Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Spyderco Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Spyderco Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

The Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener helps you have a sharp knife on hand for almost any cutting job. The knife sharpener provides you with what you need to sharpen dull knives. The Spyderco knife sharpener includes a pair of medium-grit stones for aggressive sharpening and a set of fine stones for professional-grade finishing. Use the flat sides of the the triangular stones to sharpen plain edges, and use the corners to sharpen Spyderedge serrations. The Sharpmaker knife sharpener comes with the added security of safety guards to protect you when sharpening. An added bonus to the Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener is a furrow running the length of each stone, which allows you to sharpen pointed items such as fishhooks, darts and awls. It also comes with an instruction book and DVD to show you how to sharpen safely.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%19 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 5 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Sharpening Made Easy

12/28/2012
By ,
Bay Area, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent sharpening system that brings a very fine edge to all types of knives, and does so very quickly and easily. I collect a lot knives, but am not very good at keeping their edges maintained as every time I try to use a sharpening stone, I can't seem to get the right angle and end up making the edges dull.
Electric sharpeners don't seem to get the edges as sharp as I would like either, so I've been been very frustrated in all of my sharpening efforts until I found this great sharpener by Spyderco. The design of this tool pretty much eliminates the need to set your knife at the right angel. All you need to do is to hold the blade like you would to slice a tomato and the sharpener does the rest. I've been able to put excellent edges on nearly all of my knives. I'm told that this also does a great job on serrated edges, but I haven't attempted those yet. But for straight edged knives, I highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Simple to use and works as it should

08/20/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, excellent at getting a dull knife or tool back to razor sharp. Free hand sharpening can be difficult; it is sometimes hard to maintain the consistent angle you are looking for on your edge bevel. With this product, all you need to do is keep the knife straight up and down. One suggestion, while the two sets of ceramic rods that come in this set are sufficient for most of your sharpening needs, you may want to consider purchasing some additional rods compatible with this device. For major re-profiling or restoring a significantly damaged edge, you may want to pick up the diamond rods. These are more aggressive than the coarse ceramic stones and will cut down on the sharpening time significantly. For a truly polished edge, you may want to pick up the ultra fine stones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Must have!

03/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't say enough about this product. Does exactly what it's suppose to do, maintain your edge. Where it excels is its ability to take a sharpening challenged person like myself and make you feel like you know a thing or two. If you're trying to create a new bevel you will need to get the more aggressive stones. Other than that, I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Best Knife Sharpener I have ever owned.

09/14/2013
By ,
Gulf Breeze, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't say enough good things about this sharpener. The price was steep but the reviews were very good so I took a chance. After the first few knives I was getting the hang of it and was able get my knives razor sharp. Sharp enough to shave with.
I recommend watching the video a few times and keep the booklet handy. You will need to work with it several times to get the hang of it, but once you do, you will be sharpening every knife in your house and maybe even your neighbors! It's really easy and kind of fun.
This is one great knife sharpener. It is well worth the money and I highly recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Easy to Use

12/03/2013
By ,
San Antonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Spyderco Sharpening is great. It is well made, easy to use and works like a charm. The price for this item through Wal-Mart is excellent, since the manufacturer sells it for $99 on their site as the recommended price. Some buyers at other sites bought apparent "knock offs" that looked like this product, but were just cheap copies so make sure you are buying from a reputable business.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Walmart cut everyone's price by LOTS. Got it fast.

01/05/2014
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart cut everyone's price by LOTS. I took the free shipping and it was on my doorstep in 3 days..... Now that is EXCELLENT service! As for the knife sharpening kit...I Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Scary sharp

12/08/2013
By ,
mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Its the easiest way to get your knives scary sharp, from dull to shaving sharp in about 15 minutes, the dvd its very good, step by step guide and product instructions make this system very complete.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Great tool

06/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This makes knife sharpening a no brainier. Just follow simple instructions.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Excellent sharpener

10/20/2012
By ,
Central Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for an economical way to sharpen the household knives and after reading reviews decided on the Spyderco system. It's simple to use and I really like the fact that it all fits in a compact storage container. I like this over electric sharpeners because it takes off a minimal amount of material to get the job done, extending the life of the knives.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Great value by far!!!

11/09/2012
By ,
Northeast PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cant say enough about the edge this product delivers. Booklet and video are very informative. I used to use flat stone for sharpening before, never again, gets my knife from dull to arm hair shaving in 15 min roughly. Simple product, easy to use, excellent value for price point.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Quality product

04/03/2013
By ,
Moorefield, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I could tell that this was a quality product the minute I started reading the instuctions. They were very user friendly and understandable. The included DVD was great and explained all the functions of the product. The actual sharpener was amazing as well and did everything I expected. I had this product recommended from a friend and I would definitely do the same. Great product for someone who needs a sharp knife on a daily basis.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Makes a great gift!

03/08/2013
By ,
Kokomo, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This knife sharpener by Spyderco was my choice for a birthday gift to a family member. It is a very useful product that can be used to sharpen not only knves but many other cutting tools as well, and it arrived quickly and in good condition. The person that I gave it to, my son, was very pleased, and I feel that I made an excellent choice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Great value

05/20/2013
By ,
Orange County,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most of my knives are already sharpened but one was not. My wife instantly noticed how sharp it was and I had not told her I had done.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Love this sharpener!

05/01/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the simplest and best Sharpener out there under 100 bucks. The triangular rods really make it like 4 different grit stones. An average person can use it since holding the blade vertically solves the whole blade angle problem. It is simple and fast. I highly recommend it!
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

Great Sharpener

12/10/2012
By ,
Long Beach , Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second Spyderco Sharpener. As I liked it that much. A fantastic tool for all your cutting needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener

High Quality Product

12/20/2012
By ,
Chattaroy, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to understand DVD product is good quality! Works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Spyderco Sharpmaker Knife Sharpener
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5