Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Mainstays Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Ahhhh, summertime. There is no better season for relaxing, and the Mainstays 2-Person Sling Swing offers one of the best ways to relax that there is. Enjoy a cool day in the great outdoors in this Mainstays Sling Swing. Read, rest, nap or just watch the world go by. Turn your backyard or porch into a country resort with this oh so inviting swing. This 2 person canopy swing offers cool, comfortable and ventilated seating with a multi-position canopy. The country-crisp stripe fabric of the swing seat coordinates perfectly with the solid colored top and is waterproof, fade resistant and easy to clean.. The swing is easy to care for with waterproof sling fabric that dries quickly and resists fading.
Average Customer Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(97 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation91%87 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
56
4 stars
22
3 stars
11
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Canopy failed while assembling unit

05/01/2012
By ,
Stone Mountain, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
In the final stages of assembly, it is necessary to stretch the canopy tightly over the frame and insert a threaded fastener through a grommet in the canopy. In so doing, the grommet pulled out of the fabric it is designed to protect.
I have instructed my daughter to return the canopy to the store where the unit was picked up to ask that it be repaired or replaced.
When it has been repaired or replaced, I may write a more favorable review.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

No QC at the manufacturer

05/05/2013
By ,
Browns Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My brother bought this swing set for my mother as an early mother's day present and I decided to assemble it for her.
1. The plastic caps on the nuts are such a soft plastic that even the supplied wrench tool rounded the nuts edges out before they were tight. I turned them by hand at least 2 turns afterwards and still had not tightened them to remove the play in the spanner bars for the lower braces. I replaced them with nylon lock nuts.
2. The bottom rear brace's plates were distorted from the welding so badly that I had to flatten them in my shop before getting the holes to line up to drilled holes in the legs.
3. The tapped holes for the canopy portion had multiple problems.
The first hole was tapped so poorly that I had to retap the hole.
The second hole appears to have been misdrilled and is about .062 (1/16) inches larger than the bolt that goes in it. I will be taking it to my shop monday to plug weld the hole ,redrill, and retap it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Perfect little yard swing

05/16/2012
By ,
Concord, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This swing was easy to assemble. Very basic. It looks great. Low price. Swings nicely, overall great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Excellent two person sawing, Excellent value.

05/24/2012
By ,
Locust, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although the website indicates the swing is not carried at the Locust, NC store that is where i purchased mine. Good sturdy swing excellent price easy to put together and good looking. Buy it you will like it...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Cheap bolts, but decent finished product.

06/17/2012
By ,
massachusetts
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The assembly for this unit can be somewhat tricky and the canopy is definitely held together with compression. There needed to be about a 1/16 of an inch more fabric than was provided and the assembly was not intuitive.
I actually sheared a bolt off and the plastic coverings on the bolts stripped absurdly easily since the tool provided is a punched metal wrench.
It took me roughly 1/2 an hour to assemble which for the number of parts was twice as long as need be.
Bottom line, once this was together it was nice to look at, but the parts didn't fit well together initially and the canopy is not big enough. With some relatively small engineering fixes this could have been a truly nice swing.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

A great addition to my lovely back yard!

08/19/2012
By ,
Plano, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 76 year old female and was able to put this swing together by myself! I love it. What a great place to curl up and read a book or just watch the birds. Apparently the instructions were good as I followed them exactly and it went together quickly and painlessly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Excellent swing, excellent price

09/25/2012
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this swing in green a few months ago and have absolutely loved it. It was easy to put together. It's been sturdy.It has been such a comfortable way to spend time outside. I originally planned to buy a padded seat to put over this seat but this one has been so comfortable, I decided not to worry about it. My dad kept coming by and visiting, sitting in the swing and saying how much he loved it so we bought this one (in natural color) for his birthday and he is enjoying it. The top part on both swings doesn't look perfectly straight but for the price and how great everything else is, I guess that's not the biggest priority. Overall, I would highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Great product for reasonable price

06/11/2012
By ,
Fairmount, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was apprehensive when I purchased this swing after reading the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. I put it together by myself in about 2 hours. The only negative I had was the instructions were a tad difficult to follow when it came to putting the canopy together, but I was able to figure it out and I'm enjoying my swing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Great for the price!

07/18/2012
By ,
Southern Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were looking for a nice little yard swing that wouldn't cost a fortune - we assembled this yesterday and I am very pleased with my purchase. It seems relatively sturdy and is lovely in the yard. I think it looks much higher-end than what I paid for it. Assembly was really easy (I did the whole thing myself in 20mins. except for the last step), although you do need an extra set of hands to get the canopy on. All in all, a great item. You won't regret this swing at this price point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Poor quality

04/18/2014
By ,
La Porte, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am giving this one star because I have to to write a review. Bought at end of summer last year. Just putting together. The swing sits so low to the ground. Can't swing it and I'm only 5'2". Looks like something for small children.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

GREAT ADULT SWING

04/04/2014
By ,
BEDFORD NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS SWING I PURCHASED FROM WALMART IS JUST GREAT!!!! GOOD QUALITY! IT SHOULD LAST FOR YEARS! I HAD A SWING BEFOR AND HAD IT FOR MAYBE 15 YEARS AND THIS ONE CAN TOP THAT ONE. LOVE IT!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2
05/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I could say this was a good purchase but when my husband was putting this together it was missing the nuts that hold the whole thing together. Since we live miles from a Walmart store we had to wait to purchase these nuts at a local hardware store... at an additional cost...if we had been close to a Walmart I would have just returned the item. All in all the swing is just what we paid for..not expensive..not a good quality purchase.
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

outdoor swing

04/07/2014
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleased with the swing. For the price it was good quality. The package was missing 2 screws. I am going to assume that was just a fluke accident, so I wont hold it agains it. I just bought 2 screws to replace them for less than a dollar. Putting it together wasn't hard and I didn't need any additional tools or help until the end where you have to put on the canopy. That wasn't easy to stretch the material over the top and get it screwed in, but I survived. It looks nice on my porch and even though there is no padding for the seats it is comfortable and that is what is important to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Great Buy!!

07/13/2012
By ,
Temple,Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband put it together today! He said it was pertty easy to put together....minus the hot Texas heat...that part was just horrid for him! lol I purchased this swing so that my elderly father "whom is very ill" and my 3 year old, could have a place to sit together and spend quality time and make great memories. I think the swing is adorable...not to big and looks cute in the yard. I would most def consider this a great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

great swing for the price

05/22/2012
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It fits perfectly for a small space. The only reason we did not give it 5 stars was due to the canopy seems like its pulled to tight & is pulling apart at the seams. So with that said we are not sure how it will hold up. Otherwise we are happy overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Very pleased

08/30/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was actually sturdier than expected. The set up instructions were very easy to follow because each part is numbered with small stickers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Good swing

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The swing was easy to assemble and is very comfortable. If you want a heavy duty swing save up your money until you can afford one. But if you want a light weight unit that can be moved if needed then this one will be very sufficient.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

I am very pleased with this product.

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product provides a place for me to relax and enjoy my backyard. It is perfect for me to read, visit, spend time with my dogs. The price was reasonable and I would recommend this product to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

Good for minimal space

04/02/2013
By ,
Fort Bragg, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It took about two hours to put together and is a two person job. The awning was a bit tight, and the seams stretched alittle while putting it on, but it's not a big issue. I was a little nervous about the weight it can hold for such a little swing but it's held up great (a combo of my husband's weight and mine is 283 lbs-but I'm worried when my in laws come to visit). I'm 5'1 and my husband is 5'11" , both our feet touch the ground so it is kind of a low swing, but I love it. We ordered the beige one and I am so satisfied. So far it's been through three very rainy days and the material dries up quickly. Our patio is very small and the swing is a perfect fit. We've only had it for a short time but I am hoping it lasts a while and can actually withstand the 500 lbs like it has been advertised. For the price, you can't really go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Stripe Sling Outdoor Swing, Natural, Seats 2

good swing chair

06/26/2012
By ,
ann arbor, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The top frame and material were rather soft. It holds water when it rains.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 77 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next