Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

Sony Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

Enjoy the convenience of having one remote, which controls your TV, audio and PS3 system with the Sony PS3 Blu-ray Remote 2.0. Be it watching a movie, listening to music, or browsing through photos on your PS3 system, the official Sony Media PS3 remote, allows you to easily navigate and control your various media devices without having to leave the comfort of your couch. Legibly marked and easy-to-use buttons facilitate high degree of convenience while changing channels or switching from one content to other. This PlayStation 3 Blue-ray remote is perfect for use with popular services such as Netflix, Vudu, Hulu Plus, Music Unlimited powered by Qriocity and more.
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%36 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

A must have for PS3 slim

09/29/2012
By ,
Ankeny, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was researching PS3 to determine if I really wanted one, I read several comments about the remote being a "must" if I watched movies and/or videos. They were right. It's a complete PS3 navigation tool and I use it for navigating everything in my PS3.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

Does exactly what I wanted it to do.

01/09/2014
By ,
SE Minnesota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This remote is better than I expected, easy to use. I would've given 5-stars if it was more programmable, as the list of codes is very limited, with a lot of brands I've never heard of. I got lucky that it worked for me. I saw an earlier review that stated the remote does not turn on the system, but it DOES TURN ON THE SYSTEM. It works the same way as the controller, by pressing the "PS3" button in the center of the remote. You can see the button on the stock picture, and I uploaded one. It also states this in the instructions under "helpful hints." I highly recommend this product, especially if your using your PS3 for streaming media, Netflix, HULU, etc. I was so tired of that controller, and you can't beat this price...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

Great remote for easy control of PS3.

07/27/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use my PS3 mainly for Non-game related TV watching purposes. This remote is very user friendly and easy to use for PS3. I read somewhere that this remote could be used for Sony BRAVIA TVs as well. I'm yet to try on my BRAVIA.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

great product

07/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its so much nicer to use than the game controller.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

Exceeds Expectations

01/06/2014
By ,
New Orleans, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this remote to make it easier to use my PS3 as a Blue-Ray player. You can use the game controller, but you have to learn through trial and error; it is far more cumbersome and not at all intuitive. This remote does far more than I hoped and allows the use of far more features which are built in to the PS3's Brue-Ray player. It includes skip forward and back buttons (much like my satellite remote) which instantly jump forward or back by 15 seconds. It is a universal remote as well, which means that I was able to program my non-Sony flat screen into it in just a few seconds. It allows me to change the TV input and adjust the TV's volume from the same remote that I use for the DVD. No more remote juggling (which drove my wife nuts) while watching a movie. Interestingly, my TV also seems far more responsive to commands from this universal remote than it is to commands from my Dish Network Remote (I can't understand this but response is significantly different). Overall, I would say that this remote is well thought out, well executed, and an absolute 'must have' addition to your PS3. The PS3 makes an excellent DVD/BlueRay player and for the small price you pay for this remote, it would be insane not to take full advantage of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

Good Universal Remote

06/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good universal remote once you are able to connect to your tv and ps3 and more. Terrible instructions on how to connect devices, best to google the directions because they are more informational than the ones given in the manual. People say there is a lack of brands it can connect to, but I find it to be untrue as I had no issues with having it connect to my various devices. It might just be me though, best of luck to those who buy this and wish to connect to their devices. Good value for money as it replaces the controller for me since I mostly use my ps3 to watch netflix.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

I finally got one

01/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have held out for years about buying a Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote. (Why spend money when the controller can play the movie?) I just think the price is a little high, and is set high because people who want to use their movie player with a regular-looking remote control will pay the price if they really want it. I guess I got tired of unplugging the controller and trying to explain it to my folks how to operate the PS3 controller. Either way, it works great, and I was able to program it to the Samsung television with ease. Overall, I am satisfied with this purchase. :)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

Good Buy

03/28/2012
By ,
Arlington, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BE VERY CAREFUL WHEN BUYING THE PS3 REMOTE!!!!!!!
THERE ARE 2 DIFFERENT MODELS THAT LOOK VERY SIMULAR.
One will work both the PS3 and your TV.
The other will work only the PS3.
I have both due to an odering error. I ordered the remote that works both the TV and PS3.
When it arrived it was the one that works only the PS3.
This remote is very easy to set up and use.
Problem: It does not turn ON THE PS3.... You will still need to turn on the PS3 system before the remote can be used for DVD, Blu-Ray, Netflix play back.
Works well with most TVs. It will turn ON the TV.
This product is good to have for TV use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

easier to use than the game controller

04/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife hates computers and especially games. I got her the "tv" controller for the PS3 and it made her life so much easier when she watches her Hulu and Netflix
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

A Must Have.

04/13/2014
By ,
Bluff City,Tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you use your PS3 for media,you need this remote. The only area that was disappointing was the fact that it doesn't have codes for very many TV's.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

Works OK

12/23/2013
By ,
Huntington Beach, Ca.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Failed to show a code for my Viore TV -which I was going to use it with.
Remote works good on smaller Samsung TV which had a code in list.
Viore TV works great but add on Remote don't show any codes for Viore .
I'm sure there are codes that would work -no clue as to finding them.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

Great Product

03/27/2014
By ,
new Orleans
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

Great remote for every gamer

02/02/2014
By ,
Bridgeport, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

Solid remote & good value, but could be better...

09/11/2013
By ,
KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Sony PS3 Blu-Ray/Media Remote 2.0 is a solid remote & good value. It works well enough that I can control both the PS3 and TV with this remote (I use the PS3 solely for streaming movies/shows & watching Blu-Rays). I have some gripes, such as small buttons & no backlight/illumination, that would be useful when watching TV in the dark. I'm also unsure if this remote can control non-Sony branded AV receivers.
I do like Bluetooth communication functionality to control the PS3, as opposed to IR. It works from pretty far away (about 8-10 ft for me), and I don't have to point the remote at the PS3.
Overall, I give it 4/5 stars and would recommend it to someone that wants to control their PS3 & TV with a single remote. It is a good product, but it could be exceptional, even if it meant $5-10 additional cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)
10/23/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This remote makes watching movies fast and easy. The remote works great and is easy to set up. Lightweight and makes navigating so much easier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

All my media controls on one remote

07/05/2013
By ,
Escondido, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This remote is great. I didn't like having to keep a controller and the TV remote in reach in order to watch netflix or hulu on my PS3. Now I don't have to. The remote can turn on and navigate the PS3 as well as control the TV and audio receiver. I was a bit worried that the remote wouldn't work on my cheaper Olevia TV, but I tried the codes and it worked with complete functionality! Some universal remotes I've tried in the past couldn't even do that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

The Only Remote We Need

07/03/2013
By ,
Lake Jackson, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a little skeptical when my son wanted to hook the PS3 up to the TV for Netflix and Hulu but he insisted I'de love it. We were working with 3 different remotes and I hated it. We purchased this remote and now it's the only one we need. It handles all of our equipment without lag or having to press the buttons numerous times to get it to function.
What a pleasure to pay less than $20 and have it actually do what it says it will.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

complicated with too many buttons...

12/19/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I would have preferred simplicity...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

br

02/06/2012
By ,
amarillo, tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for watching dvds, blue ray and streaming videos on your ps3.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony PS3 Blue-ray Remote 2.0 (PS3)

It works

01/10/2014
By ,
Murfreesboro, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It gets the job done!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 25 total reviews
1 2 Next