Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Microsoft TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

Microsoft TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

Get the full gaming experience with the TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 and PC. These headphones are an updated version of the legendary universal version. They deliver an unmatched performance when gaming on the Xbox or the computer. You can adjust the volume of the TekNmotion Yapster Blaster headset by using the in-line volume control and microphone mute option so you get just the right amount of sound. It can support chat applications so you can talk to friends as you play. This wired headset for Xbox 360 features 40mm neodymium drivers that provide a deep bass sound and crystal-clear audio for a gaming experience like no other. The USB-powered XJacker amplifier along with this PC gaming headset enhances your video game time. You can also hear the difference as you watch movies, listen to music or chat online with friends. The high microphone sensitivity ensures precise sound pickup so you don't miss anything.
Average Customer Rating:
2.875 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation44%7 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

Great Xbox headset for less $$$

09/30/2012
By ,
Round Rock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this thing. Reading other reviews I was afraid the setup would be difficult but it wasn't. As long as you use the xbox component adapter that came with your console you're ready Togo out of the box. For the audio it has an inline splitter for the red&white RCA cables, meaning you plug in the cable provided by Yapster and then it allows you to also connect the red&white cables from the xbox component cables. You can also use this setup to listen to your TV audio out if you need to be quiet in the house or maybe you just want better sound. Movies sound great this way! Another way to use this: my laptop pc (and I assume most do) has a headphone out jack as well as a microphone in jack. You can plug this Yapster into those connections on your computer(adapters included with Yapster) and use for phone calls/video chat etc. The whole Yapster unit is powered through a USB cable. I have mine connected to the USB plug on my TV but the ones on your Xbox console or pc work just as well. The only drawback I can see from the Yapster is that everything has cables so there are a few wires hanging around but they are plenty long enough for most peoples needs. If you need more cable length a standard headphone size male connector with female connector cable (pretty sure Wallyworld has, if not Radioshck) in any length will work. I saw a review somewhere on the "Interweb" that someone was concerned about the connector that plugs into the xbox controller, saying it was a straight or "not bent" plug and that extra weight and stress would be put on the controller. This must have been addressed at some point because now it ships with a plug/dongle that is 90 degrees and removes the stress. The audio quality is really good, and because it's all done with wires I don't run the risk of any wireless feedback or interference. I was wanting a headset for so long but just couldn't see spending all that money on a Turtle Beach. My main style of games are the Call Of Duty series (Black Ops) and with the Yapster I can hear the footsteps of my enemies coming and their direction. This really helps with game play. I recommend this to anyone & would say it's comparable to the other sets up to about $150. If you want flawless audio with wireless capability and can drop a couple hundred $$$ then go with Turtle's. I know this is a long review but I tried to answer all the questions I had before buying. I never got the answers & made a blind purchase (no offense to blind shoppers intended...) but I'm happy none the less.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

Good Headset, GREAT price

11/10/2011
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We picked this up for my son to replace the original chat headset that came with his Xbox 360. Instead of another one-ear chat-only headset, my son asked for a stereo headset so that he could hear the game better. His mom and I agreed so that we wouldn't have to hear zombie screams and gunfire all the time. It does cost more than the one-eared headsets, but it costs way less than the other super fancy Xbox 360 headsets out there that do the same thing.
Setting it up was pretty easy, at least for my son. He had already gotten it hooked up while I was still reading the instructions. This is mostly about what my son thinks of it as he's the main user (when his little brother isn't "borrowing" it).
At first he was a little unsure about it because he had never heard of the brand before. But he says it sounds nice and clear and it has plenty of bass for explosions and stuff. Now he's started telling all his friends about it so I guess he likes it. I heard it briefly and it sounds just fine to me. I was worried about it getting too loud and hurting his hearing, but that wasn't a problem at all.
And he said the mic works really good too. Which is good for me because I don’t hear him screaming at the TV anymore.
Overall this was a great deal for us since it was only half the price of the fancy headset that he originally wanted. At this price, we might pick up another so that his little brother won't keep trying to borrow it from him.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

Great product at affordable price.

02/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned this headset for a few months, and am very pleased with it. It's sturdy and good quality, with a cable that's more than long enough. The sound quality is superb -- I've used this for playing Xbox, Skyping, and more. This is a great headset that has multiple uses and I would definitely recommend this to anyone, especially those who want an affordable, quality product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

poor

11/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mic didn't work took it back two days after I got them.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

need extra cable or you sacrafice the hdmi to tv

12/27/2011
By ,
Pueblo, Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
overall, works great...no way to mute game music playing in the background (even when selecting that volume be turned off). Sound is great, mic is great...drawback, for the xbox 360, you either need to buy a male usb to female rca adapter cable or give up your hdmi hookup to your console (the xbox comes with that adapter, but it's a rca to hdmi, not usb)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
quick fix
Posted 09/02/2014
i use this headset and i have been for 2 years but mine was purchased from amazon. anyway in order to use your HDMI and AV cords at the same time simply get a knife and cut off the piece on the AV cords that is made to block you from using the HDMI if the AV cords are in. microsoft doesnt want you to do this for some reason idk but i did this when i first go my yapsters and it works fine my picture is through my hdmi cord and my audio through AV...only thing is you cannot change the channel if you do then the xbox will automatically restart due to the switching of video outputs so make sure to not switch channels or turn off your tv while gaming
0points
Customer Avatar
California
Posted 01/17/2012
Don't all gaming headsets need this same RCA adapter? I know I had to purchase this same RCA adapter for a different headset back in the day. Not sure why but I don't think any gaming headset comes with a RCA adapter for a HDMI hook up.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

pretty good

03/05/2014
By ,
jacksonville fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought it for my brother as a surprise...he says it works great and is really loud. plays the in game sounds as well as chat
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

Head set for gaming

05/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My daughter says that the mouth piece doesn't work very well. She has had a lot of problems with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

TheLady

12/27/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Now, after seeing many good reviews on this headset. I thought... I would get this for my brother. Well, after HOURS of trying to get the stupid thing to work, it never did. You could hear sound, but you could not talk into it. The extra adapter that in included for connecting the headset to the controller is the STUPIDEST thing ever... WHY NOT JUST MAKE THE CORD FIT. Adding the extra adapter was just not good. 1) because it do NOT fit tightly 2) Because it is weird. You have this big long adapter sticking out of your controller.
So no, I will be returning it today & getting something that works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 12/29/2011
LOL, "HOURS" seriously? Okay whatever. The thing only takes like 3 minutes to set up. Maybe you had your mic muted? I sometimes forget that I muted the mic, and am only reminded of it when people say they can't hear me.
FYI, PCs and Xbox 360s use different sized jacks. So if you size the mic jack for one of those, it won't work with the other. That's why there's an extra adapter (a good thing). I guess it doesn't matter for people that don't have/use a computer and only want this for their Xbox 360, but that's the reason why.
+7points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

hunk of junk

02/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The game sound worked fine but chat audio
was non-funtional. The cheap $20 headset works way better than this hunk of junk. Took it back the same day I got it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

mike does not work right

12/31/2012
By ,
Ill
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This mike does no work right,sound quality is great but when you talk into the mike people can here you fine but you cant here them but the second you unplug the mike you can here other players but they cant here you it is very frustraiting.
Also you cant adjust the player volume and the game volume seperetly so you the game can be to loud and the players volume can be to quiet and there not way to adjust them both since there is only one dial do not buy this poduct.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

Its a great Headphones/Microphone

01/09/2013
By ,
Gunnison, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The cords are a little tricky when hooking it up to an XBox but once it does you can here it much better than through the regular TV speakers. The Microphone is also very nice. You don't have to shout to make your self heard well. It is a little annoying that it doesn't swivel so you can have it on your right side. But even that is easy to deal with.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

The mic

08/08/2013
By ,
Houston Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The microphone cut me off and makes a lot static and the jack that go under the controller moves too much
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC

Not What I thought

11/17/2012
By ,
Maine
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I know that for what I paid I wasn't expecting the best, but you can't have your HDMI hooked up to your xbox with these without having to buy an additional optical audio cable, which is frustrating.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC
02/22/2013
By ,
Cordova, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
COULDN'T GET THEM TO WORK. MY SON COULD ONLY HEAR STATIC. TOOK THEM BACK
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for TekNmotion Yapster Blaster Amplified Gaming Headset for Xbox 360 & PC
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5