Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Remington Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Remington Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

This gun from Remington will always shoot straight and aim true.
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation92%11 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

great rifle

01/12/2013
By ,
portland tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this for myself for christmas from my wife and just got to shoot it today 1/12/13 and has been driving me nuts to shoot it.
Well I shot 100 rounds it was flawless in every aspect, The scope was off about 3 in. at 1:30 set my cross hairs back at bulls eye and adjusted the cross hairs over the hole and then shot second shot and was right on could'nt have been easier just remember to keep gun ridged when moving the cross hairs. It fired,ejected and loaded perfectly, could not ask for anything more. very happy, hope this helps in your decision you wont be sorry. thanks
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+61points
Review 2 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

Good value rifle.

06/16/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice rifle that provides value for money, I found mine needed a fair bit of sighting in but that's just luck of the draw and not a problem. The scope is perfectly fine and I would say is well matched to the rifle.
I'm finding some issues with certain ammo, particularly Federal but suspect it's more down to the ammo than the weapon as I get the same problem with it in a Marlin.
Be aware that the weapon you get may not exactly match what you see here.....a couple of weeks before I bought mine I had a look and a handle with one and it was exactly as shown in the picture, grey with a silver cover on the ejection port and no studs fixed into the stock.
The actual rifle I got two weeks later is black with a black cover to the ejection post and with fitted studs.
My guess is it's been re-done as more of a field rifle than a range rifle....fortunately I prefer that. I would say that it depends what the store has in stock so if it matters to you either way then check.
Other than that small thing to be aware of I say go and buy yourself one, you get a lot of rifle for the money and I'm pretty happy with mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Review 3 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

GREAT GUN

06/17/2012
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All of my friends have 10/22's and recommended them. I tried EVERY variant of the 10/22 and just didn’t like the way they felt. This gun feel amazing but the “out of the box” accuracy astounded all of my friends. I bought the Remington 30rd. clip (Buy the 30rd Remington clip not an off brand and you will never have a problem… or at least I didn’t.) and put 500+ rounds through it with ZERO FTE’s or any other issues. My ONLY issue with it is they don’t make a speed loader for it… yet. CBRPS also makes a sick bullpup conversion for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+91points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/02/2012
Will this rifle fire CB longs?
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

597 vs 10/22 (Iron Sights)

06/21/2012
By ,
Santa Fe
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
On the same day, I bought both a Remington 597 and a Ruger 10/22 Carbine in .22lr. After an afternoon at the range with 500 rounds of Winchester 555, here’s the assessment.
Both guns were disassembled and cleaned before going to the range. Both guns were shot by my female companion and me. At the end of the day, we both concluded the 597 is the clear winner. Why? Let me walk through the differences.
Stocks - The 597 has a larger stock and fits both her and me better. We’re tall at 5’10” and 6’1” respectfully. When we shoulder the 597, the sights naturally fall into perfect alignment. The 10/22 requires snuggling-up to get a good sight picture. The forestock on the 597 is wider and gives a better rest for adult hands.
Iron Sights – Neither of my rifles came with a scope, so I have no opinion of the scope offered. For iron sights, the 597 is adjustable for both windage and elevation by using a screwdriver & 3/32 Allen. The 10/22 can be adjusted for elevation with a screwdriver, but windage takes a hammer. That’s right, a hammer – as stated in the Ruger manual.
Magazines – the 10/22 is slightly easier to load (rounds 9 & 10 in the 597 take a bit more grunt to shove in). The magazine release on the 597 is far superior; the mags come out with authority while the gun is in any position and can be dropped with a flick of the mag-release above the trigger guard. The 10/22 mags drop only when holding the stock horizontal with the sights on top. In any other position the mags would not budge without a lot of coaxing. A stronger mag release spring may have helped, but wasn’t the case.
Bolt hold-open – The 597 bolt stays open after the last round. Very easy to tell the clip & chamber are empty. To close the bolt – drop the mag and release the bolt. Want the bolt open? Insert an empty mag, pull the bolt back. The 10/22 bolt does not stay open after the last round. Also, the 10/22 bolt lock/release is not easy to operate, as it is between the trigger guard and the mag release. It’s difficult to get to and it operates with an odd rocking motion. We never could operate it smoothly or with one hand. The 597 lets you know immediately that the mag and chamber are empty by holding the bolt open. Not so with the 10/22 – you count your rounds, or pull the trigger until it dry-fires, or open the bolt & look.
Accuracy – both guns are better than we are. But because of the stock and overall ergonomics, we produced better groups with the 597.
Reliability – Through the first 18 clips the rifles were dead even with no problems. But when the guns started to get dirty, the 10/22 was having FTEs and/or FTLs in every clip. The 597 just kept shooting. Neither rifle had a FTF.
Cleaning – Probably an edge to the 10/22, but not enough to deter a 597 purchase. I watched a couple of cleaning videos on YouTube and the 597 was a breeze. Remember – don’t cinch those guiderails too tight or you’ll force them out of alignment.
I gave the 10/22 to a friend (who’s restocking it for his grand-kids) and bought another Remington 597 FLX Camo to replace it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+393points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
North Augusta, SC
Awesome!
Posted 11/23/2012
Great review! Very thorough and covers all the points I'd love to know about. Definitely leaning towards this one now.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

Great rifle

07/19/2012
By ,
Killeen TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great rifle straight out of the box. Great feel, fires accurately, good scope.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+63points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
N.M.
Great rifle combo for the price!
Posted 11/11/2012
I've owned Rugers and Marlins but this 597, .22 is a real bargain.
Didn't expect much from the scope(3-9x) but after initially zeroing it in at 50 yards, it only took about another dozen rounds to get a nice 8 inch group at 100. This was just resting on the table as I forgot my rest bags and it was fairly gusting last weekend.
So the scope with my rifle impressed for the low cost of the combo.
Don't know how you can go wrong.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

5000 rounds later still functions perfectly.

06/20/2013
By ,
Oxford N.C.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What is there not to like about this rifle?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+12points
Review 7 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

I love mine!

01/17/2013
By ,
Melbourne, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only problems I have had with mine are related to enjoying shooting it too much and not wanting to stop shooting.
One time after shooting about 500 rounds in one session, I touched the barrel and burned my finger.
The other time lead built up in the barrel, after shooting 500 rounds of lead tipped bullets,that was a pain to clean out. I never had this problem with jacketed hollow point ammo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Review 8 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

Best .22 out there (Except the mags)

06/28/2013
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This weapon is hands down the best .22 out here. No weapon is perfect, they all misfire, but this 597 missfires less than the common 10/22. That wasn't always the case however. Out of the box it misfired a lot. there seemed to be a protective coating on the rods in the chamber, after a few hundred rounds that coating was dammaged and wouldn't allow the bolt to fully retracts after a shot. I sanded them down with soem 220 grit sand paper and for the past 6 years has worked perfectly. As others have stated, the Mag's are cheap and they fail sometimes, but the actual rifle is great!!! do yourself a favor and get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 9 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

very accurate

01/18/2013
By ,
wichita,ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this same rifle from DICKS for 189.00 plus one addition clip. for 23.00 shot it several times scope was a little off but bought a bore site adjustment and now its right on target 90% or better of the time, nice rifle for the money also .22 lr is a cheap ammo.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 10 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

Great buy

04/04/2013
By ,
Boulder, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for my first rifle and couldn't be happier. Like the other reviews it shoots great and is a perfect buy for a beginner. I now use it as my practice rifle and plinking. I highly recommend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Review 11 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

Best 22 i have ever shot!!!

03/10/2014
By ,
Cali
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got my Remington .22 (Model 597) when i was 12 years old, 8-9 years later it still shoots perfect, never jams (I have put over 5000 rounds through it) It is the best .22 i have had the pleasure of shooting! Shoots super fast, ready to go the second the last bullet leaves the barrel!! I almost never miss with this gun (or with any gun) I don't have the Scope for it (Doesn't really need it but if you want one go for it) I love this gun so much i am looking to get my little sister one (14yrs) she is starting to really get into shooting and wants a gun of her own! All my brothers (4) got a .22 at 12, me and my older sister were the only girls to get a .22 (we both love shooting) now i want my other sister to have an Awesome gun like mine!!!
I find it very easy to clean, but it is never too dirty when i clean it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Review 12 for Remington Model 597 Rifle with Scope, .22 LR

Highly accurate, but unreliable

06/25/2013
By ,
Rapid City, SD
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have owned this rifle for about 7 years and have put thousands of rounds through it.
What I like: It is VERY accurate. Probably one of the most accurate .22 rifles I've shot, second only to an old Savage 63 that I grew up with. It is also fairly easy to take apart and clean, and it is comfortable to hold.
What I do not like: The magazines for this rifle are terrible. I have three of the plastic 10 round ones and a plastic 30 round, all Remington brand. The springs in the small magazines are very weak and the 30 round physically does not FIT into the gun! I had to file a lot of plastic off the sides of it before it would work...pretty sad when a Remington branded mag doesn't even fit in a Remington rifle right out of the box.
Secondly, this thing misfires a lot and has since day one. Changing ammunition brand has not helped, although Remington Thunderbolt seems to be the worst. Part of the problem is that the action springs are also very weak and the bolt won't close completely...you have to manually push it forward just a hair after each shot or it will likely not fire. Again, a problem since day one.
Third, it collects powder residue very quickly behind the bolt, all over the action springs and rods, and all over the trigger assembly. This makes the misfire/bolt not closing issue mentioned above exponentially worse and it occurs very quickly, after 100 shots or so. It is so bad that I have had to clean it at the range just to continue shooting.
Bottom line: I wish I could remove the barrel and put it on another rifle. This is the only gun I own that I regret purchasing. I've shot many other .22 semi-autos including a Stevens that my grandfather had probably never cleaned. All were far more reliable than mine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
-2points