Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Apple Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Apple Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

The world's most popular portable gaming device is now even more fun. Listen to your favorite albums. Send text messages over Wi-Fi with iMessage. Record HD video. Make FaceTime calls. iPod touch even works with iCloud, which stores your content and pushes it to all your devices.
Average Customer Rating:
4.802 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(484 Reviews) 297
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
408
4 stars
63
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation98%471 out of 483reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
408
4 stars
63
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

GREAT IPOD!!!

11/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this a few days ago from Black Friday. I opened it and i loved the new ios 5 features. Now I can sync all of my family's ipod touch's with icloud. Great product for people who love portable gaming, music, and video chat all in one thing. Go to Walmart and buy yourself one of these.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+45points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GA
Soon it will be mine (:
Posted 11/30/2011
Got an email from walmart today. It was supposed to release tomorrow but the date has been changed to the 5th so i should receive it on the 7th (wed)..
I cant wait im so excited to start doing things with it!
0points
Customer Avatar
GA
Why not me?? :(
Posted 11/28/2011
i as well ordered mine on Black Friday (25th)... they ran out both instore & online ended up selling out, so I had to preorder... Hope mine gets here soon.
Just says processing.. It is supposed to ship on the 30th i believe.
My case has already shipped & i should be receiving it from Amazon on the 1st (Thursday).
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

Brief summary of purchasing ipod touch 4g white

11/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my experience of purchasing 8gb iPod touch 4th generation via walmart.com
I can safely say that iPod touch is, without a doubt, the best portable media player, if not the best ipod as of yet. It's easy to use, even for people who consider themselves "technologically impaired". Especially this having ability to be your camcorder, handheld gaming console, PDA, and etc.
Well, listing all specs is a waste of time. However, I would have to compare this device to iPhone 4.
1. Comparison of iPhone 4 camera and iPod touch 4g camera:
www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ei2k-KouNGY
www.youtube.com/watch?v=rssawKWKLIA
You judge. I have no problem with cameras. It can record upto HD quality videos. For the price of $195 (for 8gb), it's pretty good. It's actually comparable to some of the low-end camcorders. Don't expect good quality pictures though. Remember, this is not a camera. iPhone 4 obviously has better back camera.
2. RAM and multitask-ability
First of all, iPod touch has 256MB RAM, while iPhone 4 has 512MB. Too be honest though, I haven't had much trouble with multitasks or lags. However, iOS devices have the habit of being "slower" after installing big apps via in-device app store. So, be sure to reboot your device after installing multiple apps, or a big app.
3. Fragility
Well, let's just say if you had 200 dollars to get this, you probably should spend enough money on buying a good case as well. I can't guarantee that your device won't break after a drop. As far as reviews say, iPhone 4 is not too fragile, but you're recommended to have a case. I personally recommend Otterbox cases.
link:http://www.otterbox.com/ipod-touch-4th-generation-cases/ipod-touch-4th-generation-cases,default,sc.html
4. Battery
I personally had no problems, but after many complaints on battery issues, Apple has released iOS 5.0.1, which would drain less battery life. However, if you're concerned about battery life, always have it charged. No comparison for battery life.
5. Jailbreaking
Today is November 18th, 2011. As of now, unless you buy old iPod touch 4g, it comes with iOS 5 which ISN'T "fully" jailbreak-able right now. Tethered jailbreak is an option, but it's probably better to wait till full jailbreak comes out. Same with iPhone 4.
(please support app makers by not using cracked apps.)
if you purchase this via walmart.com...
1. It comes in a mailing box (like a package box). You need original packaging to return/exchange, so keep it for at least 2 weeks...
2. Rest are the same. It comes with earpiece, dock connector, Apple stickers, and bunch of manuals which you probably won't need.
3. It took 1 week - a week and half for delivery. Delivery estimate is very much accurate.
(click to see the video)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+81points
Review 3 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

My little computer and backup phone!

08/30/2012
By ,
IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this as a splurge, to test Apple. I'm not an Apple fan, but I do like my iPod. I don't have any music or anything on it, I more or less bought it for the apps I've heard about. You can also use it as a phone! I have the Pinger app, which is free text and pics, and you have to watch 20-30 sec vids to earn two mins at a time. You can also get an app called MO+ that uses your Google Voice number, which is unlimited talking and texting. You need wireless internet to use those apps though. I tested FaceTime with my brother who has the same iPod but black, and it was really fun! You can download many many apps from the store app. I like watching music videos on YouTube with it as well. I will say the display is pretty sharp. I paid $199.99 plus tax for mine, so I would definitely buy it now while it's cheaper.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

it pretty good

11/12/2011
By ,
savannah ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it wifi thats a bonus i can do more than listen to music i can see the weather for today thumbs up
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-25points
Review 5 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

Ipod Touch

08/14/2012
By ,
Parma , Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I Bought This Three Weeks Ago I Was So Happy To Finally Get One I Got It For The Internet & To Text As I Broke My Cellphone & This Was A Good Buy ; Lets Start Off As Me Saying I Had No Problems With It What So Ever In The Beginning But... Now All Of A Sudden Even When I'm Hooked Up To Wi-Fi For Some Reason My Browser Won't Load The Page I Shut It Off & Back On & Sometimes It Fixes The Problems I Also Play Games On It Most The Games I Played On My Phone Is Also On The App Store To So There's A Plus Side To. I Have The Texting App Pinger & When I Text On It The Keyboard Sometimes Freezes Not Sure Why Though & There's Some Lagging To I Have The Insurance But Not Sure I Can Get A Replacement Because I Got The Insurance A Few Days Later & I'm Not Sure If I Still Have The Receipt For It Didn't Know For Sure If I Needed It Or Not If I Do Then Guess I'm Out Of Luck. Overall It's A Good I Pod I Would Recommend It Just Has A Few Minor Problems But.. I Don't Regret Buying It Though.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 6 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

My Portable Computer!!!!

10/28/2011
By ,
Howell,NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this iPod so I would have a little portable computer with me at all times. There is access to so many apps. It processes files really quick. The video quality is great. The camera is OK;it takes decent pictures. It is good to have if you need it but I wouldn't count on it to take pictures of special occasions. I am using this strictly for internet browsing and applications. I do not have music or videos on it. I have my iPod classic for that. If you want music and videos,I recommend an itouch with more GBs. I would also like to see Apple make this in a 16GB;I would have bought that one. I find it odd that it goes from 8GB to 32GBs. It really would be great if Apple made their devices with the option of using an SD card. But I guess you can't have everything!!! It is smaller and sleeker than the 3rd generation. I recommend a cover to protect it. It is a great entertainment device!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1,322points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Howell,NJ
My Portable Computer!!!!-Update!!!
Posted 11/20/2011
I posted this review several weeks ago when I first got the iPod touch. I LOVE,LOVE,LOVE it. I hardly put it down!!! I did find one thing out since owning it. It has to be charged from USB to computer or you must use an Apple certified charger. I bought a great one from Walmart. I tried two generic chargers. It indicated it was charging then stopped when the battery was not full. I have not had this problem since purchasing the Apple certified charger. Also,to save hard drive space I stream movies and use internet radio to enjoy both medias.
+10points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

Buy the Walmart protection plan with it!!

07/14/2012
By ,
Nebraska
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our pre-teen was given the ipod touch 4th gen 8GB as a gift. It's a fun, expensive device that does lots of fun stuff. But easy to damage! 3 months later it was dropped on concrete & the glass screen shattered. Very common issue. It still worked but had tiny shards of glass flaking off of it.
Thankfully we remembered that a Walmart protection plan was also purchased with it. We simply called the claim number for the plan, they emailed us a shipping label to return it and, after UPS scanned it in, a gift card for the full purchase price (+tax!#. We ordered a new one online with in-store pick-up. Done--less than 48 hours--that easy!! We definitely purchased a new protection plan for the new ipod. Then we ordered an Otterbox protector :# #Keep your receipt and be ready to write down instructions if you call in a claim.)
#BTW--We called & went to the Apple store first & were told we could "buy a new one for half price". They will not fix it & to do so elsewhere will void their warranty. So glad the Walmart plan was purchased with it!)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 8 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

Too pro!

04/03/2012
By ,
Morganton, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the White Apple iPod Touch for 3-4 days and I absolutely LOVE it! As someone who really disliked anything that had to do with a touchscreen before, I am very impressed with the product. The only previous experience I've had with anything touchscreen was my boyfriend's Droid, whatever other touch phone he had previously, and Amazon Kindle. I had such a difficult time just trying to put numbers in to make a call to a professor on his Droid so I was kind of hesitant when I decided to finally get my hands on a product that required "touching". The Touch is much more accurate when you're writing messages or whatever compared to anything I've tried! Not only that, it's slim and very portable (something my boyfriend was very jealous about).
The ear buds were also a pleasant surprise. When I saw them, I got upset because usually, ear buds don't sit in my ear and are very uncomfortable, but the ones Apple includes in the case are super comfortable and a nice change compared to the many ear buds I've gone through before.
The Touch has exceeded my expectations and I'm so glad to have gotten it over an Amazon Kindle! It's worth every penny spent on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 9 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

Great item. Little pricey but worth it.

11/08/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves her new IPod touch. She got it for her 11th birthday. She has been playing with it and downloading apps nonstop. One minute she is playing Angry Birds and the next minute she is reading the Bible. We haven't even looked into the Itunes thing yet but she loves it! She has been taking pictures with it and making virtual cupcakes. LOL There are so many things you can do, just like a mini computer. It is fast also. I highly recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+757points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Greenwood, SC
Does It Cost For Internet,Facetime,and messaging ?
Posted 04/27/2012
"My birthday was a couple of days ago, all my friends have an i pod touch, so for my birthday that's one of the things i wanted so now i have $190 dollars, so i want to go to Walmart and go buy me one, but the only problem is... i want to know if you have to pay for messaging, internet and face time. ? Please Reply."
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

one of the best things i ever bought

08/11/2012
By ,
Las Vegas,NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought 3 of these for my triplets on there 11 birthday.They seemed to like them like i liked my iphone. Since I have wifi at my house me and my kids are always playing words with friends! We have an Ipad and i even think if your looking for a apple product buy the ipod before you buy the Ipad. Its a better choice. I am a lawyer and i even get in trouble at work playing scrabble and words with friends with my kids. my husban broke his iphone so we got him a ipod untill we could get the incurance to cover the iphone. he loves it. he is doctor and there is wifi at the hospitil he works at. so i can text him and send pics and even play words with friends. REALLY BUY THE IPOD i dont have one yet but if your child or chrilden want an iphone its a smart choice to buy the ipod. ITS JUST LIKE IT only more thin. My kids really like all the apps availble on the app store and i the music. my daughters love it and if your looking for a good present for a child GET THIS!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

Ipod touch 8gb

06/04/2012
By ,
midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this ipod, but after a week I took it back. I bought the 8gb but after just a few pictures, music and apps it was down to 4gb already. With everything that comes loaded from the factory there isn't much room for alot of other things. Everyone said 8gb holds alot, so I guess if you don't want to have pictures or alot of music you'll be ok..Alot of people I know have the 8gb and really like it, but for me I went with the 32gb. They are nice, but a tad bit spendy. I also don't have wi-fi so that limits me what I can do on it. I don't regret buying it. I started with the white, but when I got the 32gb I went with the black. The white looks nice, but I felt the screen blended in with the white and there was more contrast and the screen was easier to see with the black border..just my opinion..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 12 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

White iPod touch 4gen

11/05/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this through my iPhone4 Walmart app as a Christmas present for my 15 yr old daughter. I am glad I waited, because the price dropped online to $189.98! The OS5 is awesome, I have it on my iPhone4, so the iPod should be just as awesome!
I also ordered an Otterbox for it. I highly recommend it. Accidents happen and when they get dropped, they break. Protect your investment!
iPods are so easy to use, and the iTunes library is very organized, and syncing is easy. I haven't tried the Cloud service yet, but it should be pretty good, no cords to attach, all done wirelessly.
Just a word of thought: my daughter had a different iPod touch 1 1/2 yrs ago that was a gift and only had it a few months. She took it to school and it was stolen right out of her purse. (I DO NOT RECOMMEND TAKING THESE TO SCHOOL, She was warned numerous times, but she thought it wouldn't happen to her, and it was stolen). So parents, please stress to your kids...leave it at home! These are the hottest items at school stolen! I am only getting her this one because I got my son the Wintec Filemate Light tablet for Christmas, so I have to be fair, and she misses her iPod.
The package came from PA through FedEx. I ordered it on 11/3/11 and got it by 11/5/11. It was a good sized box with a paper filler, the iPod container itself was loose, not secured at all so it was sliding all over the place. It did have a white covering over the iPod box so it wasn't scratched up, and I did open to inspect and all is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+480points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Even lower now!!!!!1!
Posted 07/17/2012
Now there 174.99
+1point
Customer Avatar
Posted 11/11/2011
agree, with your thought of the IPOD being stolen from school. Another student stole my daughters IPOD touch , he went into her bag, & stole her IPOD touch , during school hours, in class. He was caught, and suspened. She got her IPOD back
-8points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)
11/27/2011
By ,
Glastonbury, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my 12 year old son instead of upgrading his phone to a smartphone. He loves it. He rarely puts it down. Takes extra care of it and keeps it charged. For the most part it is just like an ipad just smaller. He had had a great time finding games for free and seems happy with what he has gotten. The camera feature is great. Very happy and bought another one for my other son for Christmas. Walmart had the best price too and you can't bet .97 cent shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+65points
Review 14 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)
11/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best electronic it is exactlly like a ipnone 4 because you can text even for free!! i love this im getting this white one for christmas and i already have the black but im trading it for a new white one!! and i can video chat my cousins thumbs up if u love this!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+546points
Review 15 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)
12/13/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My child really wanted this item for Christmas this year and I was going to wait until Black Friday, but I happened to go on Walmart's website and noticed the great sale they were having with the minimally priced additions for the product. I was able to upgrade to the 4th generation for less than $10. I was able to get a complete accessory kit for less than $10. The product arrived to my home in less than 5 days and I didn't have to pay for expedited shipping costs.
Obviously, since it is before Christmas, my child hasn't used the product yet, however, I don't anticipate any problems. I was impressed with the ease of ordering and how quickly the item came. I will definitely use Walmart.com again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 16 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

iPod Touch

01/02/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had the other iPod touch and it worked fantastic. Some times when I go to a friends house and they have the iPod Touch newest one it works really well. Here are a few tips about the iPod Touch.
1. When you go to school, leave it at home, the iPod Touch will most likely be stolen!!!
2. Buy a case because, when you drop it 90% of the time you won't get lucky and the iPod will break!
3. When you go to a friends house and you bring the iPod either bring some thing to put it in so you won't lose it, or DON'T BRING IT AT ALL ( That is how I lost mine ).
4. Treat the iPod touch carefully because IT WILL BREAK!!!
Thanks for reading ~Lauren
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Review 17 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

MUST GET!!!!

05/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cause my ipad was to big and i need to listen to
my music and im happy i did the headphones are perfect and very loud.
Everything runs quick the games are really fun if you like music and
little multitasking here and there GET THIS YOU WONT REGRET IT!!!!!!!!
+12points
Review 18 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

GREAT for listing to Audibook ~ Rip and Drag~ :-)

01/27/2012
By ,
Goshen Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got my first Ipod for listing to audio books. I have down loaded 5 from audible and now am loading more from my own CD collection. FIRST RATE ITEM~
THE tutorials help even a novice like me do a pretty good job.
you do not down load you RIP a CD~ LOL
you do not move it ~ you DRAG it~ with the movement of the MOUSE~
with out looking for hours of complicated directions the I just experimented and figured it out. GREAT sound light weight. Sync is easy and works well to load and delete items off of the IPOD~ BECAUSE it has a touch screen I found a wonderful leather cover on another website and it keeps the touch screen in first rate shape in my pocket. NO scratches for this little beauty. so far I have listened to 10 books in about 12 days and also have some of my favorite music on there too.
the BATTERY life is excellent on a full charge 8 hours PLUS~ listening time.
$3.99 walmart Ipod earphones are cheap but have great sound and are comfortable.
I would give this version of the IPOD touch 5 STARS all the way~ worth the money.
much better than I ever expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

Disappointed in the delivery

11/12/2011
By ,
CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ipod itself is great but I was disappointed in the delivery. When I received it, it was not in any bubble wrap and when I opened the package, the power button on the ipod was loose. I returned it and had to get another at a different store because they did not have any white ones in stock and I needed it for a b-day. Walmart was very courteous with the return and I did not have any trouble... I guess I would just recommend that walmart pack all expensive electronics in bubble wrap.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+63points
Review 20 for Apple iPod touch 4th Generation 8GB (White)

Love my Ipod Touch

01/09/2012
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got the Ipod touch for Christmas and was really surprised. I was looking at all of the things you could do with just one device. Even with just music you can put all sorts of games and apps from the App Store. Some Apps are free, but most youpay for and are usually $0.99 or a few dollars. You could do anything you want and have a phone with out paying for a data plan every month.
A problem I have with it is the keyboard that shows up. The letters are small and my fingers are big so i have a little trouble with avoiding pressing another letter when i want one next to it. I got the Targus stylus pen from another retailer and has been working well from me and it has made it easier to type. Another problem I have is finding a good case that PROTECTS BOTH FRONT AND BACK of the ipod touch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
1-20 of 298 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next