stly-it would be nice if this Mr Coffee would had a digital-lit-up clock? How cheap is that? Cheaper ones I've seen have a lit up light. If this is suspose to light up, don't know as doesn't say, so I don't know if my just doesn't light up or broke? The box states model SJX36GT? But walmart has no listing for that model, only sjx 33, and I just bought in the store? Says red light whows when needs to be cleaned? Mine pot has no such button to clean like other Mr. Coffee I just had to replaced did.? First cup coffee was great, now brew strength on 2nd pot won't switch to strong, so have to cart it back to store already after 1-use? How hard is it to get a good coffee pot anymore. They all seem to be of poor quality, guess it back to percolators!.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Broke after two weeks

07/07/2013
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I loved this coffee maker when it worked...took it back and bought the previous model....hopefully it will last longer. Pretty disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

I will not purchase anymore Mr. Coffee machines...

02/22/2013
By ,
south carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We've owned this coffee maker for less than a year and once again, we're throwing it in the garbage. It seems inevitable with every Mr. Coffee machine we purchase there will come a morning, usually within a year of purchasing the machine, that you'll press the "start" button and nothing will happen! I'm convinced they build in a very short life expectancy on these machines so you'll have to keep coming back. I'm switching to a traditional percolator this time, tired of supporting Mr. Coffee and the garbage they peddle! I may also purchase a French Press. I think the heating pads and other electronic components in the automatic drip makers are just not built to last.......simplicity in coffee making seems to be the solution for me, based upon other reviews i have read.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker
12/02/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this coffee maker about 3 months ago. The coffee pot drips every time you try to pour it. Also when you put the coffee grounds in,if you don't have the parts perfectly in line, the grounds go into the water and coffee pot. After 3 months it completely quit working and we had to throw it away! I would not buy this coffee maker!
Recommends this product? No
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
Demotte Indiana
why throw it away?
Posted 06/20/2013
it's under a one year warrenty??? why did you not just take it back and get a new one like i did when mine quit working. don't you read your warenties or keep your receipts??? at least for the one year warrenty.
0points
Customer Avatar
Canton, CT
Never again a Mr. Coffee
Posted 04/29/2013
This product is horribly designed. I thought I was the only one dissatisfied with it until I read the reviews. The pot always leaks when you pour either coffee of water to fill it. The clock, at least on mine is not lit, making it practically worthless as something you can glance at to see the time. This is the second one I have owned, the first simply stopped working after a year. You would think I would learn. Will never buy another Mr. Coffee.
0points
Customer Avatar
not my experience
Posted 01/17/2012
This carafe is one of the few that I have had in many years that doesn't drip when I am pouring it. Just pour a bit more slowly...
+3points
Customer Avatar
Minden, NV
Posted 12/10/2011
Perhaps you should stick to single serving coffee machines!
I've had 2 Mr. Coffee coffee makers that have lasted over 40 years.
Yes, if you don't put the filter in correcty (in any machine, you get grounds in your coffee...no surprise there!#
Just bought this one for my boyfriend for Christmas!
#As recommended in Consumer Reports January 2012)
+5points
Customer Avatar
Oregon
@jwtheref
Posted 12/09/2011
This coffee maker does come with a 1 year warranty. Instead of throwing it out, you could have returned it or used the warranty. Maybe you didn't realize it came with the warranty..
+5points
Customer Avatar
columbus oh
Posted 12/04/2011
Love it, it will drip when pouring if you try to pour too fast. Easy to set time and auto. Love the filter also, makes great coffee! Really like the brew choices as well
+5points
Read Comments (6)
Read Comments (6)
Review 12 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Broken

01/13/2012
By ,
Clarksville,Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this coffee maker last month and its broken. The heating element went out. Also, the pot spills every time I pour a cup and I get grounds in my coffee if I don't place the filter just right.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Horrible Coffee Pot

08/06/2013
By ,
Bradenton, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this coffee pot two weeks ago and have had nothing but problems. The coffee comes out weak and the strong coffee button never stays on. The machine leaks water all over. But the worst is that there is never consistency in the strength of the coffee. We didn't change the brand of the coffee or the number of scoops put in. Very disappointed in this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

pretty, but useless

01/24/2013
By ,
morehead city nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it 4 days ago because it was pretty. The coffee is horrible. I thought it would get better but it seems to be getting worse even after running water & vinegar through it. I can only imagine what kind of toxins I have consumed from the plastic in this horrible thing. And to make matters worse, it peed on the counter today. I only put in 5 cups of water to make a half a pot. I heard a noise and went in the kitchen to discover clear water all over the counter. Seriously...it isn't rocket surgery. This is going back to the sotre today!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Winston-Salem NC
WORKED LESS THAN 1 1/1 YEARS
Posted 04/27/2013
I bought my coffee maker 17 months ago and now the lights come on but there is no heat. seems to me Mr. Coffee products are designed to last a short time after the warranty expires.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

A waste of money!!

08/08/2012
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I liked the color and look of the machine so I bought it. You could not pour the coffee without spilling, ever. The light filled with condensation. Also the "strong" button does not work. And, the signal for the end would go off long before the coffee was brewed. It was running slow so I cleaned it with vinegar and water. Still didn't speed it up. I bought the special brewer cleaner and used that. Still didn't make a difference. I also changed the filter. Nothing I did made a difference. Don't waste your money with this coffee maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Replaced Bunn. Like it better.

11/22/2013
By ,
52761
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good product. Reviewed in Consumer Reports.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker
07/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this and it didn't last 30 days, returned and got a replacement it lasted less than 2 months. They just quit working, I bought a DeLonghi and it works great. Good by Mr. Coffee
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

Good. if you buy every 6 months.

03/31/2012
By ,
Goffstown, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The only good Mr Coffee I ever owned was from the early 80's and it lasted more than 10 years.
This last Mr. Coffee was my last. I have been through 5 coffee makers in the past 6 years. Four of them being Mr Coffee. These last two Mr Coffee's lasted less than 6 months each. I will never purchase another.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker

not good :(

02/06/2014
By ,
Texas City, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For about a week, this coffee maker worked AWESOME. Then clock area filled up with condensation and then the buttons wouldn't work. Such a disappointment. It lasted less than a month.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mr. Coffee 12-Cup Programmable Coffee Maker
11/08/2012
By ,
Milford, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Huge dissapointment. It's a beautiful looking coffee pot with a lot of good & helpful features. However, we could not get past the TERRIBLE odor that seemed to come from the plastic used to construct the interior of this machine. We washed it as instructed and rinsed it well. Then we dried it with paper towels. In fact, we did this step a total of four times! We gave up and decided that maybe the odor would disappear if we brewed a pot of coffee. Nope. Three pots were attempted and the odor persisted. In all, we spent several hours with repeating the process.
I've never had an experience like it.
I bought the coffee pot online @Walmart. The order was placed in the late afternoon and I received an email that it was ready for pickup just a couple hours later. No complaints at all for Walmart. The problem was with the Mr. Coffee. Walmart had no problem refunding the purchase.
However, I would NEVER recommend this item to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 997 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  50 Next