Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magic Chef Magic Chef Food Slicer

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magic Chef Magic Chef Food Slicer

The Magic Chef Food Slicer features a high-quality adjustable serrated blade that allows you to slice meats, vegetables and bread. The high grade aluminum design, 200 watts of power and a smooth rail system makes the Magic Chef Food Slicer super easy to use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.093 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation83%45 out of 54reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

Good product for the price

09/02/2012
By ,
Albuquerque
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The slicer is a good value. It does what it is supposed to do, is easy to clean, has sufficient safety mechanisms in place including suction cup feet so it doesn't slide around while you're working with it, and is fairly compact for easy storage. I've used it to cut tomato slices, zucchini, cucumbers, and meat. The easy to use knob allows you to set the thickness of the cut. It really is a good value considering other slicers sell for so much more. I'm not planning to use it everyday so it should last a long time. If you're wanting a heavy duty slicer for everyday use, you may decide to chose one of those expensive models but this will get you by for simple uses. The only thing I would change on it if i could would be to make a machine that cleaned itself. Since that is unlikely, maybe they'll figure out a way to detach the electrical mechanisms with a quick twist and allow the rest of the machine to be put in the dishwasher.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 2 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

A nice inexpensive slicer but has a few concerns.

08/16/2013
By ,
Plainview, Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good looking slicer and the motor operates properly.
I noticed that the BACK PLATE (that the meat rests against) was not parallel to the BLADE by about 6 degrees so if you want perfect slices it ain't gonna happen. Also, the PUSHER has a 1/2 inch gap between it and the PLATFORM which for me was problematic when slicing soft roasts. And I had trouble keeping the PUSHER in place while slicing large meats and it left a 1/2 gap between the BLADE and the PUSHER so no way to finish the last 1/2 inch of the roast.
While slicing a large roast for beef jerky, as I got the meat cut all the way through, the roast would stick to the blade and rotate out of my control. I sprayed PAM on the blade and cured the problem.
The slicer operated well without any surprises and cleaned up relatively easy.
The reason for not recommending this slicer is personal as I need a larger blade for my needs, not because of this slicers value.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 3 for Magic Chef Food Slicer
02/06/2012
By ,
New Jersey
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was happy to find a slicer with 200 watts and under $100 but quickly found out why the price is what it is being sold for. The appearance is very nice but this little machine suffers from a lack of durabilty. I used it 2 times and after cleaning the outside I decided to take the blade off for more cleaning. A cheap plastic spacer fell out upon lifting the blade with one of its retainers broken. I spent 20 minutes trying to work around this defect but just couldn't put it back together. A metal spacer and fastener probably would have been better during manufacturing. I will be returning this machine for another brand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+62points
Review 4 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

Unbelievable for the price!!

01/20/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read a lot of reviews about slicers before settling on this one, I hadn't been able to find one below $100 anywhere. So of course I was skeptical about this one, but I know how great wal mart is with returns, so I thought why not.
I bought this meat slicer to slice venison and beef to make jerky, It came completely assembled which I thought was great, I cleaned all the contact surfaces prior to using, read the manual. I had all my meat already partially thawed out about 5-8 lbs, had my prep area all ready laid out, meat ready before I turned the unit on. I sliced all the meat in about 8 minutes. The unit worked perfectly, the blade never slowed down. I had it set for pretty thin (less than a 1/4 in) every slice turned out great!!! I do believe that if you were to use it longer than ten minutes that the motor might start to slow or smell, you would then have to wait 30 minutes before using again, but I already knew that before starting. Make good use of the time the motor is on and you will not be disappointed in this machine.
I removed the blade, washed it carefully, dried it and then took a soapy cloth and washed all the areas on the unit that contacted the meat and wiped down, put the blade back on, all took less than 5 minutes, since it came pre assembled, I just sat the unit back in it's original box to put up for storage. If you want something to use for a job less than ten minutes, then this unit is for you. I didn't find it to be flimsy, I found it to be very attractive. For the price, I am EXTREMELY happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+138points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Alabama
still works great!
Posted 07/17/2013
I'm on my second year with this slicer and it still works great.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

I had my doubts

09/20/2012
By ,
Gilbert,AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceedes my expectations so far. It works like a pro model. Hint: When cleaning DO NOT take out the center screw. Instead, take out the 3 small screws that are on the blade near the center.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Review 6 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

Primitive appliance

02/13/2012
By ,
Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Pros:
The wattage is great – 200 Wt. The slicer is working and for the price is unbeatable.
Cons:
The appliance is very primitive like technical accomplishment. There is no option to fix the thickness of slices, the blade is not perfectly vertical, and it rotates not exactly around the pivot (if the speed was faster that will cause wobbling), the plastic spacer fall apart after first disassembling for cleaning (it makes me nervous every time when install it)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Review 7 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

A mini professional slicer, works like it too....

09/11/2012
By ,
St.Petersburg, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unit appears made better than most of the lesser expensive slicers. The sliding table was sticking a bit, but with a couple of drops of vegi oil on them, it worked super smooth. The thickness plate is not totally square to the blade, but the slices appeared uniform in thickness, so beit. I sliced up a 2lb Cuban pork loin for Cuban sandwiches, took less than 2 minutes. I found slicing about as fast as watching the speed at the deli. I am quite impressed for the buck, I don't think one can do better. A lot of folks complain about these small slicers, this one included, much of the slicing proficiency is the technique that the person uses. To slice a brisket, cool it an then partially freeze it as you would raw meet for making jerky. Roasts, Hams, pork loins, etc., take from oven, leave rest as you would for carving with a knife, through up on the slicer and have great uniform pieces. Were saving big bucks on bulk lunch meets and cheeses. Meets and cheeses in the deli $7.-$9. a pound. 3 to 10lb bulk, $4.-$6 a pound. We simply slice up a pound or two, put the rest in the freezer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

great low cost slicer

05/10/2012
By ,
MAINE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one caution, if you take the blade apart , a plastic ring/washer around 4 inches may fall out, if this happens the only way i found to get it to stay in place was to use a few small drops of quick glue to hold in place, or best yet learn how to clean blade leaving it on the slicer, i use soap then a bleach solution and q tips
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Review 9 for Magic Chef Food Slicer
05/20/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used it once the plastic ring inside was so hard to put back
After cleaning then the ring broke. Maybe that's why it wasn't
Expensive.O
Recommends this product? No
+14points
Review 10 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

Anything is better than this

03/29/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit looks nice and not to loud when running. It does not slice evenly across the meat and the thickness varies a lot. I would have returned it but i trashed the box and stuff after my initial test to make sure it powered on and sounded well. It replaces a similar priced unit that is not around any more so I was unable to get a new blade. I also gave my old one away to a relative who uses a slicer less than I do, so the effort of using a dull blade was not a big deal. It just seems this thing was designed and sent to production with out any input from someone who has even used a slicer before. You could likely get more uniform results with a average knife.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Review 11 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

Nice "Home" use unit

09/01/2013
By ,
Jesup, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had two "Professional" units in the past. Too heavy and cumbersome to deal with for light usage. This one from Magic Chef is a great little produce for light and/or occasional use. The "suction cup" feet is a nice feature to keep from sliding around the counter top. The slider and gripper are plastic, and leave a lot to be desired, but for the price, what do you expect. So far, I've only used it once, but sliced a large sirloin roast with ease. Had a little trouble getting the blade back on after cleaning, until I realized it had a left hand thread on the center bolt. Seen other reviews about a center spacer falling out. My unit doesn't have any spacer. Must have been on an older unit, and Magic Chef did away with it. Pretty good value for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 12 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

Perfect for slicing homebaked breads!

03/04/2013
By ,
Brooksville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this in the hopes of getting even slices of bread from the loaves we make in our bread machine and were not disappointed! This is an awesome machine! It feels sturdy, slices beautifully and has suction cups on the bottom that hold it in place while you're using it! I LOVE this machine and would recommend it to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Broken Arrow, OK
slicer for bread
Posted 07/04/2013
So glad to read this review. I am making bread for my grandson and I don't like slicing it myself. Magic Chief slicer sounds great for just this. Thank you
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

Exceeded Expections

03/14/2013
By ,
Detroit, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a professional tool for the home. Compact and powerful; not overwhelming; convenient for small space. The Price Is better than Right!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 14 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

We are pleased

11/01/2013
By ,
Beverly Hills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have now used it to slice our German bread that we order from a German bakery which is more solid than the American kind and it works well. Have also sliced some cooked turkey and that came out nice. So far we are very pleased.
anita
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

What a great thing!

06/22/2013
By ,
Bethesda, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read comments on the Internat indicating that $1,000 slicers were marginal, and almost lost hope But wait - what's that on the horizon? It's the Magic Chef Food Slicer, here to save the day! Easy to use, haven't lost a finger yet, and far less expensive than I thought couldbe possible. What's not to like! Buy one now - if cash is a problem, trade in the dog!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

good value

10/17/2013
By ,
fountain inn sc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
there was no washer and it sliced pretty even. good for occasional use. blade comes off with one screw not 6. and it doesnt take up much room either!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 17 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

While the least expensive, it does a great job.

07/27/2013
By ,
Loveland, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far we have done ham, thin sliced, though not shaved. Did a great job. Easy to use. A little messy to clean, but very acceptable. Walmart shipped to our door quickly at no charge. We are very happy with the product and the buying experience.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 18 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

simple to use

09/29/2013
By ,
Gatesville, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to slice simple cuts of meat, roast, brisket, etc. Works great, just sliced two roast in under 15 minutes!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 19 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

Very nice machine

07/20/2013
By ,
Oklahoma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this for slicing meat for treats for my dogs. Works very well. no complaints whatsoever....just what I needed...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 20 for Magic Chef Food Slicer

great slicer

11/14/2012
By ,
preston, id
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading reviews I was hesitant to purchase, but I knew Walmart would return it if needed. We are very happy. I made jerkey for 8 days. And was finally able to perfect it. Thanks to my new slicer!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next