Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Whether you like to grill burgers, dogs, veggies, ribs or sausages, you will rediscover the joy of outdoor grilling with this attractive, full-sized two-burner gas grill. This red propane grill has a total cooking surface of 380 square inches, a warming area of 170 square inches, and a convenient side burner. It also features With 40,000 BTUs, this barbeque grill is ready to help you grill up your favorite barbequed treats to juicy, succulent perfection.
Average Customer Rating:
3.804 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(51 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation80%40 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 56 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Ok for the money.

03/12/2012
By ,
MO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I do have to agree with the other reviewer of this product. It was a bit of a challenge to put this grill together. I did have help and I am sure that made a lot of difference in speeding up the process. It states an hour to assemble, even with two of us working on it, we couldn't do it that quickly.
I didn't have any issues with the controls not working for the grilling part, I have not tried the side burner as of yet. I have only used this once. It seems to do a nice job grilling, we had a lot of burgers, hot dogs, and some grilled chicken to do and we were able to fill it and complete our lunch in one cooking.
It is lightweight but again, for the price, you can't expect it to be a high quality unit. I am sure there are much better and more durable ones out there. I suspect it will last a few years before the parts start degrading. I do wish Wal Mart would offer more things made in the USA as they used to. I didn't like it was a non USA product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Backyard Grill

03/25/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I will admit the grill was a pain to assembly. Had help from my wife and was done in a little under an hour. I bought this grill to replace my old advantis grill and will admit that the grill works real well. Was real pleased that the spare ribs i cooked turned out superb and would recommend this grill to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill
04/24/2012
By ,
Spencer, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought 3 of these grills less than a year ago and the burner plate has crumbled on 2 of the grills same as a thin cookie while removing the collapsed burner plate. I have researched for part replacement on the internet and a company in Little Rock Arkansas that sell Uniflame replacement burner plates for $41.95 each. I contacted them to find out information about the company that makes Uniflame Grills and get a contact number. They told me there is not a number or any contact information for Uniflame Grills according to this Little Rock Company and in their e-mail said I hope this will help you. I still don't know how this will help me. I would not recommend this Grill to anyone and wish I could find my receipt!!!! VERY DISAPPOINTED...........
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Columbus, OH
Same issue!
Posted 07/07/2014
I bought this same grill, At first it was great no issues but obviously you have to wash the pieces. I would say I have had the grill for 2 years and my burner plate is all rusty and is pretty much half gone. So I wanted to pretty much say thank you because I have been searching for the past week where I can buy the replacements. For my next grill I am going to definitely do my research.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great value for the money

05/24/2012
By ,
Norht East texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were tired of spending 600 or more every few years on a BBQ that would simply fall apart.
So this season we found this little guy and we are very pleased, it heats up FAST, stays hot on low flame, the porcelain coated cooking grates are not as thick as some have been before but they clean up with a bit of soap and water and medium bristle brush. Assembly took about an hr only because I took a few breaks. I used the side burner to make wild rice in the cast iron skillet the first night. WOW the flame was good and didn't blow out like in my 600 dollar old grill.
Value for the money is outstanding
I had one part that was slightly damaged (rh cooking grate was chipped at a corner) I called blue rhino and viola three days later we had a new replacement in hand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Difficult Assembly.

04/23/2012
By ,
Flat Rock, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have never owned a grill before and purchased this one mainly due to the price since I am very inexperienced. I have used this about 4 times, and I am very satisfied with my purchase. It took my boyfriend quite a while to assemble, but he got it together after about 2 hours. I have not used the side burner as of yet, but not really what I purchased it for anyways. I haven't had any problems with my grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great, easy to use, reliable grill

03/18/2012
By ,
Hickory, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have used this grill several times and it has been great. Works well, cooks evenly and easy to use. Starts right up, never flares out, seems to be holding up well. It did take a few hours for one person to put together, but I got it right the first time and have had no issues. Have only had it a month, so no comments on longevity, but so far, so good. Great grill for the price. The side burner is a great add on. Would recommend to a friend or stranger reading this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill
04/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recently purchased. I found this grill easy to assemble. The parts fit together very well and took about an hour. Have only cooked with it a few times and so far I'm satisfied with this purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great grill for the money

06/30/2012
By ,
Johnson City, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading many reviews, I chose this grill for my wife and I. I am a disabled Engineer with mobility problems, yet was still able to assemble about 60% of this grill unassisted, my wife helped complete it the next day. Enjoyed grilled chicken and portabellos about an hour after completion! As an inexpensive grill, don't expect high end features, parts are made cheaply but functionally with replacements available to order. With a little care and maintenance, this grill should last a long time. Plenty of heat, 400 degrees and easy to use features, igniter and controll knobs, makes this grill a great choice. Comes with a handy screwdriver and wrenches for assembly, I suggest using your own tools as the wrenches provided fit poorly, and use vice grips to hold the axle while tightening the wheel nuts. Enjoy a great little economy grill!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

42 pieces and 22 steps to put this together

03/09/2012
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This took hours to put together. and, the pieces do not align that great so i cannot turn the dial for the side stove piece. not a huge issue, but it is not useable. If you purchase this, get it made at the store. I have put together other grills and they were much easier to assemble. once assembled, it appears ok (with the exception of the side stove not working). also, the directions to assemble were not clear at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
phoenix, az
Posted 06/08/2012
I also had an issue with the side burner. My issue was that the piece connected to the hoses was preassembled incorrectly. Once I flippedit the burner tube fit on with ease as well as the knob. The key thing to note is that the dot on the knob should be on top when off. If it's not that piece needs to be flipped.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

ok for the price

06/04/2012
By ,
Valparaiso, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
we bought this grill last year at the end of the season and now im wishing we could take it back. it was fairly easy to put together. it took me about an hour to put together by myself while my husband was at work. there were a few issues though, the 2 crossbars on the bottom dont fit very well, and the threads were messed up on one of them so i could only get the wing nut on halfway. i LOVE the way the tank/hose setup is. the tank is right on the edge and is easy to get in and out-just set it in and flip the bar over. and its easily accessible to attach the hose as the hose goes from the main burners to the side burner and then to the tank which is just underneath-there is no contorting your hand to try and get the hose attached or turn the tank on or off. this works perfectly for us because we live in apartment building and while we can store the grill (covered) on our patio, we cant store the tank on the patio so we have to store it in the carport which means tanking the tank on and off every time we grill (at least 2-3x/week in the summer). the grill cooks well, however the design is awful. the drip tray is too big and covers almost the entire grill underneath the grates and the grates are some kind of lightweight metal that are porcelain coated. within the first few uses, the the porcelain coating on the grates was chipped off and the grates were starting to rust. not to mention that everything sticks HORRIBLY to these grates-not like the old fashioned cast iron grates that seasoned so well that virtually nothing would stick. and if you want grill marks on your food, with this grill you can forget it. i wish we had saved the $120 i spent on this one and gotten something better.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Love It

04/20/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this grill for me and I love it. It took me a little over an hour to put together. I did it by my self. The directions are easy to follow. All the burners work great and cook wonderfully. I would most definitely recommend this grill to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Quality, appearance, performance ,size , features

09/28/2012
By ,
Bensalem, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SIZE: two burners did great job serving group of six , QUALITY: Warming rack, side burner, temp. guage (ctr. top lid ), Up front burner controls, greese pan, removable grills for easy cleaning, movable w/large durable wheels, starter button up front & convenient, propane rack easy access
APPEARANCE: Handle & front control panel silver makes nice accent, PERFORMANCE: Made chicken,hamburgers & hot dogs for family everyone was very pleased with outcome, FEATURES: Construction of product is impressive, items found on this grill match move expensive grills with the same features or equally as well.
Very pleased with this exceptional value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great Grill for the price

05/22/2012
By ,
Lansing, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this grill, and so glad I did. After reading some of the revises, I had Walmart associate assemble, because right on the box it stated free assembly. Bought the Blue Rhino tank, got home grilled right away, it was everything I hoped for and more. "Would definitely recommend, also would recommend having associate assemble if you are challenged in that area!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

not too bad for the money

05/04/2012
By ,
Devils Lake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cooks food, not too bad to assemble it looks a bit daunting at first but a second pair of hands/eyes helps. The largest amount of work with assembly is the base portion of the grill. It is lightweight metal, but it is a great value for the money it is much better than the other mart's offerings at that price point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

heats up fast

04/02/2012
By ,
west branch,IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good grill but cooking grates warp easily. Should be cast iron
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

fine grill

04/25/2012
By ,
olympia, wa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to put together! does take some time to do. it took me a little over an hour to complete, and i took my time, with "smoke" breaks!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Best value in a medium sized grill!

05/17/2012
By ,
Croydon, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My friends can't believe how little this grill costed me. Assembled fairly easily (even for this guy with 2 thumbs) and the result was a really nice, sturdy grill with plenty of room for hosting a party and having everybody enjoy themselves with plenty of freshly grilled food.
In all honesty, I'd rather have a unit with a piezo igntition switch (this one uses a battery) but in the big picture, it's a negligeable issue. So you take the battery out in the fall and put another in the next BBQ season.
I'm looking forward to having lots of great backyard food for many years to come with this very reasonably priced grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Short term answer

05/25/2012
By ,
Wichtia, KS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought this grill 2 summers ago because I needed something inexpensive to get us by. It was great out of the gate but it won't go the distance. After 18 months I couldn't keep more than one burner lit at a time. Now, if there's any wind at all, I can't keep the grill lit. If you need something to just to get by with until you can buy something better it's fine. But considering it hasn't lasted a full 2 years, you'd be better off spending the money on a better quality grill that's built to last.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

Great Grill

09/16/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brought it home and assembled it in about 1 hour. The only thing that did not work on the grill from the beginning was the ignitor switch. Called the company and they quickly sent me a new switch and it works perfectly. Grill does great, we have even grilled potatoes on the grill and it does a great job. I would highly recommend this grill to anyone. Also, it is very easy to clean the grill grates.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Backyard Grill 40,000 BTUs Gas Grill

good price good product so far

10/05/2012
By ,
fresno, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took some times to assemble and diagram was confusing but with help it took about an hour to assemble. Other than that its the perfect size for my apartment patio. Nice cooking area and love the fact that it had a side burner for those times that I might be cooking spicy food so I can cook outside and it wont smell. Make sure you buy a grill cover with it to preserve.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next