Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Better Homes and Gardens Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Rediscover grilling with this attractive 72,000 BTUs Better Homes and Gardens gas grill. This outdoor gas grill has a total cooking surface of 712 square inches and 72,000 BTUs. The 4-burner gas grill features 3 stainless steel main burners, an infrared sear burner, a back burner and a side burner. The 72,000 BTUs Better Homes and Gardens gas grill comes complete with a rotisserie kit. See Natural Gas Conversion Kit.
Average Customer Rating:
3.805 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
30
3 stars
4
2 stars
10
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation77%67 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
48 Questions | 94 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
30
3 stars
4
2 stars
10
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

It Cooks Well!

07/02/2012
By ,
Manassas, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The grill cooks very nicely! We have used the sear burner and the steaks have been perfect. The rotisserie did an awesome job on a chicken - crispy and delicious!. The regular burners cook well without burning the food. I haven't used the side burner yet - I standardly use it when I don't want to heat up the house.
The price is very good. I looked at grills in other stores that were more money without as many features. The body is a bit flimsy, however. I have read the other reviews regarding rust. I gave the entire grill a coating of oil and cool it with the lid up before covering it to reduce condensation.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Big Grill - Little Money

05/22/2013
By ,
Athens, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With the exception of having to assemble it, for the price, this is a great grill! I was tired of spending big bucks on "top of the line" grills only to have them fall apart just as fast as any other. So, I started looking around. I saw this one and read the reviews. I ordered it in the brown for a change and did the 'ship to store.' I will warn you, it weighs a ton in the box!
It took about 2-2-1/2 hrs to assemble by myself. It has plenty of cooking space, 3 burners, 1 sear burner, side burner and a rotisserie. It comes with two wire baskets and side hooks to hang your utensils. You get a lot for the money!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Packaging problem!!

04/06/2012
By ,
Henderson, NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lovely grill, assembling was tedious.. EVERY PANEL INCLUDING SIDES AND BACK WERE DAMAGED, unbelievable! Too worrysome to have it returned because the damaged parts would not affect the grilling, I'm sure. This grill was delivered to my home, I believe it is too heavy for the delivery man, and of course he may have dropped it. The packaging is very flimsy, Walmart need to use durable boxes, and that will solve the damages.. All in all, I did received a discount after complaining..
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

A Lot of Grill for the Money!

03/25/2012
By ,
Twin Cities, Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was little hesitant to buy this grill from Wal-Mart, especially since there was not a model on display. Judging by the box, it seemed almost too good to be true. It had about every bell and whistle for less than half the price of a comparable Weber. I called my wife to search for some reviews, but she found very little on-line. I picked it up (just in case) and totally expected I would be bringing it back later once I had shopped a couple more stores.
I'm pleased to say that I assembled the grill and was very happy with the quality and construction. Allow at least two hours for assembly (don’t start when you’re hungry#. It comes with the rotisserie kit #$80 extra on the Weber#, and one of the burners is an infrared sear burner. It also has back burner for the rotisserie and typical side burner. I'm not a grilling expert, but am looking forward to trying some new recipes and the rotisserie. Wal-Mart also has a really nice 65" cover for less than $20 #compared to Weber’s $40-$50).
If this grill lasts half as long as a Weber, I will be a happy camper.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+75points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great features but cheaply built

03/30/2014
By ,
Pennsylvania
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Looks great. Has all the bells and whistles. But when you get your hands on it you realize it does not have that solid feel to it. Very flimsy feel. I hope it holds up. Really worried it's a Rust bucket. Time will tell.
On a positive note. The grill heats up quickly and and perfectly. No hot spots and easy to control temp. The sear burner does a nice job. Took a little longer than I expected it to sear properly, but once it got going it worked well.
So it is a cheaply made grill w/ All the bells and whistles. Should this grill last 5 or more years it will be a great bargain. Im not so sure it will but I willl take good care of it along the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Rust, Rust, and more RUST

05/25/2012
By ,
Hibbing, MN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this grill thinking that it was a great deal for the money and that the Better Homes and Gardens branding would give us a supurb product. We bought the grill liking that there were so many options and liked the room for cooking big quantaties of food when our entire family was home. The grill works well over all and the options are good. The biggest complaint is that the grill began rusting within 2 weeks of having it. By the end of the summer last year 75% of the chrome had rusted. The grill looks terrible and the rust is now starting to rust through the chrome. We have tried different things to help or stop the grill from rusting more but have not had any luck. So much for the Better Homes and Gardens name. We will never buy another Better Homes and Gardens product. Very disappointed that we will have to buy a new grill probably next summer because the grill won't be safe to use with everything rusting through. If you buy one of these grills you should keep it indoors and only bring it out when you are going to use it. Grill cover or no cover you will find rust areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Happy with the Grill

03/17/2014
By ,
Lake Ozark, Mo.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this grill because I was looking for an affordable gas grill with a ceramic rotisserie burner. Grills with this option are getting harder to find in grills under $500. It is also nice that it includes the rotisserie spit and motor which is often an additional cost. Assembly was well laid out in the instructions and my wife likes the look of the finished product. Had one burner that only lit on one side which was fixed be simply realigning it. If I had the space I would probably order another one now to use in a few years when this one rusts out.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Poor quality

04/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This is the most I have ever spent on a grill, and I thought BHG was a good name. The sides and back panels were badly dented. The paint was chipped. The grill would not work properly at first, and my husband had to do some adjustments to the pre-assembled parts to get it to work. I thought with 72,000 btu it would be pretty powerful, but it seems pretty weak, even on high. I do like the rotisserie and sear burners. The only redeeming qualities.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

A great grill for the money!

02/20/2014
By ,
Mid-Eastern TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mine was delivered by FedX day before yesterday. The first thing I noticed was two corners of the box badly damaged. When I unpacked it, the back panel was badly bent up, one side panel had a slight bend, the cooktop has one corner bent, and the hardware package had come open and the bolts, nuts and washers were all over the inside of the box. Rather than replace, I straightened out the panels myself, and where the black enamel had popped off the cooktop base, I touched it up with black high heat paint, and assembled it.
The instructions estimated a one hour assembly time.
I am a mechanical engineer -
MAYBE I could do it in an hour if I had everything laid out on a long bench and had experience assembling dozens of these. In reality it took four hours, but to be fair a lot of that time was spent straightening the panels out and digging through my shop to find matching bolts and washers to replace the ones that were short.
Assembled now, I am very pleased; this is a great looking grill. I tested all the burners and the rotisserie, and everything works fine. Heat output is BODACIOUS!
I am replacing a Brinkman with this one, and I must say this BHG grill is sturdier and has a LOT more features than the Brinkman.
I noticed all the complaints about rust, so when I finished assembling I put a coat of polymer car polish on all exterior surfaces except the hood where it would be burned off. I also read the instructions that said after each use to clean it, then lightly coat the burners and grates with cooking oil. Again, due to the complaints about rust, I lightly sprayed the burners, burner covers, cooking grates and warming rack with Pam.
I will update this rating after I have some experience with this great looking product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

GREAT GRILL

03/16/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Took me 2 1/2 hours from start to finish, going slowly to make sure I did not miss anything. Comes with a phillips and wrench, which is all you need. I cheated with an electric phillips driver. Nice xtras, like the 4 cooking tool hooks. Came with rotisserie motor and all. Has nice sturdy cooking grills, nice drip pan. 2 baskets on sliders on lower left side. Very nice color and came with a years subscription to Better Homes and Gardens. Had checked all the local places, Lowes, Home Depot, Costco, Kmart, Sears, Shopko and compared BTU's, prices, looks and this is a very good price for this grill. 72,000 BTU's are excetional if you like to charbroil which I do. Very sturdy, happy with new grill.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+100points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lake Charles, LA
Good Value/Poor Workmanship
Posted 07/05/2012
Just bought this grill on 7/3/12. Some quick thoughts:
Pro: Good value for money; Stainless Steel cooking grid; Searing Burner; Rotisserie burner and equipment all included. Fairly easy to put together with fairly easy instructional diagrams. If you can get past the following cons, it cooks well.
Con: Shoddy workmanship; many panels dented or scratched; front doors did not line up; Cooking area not as big as advertised due to the area the searing burner takes up.
Biggest Con: Packaging and Service; I don't know which is worse, the fact that almost all packages on store shelves look like they were handled by chimpanzees and gorillas (every package was damaged severly); or that the clueless store workers at Walmart put it on the shelves expecting customers to buy them. My wife had to call to all 4 stores in the area to find one without damage packaging and that one had dented panels and front doors that needed washers to line them up properly. Getting someone on the phone to look for an undamaged package was also an adventure. Kudos to the Moss Bluff, LA store but shame on the other 3 in the Lake Charles area.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

good value

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have just received the BBQ, used it twice it has cooked 2 great meals, and purchasing it with the extended no hassle no gimmick 3 year warranty at this price seems like a no brainer to me
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Happy griller

01/21/2014
By ,
Birmingham, Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the grille shipped to my house. I am glad because the box is big and heavy. Note that the assembly not included. It took some time. It was a sunny day and I had nothing else to do so i put the pieces together. Instruction manual is straight forword. I wish i had read the convertion kit manual first. I purchased a convertion kit for natural gas and had to take apart my newly assembled grille to get that done. After the grille was put together, it is a great grille. The sear burner is an added extra that I have never used. It really improves the cooking of meats. I am very happy with this grille.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great grill!

04/06/2014
By ,
Waukesha, wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We shopped around a lot looking for a grill that had a sear feature. Every one we found was much more expensive. The grill is very well constructed. Not the cheep thin metal most grills are made of. Grates are much thicker and better constructed than our old grill making it much easier to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Hbg grill

04/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great grill takes a little time to put together a couple pieces came and bent up and damage from shipping
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Nice grill with many options

04/12/2012
By ,
Northeast PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Probably more grill than I will ever need, but I got tired of buying cheap grills and having them rust out in a couple of years. Love the searing option, and will probably use the rotisserie a time or two during the summer. Good even heating, nice storage. Love the stainless.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

rotted within a year

03/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
purchased 4/12, worked great that summer, ( came packaed with 2 left doors wich only took a 50 mile round trip back to walmart to get a right handed door.
Its now 3/13 . over the winter the searer rotted through, after several failed attempts to contact B.H.G. I contacted walmart for costomer service for bhg. come to find out Blue Rhino makes this grill for B.H.G. They agreed to replace the part because it has been within the year, but said I would have to pay to replace this part in the future ( after the manufacturers 1 year warrenty )
assuming that I would have to replace it every year, I requested a refund, They refused.
I was pleasantly srprised to find that walmart would come to my rescue and back a product they sell, when better homes and garden would not even return a call and the manufactuere of he grill failed to back their product.
THANKS WALMART.......................................
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Value, appearance, and Manufacturer

06/19/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well, just got this beautiful grill and think the following about it.... (#1) lots of really good options included (i.e. Double panel doors are very sturdy, heavy gauge stainless grill, a nice deep and wide sized stainless upper grill, infra-red back burner for rotisserie and infra-red side burner aside of the three burners for normal cooking, an exterior side burner for frying or boiling additional foods, and a very nice rotisserie unit). (#2) nice color, a flat copper color (in some of the photo's the color almost looks red or burnt orange# and other than the stainless steel trim and shelves the finish is black enamel coating on the base of the grill burner supports. Now to number #3 the manufacturer, Blu-Rhino/Uniflame.....Fire your product packaging Manager! #LOL) This 80-100 lb. grill has just enough styrofoam packaging to keep it from looking like it was placed in a car crusher during shipment. Very insufficient for the pounding during shipment, so I suggest you have this item sent to the store and check it for dents prior to leaving the store! I prefer to put my own dents in what I buy, especially when it is in the hundreds of dollars. The Reviews previously written about this product had several notations about this dent issue and like myself they felt the dents were not going to affect the performance of the grill. But REALLY? this is like putting a bowling ball in a Dixie Cup....Get a clue Uniflame.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

THIS GRILL WILL RUST!

03/13/2014
By ,
Janesville, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
grill works fine. just don't ever EVER leave it outside overnight! it will rust. as long as you store this grill inside a garage at ALL times I'm sure you'll be fine. I left this grill out over the weekend and the rusting has continued to get worse and worse. I call bhg today and they said theres nothing they can do. For 400$ get a better branded grill that won't rust after a few days in the outdoors. after all I thought that's where grills were supposed to be OUTSIDE!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Every part dented or scratched

03/12/2014
By ,
Del Mar, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had the grill delivered to our home. The packaging did not appear to be damaged but when we opened it and examined the parts, almost every part was dented or scratched. Instructions were good and it was not difficult to put together after hammering out the bent parts. Lots of nice features it is just too bad so much was damaged which I suspect will lead to early replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Better Homes and Gardens 72,000 BTUs Gas Grill

great buy

03/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product, 3 regular burners , sear burner, rear sear plus rotissere and side burner
GREAT PRICE and easy to convrtto natural gas
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 85 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next