Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Whether you like to grill steaks, hot dogs, veggies, ribs or anything else, increase your outdoor grilling options with the foldable and portable Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill. This foldable grill has a total cooking surface of 399 square inches and a warming area of 159 square inches. It becomes conveniently compact for easy portability and storage, too. Featuring a steel control panel, two control knobs and two stainless steel burners with 20,000 BTUs, this outdoor gas grill will sear all of your favorite barbeque items to succulent perfection.
Average Customer Rating:
3.868 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(68 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation84%57 out of 68reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 48 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
24
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Simple

12/24/2012
By ,
San Marcos, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I gave this BBQ as a gift. My friends never owned a BBq and thought this was simple, easy to move around and the tanks are small. So far they said they've used it everyday since. The shipping was so fast! It was estimated to be a good week or two but came in 2-3days. So I was highly impressed.
2 thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great gas grill, despite bad reviews.

05/23/2012
By ,
Southeast Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews on Wal-Mart's website before purchasing this grill.
It was easy and straight forward to put together, extremely large instruction manual with clear and concise pictures, all the parts are in individual pouches in a bubble pack and clearly marked, these correspond to each step in the assembly. As for reviewers complaining of "Low Heat", the only thing I can figure is that those reviewers did not understand which symbol meant "HIGH HEAT" and which one meant "LOW HEAT" or the propane tank they were using with it was nearly empty. After 5 minutes on high my grill was hot enough to cook on.
The only con I can say about this is that some of the wing-nuts that come with it seem to slip when screwed all the way on, to remedy that I just went to my local hardware store and replaced them for under a buck.
Do not let the bad reviews fool you, this is a solid grill for the money and I would recommend it to anyone that was looking for an inexpensive gas grill with middle range BTUs (50-100% more than comparable grills) and lots of grilling and warming real estate (most comparable grills that cost up to twice what this one did, do not come with a warming rack).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+92points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Too bad - LOW Flame

03/11/2012
By ,
middletown, ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This was exactly what I was looking for, great price, and it was not hard to put together at all. They even give you the screwdirver & wrench & each set of hardware is divided into little compartments of the exact quantities of what your need, when you need them. My grill put together very nicely, not wobbly at all. (I did it while sitting on my couch watching TV!) And I was very pleased that it had an igniter! This feature was not mentioned on the box, so I bought butane lighters, but don't need them. BUT, after all that, I guess I'm hauling it ALL back to my local Wal-Mart, because the flame is waaay too low & cooking a steak last nite took way too long, and I ended up finishing it in my oven. Now I'm back to square one, trying to find a decent enough grill, that is small enough for apartment living, where we aren't really supposed to have gas grills, but they kind of look the other way. Too bad...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Very nice grill

05/22/2012
By ,
Willmar, mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this grill for awhile now and still love it... Set up was easier than some of the other grills I have owned. Only took me about 30 mins (but I am also very good at putting thing together and i didn't use the tools that came with it I used my husbands which made it way easier) Have never had a problem with the flames being to small as other reviews have stated... Always had great results...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill
06/15/2012
By ,
waycross
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For those that said it was hard to put together it said right on the box free assembly. My Walmart
put it together for me and it works fine. It cooks good and is not wobbly. We bought the adapter kit so we could use a bigger bottle.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Excellent grill

07/13/2012
By ,
Johnson City. TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to purchase this grill in spite of the negative reviews. Excellent grill. It has all the qualities of a larger, more expensive gas grill. I am a hard-core wear your coat during the winter griller. I am very satisfied with this grill. I am a penny pinching shopper. This grill is worth every single penny.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great for anytime use!

07/25/2012
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband wanted a bar-b-que grill that used propane rather than charcoal. Although there were smaller and cheaper models, this one - which can fold down and be put out of the way - was what I decided to get for him to celebrate his birthday.
Like others who have reviewed this grill, when it came time to assemble it, the whole process took longer than what the instructions quoted, and more than what we thought it should have. But, it went together well, and is a sturdy little item that we have sitting by our pool, ready at a moment's notice to use.
When we use the grill, it is just what we hoped it would be - easy, responsive, and the end result tastes great, no matter what we are grilling!
For one of our friends or family over the age of 35, we would recommend this grill and tell them about the longer time of assembly. For younger friends and family, we would suggest that they allow help from someone with more experience, or have the store assemble it for them. It can really be that frustrating when you don't have previous experience with a similar product.
Overall, however, we are very pleased that the product lives up to expectations, is easy to use, and seems to be able to withstand the outdoors without having to be pampered, covered, or worried over.
This product proved to be the correct choice in a birthday present for my husband. The whole family is happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Not a bad grill for the price

06/08/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am mainly a charcoal griller, but for $49, decided to pick this gas grill up. Mine works fine, I have cooked burgers, steaks, and even breakfast on a griddle on it.
It works fine, the little propane tanks don't last too long, but you can buy a hose to connect the big refillable propane tanks up to it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Pure Junk!

03/31/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You might be enticed by the price because it looks like a decent grill from the box picture. Don't be deceived! This grill is pure junk! After carefully opening the undamaged box I noticed that the grill cover was smashed and the paint was chipping off. It was obvious that it was boxed that way from the factory! Since the metal is so thin I was able to bend back the smashed metal. You have to assemble EVERYTHING even the company logo plate. Really?! The grill enclosure is very thin and cheap. The edges are also sharp so beware! The included hardware is also very cheap and the screw threads strip very easily if you tighten by hand with the included wing nuts! The grill cover handle stripped out completely during install. Awful! They claim the install should only take about 30 minutes. Yeah, right. You’d be luck to assemble this completely is less than one hour. After completing the assembly the lid doesn’t close evenly around the grill basin. The entire grill is also unstable. The grill surface is cheap and very, very thin. Okay, it’s time to fire her up! I turned on the gas and I pressed the igniter…click…nothing. Click….click…click…it won’t start. I got out my long-stem butane lighter and lit the gas. We have flame! I guess it’s a flame. The flame is so low (on high) that you’d be grilling for hours to get a burger cooked! What a piece of junk! I’m taking it back to Wal-Mart tomorrow! They should not even be selling this!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great Inexpensive Gas Grill

07/26/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this grill in spite of all the bad reviews, and I'm glad that I did. I haven't had a problem with low flames: I cooked a slab of ribs, a tri-tip, chicken, and brats all in a reasonable amount of time. As for assembly, there were dozens of them pre-assembled in the garden center. I do recommend buying the conversion kit so you can connect it to a regular size tank, the small bottles don't last very long. Also, the grill is not non-stick. I suggest wiping it down with a paper towel soaked in vegetable oil before cooking. Other than that, this is a great little grill, and I love that it folds flat for storage after use (I live in a condo).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Decent gas grill for the price

07/04/2012
By ,
San Jose, ca
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Read all the reviews from Walmart.com before purchasing one at the store. I have to agree with the other reviewers that the metal grill that you put the meat on is pretty flimsy and the legs are somewhat wobbly, but the heat is strong just as long as you make sure the knob is aligned with the high heat symbol. If you go over the high heat symbol a little bit, the heat decreases. Maybe thats why other reviewers are thinking the heat is too low? Anyways, what I expected from a fifty dollar gas grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great grill for someone that lives in an apartment

07/11/2012
By ,
Las Vegas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When I first read the reviews about this grill I was a little hesitant because a lot of the reviews talked about how awful this grill was...I decided to take a gamble a grill for $50 and to my surprise it was an amazing deal for the price. The only inconvenience I experienced was with the setup...the instruction manual states the estimate setup time is about 30min. I try to think of myself as somewhat handy - to fully construct the grill it took about 1 hour. I would definitely recommend this grill to my friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Not happy.

02/22/2012
By ,
Reno, NV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First; this grill is very unsturdy and wobbly.
Second; the flames are very low, they don't provide the grilled taste that I am used to with a grill.
Third; the assembly was very difficult and took a long time. The instructions were awful!
Fourth; the description does not tell you that you need a one gallon lp tank.
Overall, I am very disappointed w/this grill and wish I could return it. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
ohio
Meg read instructions
Posted 08/30/2012
Meg, the owner's manual clearly states what type of gas tanks are used on page four. Take the time to read. You will have an easier time with things. Instructions were very easy to follow through pictures. My grill is not wobbly, for a portable grill, but I may have tightened the bolts better than you could.
0points
Customer Avatar
Peoria, IL
Unhappy as well
Posted 05/11/2012
I didn't actually purchase the product because after looking at the pictures I questioned the tank on the picture. The store associates stated that they didn't carry that size? So still interested I called the 1 800 number on the box.....ummmm yea sooo mad the representative told me that the grill took the standard 20 pound tank and I told her to specifically look at it. I couldn't it hangs from it. She repeatedly told me that thats what it calls for. I disagreed and chose not to buy it. I sure hope that others decided to look closer before purchasing unless they are looking just for that!!
-2points
Customer Avatar
Reno, NV
Box is gone...
Posted 03/02/2012
The box got thrown away with the boxes we emptied after we moved. I have contacted Walmart and am waiting for a response.
We have used the grill twice. After changing the propane tank ONE TIME, the threading for the connection is already stripping. So after another tank change or two, the grill will be useless.
So frustrated.
0points
Customer Avatar
return policy
Posted 02/26/2012
walmart has a very liberal return policy, which includes if you are not happy with your purchase. if you still have the box you should go ahead and return it.
+1point
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 14 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great grill for the price

02/03/2013
By ,
Mami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For $50, this is the best grill that you can buy new. It is big enough to have a full size bbq and to have a nice party in your house. It took me about 40 min to assemble by my self, but it can be easily assemble by two people in less time. I really like how portable it is and that it takes small $2 canisters instead of having to buy a big propane tank. Before buying this grill I did some research in the second hand market and most of the propane grills I saw on this price range were really rusty or needed replacement parts which would cost me as much as buying this brand new. The only thing that I don't like is that the paint is peeling on the top and I just got the grill a week ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Awesome Grill with a better price

12/05/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took 20 minutes to set up and have used multiple times.
Great flame and a breeze to use. A great price and find.
Does leak grease a little.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill
06/26/2012
By ,
Murfreesboro, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The grill works pretty good for what I paid for. IT wasn't too hard to assemble but maybe the instructions could have been a bit more clearer particularly with the legs assembly. After two uses some of the screws became unlose and would not tighten anymore. Not sure if that's because of the heat while in use or not. Anyway, it cooks good for a grill this size and cost. You're better off with the larger propane tank these smaller ones because they don't last very long after one real good use of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill
01/23/2013
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Grill is a good value for the price. At $49 dollars it is worth buying. It works well and meets my expectations. I plan to use it on the patio at vacation house a couple months a year. It would not be my choice if I planned to use it more frequently. It folds and stores easily which makes it nice for putting away when not using most of he year.
Assembly was not difficult and tools needed were provided. There are a couple of assembly steps where it would be helpful to have someone help. Just a little awkward. If you are looking for something to cook a few burgers or brats. This grill will work great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

great inexpensive grill

08/04/2012
By ,
la mesa ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill is great... Is hot within 5 minutes...have cooked everything from steaks to lobster and have never been disappointed. Great value for $49
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great product for great price.

11/13/2012
By ,
sacramento
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Let me start by saying this product was kind of flimsy. That being said, my brother and I just went to the Niners Rams game (a freakin tie) and used this. It did great!!!! It was easily assmebled, easyily transported, and easily used. We grilled garlic sirlion for our sandwiches and some hotwings. If you want wonderful product for tailgaitingcamping/ or wahtever travel plans you have you cannot beat this item at this price. My only concern was the propane frosting over after cooking for about 30min. But everything turned out awesome!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Backyard Grill 20,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Wow!

09/03/2012
By ,
Lynchburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want a gas grill but want the ability to carry it from place to place don't look no further. It took a while to put together but it ignited quickly. I used the cylinder since it wasn't that expensive but it got hot fast and that wasn't at full flame. If you see this at Wal-Mart, get it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next