Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Backyard Grill Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

The Backyard Grill 17.5" Square Charcoal Grill opens up your outdoor BBQ options with simple, clean design and a spacious cooking surface. This easy-to-use charcoal grill will fit right in to your backyard space or outdoor entertainment area. Air vents on lid and bowl help control the flow of barbeque smoke, and the addition of plastic wheels enables easy transport. This square charcoal grill also has a bottom storage shelf for easy access to charcoal and other items.
Average Customer Rating:
3.826 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(109 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
25
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation79%86 out of 109reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
25
3 stars
18
2 stars
9
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

Its cheap and it works!

03/21/2012
By ,
Glendale Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At the time of leaving this review the price is nineteen bucks. Not bad, we actually paid like twelve or fourteen bucks for it in the store off season, so that is even better.
Its nothing fancy, that is for sure, but it is cheap, effective, and it works. I would not recommend it for a large family because it is not huge, but we are a family of four and regularly use it with no problems.
I will say that the grill is kinda short so if your a tall person you may want to set it on blocks, or pass on it. I know here they had the grill on display so you can go see if its too short or not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+61points
Review 2 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

just my size

02/04/2012
By ,
Inverness, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am single with limited space and this fits the bill for me. Works well and easy to clean and maintain. I am a big fan of charcoal grills,but cannot afford the big named ones. Good one!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+109points
Review 3 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

Great little grill

04/15/2012
By ,
Newport, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this same grill in 2005 and it's now time to put it to rest. That's approximately $20.00 over a seven year time span. Too bad everything is not as good value as this grill. If you want a simple small grill don't look any further.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+45points
Review 4 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

Great grill!!!!

06/11/2012
By ,
Columus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This grill is awesome!. For $20 it exceeds my expectations 100 times over. It heats up nicely without going out and the ventilation is perfect. I had 3 drum sticks, 4 hamburgers, and 4 pork chops on it at once. I had read one of the reviews and the person said it was too small. Not sure how many people they were cooking for, but I had 11 pieces of meat on it at once. I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Review 5 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill
03/04/2012
By ,
Ft Stewart, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this as a gift from someones registry. They are very happy with it. It gets the job done and its not exspensive. Good deal for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Review 6 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill
03/24/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a great purchase for myself and my daughter. Its the perfect size for a small family and fairly easy to put together, although it took me awhile longer than the half hour sepcified on the directions...lol...anyway, it is sturdy, easy to use and ideal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 7 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

Great grill for a small patio.Easy to put together

04/06/2012
By ,
Atlanta Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good grill for a small patio area.Easy to put together and has all the quality of a larger more expensive grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 8 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill
04/30/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good grill for the price. But it is very light and kinda flimsy. Also, there's no way to get the ash out of the bottom except dump the whole thing. But for $20 it's a fairly good deal :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Review 9 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

Great for the price

05/15/2012
By ,
Jamaica NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We already have a large grill but wanted something small to use when its just me and my husband easy to assemble not large but good for the basic burgers and franks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+6points
Review 10 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

light weieght ...potable...NOT durable

05/25/2012
By ,
Stockton, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great lightweight bbq....NOT durable...I like the little latch that keeps it closed for transporting it from one place to another...it will not last more than one season but for the price you shouldn't expect it to.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 11 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

Back to the basics

07/22/2012
By ,
Davis County UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is funny how we have always had the big fancy gas grills. My son told me one day, "Mom, I am sick of that gas grill, it doesn't give meat the BBQ flavor it should have." He asked me to buy this grill for him.
OMG!!! He is right, back to the simple old school grill with the rich smokey flavor that only a simple grill can give.
Inexpensive, easy to put together, and a taste that you can NOT get on that expensive gas grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 12 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

Great grill for the price

06/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this grill cause it's not too deep. Use it every week cook lots of food on it & cooks fast. Easy clean up too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 13 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill
05/19/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not even give this grill a one star. It is poorly made and has no vents on the bottom so that a good char or even getting the coals going to make something happen to cook doesn't work. This even happens when the bottom of the grill isn't wet from rain. Can't even imagine how you would get the charchol going then.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 14 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

Happy for what i have

06/17/2012
By ,
Lufkin TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I want a simple grill for my apartment, and something that I can take out during a vacation. Also I'm a lady and I didn't want to carry a heavy grill. The grill isnt too tall but it helps for a quick vacation. The best way to keep the grill in good shape is do not get it wet. For the price it was well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 15 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

Small and practica

06/18/2012
By ,
Calexico, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for a small house like mine
it's easy to arm
It is compact and yoyu can keep it in very small place
you can cook everything you want
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 16 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

it's a grill

06/21/2012
By ,
Frederick, MD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not very sturdy...very small...ok for one person
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 17 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

Nice for price

10/18/2012
By ,
Citra, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to follow assembly instructions...took about an hour. Good size for 1 or 2 people. I like that it has legs instead of sitting on the ground like most grills this size & price do. Maintains heat well. Don't expect it to last forever, but for the price it doesn't have to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 18 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

It's ok but could have been so much better

07/15/2012
By ,
WV
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
First of all, it's dirt cheap. I bought it for my sister in law because she doesn't have any money and her grill rusted through. It's the best stand alone grill that $20 can buy.
Having said that, it's too short, you are going to have to put it on bricks unless you are five feet tall. It also has one set of vents in the front and some in the top. This is not great because ideally you want vents at the bottom under the charcoal and on the top. So it doesn't get enough air with the lid closed and you have to keep opening the lid.
In addition, the charcoal grate at the bottom of the bowl just sets on the bottom of the bowl, it serves no purpose at all since nothing holds it up above the bottom of the grill.
Poorly designed but dirt cheap. I guess I should have spent $60 on a grill but hey it is what it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Review 19 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

Great grill!

06/12/2012
By ,
San Leandro, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great grill. Works great. Everything I wanted in a grill. Reasonably priced, easy to,put together and works and looks great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 20 for Backyard Grill 17.5" Charcoal Grill

multiple misfit parts

06/15/2013
By ,
Richmond, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This grill came with a charcoal grid that was too small to do anything but lie flat on the bottom of the unit, providing no benefit of air underneath the coals at all. I could see that the part I received did not match the grid shown as a replacement part on the manufacturer's web site. Still it required 5 emails and responses with them before they sent a larger part as a replacement. (The replacement does seem to work as intended.)
Also, the bolts and wingnuts provided (1) in one place on either side, did not attach the hinges firmly to the side of the lid, and (2) were too thick to fit through the lid lock provided to attach to the main body. I solved problem (1) by using other nuts and bolts; on problem (2) so far I have just not attached the lid lock.
These problems seem below standard even for a basic, minimum-cost, entry-level product.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next