Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

The RCA DSB772WE Streaming Media Player brings you a world of movies, TV shows, music, online apps and more with its high-speed internet connection. Watch your favorite YouTube videos over and over on your big screen television in crystal clear HD. You can stream your favorite music tracks from Pandora Internet Radio. Just connect the media player to your Wi-Fi network, connect its 1080p HDMI output to your TV and you're ready to enjoy streaming content. The HDMI output port on this compact media player provides high-definition audio and video signals while streaming movies and TV shows. It has a fully-functional remote control that offers you convenient access to the HD streaming media player. It also delivers a wealth of free services, such as VUDU apps, Pandora Internet Radio, and Picasa.
Average Customer Rating:
2.519 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(129 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
22
1 star
53
Customer Recommendation37%48 out of 129reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
23
4 stars
20
3 stars
11
2 stars
22
1 star
53
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Worked, until remote broke.

01/18/2012
By ,
Brandon, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a short run with this product. Received on Christmas and used daily until today.
Set up was simple and quick. Easily entered wifi password with no problems and nice strong connection from across the house. The picture quality was consistently HD and never has buffering problems. The unit itself worked well with all services included.
The unforgivable problem with this product is the remote. It is far to finicky with a very narrow range of use. You must be directly in front of the infrared senator, which its partially hidden behind a plastic grat and no more than 7-8 feet away. There is a return button, a home button, and aa stop button, skill of which take you back to the home screen. The play/ pause button has about a 5 second delay. Overall I would rate this remote in the negative.
There appears to be a technical issue with the remote itself. It has stopped working like many others have said. This is not a battery issue or a problem with the unit. There is an issue with the signal coming from the remote.
take normal remote and a digital camera
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 22 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

total let down

12/02/2011
By ,
batonrouge
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i got this unit at the black friday sale couldn't wait to use it, the install was quick and easy, love the size of this thing,turn it on and after about 5 minutes it will freeze and the remote will no longer work, i replaced the battery twice and still nothing. this would be such a cool device if it really worked. i'm taking it back walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 23 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

not worth the money!

11/28/2011
By ,
marshfield, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i bought this on black friday, thinking it looked petite(small) and wouldn't take up much room. Well, i got to walmart and saw a bunch of them all stacked up, and i thought to myself "why are there so many still here" (because for 29.99) i thought that isn't a bad price.
WELL GUESS WHAT,,,IT WASNT WORTH IT!!!! BTW... after having it on for 10 minutes>>>it over-heated and quit working. so don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 24 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Completely defective!!! Don't waste your money!

12/06/2011
By ,
South Jordan, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery cover on remote doesn't close. Unit shuts off if you bump it. I haven't been able to get the remote to work at all. No buttons on receiver, so no other way to control it. What a waste of money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 25 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Decent for Netflix

12/28/2011
By ,
Apollo, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this almost holding my breath. I read all the negative reviews, but noticed none of them mentioned Netflix. I took a risk and bought it anyway to go with a portable 7" TV I got for Christmas (I live in an area where NO digital signal reaches according to an FCC map). The one I got had a cardboard pin thing in the battery slot preventing a connection, so the battery worked out of the box on the remote. Connecting to my network was a little more difficult. I have a MAC filter and SSID hidden...I had to disable the MAC filter and allow SSID broadcast to get the MAC because the settings are too small to read. In addition, you will need to use a code from the device and a computer to activate it rather than using log-in credentials. It updated fine no problems. The only issue, and this is minor, is that the Netflix streaming DOES NOT have subtitles the way the PS3 does. I did notice that it did not come with A/V cables...not sure if it was supposed to or not, but did not get them...also, the price in store is higher than the online price, so ask for a price match.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 26 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Perfect

11/27/2011
By ,
El Centro, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good
Netflix plays without any problem and even on HD
if u planning to get this to use You Tube you really should think about it cuz the app needs lots of updates. It freezes a lot and its annoying to look for a video cuz the remote doesn't have a Keyboard.
Hulu Plus also works perfectly but Netflix has a better monthly price and content.
Pandora is the app that i used during my parties :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 27 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player
02/17/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm returning this RCA and will just get a Roku instead. The savings isn't worth the annoying design and lack of applications. =(
Apps:
Very few apps. After I check out other products, it'll be worth it to just spend the extra $20 to buy other streaming players which have apps that give free content.
Remote Control:
Gosh, I so HATE the remote control is so bad! I have to stand right in front of the box to make it work! And the pseudo-buttons are annoying, they're just like little bubbles that pop-up of the rc.. you have to press too many times before it does what you want, and press it hard! My thumb knuckles started hurting, and I blame this remote. The response is also very slow, so it gets so annoying when checking out Netflix titles.
Connectivity:
It's okay. Sometimes, it buffers and takes a very long time (sometimes, I get impatient so I just switch back to cable). But I didn't bother testing more if it's the box's issue or my connection. Anyways, when I watch Netflix on my phone, I rarely have any connection problems. So, I think the box has connectivity problems, too.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 28 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Worse product , go get something else

12/05/2011
By ,
Charlotte, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this player because it was cheap .. To start with the remote did not work .. The battery was totally drained out . So I had to go get a new one , then when it started the interface was so clumsy. The remote looks like a cheap one. Better go get a roku player ( the base version with around the same amount ). This is just a total waste of money. Going to return it now.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 29 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player
11/28/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
instructions are included to help you hook it up. But zero instructions to help you with the remote. I have searched the internet and not found anything that will help.
I was excited to play youtube video's on my tv, but in order to search youtube, you have to use the remote and use directional arrows to scroll through a keyboard to type in your search words. Once it finds results, you have no way of knowing where to go from there. How do you search again? how to you skip to the next video? how do you do a new search?
Terrible interface.
Also, my internet is slow and I have to pause video's to let it catch up, which is not the device's fault, but it is very difficult to do this with the remote.
Guess I will be returning this item to the local walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St. Louis, MO
2 instuctions papers in box
Posted 11/29/2011
One for online hookup & another a small paper that says what each button is.
It takes a little time to figure it out but not that hard. Look for it again. You will see what the buttons do. I will say that when the window opens on TV that the arrow that goes to the right lights up in upper RH corner and that is where you press to play. Little confusing.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player
11/26/2011
By ,
St Marys,Oh
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a nice product but it takes forever to key in phrase for you tube from the remote... thats the only thing bad about this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 31 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player
11/27/2011
By ,
Golden, Ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of these the night of the Black Friday sale at Walmart. Had thoughts of purchasing a blue-ray player that would give me the options that this product offers, and half of the price. My kids are now enjoying streaming NetFlix on their own tv's. Great purchase for a small price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 32 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player
09/19/2012
By ,
Roseville, Ca
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this RCA Player 2 days ago. Bought online ( was only $16.88 on walmart.com). Picked it up at the store, brought it home and was a very easy set up. Connected to the WiFi and had no issues. Then had streaming issue using VUDU because it would load every other minute. Then started working 100%. Run Netflix, watched 1 movie without 1 problem. Now trying to watch a tv show on netflix, and having MASSIVE loading issues. watched 2 esp without issue now the 3rd esp taking forever to load. I believe its because the device is so small there no room to vent out the heat, so placed a small cooling fan under it, now ill see if it worked better
PS: Remote is not great, but i am not having any issues. Also i loaded Netflix on my laptop and I AM NOT having loading issues on my laptop, so i know the loading issues are not my WiFi connection or an issue with Netflix.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 33 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Looks good in Theory, Doesn't Connect to Wifi

11/26/2011
By ,
Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this device as I needed a device that would be able to stream movies from Netflix and Hulu to my television. I was debating buying an Apple TV and i will still be purchasing one after I return this device.
When I saw this device in the store, it looked amazing as it was a cheap alternative to many streaming boxes available in Walmart. It was also cheaper because of Black Friday sales. When I brought it home, I was quite excited to hook it up. It was simple to hook up, but the thing just didn't work. As soon as I started it, it asked for me to enter my basic info. All looked good. I selected my language, and then I tried to enter my Wi-Fi information. It just did not connect. I have a password normally on my router, so I entered it; Connection.....Timeout . I retried, and the same error came up. I even tried Wifi Protected Setup(WPS), and #1: I could not even read the code on the screen to enter on the router's Control panel due to the poor quality. #2 When I tried Push button connect, It also gave me an error. #3: For the final WPS option, which was for me to enter my router's pin on the device, The device had no way to enter the numbers. so you just sat staring at a message saying "Please enter your router pin in the field below" with no option of entering the numbers. On the other screen, it says push enter to open the keyboard, but on this WPS screen, no keypad shows up when you push the Okay/Enter button.
After I finally gave up on trying to connect to a Wifi Protected Router, I turned off my router's protection to try it again. Even with this, the device still gave me multiple errors when trying to connect to my router.
Because I was feeling thoughtful, I even tried it with my neighbor's wifi connection. No luck...
This device from what I can see is just a cheap mockup of an Apple TV or a Bluray Player that can stream from online services. If you are looking for a quality product, that is only 50 dollars, go out and buy an Apple TV, which can also stream media from you iDevices with AirPlay. It can also play your media from your computer which was one of the other biggest issues with this device. I hope that this review has helped you in choosing whether or not to buy this device.
-Djimusic
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Review 34 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Want To Buy Another!

12/03/2011
By ,
Southern CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews after I purchased this on Thanksgiving night and wondered what I was getting into. I got it last night hooked it up easy yes/no screen choices to get it initally programmed. Remote is appropriate for the product size and worked fine for me right out of the box. We are all use to these big heavy boxes cable/DVD/blueray... etc. This thing fits right in the palm of your hand and is a powerful little sucker. For the price it is a awsome deal! The second this comes available for the $39 I will be getting another!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 35 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Steer clear.

12/01/2011
By ,
MD
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its a suppose to stream media for cheap well one thing is true its cheap and that is all. I have a very strong wireless net in my house and this thing couldnt find it even when I held it next to the router. Once it did connect and I mean hours later of looking for an IP address it just didnt want to go anywhere and if I hadnt had lost the reciept and someone not thrown away the box I would have returned it so I smashed it in and salvaged the battery from the remote for something Im sure I have that can use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 36 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player
11/25/2011
By ,
Ft Benning, GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nice streamer. Talked myself into buying one since it was $10 cheaper than the roku. Easy setup,nice size, and works great. i JUST HATE THE REMOTE! it takes the circle batteries that you would put in a watch, and i have to keep pressing the buttons for something to finally click. Too much of a hassle for me when im trying to login into an acct. Also, for $10 more i will get more than 4 applications on my streamer with a better remote. Sorry Rca, gotta return it for a roku.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 37 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Forget about it....

11/29/2011
By ,
Central Oregon
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought one of these players, took it home and attached it to my TV with an HDMI cable and to my wireless network. They should call it "oozing video". It took several minutes to download the software update and when I tried to watch a program, it took several minutes to download. Then, part way through, the screen went blank and it said "rebuffering", which took several more minutes. I know what you are thinking and yes I had a good connection to my network. I tried different programs with the same result. I took it back and spent a little more for a Roku. I connected it with the same HDMI cable and to my wireless network.....what a difference! Spend the extra money and buy the Roku.....it is well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 38 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Cheap Cheap

11/18/2011
By ,
Atlanta, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought it 2 days ago, Took it back today.
Way Cheap Remote that doesn't want to work right, You have to just about break the remote when you press the buttons just so the system picks it up.
And I did an update on it today and it froze up my whole system and would not work.
So I called customer service, after 45 mins on the phone with them and they had no idea how to help, I just hung up and took the thing back.
Was gonna just get another one and see if that one worked but decided to pay $10 more and got the Roku LT, which is 50 times better.
So if I were you I would pay an extra $10 and get the Roku LT.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-10points
Review 39 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Good but not the best

12/18/2011
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this at the Black Friday sale. It was intended as a gift for my parents who are in their late sixties. After reading all the reviews on here I was scared of it so went & bought them a Roku instead. I decided to try out the player & maybe give it to my teenage daughter for her room since she has no cable box in her room. This player hooked up immediately, the remote worked fine (although it is flimsy, I wouldn't trust it for small children to use), I streamed with it fine, hooked up to Netflix, vudu & hulu plus with no problems. All that being said I don't like the look of the interface & operation even close to as much as the Roku. I think the operation would frustrate my parents who need something simpler. However, it is going to work great for my daughter who has no problem running electronics.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for RCA Wi-Fi Streaming Media Player

Great Value for the $$

01/04/2012
By ,
Moundsville, WV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The device itself is a great value for the money. It's capable of streaming Netflix, HuluPlus, Vudu, YouTube, Picasa pictures and there's even a way that you can connect to your Facebook account. I do NOT like the remote though. It's very flimsy and hard to get it to control the device. If you can deal with a little remote frustrations, the device will definitely meet your expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
21-40 of 126 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next